Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Coyle Chevrolet Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Coyle Chevrolet Company include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 13 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

13 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 12
Total Closed Complaints 13

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Coyle Chevrolet Company
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 01, 1979 Business started: 01/01/1945 in IN
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

SECRETARY OF STATE
302 WEST WASHINGTON , Indianapolis IN 46204
http://www.in.gov/sos/dealer/index.htm
Phone Number: 317-234-7190

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Mike Coyle Jr., President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mike Coyle Jr., President
Business Category

AUTO DEALERS-NEW CARS AUTO CUSTOMIZING AUTO BODY REPAIR & PAINTING TRANSMISSIONS-AUTOMOBILE AUTO SERVICE - MAINTENANCE/OTHER AUTO REPAIR & SERVICE AUTO PARTS & SUPPLIES-USED & REBUILT AUTO PARTS & SUPPLIES-NEW AUTO DIAGNOSTIC SERVICE AUTO DEALERS-USED CARS

Industry Tips
Used Cars

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Coyle Chevrolet Company has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1400 Leisure Way

    Clarksville, IN 47129 (812) 218-1400

  • 1801 Broadway Street

    Clarksville, IN 47129 (812) 218-1100 (812) 218-1427

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/17/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a car on January 4, 2016 with a extended warranty. I sent a registered letter on January 7, 2016 to cancel the contract, it is date sensitive. After waiting 1 month with no contact with dealership I made call to Finance dept. Was advised they would email someone and would receive call back. Never got call back. Made another call and spoke with Business Mgr. He advised they lost paperwork. He requested a fax of paperwork which I faxed 2 copies on February 10, 2016 with confirmation paper they had received. Also, on this date sent copy of registered paperwork via mail to the Business Mgr. I then called to verbally verify they had gotten fax and no one would call me back. As of todays date February 12, 2016 no one has returned any of my calls.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting the extended warranty refund that I have requested as pursuant to the contract.

Business Response:

Response:

we cancelled the warranty in question with full refund to centra credit union we cancelled it on 1-15 -16 the check was sent to centra on 2-15-16 for 2125 .00 this should resolve this issue ....thank you

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

***** ********




 

11/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 10/09/2015 I worked a deal out with Coyle Nissan to purchase a new vehicle. I had already arranged my own financing and told the salesman that. As I filled out a few of the forms I hesitated on one that wanted my SS#. I again told the salesman I have my own financing and I do not want my credit run. The salesman assured me that they would not run my credit and they just needed that to send to my finance company to insure that they would get paid. I came back on 10/10/2015 to bring the title of the vehicle I was trading in and to finish the paperwork. The finance person handed me a finance form with a different finance company on it and higher rate. Not only did they run my credit they tried to slip in a different finance company. I immediately questioned it and he claimed hew didn't know, even though my finance company authorization and instruction for Coyle to follow was in my paperwork sitting on his desk. The finance person told me that it was only one hard inquiry on my credit report. When I returned home I pulled my credit report and found out Coyle had ran my credit five times. I now had five hard inquiry's for each credit report for the three credit reporting company's.

Desired Settlement: Have the Hard inquiry's removed from my credit reports.

Business Response:

***** *** ********* ******** ********* ** *********

 

To whom it may concern,

 

We certainly apologize to our client for any miscommunication on our behalf, and will do what we can to correct those errors. Our client, whom we value and appreciate greatly, supplied our dealership with a conditional lenders letter of approval, that did not state specific financial terms including an exact interest rate, term of loan, or specific amount financed concerning their purchase. Without those specific terms outlined, our Financial Services Manager attempted to secure a competitive financing package for our client with the properly executed and endorsed application for credit within our clients purchase packet. Upon a full and complete conversation between our Financial Services Manager and our client, we secured an agreeable financing package through the clients requested lender. Again, we apologize for any miscommunications on our behalf, and we appreciate our clients business greatly.

 

Sincerely,

*** *********

Executive Manager

Coyle Nissan

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The dealership filling out a credit application for me. The hard inquiry my name is misspelled, I would not have misspelled my own name. Pulling my credit after I specifically told them not to pull my credit. Changing finance companies with a higher rate is unacceptable. I would like a copy of the letters Coyle Nissan is sending to *********** ******** *** ******** to have those hard inquiries taken off my credit reports.

