BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Louisville, Southern Indiana and Western Kentucky
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Sam Swope Auto Group, LLC?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Sam Swope Auto Group, LLC

Phone: (502) 499-5000 Fax: (502) 499-5009 10 Swope AutoCenter Drive, Louisville, KY 40299 http://www.samswope.com View Additional Web Addresses

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Sam Swope Auto Group, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Sam Swope Auto Group, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

7 Customer Reviews on Sam Swope Auto Group, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 3
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 7

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: November 01, 1977 Business started: 05/12/1960 Business incorporated: 12/20/2001 in KY
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Kentucky Motor Vehicle Commission
105 Sea Hero Road, Suite 1, Frankfort KY 40601
Phone Number: (502) 573-1000
Fax Number: 502-573-1003

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. John D. Hill, C.O.O Mr. Michael Sanderson, C.F.O Mr. Dick Swope, President & C.E.O. Ms. Patti Swope, Chairman Mr. Sam Swope, Founder Mr. Norman Walker, Vice President Director of Marketing
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John D. Hill, C.O.O
Principal: Mr. Michael Sanderson, C.F.O
Principal: Mr. Dick Swope, President & C.E.O.
Principal: Ms. Patti Swope, Chairman
Principal: Mr. Sam Swope, Founder
Principal: Mr. Norman Walker, Vice President Director of Marketing
Related Businesses
Toyota of Louisville, Inc. Sam Swope Cadillac Sam Swope Collision Center (Plantside Drive) Lexus of Louisville Sam Swope BMW Sam Swope Honda World Sam Swope Infiniti Sam Swope Mitsubishi Sam Swope Buick GMC (Swope AutoCenter) The Big Lot Sam Swope Suzuki Sam Swope Collision Center (Bardstown Road) Sam Swope Buick GMC (Dixie Highway)
Business Category

AUTO DEALERS-NEW CARS AUTO DEALERS-USED CARS

Industry Tips
Used Cars

Additional Locations

  • 10 Swope AutoCenter Drive

    Louisville, KY 40299 (502) 499-5000

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

11/8/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Repairs were made to my vehicle before authorization was given and before insurance adjuster was able to give a true estimate on my car. After paying $3417.35, for repairs that the insurance company didn't cover, there is additional major problems with the parts and work that was performed on my car. The new radiator is leaking, intercooler leaking, power steering pump is leaking onto the alternator still and requires 1901.32 in body work that was not performed and over 4200.00 of additional repairs that were neglected to be performed at the time of the accident. The day after I picked my car up from ***** ** ********** - 02-09-2012 - the check engine light and service engine soon light both were on, and my service adviser would not take or return my phone calls before leaving Louisville to come home to Kansas City. Phone calls and emails have gone un-answered by ****** *******, ***** ******, and **** *****. A formal complaint has been submitted to the Kentucky Attorney General's Office, Letter of Intent to Sue has been sent to Sam Swope Auto Group, and Civil Motions are being filed in Jefferson County, Louisville, Kentucky.

Desired Settlement: The resolution being asked for is the full amount of 3417.35 be refunded in full. ALL repairs be made to vehicle - Air Conditioner Compressor, Air Conditioner Condensing Unit, Drier and Valves, EVAP Canister, Both Front Strut Spring Seats replaced, Alternator Replaced, Tie Rods and boots Replaced, 2 new BF Goodrich Advantage TA P195/60 R15 Tires, Intercooler/Radiator/Cooling Fan replaced under warranty with Volvo Parts - Bumper Cover, LT Headlight Assembly, LT Fender Liner, Lower air guide, A/M Condenser and Loss of Use damages of 3150.00 - Grand Total for all repairs and loss of use $11766.90 These repairs to be done in Kansas City, Missouri at ******* ** ********* for body work and paint - ****** **** ********* *** will do all mechanical repairs, since they are a Volvo Authorized Repair Center.

