BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Louisville, Southern Indiana and Western Kentucky

BBB Accredited Business since

Lexus of Louisville

Additional Locations

Phone: (502) 499-5050 Fax: (502) 499-5059 2400 Blankenbaker Parkway, Louisville, KY 40299 http://www.lexusoflouisville.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Lexus of Louisville meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Lexus of Louisville include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Lexus of Louisville
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: August 04, 1998 Business started: 05/01/1960
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Michael Meyer, Vice President/General Manager Mr. Dick Swope, C.E.O.
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael Meyer, Vice President/General Manager
Principal: Mr. Dick Swope, C.E.O.
Related Businesses
Sam Swope Auto Group, LLC
Business Category

AUTO DEALERS-NEW CARS AUTO DEALERS-USED CARS

Alternate Business Names
smart center Louisville
Additional Information

This dealership is part of Sam Swope Auto Group, LLC

Industry Tips
Used Cars

Additional Locations

  • 10 Swope Auto Center Drive

    Louisville, KY 40299 (502) 499-5050

  • 11601 Plantside Drive/smart center Louisville  

    Louisville, KY 40299 (502) 499-4530

  • 2400 Blankenbaker Parkway

    Louisville, KY 40299 (502) 499-5050

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

5/31/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a used 2006 Toyota Prius from Lexus of Louisville which came with a 30 day warranty on the 18th of April 2014. I brought the vehicle in for service on account of a headlight randomly going out during normal operation. I was told that the 12v battery needed to be replaced and that the warranty would cover it. I suggested a non-OEM battery that performed as well in order to save the dealership some money and to keep me from waiting as long for repairs. They were unable to reproduce the headlight problem in that short of time but assured me it was probably stemming from the bad battery and that I should bring it back if it persisted. I brought the vehicle back as the problem reoccurred. They kept my vehicle there for over an hour just to tell me that it was the HID Bulb and that ***** ******, the used car manager, would not approve the repair since he had already replaced the battery. I was told that I could speak to him but he was suddenly nowhere to be found and would not answer his phone. I tried on several occasions to get in contact with the general manager but have been unable. It's over an hour drive, each way, between my residence and the dealership. On further study and consultation it seems that the HID ballast is more likely to be the cause of this than the HID bulb.

Desired Settlement: I want the HID bulb for both sides (as they are supposed to always be replaced in pairs) and driver's side ballast replaced.

Business Response:

It is never pleasant to find out that a vehicle we sold gives our customer trouble soon after the transaction.

I apologized to our customer for the issues he had with his vehicle after his purchase. The battery and

headlights were taken care of as a gesture of goodwill since they were not covered in the warranty. I also

apologized to him for missing his phone calls.

I look forward to assisting him with his future automobile needs. Thank you for your assistance with this

matter.

Sincerely,

**** *****

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a car from Lexus of Louisville, KY on June *** ****. I live in Pennsylvania and I selected this particular car because it had the “executive seating” option and because it was (and continued to be) advertised as CPO Lexus Certified. After days of speaking to ***** at Lexus of Louisville he said that the car is in fact NOT a certified car. I wanted to purchase a certified Lexus because they come with a bumper to bumper warranty for 3 years or 100,000 miles. ***** later told me the car was not certified and offered to sell me a “New Car” warranty for $2990.00 I told him I could not afford that additional cost. ***** offered to lower the price of the new car warranty down to “his cost” of 2468.00 I purchased the vehicle with the warranty, and when I returned home I took the car to get a PA State Inspection at my local Lexus dealer on July 3, 2013 Wilkie Lexus showed me the 2 bad air shocks which needed replacement at a cost of $4023.94 Wilkie Lexus said that this problem on the two air shocks would have been present when Louisville Lexus recently performed their Certified Pre Owned Inspection I immediately wrote to ***** of Louisville Lexus and told him what I had discovered, he telephoned me on **** *, 2013 at approx 6:30 pm he emphatically told me (three times) that Louisville Lexus did NOT perform a certified pre owned inspection where they would have discovered this damage. I have evidence showing that Louisville Lexus DID perform a certified pre owned inspection. This proof is in the form of an internal service record on their letterhead stating that a certified Preowned inspection was performed on the vehicle I purchased After I emailed ***** the proof I had that his dealership performed the certified pre owned inspection he has not contacted me. The warranty he sold me does not cover shocks, and this is also a pre existing condition. I am requesting your assistance because I believe I was misled about the warranty of the car as well as the condition and problem I believe Louisville Lexus concealed from me when I purchased it from them. Sincerely, ******* * *********