Regards,

****** ********

10/22/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a new car from Ford dealer and traded in my other car as it had a extended warranty purchased on it I requested a refund for unused portion per agreement I bought new car and turned in needed paper work to Coyle on Sept 9 2015 for refund they said it would take approx. 2 weeks to receive a refund as of this date 10/01/2015 no refund has been received I called the warranty Co. ********* Protection out of **** ******* Ca they state that they have NOT gotten paper and it would be 2-4 weeks before we got paid

Desired Settlement: I want my Refund now as I paid for it when I bought the car and feel I should not have to wait this length of time to get it back. they have held it long enough I would like interest on held money also over $1800. being held up

Business Response: this customer has been taken care of

6/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On February 28, 2015 I visited Coyle Chevrolet in Clarksville, Indiana. Knowing that Coyle Chevrolet is a trusted name and that many members of my family had successful business transactions with them, I felt comfortable knowing that I was going to purchase my vehicle from a trusted company. On the lot, there was a 2007 Chevy Impala LTZ. The aesthetics of the vehicle were in exceptional condition and the vehicle was in my price range. With the great Coyle Chevrolet name, I knew that this was a good deal. Along with my sales person *****, I took the vehicle on a test drive. The vehicle drove well except for the fact that the steering column noticeably needed to be replaced. ***** and I made an agreement upon purchasing the vehicle that the steering column would be replaced the following Monday and would be ready for pick-up on Tuesday. ***** also stated that while the steering column was being replaced, he would get a Car Fax on the vehicle. To my dismay, when I came to pick-up my vehicle on Tuesday, the vehicle was not completed. ***** stated that he had tried to contact me to let me know that the vehicle was not ready but he was unable to reach me. I left that day without my vehicle, severely inconvenienced. I kept in contact with ***** in the next coming days. Towards the last six days of the repair, I was finally given a vehicle to use until my vehicle was completed. On March 10th the replacement of the steering column was complete but ***** was never able to produce the Car Fax during this time. After having my vehicle for a few weeks on May 7th, while driving I stopped at a four way and my vehicle completely died. I was lucky that a semi-truck driver pulled over to help me move the vehicle to the side of the road. I called *** and used an emergency tow to have the vehicle dropped off at one of my family’s trusted mechanics. While waiting for the tow truck, my ********** and I contacted Coyle Chevrolet and we spoke with *******, a sales person. We wanted to see what types of inspections are run on pre-owned vehicles before putting them out on the lot. ******* stated “all our new and pre-owned vehicles go through a 172 point inspection.” We specifically asked if this inspection included functionality of the engine. ******* said “yes, if there is something wrong with the vehicle we will either repair or replace it before selling the vehicle.” ******** **** ******* was able to run a complete diagnostic on the vehicle. ****, the owner at ********, concluded that the damage was internally deep, within the engine, and that the engine needed to be replaced. Knowing that the repairs were going to be costly, I chose to take the vehicle to another shop for a second opinion. I brought the vehicle to ******’ Garage because they specialized in engine work. I did not tell ******’ any of the previous history or of the first opinion at ********. I wanted *****’s to form their own opinion on the situation. I was contacted by *****’s a couple of days later with the same diagnosis as ********. I chose to have *****’s Auto Garage replace my engine. This was not an easy decision, but with the lack of customer service that Coyle Chevrolet gave me with the steering column replacement I knew that I needed to go somewhere other than Coyle. Upon completion of the new rebuilt engine on June 1st, *****’s called to say there was a motor mount that was broken. *****’s stated that the broken motor mount hit something within the engine causing the issue in the first place. This news was very troubling considering that *******, from Coyle Chevrolet, said they check all of their vehicles under a 172 point inspection. My ********** and I both work for a national automotive company doing their customer service. We know that if this vehicle would have gone through the 172 point inspection, not only would they have caught the issue with the steering column but they would have been able to see the broken motor mount as well. The replacement of the motor mount would have been several hundred dollars versus the engine replacement of almost $6,000. After the engine was replaced and I had all of the necessary documentation, my ********** and I went to Coyle Chevrolet to speak to a manager. We wanted to express our dismay and inform them of the situation that had unfolded. On June 8th our claims were met by a dismissive attitude from the employees. *****, my sales person, had even gotten defensive about the situation. Flustered by our story ***** had another sales person by the name of **** speak with us. **** was very understanding of the situation and wanted to help but had no authority to do so. **** insisted that we talk to **** ********, the store manager, because he would be able to help us resolve this situation. Once we were finally able to speak with ****, we heard nothing but excuses. **** claimed that we misunderstood what ******* had told us about the 172 point inspection. **** was adamant in the fact that we should have taken our vehicle to Coyle at the first sign of our issues, and that because we did not there was nothing he would do about it. We tried to explain that we were unaware of this process and we wanted him to understand that after the issue with the steering column replacement, we were weary of their service. **** tried to tell us that the engine may not have needed to be replaced and if his technicians had been able to see it, they may have had a different diagnosis. We explained to **** that for this reason, this is why we had another shop give us a second opinion. We also showed **** all of the corresponding documentation. **** brushed this information off, as if we had no idea what we were talking about. Toward the end of our conversation, **** proved that he was unwilling to work with our situation. Knowing that there would be no resolution with ****, we asked what the next step in the process would be to achieve a resolution. **** acted like there was no one higher than him but he stated that he would make copies of our paperwork for another department to review. When he returned from making copies, we had to ask when we would receive a phone call. **** hesitantly stated that we should receive a call on Friday. I asked him who we needed to call, if we don’t receive a call on Friday. Then **** proceeded in handing us his business card. I was dumbfounded when I saw that his business card said “sales manager.” ***** the sales manager would have a boss above him but **** insisted that he was as high as we could go. On June 12th I received a phone call from ****. I was surprised to hear him on my voicemail, especially since he told me that another department was going to get involved in the process. **** once again denied my request for compensation. **** even went as far as saying that I could call **** Coyle but he would also deny my request as well. I have tried to get in contact with customer service or someone in corporate that deal with complaints but I have been unable to find any information. Coyle’s representatives, which are available to chat with online, would not help me in finding this information. Even though this experience was very overwhelming, I tried to give Coyle a chance at resolving my issue but I never imagined them completely ignoring my experience. This goes to show you that customer service is a dying art and making a quick dollar is easier.