Business Response: Re. **** ****** ********* * *******

Dear Mrs. ******

My apologies for the delay in responding to Mr. ***********  complaint, but due to his threat of litigation, I wanted to personally review and investigate this issue. After careful review of the complaint, I have determined the Volvo Service Department performed well within the Sam Swope Auto Group standard of customer service. Mr. ********* was provided a Ioaner vehicle, which he drove for over 6,800 miles, while in his possession for approximately one month. Sam Swope Volvo was also required to pay for toll and parking violations, which occurred while Mr. ********* had the vehicle, for which we were never compensated. We were notified by Mr. ********* that insurance would need to be utilized due to the high cost of the vehicle’s repair. The adjuster prepared an estimate on May 16, 2011, for which we completed the work on or about June 7, 2011. Mr. ********* was then notified the vehicle was ready, however did not pick it up until February 3, 2012. He was also aware of the wear and tear issues due to the vehicle’s age and neglected state of maintenance. We were only authorized to repair the vehicle per the insurance estimate and replace a part that Mr. ********* provided, There are many outstanding issues surrounding this investigation, which Mr. ********* failed to mention in his complaint. However, we will hold those items for our attorney to review  should  Mr. ********* pursue any litigation. If you have any questions or concerns please feel free to contact me directly.

Sincerely,

**** ** ****
********* **** *************
Sam Swope Auto Group LLC
10 Swope Auto Center Drive
Louisville, KY 40299

502-********

 

Consumer Response:

Thank you for your prompt response to my inquiry.  I will have to say that there is some details that were left out, to a small degree, but the major facts remain with Sam Swope and Volvo of Louisville, not only performing below standard as to what Volvo customers expect, but they also took advantage of the situation that I was in at the present time.  I have the documentation that was sent to the general manager of Volvo of Louisville, and can attach that for your review.  IT comes do to an oversight of my insurance company. USAA and also Volvo of Louisville for making repairs to my vehicle before the insurance adjuster came out to take a complete look at it.  Currently, after putting over $3500.00 of my own money into my “high mileage” Volvo, which was taken care of very well and at every suggested service interval, service was performed. You can look that up by the VIN Number in the Volvo Customer database.  

 The parts and labor are covered by a 12 month warranty by Sam Swope Auto Group,  Two Years by Volvo USA -  The turbo inlet cooling line should have been replaced, since it was on the estimate from USAA, and also it was coming in direct contact with the new Intercooler, which also was not replaced to OEM Specifications.   IF this $3.50 cooling line had been replaced when my car was in the shop for over 6 months until I could get the finances to pay for the $3500.00 out of my pocket, it would be saving us this conversation now.   3 Weeks ago, the said cooling line blew out, and in turn my engine is ruined.  IT would require a head gasket/seal/ring job, or replacing with a used motor for about the cost of $1350.00 plus labor.  I have tried to contact the dealership, my service advisor (George Fraiser), and have spoken to Volvo Customer Care numerous times.  This is not a common maintenance item.  Volvo Customer care stated that it should have been replaced and they did not understand why it was not.   So currently, no one is accepting responsibility for this mistake or under sight.  Let’s say someone was just being cheap, and decided to leave the ORIGINAL cooling line attached when it should have been replaced. 

I am just wanting some resolution as to warranty, so that I can get my engine replaced and once more have my Volvo back on the road.

Hopefully this makes some sense, and clarity as to where I am coming from Ma’am.

You can contact **** ******, at ******** Volvo in Kansas City, Missouri at ###-###-####, if that is necessary.

I am attaching the initial Intent to Sue, but at this point, it was going to be more effort and time in the court system in the State of Kentucky than I can be present for .

There is a warranty out there, and I want someone to stand behind that and the error that was made by fixing my vehicle before the insurance adjuster was able to come out and look at my car. When he did finally come out, the car was completely fixed, well 92% fixed, and that is where it was called good by Volvo of Louisville.  I am also attaching the Volvo for Life Brochure, that is to provide some additional documentation.

********** **** * *********

###-###-####