Desired Settlement: I request that Louisville Lexus do one of the following: 1. Allow me to return the car to them that Louisville Lexus sold me and take my trade in car back into my possession. 2. Or make the car Certified Pre Owned (as it was advertised) so that this repair is covered under the Lexus Certified warranty I am requesting your assistance because I believe I was misled about the warranty of the car as well as the condition and problem I believe Louisville Lexus concealed from me when I purchased it from them.

Business Response: Thank you for connecting me with one of our most valuable customers. I apologized to him for
any confusion we may have caused prior to his purchase regarding the warranty and certification
of his vehicle.
He and I came to a resolution in which we performed the extensive inspection and all
maintenance necessary to certify his vehicle. We are granting him all of the benefits of our
certification program, and they are outlined in his new contract. We are also supplying him with
an extra key and new carpet floor mats and providing a Certified Pre-Owned Delivery
Presentation given by our delivery specialist.
He has my direct phone number and is welcome to contact me if I can be of any assistance to
him in the future. Again, thank you for your service.

Sincerely,
**** *****

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

******* *********

 


 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

5/9/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was charged $1323.37 by Lexus. Upon further inspection of the vehicle I could see where touchup paint had been applied to the driver's side door of the vehicle - however I was still charged for the entire door being repainted. When I turned the car on the engine sounded high-pitched and strained compared to when I brought it in - indicative of being driven very hard/fast and the rods being stretched. The passenger and driver's seats had both been adjusted. The steering wheel, both side mirrors and the rear view mirror had been adjusted. The radio station and sound settings had been adjusted. There was wax in every crevice of the vehicle - I had to use a toothbrush with water and a paper towel to remove it myself despitepaying the full $250.00 price for a detail. Today, April 21, 2012 I noticed that the fog light on the passenger side of the car appeared to be missing. When I inspected the vehicleit appears that the fog light has fallen onto the inside of the front bumper. At this point I need to have my vehicle repaired but am faced with potentially extremlely expensive work for problems which I did not create. It is my opinion that I was treated in a most unsatisfactorymanner at Lexus of Louisville - and by **** **** and ***** ****. I would not recommend this dealership.

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund on the work that was performed, as well as a full inspection done by a licensed and certified third party mechanic and body shop of my choice. I would like any and all repairs and/or replacements of parts to be paid for by Lexus of Louisville. I have pictures of the vehicle the day before it was brought to Lexus of Louisville as well as detailed service records for the entire life of the vehicle and CarFax report.

Business Response: I contacted Mr. ****** to address the concerns mentioned in his previous letter. After our
discussion, it was evident the frustration he experienced could have been avoided. As a result of
our conversation, each of his concerns were addressed to his satisfaction. An apology was
offered, and an agreement made to refund his expenses for the vehicle detail, door and wheel
repair.
I appreciate Mr ****** bringing his concerns to my attention, as our goal is to always exceed
customer expectations. We value his business and look forward to working together in the
future.
Sincerely,
***** ****Parts & Service Director
Lexus of Louisville
Phone-###-###-####
Fax-###-###-####
******************

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9002308, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