Desired Settlement: I expect compensation for the replacement of my engine and inconvenience.

Business Response:

I have been informed about this situation from **** ********(GSM) of our store and I have not been contacted by the customer until now. I handle 90% of all the BBB complaints and I might add we have a exceptional rating and good track record in resolving customer issues on very few complaints. In this situation I don't know that I will be able to provide much help other than explanation. The fact is we sold the car 'AS IS" and if Mr. ****** had issues with the car regardless of past service experience or expectations he should have contacted us when he had mechanical issues and given us they opportunity to work with him on fixing their car. I have included 3 attachments that explain that the car was being sold to Mr. ****** "AS IS". We sell a lot of $5,000 to $10,000 cars because customers ask for them and most are sold "AS IS", but we have had some customers have issues within 90 days of purchase and we work with them to try and resolve issues. In this particular situation we were NOT given that chance and we are being asked to pay for repairs or refund a amount of money on a car we never were never allowed to inspect prior to Mr. ****** having repairs done in another shop. I must point out that Mr. ******s comment about "customer service being a dying art" is extremely disappointing, because had he contacted **** ******** or myself before going to two different repair shops he would have seen how we handle customer service even though he purchased a car that was sold "AS IS".  I am also disappointed that because the Mr. ******  thinks if we don't pay for the repairs we are providing poor customer service and I find that unreasonable.  "If you have a bad meal at a restaurant you work with that restaurant to make you happy with your meal,not ask them to buy you meal at another restaurant".   I mean no disrespect with the analogies used, I am just offering comparison that I think everyone would agree makes sense. When **** ******** told Mr. ****** that he wished he would have called us first he meant it. **** is a 14 year employee and our General Sales Manager and is empowered to work with customers in situations like this. I can be reached at ************ ** ********************

Sincerely,

*********

Coyle Chevrolet-Buick-GMC

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

In regards to Mr.******* response, I am not satisfied with the lack of empathy and resolution. Like I stated before, the non- existent customer service is very apparent. The analogy given about having bad service at a restaurant is absurd and non- comparable. A meal that's less than $100 is not even close to buying a faulty vehicle, from a trusted dealership, at $6,000. The fact that the dealership feels we should have come back to them at the first sign of trouble is very unreasonable, given the original "customer service" I was provided when they fixed the steering column. The replacement of a steering column should take a day to finish versus the two weeks it took for Coyle to replace mine. The fact that the store is stating I should have had them inspect my engine is very inconsiderate and *******. If it took two weeks for a one day job to be completed, how long would it have taken for them to repair my engine? Not to mention the fact that I literally had to call them on a daily basis to find out the status of my vehicle the last time.

I also find it very coincidental that Mr. ***** did not acknowledge the information that ******* had relayed to me. Yes, I did purchase the vehicle "as is" but it was under the premises that the vehicle was inspected and repaired under a 172 point inspection. If the vehicle had been inspected properly with the 172 point inspection, the steering column would have been replaced originally and the technicians at Coyle would have also saw the broken motor mount. 

