Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Lexus of Louisville?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Lexus of Louisville

Additional Locations

Phone: (502) 499-5050 Fax: (502) 499-5059 2400 Blankenbaker Parkway, Louisville, KY 40299 http://www.lexusoflouisville.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Lexus of Louisville meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Lexus of Louisville include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Lexus of Louisville
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 04, 1998 Business started: 05/01/1960 in KY Business incorporated: 05/01/1960 in KY
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Michael Meyer, Vice President/General Manager Mr. Dick Swope, C.E.O.
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Jamie Alcaparras, Executive Assistant
Principal: Mr. Michael Meyer, Vice President/General Manager
Principal: Mr. Dick Swope, C.E.O.
Related Businesses
Sam Swope Auto Group, LLC
Business Category

AUTO DEALERS-NEW CARS AUTO DEALERS-USED CARS

Alternate Business Names
smart center Louisville
Additional Information

This dealership is part of Sam Swope Auto Group, LLC

Industry Tips
Used Cars

Additional Locations

  • 10 Swope Auto Center Drive

    Louisville, KY 40299 (502) 499-5050

  • 11601 Plantside Drive/smart center Louisville  

    Louisville, KY 40299 (502) 499-4530

  • 2400 Blankenbaker Parkway

    Louisville, KY 40299 (502) 499-5050

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/9/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/31/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a used 2006 Toyota Prius from Lexus of Louisville which came with a 30 day warranty on the 18th of April 2014. I brought the vehicle in for service on account of a headlight randomly going out during normal operation. I was told that the 12v battery needed to be replaced and that the warranty would cover it. I suggested a non-OEM battery that performed as well in order to save the dealership some money and to keep me from waiting as long for repairs. They were unable to reproduce the headlight problem in that short of time but assured me it was probably stemming from the bad battery and that I should bring it back if it persisted. I brought the vehicle back as the problem reoccurred. They kept my vehicle there for over an hour just to tell me that it was the HID Bulb and that ***** ******, the used car manager, would not approve the repair since he had already replaced the battery. I was told that I could speak to him but he was suddenly nowhere to be found and would not answer his phone. I tried on several occasions to get in contact with the general manager but have been unable. It's over an hour drive, each way, between my residence and the dealership. On further study and consultation it seems that the HID ballast is more likely to be the cause of this than the HID bulb.

Desired Settlement: I want the HID bulb for both sides (as they are supposed to always be replaced in pairs) and driver's side ballast replaced.

Business Response:

It is never pleasant to find out that a vehicle we sold gives our customer trouble soon after the transaction.

I apologized to our customer for the issues he had with his vehicle after his purchase. The battery and

headlights were taken care of as a gesture of goodwill since they were not covered in the warranty. I also

apologized to him for missing his phone calls.

I look forward to assisting him with his future automobile needs. Thank you for your assistance with this

matter.

Sincerely,

**** *****

8/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a car from Lexus of Louisville, KY on June *** ****. I live in Pennsylvania and I selected this particular car because it had the “executive seating” option and because it was (and continued to be) advertised as CPO Lexus Certified. After days of speaking to ***** at Lexus of Louisville he said that the car is in fact NOT a certified car. I wanted to purchase a certified Lexus because they come with a bumper to bumper warranty for 3 years or 100,000 miles. ***** later told me the car was not certified and offered to sell me a “New Car” warranty for $2990.00 I told him I could not afford that additional cost. ***** offered to lower the price of the new car warranty down to “his cost” of 2468.00 I purchased the vehicle with the warranty, and when I returned home I took the car to get a PA State Inspection at my local Lexus dealer on July 3, 2013 Wilkie Lexus showed me the 2 bad air shocks which needed replacement at a cost of $4023.94 Wilkie Lexus said that this problem on the two air shocks would have been present when Louisville Lexus recently performed their Certified Pre Owned Inspection I immediately wrote to ***** of Louisville Lexus and told him what I had discovered, he telephoned me on **** *, 2013 at approx 6:30 pm he emphatically told me (three times) that Louisville Lexus did NOT perform a certified pre owned inspection where they would have discovered this damage. I have evidence showing that Louisville Lexus DID perform a certified pre owned inspection. This proof is in the form of an internal service record on their letterhead stating that a certified Preowned inspection was performed on the vehicle I purchased After I emailed ***** the proof I had that his dealership performed the certified pre owned inspection he has not contacted me. The warranty he sold me does not cover shocks, and this is also a pre existing condition. I am requesting your assistance because I believe I was misled about the warranty of the car as well as the condition and problem I believe Louisville Lexus concealed from me when I purchased it from them. Sincerely, ******* * *********

Desired Settlement: I request that Louisville Lexus do one of the following: 1. Allow me to return the car to them that Louisville Lexus sold me and take my trade in car back into my possession. 2. Or make the car Certified Pre Owned (as it was advertised) so that this repair is covered under the Lexus Certified warranty I am requesting your assistance because I believe I was misled about the warranty of the car as well as the condition and problem I believe Louisville Lexus concealed from me when I purchased it from them.

Business Response: Thank you for connecting me with one of our most valuable customers. I apologized to him for
any confusion we may have caused prior to his purchase regarding the warranty and certification
of his vehicle.
He and I came to a resolution in which we performed the extensive inspection and all
maintenance necessary to certify his vehicle. We are granting him all of the benefits of our
certification program, and they are outlined in his new contract. We are also supplying him with
an extra key and new carpet floor mats and providing a Certified Pre-Owned Delivery
Presentation given by our delivery specialist.
He has my direct phone number and is welcome to contact me if I can be of any assistance to
him in the future. Again, thank you for your service.

Sincerely,
**** *****

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

******* *********