**** ******

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

3/22/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: First I would like for you to know I've tried to resolve this issue with the dealership but with no luck this is why I'm turning to you. I own a 2006 Lexus GS300 AWD. My car had a check engine light come on (Check VSC). The code showed a misfire on cylinders 4 & 5 (same code each time just different cylinder). The dealership was not sure why, cleared the code and sent me on my way. The light came back on again (with the exact same code) but this time threw an additional code that said my catalytic converter is bad (related to first code that was cleared and ignored). So they had me replace the catalytic converter and then the light came back on again (yes, same code again). I was told "not sure why it came back on", so they cleared the code. Then the light came back on again, and amazingly enough the same code and again it also threw the additional code again now saying my other converter was bad. They had me replace the second catalytic converter. Well, the light came back on again with the same "Misfire code on some random cylinder, I think cylinder 6 this time". They cleared the code and said let's wait for further diagnosis so they cleared the code. The light came back on again. This time they recommended that I do a top engine clean, replace the spark plugs and filters. At this point my total repairs are at $3,920. They made these repairs to fix the issue again but guess what, the light came back on again (same code - "Misfire cylinder 6"). So once again I took the car back to them but this time they tell me they don't really know what the issue is so they want to replace my engine (and stated that they have another car like mine in the shop they are replacing the motor for the same issue). Throughout this entire process not once did I complain about performance, gas mileage or any other issue (or symptoms of catalytic converter failures). My exact statement to them each time I was there was "the car runs perfect but the light keeps coming on with a misfire code on some random cylinder". So a quick rundown: we went from "not sure, clear the code" to "catalytic converter is bad" to "not sure, clear the code" to "2nd catalytic converter is bad" to "not sure, clear the code" to "top engine clean and replace plugs and filters" to "not sure, clear the code" to "Replace your engine and it's going to cost an additional $8,500". How about you just say "you can fix the problem if you buy a new car". Bottom line is they have $3,920 of my money and I still have the same issue as the first day I brought the car in. I've explained to the dealership that with the current repair costs in addition to the cost of paying for a new engine it would bring my repair total to $12,420. This is more than the car is worth, who in their right mind would spend that kind of money on a vehicle that is 6 years old and to recommend such a repair is ridiculous (replace the engine because the check engine light is on?). I simply want to be refunded the $3,920 for repairs that never fixed the issue and I'll just deal with a light coming and continue driving the vehicle since mechanically nothing is wrong (their technicians' have stated this in their reports). I hope there is something you can do to help resolve this issue.

Desired Settlement: I would simply like to be refunded for parts added to my car that never fixed the original problem that I came in for (Misfire on random cylinder)

Business Response:

Business Response to a Complaint

Company Name: Lexus of Louisville
Company Contact: **** *****
Company Phone: 5*********
Company Email: *******************
Person Who Sent the Complaint: ******* *********** ****
Staff Member: ***** *******

Response:

I have thoroughly researched Mr. ****’s concerns and have also shared his concerns with Lexus National. After an extensive review, it has been determined that Lexus of Louisville has performed all of its diagnostics and repairs to manufacturer’s specifications and all were necessary. However, what we did not do was properly communicate the processes and procedures as well as the outcomes to Mr. ****. After reviewing Mr. ****’s service issues with Lexus National, even though his car has approximately 150,000 miles on it, they have agreed to participate in the engine replacement/rebuild. If Lexus of Louisville will participate 1/3 and the customer participates 1/3, Lexus National will cover 1/3 of the cost. The Lexus of Louisville Parts & Service Director and I met with Mr. **** today, March 21, 2012, at noon and reviewed in detail what has transpired to date and what still may need to be done. We also shared with him the 1/3 split between himself, Lexus National, and Lexus of Louisville for the engine rebuild. Mr. **** fully understood and appeared to be not only in agreement but grateful. I explained that the decision to go forward with the balance of the repairs was not something that needed to be made immediately; however, if we are going to go forward with the repair, he should make that decision as soon as possible. We will continue to work with Mr. **** to ensure his satisfaction.

Sent on: 3/22/2012 12:24:37 PM

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 8959407, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me. Indeed, I'm very grateful for the offer to replace the engine with each of us paying a 1/3 of the cost but my only fear now is that I’m afraid my next issue would be trouble with the transmission since it still has 160k on it. I’m guessing the transmission probably wouldn’t outlast the new engine (although these cars are not known for transmission issues, I'm just not sure I want to take that risk with a 6 year old vehicle). So I'm trying to make the best decision possible and in a timely manner as requested by Lexus of Louisville but want to be cautious before moving forward and make sure I weigh all of my options before making a final decision. Yes, Lexus of Louisville has addressed my issues and listened to my complaints and I feel I can live with the outcome after the issues were explained to me in more detail (Basically I was wrong and they did repairs that were needed, and as they stated it was more of a communication/expectation problem than anything). After meeting with them yesterday I feel they are willing to continue to work with me on this issue until we come to some type of a resolution.Thanks for your involvement BBB and thank you Lexus of Louisville for listening to my complaints and responding courteously and promptly (even when I was angry).

 

 

Regards,

******* ****


 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.