Mr. ***** feels we should have contacted him after speaking with **** ******** but why should I waste my time in doing so, when **** mentioned very rudely in his voicemail that we could call Mr. ***** but "he would be telling us the same thing". I have given the store more than enough of a chance to resolve this issue, before seeking other avenues for resolution.       

Regards, 

**** ******

 


 

 

4/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a 2008 Saturn Outlook XR in 2013 from Coyle. It was a CERTIFIED USED CAR, which would guarantee a quality, inspected vehicle and included some perks. One of these, as we were told by the salesman, was a loaner car when we needed repairs. We also bought ********* protection. This came in handy, as we needed two different warranty repairs, one in 2013 and one in summer of 2014, totaling almost $5000 dollars in repairs before the ********* coverage. In the fall of 2014, we received a voluntary recall on a steering issue. We needed to get it repaired, as the steering is making "hydraulic" noises and is unreliable at times. After calling three times, they refused to give us a loaned car, stating they were "too busy". I was promised that any long-term repair would include a loaner car. We live over 30 miles from this dealership and cannot just "drop off" our primary vehicle for several days. As they promised that this "certified car" would have a loaner and they refused, I contacted GM to file a complaint. After several contacts with GM, a CM agent, ** ********, stated to GM that WE NEVER HAD THE CAR SERVICED AT COYLE GM! This is not only a blatant lie, but they have totally lost my trust on if the vehicle is actually been "certified" or "inspected". and wonder what other "problems" will lurk with this vehicle. I can provide cleared checks and have contacted ********* to receive detailed information of all repairs that were covered by their company. I am very leary of this dealership and feel that this car is no longer trustworthy for my wife and kids. I bought a "certified" car from a dealership with a BBB A+ rating because I trusted them. I am relieved I bought portfolio, or I would have already been out thousands! I have also contacted General Motors for further intervention. I need further intervention to prove that Coyle will stand by their claim due to this. I am very upset that they would LIE to GM about their own service records. I was satisfied with my vehicle, and understood that sometimes repairs are needed. BUT, after this lie by their own dealership, how can I, as a consumer, believe that this car is going to ever be 100% safe for my family! Thanks for your intervention!

Desired Settlement: I would demand one of the following situations to feel more confident about my purchase: 1. A 100% trade-in for a similar vehicle and similar features. This would include a 100% buyback of the car at my loan rate so I could have the same lender finance me a different, more reliable vehicle OR 2. An extended warranty on all power train, drive systems, electronic systems, etc. (Portfolio) for 200,000 miles. Then, a letter to GM and myself, stating that the car DID have service at Coyle Chevrolet and that the dealership lied.

Business Response:

Response:

Have left message for Mr. ***** twice have had no response

3/31/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a Dodge Bighorn truck in November 2014, I have a signed contract that states the issues with the truck concerning the brake light coming on. I have had the truck in the shop twice now and the issue has not been resolved. I can not drop off my truck as they tell me they do not have a loaner vehicle for me to allow them to work on my truck,they also state they are so behind on repairs. I feel like I have purchased a lemon and that Coyle Chevrolet is not standing behind their warranty, product or promise to repair the truck. I get nothing but the run around with the body shop.

Desired Settlement: I want my truck repairied immediately ad I wnt it to be repirded correctly with no issues that require me to bring back in for the same repairs. if they cannot fix it, I want a differnent vehicle.

Business Response:

Response:

On 2-2-2015 Mr. ******* dropped off his vehicle 2006 Dodge 1500 with the complaint of ABS light on had to replace brake fluid level switch Mr. ******* also complained about a noise when backing up we had to replace the aftermarket brake rotors with OEM parts

**** *** ********* ******** ** **** *** *************

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.  I did drop off my truck and they did make did repairs. However my truck is still not fixed. The brakes are still not repaired. Coyle has offered to replace the truck but has yet to provide a solution to this situation. I want my truck repaired or for Coyle Chevrolet to find a suitable replacement.

Regards,

***** *******

 


 

 

Business Response:

Response:

Have tried to contact Mr. ******* have not heard from him since 2/11/2015, Mr.**** ***** from the ******* Secretary of State has left Mr. ******* three messages and has not got any responses.

** *******

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.                                                                  I have returned the phone calls from the Secretary of State 3 times and have not received a call back. I was also in Coyle Chevrolet dealership and spoke with ***** ******** on 02/13/2015. I stopped to see their "replacement" vehicle they had for me. It appeared to be in worse conditions than what I have. So I am uncertain as to why Coyle Chevrolet failed to mention that in their response. I am still unsatisfied with their response to this situation and the truck is still not repaired correctly. The ball is still in their court and with the Secretary of the State. 

Regards,

***** *******

 


 

 

Consumer Response:

Per consumer they fixed brake light

3/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I traded my truck and signed a contract on new Chevy truck on 12/10/20**. I provided all proof of income and finanicial statements as requested by Chevy. Two weeks later, I received a phoine call from ***** ******** statign he had lost my information and asked that I bring it it again. At that point I asked for my truck back and was told they had already sold my truck that I traded in. With no other choice, I brought the information in a 2nd time and was assured everything was fine and they had all the information they needed to finalize the sale. Several weeks went by and I assumed everything was in the works and I would be receiving my loan papers soon. On or around 02/05/20**, I recieved yet another phone call from Coyle stating they did not have all of my information (again) so I submitted the information to them again the 3rd time on 02/10/20**. I was assured on 02/13/20** all the paper work was completed and I would be receiving the financing papers within a few weeks. By this time, I have already insured the vehicle and tagged it. Yesterday, 03/16/20** I received a text message from the salesman ***** Copleand statign I nee4d to come back in and sign a new contract & provide my financial statements and proof of income again. I have not responded to Coyle as of yet but I will not provide my financial and proof of income nor will I sign another sales contract. I want my truck that I traded in back or the Jelly Blue Book equvilant of th truck.

Desired Settlement: I want them to finalize the loan with the signed contract from 12/10/20** using the information I have alrwady provided to them 3 times or I want the truck that I traded in returned to me or it's Kelly Blue value in cash.

Business Response:

Better Business Bureau,

 

We have been in contact with the customer and he has signed all remaining documents necessary to complete his loan. We were also able to get better terms from our lender and provide the customer with a monthly payment that is $30 a month less than the original contract. He visited the dealership on 3/21/** and is now satisfied with the outcome.

  

Thank you,

 

 

****** ****** ******** *******

Coyle Chevrolet SuperStore
Office: 812-218-1108

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

******* ******

 


 

 

12/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a new vehicle on Oct. 25th, ****. It has been over 30 days since the purchase, but I have not received title paperwork to register the vehicle with the BMV. I have contacted the BMV and they also have not received any paperwork from Coyle Chevrolet.

Desired Settlement: Submit the paperwork to the BMV or myself within 10 days, or I will return the vehicle with an expectation of a full refund.

Business Response:

***** ********* ***** ******** ******** *** **** **** ** ******** ** ********

TO WHOM IT MAY CONCERN:

 

WE HAD NOT RECEIVED FUNDING FROM **** ******* ***********. WE SENT MR ****** HIS PAPERWORK ON DEC 1 ****. NO ONE TO MY KNOWLEDGE HAS SPOKE TO MR ****** REGARDING HIS PAPERWORK OR WHY IT WAS TAKING SO LONG

 

 

THANKING YOU IN ADVANCE    

 

****** ********

COYLE CHEVROLET

11/26/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On October 30 I purchased a vehicle and was informed by the salesman Mr. ****** that he was going to need to have a VIN inspection done. On October 31 at approximately 9:45 am I call to inform Mr ****** that I would be coming to pick up the vehicle on Saturday November 1st. When I arrived on Saturday there was no mention that the inspection had not been done. I received a letter on November 14 telling me it had not been done and I would be driving illegally after my temporary plate expires on 12-1. I work 12 to 14 hours a day and am unable to meet a sales person during business hours. Despite numerous conversations with the dealership as of today there has been no resoulution other than to pass the blame. So my only option will be to take a full day off work and lose 500-700 in revenue for the day.

Desired Settlement: To take the car back and refund my 7800 dollars plus the repairs and improvements I made or to at a minimum compensate me for my time off and aggravation. Since as part of the sales agreement I have paid for a contracted service that has not been performed.

Consumer Response: Per ******* ****** - Issue partially resolved - He got the inspection done and got his license plate -

10/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: MY GM 2005 Saturn Ion ignition got stuck in the run position and the key comes in and out of the ignition and would not turn it off. I unhooked the battery cables and opened the hood, still the ignition kept it running. The only thing that stopped the engine was when the overflow tank thing blew off and shot out all the antifreeze and my engine was smoking all over. The overflow tank lid blew off onto the other side of the driveway. We were lucky to not be burned by the fluid. The engine stopped. My son and friend stopped by later that day and and checked the oil and it was full. Coyle Chevrolet said it's my fault and now they want me to pay for repairs and tell me I am wrong and that it is my fault the engine is messed up and now they want the loaner back that is the only thing I have to drive thanks to GM. I am disabled and terrible distraught over this. All they ssay over and over is I am wrong when I know it is not true.

Desired Settlement: I already have had 1 wreck in this car and the airbags and seatbelts did not work, my granddaughter and I are lucky to be alive and now the ignition is not their fault, how many frustrating situations have to keep happening before they are honest. I want to keep the loaner until we have a resolution. I don't want Coyle to touch my car because they have already lied about everything else which shows me the integrity of Coyle and GM backs them.

Business Response:

****** ******** ******* *** *** ** *** ****** *********** *** ***** ********* *** ******** **** **** *********

On September 25th we towed Mrs. ***** **** 2005 Saturn ION to Coyle Chevrolet for recalls 14063 ignition switch replacement and 14113 Ignition lock cylinder replacement. As per GM recall we provided Mrs. **** a rental car till parts would arrive; we completed the repairs on October 7th. We notified Mrs. **** after we completed the recalls and starting her vehicle’s engine it had a internal knock, the engine was two and a half quarts low on oil and low on coolant we advised Mrs. **** the engine would have to be disassembled to diagnose internal engine damage. Mrs. **** contacted GM customer assistance for help on repairs, GM denied any assistance on repairs to Mrs. **** 2005 Saturn with 169,290 miles. We notified Mrs. **** after October 10th GM stopped paying for the rental car and she will be responsible for $45.00 per day as of the end of the day.  Coyle Chevrolet has completed the recalls and has no responsibility on the internal engine damage, we have only notified GM of our findings of being two and a half quarts low on oil.

Update on October 16th Mrs. **** did return rental vehicle to dealership we did not charge her any fees.

If you have any questions please contact me.

Thanks

** *******

Coyle Chevrolet

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

When Coyle Chevrolet picked up my car on a rollback and took it to their service department, I told them that the GM ignition was STUCK in the run position, I tried all I know to get the car to turn off, The only thing that made it finally stop after a massive time I the overflow tank cap which holds your antifreeze blew off and shot all the antifreeze up in the air, no doubt the had to put the antifreeze in. ****** ********* and ****** ***, both mechanics came to my Mom's house later that day and checked the car and checked the oil, it was no low. I was also told that there is not a recall on Ignitions getting stuck in the run  position only in the off position. Of Course GM backs them, they are going to out of business by the time all the poor people that have lost their loved ones in wrecks all because of negligence on these vehicles. I have already found quite a few other cases identical to mine,

Coyle and GM are just trying to get out from any claim that they have. I now have an attorney and will be filing a Civil Law Suit against Coyle and GM, and am gaining other people with the same issue as my car to file with me.  *** at Coyle told me the loaner vehicle was reported stolen so I was absolutely not going to take it our of the driveway to get arrested for the first time in my 52 years. I did not sleeo for 2 night over the fear. My car is NOT driveable, and is still there at Coyle. I am going to have to find someone to go get it on a rollback. My brother is also a Mechanic and for many, many years, so I told him where the noise was going from according to ***, etc. and since we are going to have to take it to a REPUTABLE place to have it repaired, the truth will come out that this another GM mess and Coyle just wants to pass it off because I am disabled.  By the way the vehicle has onstar, my last one did too, it tells you exactly where the car is at all times.

They came and picked my car up, why???? I was very explicit as too what happened to it, the ignition stuck on and what happened from there. Why would you pick up a vehicle when there is NO recall on a 2005 Saturn Ion 3 getting stuck in the run postion. That alone shows copability. No one I know friends, family, extended family will ever buy a GM car again and especially not from Coyle Chevrolet. How sad. This Is just beginning from the lawyer but I do appreciate the BBB trying to help.

 

Thank you,

***** ****

9/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: **** Chevy Impala LTZ Problems Friday 23-May***** I purchased a car from Coyle Chevrolet in Clarksville, IN. The car is a Chevrolet Impala **** LTZ. This car had been used as a customer loaner/demo and had 13253 miles on it. Due to the number of miles already on the car the price was discounted. In my negotiation for the car I ask to have a sun roof added. Coyle agreed with my request and had the sun roof installed by **** *** in Louisville, KY. I actually took position of the car of 28-May-****. Saturday 26-July***** took my **** Chevy Impala in for a 5000 mile service. While I was there I was told by the Service Manager that there were two recalls on the car. He told me that they could not get it d*** that day due to having limited staff but I could bring it back any day during the week and they could take care of it. I brought car back in on Wednesday 30-July***** to have the recalls taken care of and also had them to take a look at the Sunroof. I told (***/***) that the Sunroof sounded like it was leaking air and that it was not sealing. He said they would send it back to **** *** to look at it and make adjustments. The car was kept thru Tuesday 4-August-****. When I went to pick the car up, I was told by *** ******* (**) Car Salesman)) that the place that installed the sunroof made adjustments and that was the best it would get. He said that they could put a shield in front of the window to block to air. I told him that I would drive the car and see how it was. I drove the car to Tennessee on the week-end of 8-August***** and while driving noticed that the air was even worse than before. When I got home I called Coyle Chevrolet on Tuesday 12-August***** and spoke with **. I told him that the sunroof was worse than before and that day it happened to rain and water was leaking inside. He set up an appointment for me to bring the car back in and drop it off Tuesday evening 12-August-****. When I got there, (***/***) the Service Manager did not know anything about me bringing the car in but said that he would take it and have it checked. (***/***) also stated to me that he would never have a car with a sunroof put in it. He said that they are more trouble than they are worth. I told him that the car I traded in, 2003 Chevy Impala LTZ had a sunroof in it and I had never had any problems with it and it never leaked nor could I hear air coming in from there. 18-August***** I called Coyle Chevrolet again and spoke with ** because the sun roof was still leaking air and there was water coming inside. ** called and talked to **** ***** from **** *** and told him about the problem. **** called me and ask if I would come in and test drive the car with him so he could see and hear what I was talking about. I met with **** that evening around 6:00PM and we took the car out for the test drive. Once we got to the highway and reached about 60 mile per hour you could hear the air coming in very lightly. But, once we got up to 70 miles per hour again it sounded like there was a window open and you could hear the air coming in very well. **** told me that yes there was a problem and they would look at it again and readjust it. He also said that if the adjustment did not work the only other thing he could suggest would be to add the shield in front of the sun roof. This would take the air over the glass and prevent the air from crossing the glass. I told **** that I would think about that and let him know something the next day. 19-August***** I took the car back to Coyle Chevrolet and they had made an appointment with **** *** to pick the car up on Wednesday 20-August***** to make the adjustments. 20-August***** **** from **** *** called me around 10:00 AM and told me that they had made the adjustments and he and his technician had test drove the car and there was still air coming in. He said that there was really nothing else that they could do with the sun roof except to put the shield in front of it. I told **** that I really did not like the shield and I did not think it would look good on a brand new car. He said that he would rely the message to ** at Coyle Chevrolet and see what recommendations he would have. After I hung up with ****, I call Coyle Chevrolet and talked to ** myself and told him what **** had said and that I really did not want to put the shield on the car. He said that he would call **** at **** *** and see what was going on with the car. While ** was doing that, I called General Motors to file a complaint about the car and to find out if Chevrolet had been having any problems with the Impala factory installed sun roofs. I spoke with **** and she searched and said that they had not had any complaints about this at all. She took my information about my car (Vin Number) and said that they would open an inquiry and see what could be d*** about the problem. She gave me a Service Request #: ************* and said that some*** would be calling me back within 24 hours. I called Coyle Chevrolet on the way home from work and spoke with **. He said that his boss (**** ***** – New Car Manager) had been on the ph*** with GM and that he would be calling me 21-August***** to let me know what could be d*** about the car. 21-August***** received a call from **** ***** (New Car Manager - Coyle Chevrolet) regarding the problems with car. **** ***** stated that Coyle wanted to make it right with me but they were at a loss on how to fix the problem or satisfy me about the problem of the Sun Roof. I told **** ***** that I would not be satisfied with the car if the sun roof was not fixed and that I did not want my m***y back but did want a car that I would be satisfied with. He said that they could put me in another new car with no miles but they would have to charge me an additional price. That does not work for me. He said the only other thing they could do would be try to find another car with miles on it that would be equivalent to the *** I bought. He is in the process of trying to find me another car and said he would be back in touch with me in a couple days. 25-August***** – Called Coyle Chevrolet and spoke with ** (Salesman) for my **** Chevy Impala LTZ. Ask about the status of my car and he said that he did not know what was going on that **** ***** was working on it. ** told me that he would talk with **** ***** and **** ******** (General Sales Managers) and see what was going on and give me a call back. I told ** at this time that if they could not find a car that was equal to the *** I bought, that I would be willing to take either a Tri Crimson Red or a Silver car with a sunroof. If they cannot find *** of equal to the *** I bought, I needed to know what the bottom line would be on a brand new ***. I never received a call back. 28-August***** – Called Coyle Chevrolet this morning to speak with **** ***** (General New Car Manager) and he was off. I was given to **** ******** (General New Car Manager) and I told him that I was checking on the status of my car. He said that he knew that **** ***** had been working on the car and was trying to find me *** but did not know where things actually stood. I told **** ******** that I was getting frustrated due to the fact that I was not getting any communication back on what was going on regarding the car. I also, told him that I had told ** (Car Salesman) that if they could not find a car equal to what I had bought, that I would be interested in either the Tri Crimson Red or a Silver Impala LTZ with sunroof, and that if they could not find *** of equal to what I bought I needed to know what the bottom line would be on a brand new car. **** ******** took the information and said that he would get with **** ***** the first thing tomorrow morning and have him to get back in touch with me. 29-August***** – Received call from **** ***** regarding my car (**** Chevrolet Impala) He stated that he is working on getting a car and would be getting back with me. He ask me about a Program Car/Demo/Loaner and I told him that I was not opposed to this as long as it was equal to what I initially bought. I told him that I would not take a pre-owned car that had been traded in for an upgrade. I also told **** ***** that if they could not find a car of the same color I bought (Tri Crimson Red) that Silver would be a second chose. 02-September-****: Week two has come and g*** and I haven’t heard anything from Coyle Chevrolet. My last transaction was last Wednesday and I called them. I have not received any updates or world from **** ***** at all. 03-September-****: **** ***** called to inform me that they have not put me on the “back burner” but they still had not gotten everything worked out. He said that both he and **** ******** were working on it. Said for me to continue to drive the vehicle they gave me and they would be in touch.

Desired Settlement: I purchased a new car, during the negotiations, I ask for them to install a Sun Roof and they agreed. I want a new car at equal or better value.

Business Response:

We brought another Impala with a factory sunroof in from another dealer and traded with customer 9-09-**. The issue has been resolved.

**** ******** (GM)

Coyle Chevrolet

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

****** ******

 


 

 

1/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service
7/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I leased a car on May 24th 2013 from Coyle chevrolet. I paid $250 (my first payment) on the 24th of may 2013. Three weeks after leasing I still had not received a statement from **** bank (The bank i will be making payment to). I called the bank and they said there was not any record of me or the car in their accounts. After multiple attempts to get ahold of Coyle to see what the hold was one processing my papers they told me that they failed to properly complete the leasing contract and I had drive 100+ miles one way to sign and initial two things they forgot to have me sign the first time I was there, costing me time and money. Then after the paperwork went through on the 27th of june 2013 (over a month after signing the original contract) I called ally bank once again. Once i got a hold of ally they told me that i did not need to make a payment till the 24th of july 2013 and a payment had been made the 27th of june (which should have been the initial $250 payment I payed up front). So after that i went to the BMV to get my plates transferred. Once I got there they told me that i had to have the dealership fax over a copy of the title work before i could get the plates. So i called multiple times to coyle just to get a hold of the right person to fax them over. once I had the lady fax them over she sent a message saying that "***** *****" was not in the system. Which my name is clearly on the lease. So i called her back and had her try my girlfriends name (the co-signer) and they told me that they could not send the title work because I owed $247. I asked what it was for and shelby (the lady "helping" me) told me she did not know. So she said she would patch me through to ***** the guy that takes care of all that stuff. It goes to voicemail. So I hang up and call back and the secretary answers and I ask for *****, the sales manager, and he did not answer either. So I call back to shelby's number only minutes after talking to her and it goes to voicemail. So I leave a very descriptive voice message asking for someone to call me back because i had no idea what was going on and I just needed some answers. I left that message around 2-3 pm friday july 5th and never got a call back from anyone with any answers.

Desired Settlement: I should not have to pay $247 to Coyle Chevrolet. I paid the initial payment on May 24, 2013 and since they did not finish the leasing agreement until June 27, 2013, that was the first payment that **** Bank received. I confirmed with **** on the 28th that no further payment was needed. The payment **** received had to have been my initial payment because they didn't even have an account for me until June 27th, so if a payment had been made before then, it wasn't to my account. I would like Coyle to remove the hold on my account and send my lease agreement to the BMV so that I can receive my license plates.

Business Response:

We truly appreciate having Mr.***** as a customer, and want to ensure that we are doing our part to mend our relations with him. Since the time of Mr. ***** originally signing his initial documentation, we noticed a typographical error that had to be corrected before the lease could be processed.  He was in contact with several different contacts at our store that have different areas of responsibility, and there was a miscommunication between our staff about the status of his transaction.

            At this time we will be happy to take care of the $247 that was outstanding and process his title work accordingly. We truly apologize for any inconvenience we may have caused Mr.*****, and look forward to the opportunity to do business with him in the future.

            Thank you for your consideration in this matter,

 

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9611956, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

***** *****

 

 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

3 Customer Reviews on Coyle Chevrolet Company
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart