BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Louisville, Southern Indiana and Western Kentucky
Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Bob Hook Chevrolet meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Bob Hook Chevrolet include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Bob Hook Chevrolet
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: July 01, 1985 Business started: 01/01/1953 in KY
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Kentucky Motor Vehicle Commission
105 Sea Hero Road, Suite 1, Frankfort KY 40601
Phone Number: (502) 573-1000
Fax Number: 502-573-1003

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Bob Hook Jr., President Mr. Bob Hook III, General Manager Ms. Sandy Lampkin, Controller
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Bob Hook III, General Manager
Principal: Mr. Bob Hook Jr., President
Business Category

AUTO DEALERS-NEW CARS WHEEL ALIGNMENT, FR & AXLE SRV-AUTO SPRINGS-AUTOMOTIVE-SALES & SERVICE LUBRICATING SERVICE-AUTOMOTIVE HEATERS-AUTOMOTIVE AUTO WARRANTY SERVICE AUTO WARRANTY PROCESSING SERVICE AUTO SERVICE - SPECIALTY PARTS AUTO SERVICE - MAINTENANCE/OTHER AUTO REPAIRING-FOREIGN AUTO REPAIR & SERVICE AUTO REPAIR & SERVICE - DIESEL AUTO RENTING & LEASING AUTO PERFORM, RACE & SPORT EQUIPMENT AUTO PARTS & SUPPLIES-NEW AUTO PAINTLESS DENT REPAIR AUTO ELECTRIC SERVICE AUTO DIAGNOSTIC SERVICE AUTO DEALERS-USED CARS AUTO DEALERS - HYBRID VEHICLES AUTO BUMPERS, GUARDS & GRILLES AUTO BODY REPAIR & PAINTING AUTO APPRAISERS AUTO AIR CONDITIONING ALTERNATORS & GENERATORS-AUTO REPAIR

Industry Tips
Used Cars

Additional Locations

  • 4144 Bardstown Road

    Louisville, KY 40218 (502) 499-0800

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (888) 480-1854(Phone)
X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - Communication/Mass Email
  • - eQuote
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

5/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/29/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/8/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
7/18/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am from Summerville, SC and was coming up to Indiana to visit my family. Unfortunately along the way my car battery went out and I was stranded on the side of the road. This happened on Wednesday, July 4th, 2012. My car was taken to Bob Hook on Thursday morning July 5th, 2012 and fixed either that day or the next. I returned to the dealership to pick up the car on Monday morning July 9th, 2012 and paid $130.00 for the new battery and labor total. The car started up a little rough, but I figured it was because it had been sitting outside for a few days. I drove the car home with no trouble. On Saturday July 14th, 2012 I took a trip to Georgia from South Carolina (about a 10 hour trip both ways). When I dropped my boyfriend off at his house after our trip my car failed to start. He had to jump start the car to get me home. The next morning I started the car, but it was a very rough start. I managed to get it to ******** **** where they tested my battery and my alternator. The alternator test came back fine, but the battery failed the test. When the guy looked at the battery he found a sticker that read "****" and corrosion all over the battery. He couldn't believe that someone had installed it as a new battery. I remember the man's name from Bob Hook's was ***. My battery only lasted 5 days after I picked it up from being replaced and I am a 21 year old woman. I drove the 10 hour trip from Louisville Kentucky to Summerville, SC alone. I couldn't believe someone would allow for that to happen. I ended up buying a brand new battery from ******** **** for about $130.00.

Desired Settlement: I want a personal apology made to me with a refund of my money that I spent at the dealership. I would have thought that this company was reputable, but apparently not. I am a young female and was at the mercy of their services, and they failed me. I am so thankful to God that at least I made it home safe from both Kentucky and Georgia, but demand that they right this wrong. There was no reason for them to send a young woman on a long trip back with a used and corroded battery.

Business Response:

Thank you for contacting us about this matter.  I have investigated the repair to your vehicle that occurred at our Shelbyville location.   I am terribly sorry that your new battery tested bad in such a short time after installation.  I looked into our parts invoice and we did in fact install a brand new battery in your vehicle.  I noticed on the repair invoice that the battery cables had some corrosion but we did not feel that the cables needed to be replaced.  I can only assume that the corrosion the other technician noticed was from the battery cables.  I can certainly understand your disbelief that someone would sell and install a used battery in place of a brand new one.  I can assure you this was not the case, and that we take our customers' safety very seriously.   In my time in this business, I have heard of several other cases where a brand new battery has gone bad.   Its not unlike any other part that gets manufactured, occasionally there is a defect in the bunch.   Because your battery was installed at a GM Dealership, you are entitled to warranty coverage on that battery no matter where in the U.S. you are.   I understand that ******* **** ***** was probably the most convenient location for you to get to at the time.  Despite this, I will issue a full refund of $ 130.00 and mail to your address in Summerville, SC.   

We hope this resolves the matter and provides you with some assurance that we have the utmost concern for our customers.
Best Regards,

*** **** III


Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9127885, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

******* *****

 


 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

7/13/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was shopping for a 2013 Malibu 2SA and saw one advertised with sale price on Bob Hook's website. They listed the MSRP: 30,250; Discounts:5,063; and the advertised price of 25,187. I sent in an inquiry and a sales representative called me within a few minutes, we discussed the car and informed him I interested in the car and he said he would have to call me right back. About 15 minutes later, he called back and said “unfortunately that price listed online was entered incorrectly and it has already been removed from the website.” The best price they could give me was 29,100. out the door and that they had applied incorrect rebates. The salesman seemed generally sorry that this had happened but it was out of his hands. Two hours later I went back and looked online and the price remained at 25,187. I called and asked for a different salesman who did not discuss the internet price but did tell me that the price was 29,752 out the door after tax, tags, and license. Later I went onto Bob Hook's web page and did their IM chat with a lady who told me she would have the internet sales manager call back to try and get the issue resolved. I still have heard nothing from the dealership.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting that Bob Hook honor THEIR advertised price on THEIR website.

Business Response: Dear Ms. ******* and BBB,


I apologize for the confusion in pricing on the 2013 Malibu that you inquired about.  There was, in fact, a pricing mistake on this vehicle on our website, and potentially on cars.com and autotrader.com as well.  The company that hosts our inventory online and sends the vehicle information to various websites made a mistake on this vehicle and our other 2013 Malibu's in stock.  

Right now there is a $ 4,000 rebate on 2012 model year Malibu's, but NOT 2013 models.   Our inventory provider mistakenly applied this rebate to ALL Malibu's in our inventory.  While this was an honest mistake, it obviously misled you and probably others shopping online.   We have never condoned dishonest or misleading advertising to get someone to our store.   I regret that this was your first impression of Bob Hook Chevrolet.

At this time, we can definitely save you $ 5,063 or more on a 2012 Chevrolet Malibu, but unfortunately we cannot match that price on a 2013 model.  As of right now, I know the online price has been corrected, and this error will not occur again.

Thank you for your time,
*** **** ***

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/5/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I dropped off my truck for a warranty repair to the exhaust system. I was told this was a big job the cab would have to be removed and they would have to order parts therefore it may take a week. When I asked I was told no loaner vehicle could be provided. Finally after two and a half weeks I was told the truck was repaired and I could pick it up. I was also told that they did not have to remove the cab after all. After I showed up later that day I watched them work on the truck for 30 minutes finishing the repairs. When I recieved the truck it was filthy and had an extra 45 miles on the odometer. The low feul light was on and they had no explanation for the extra mileage. I made it seven miles down the road before anti freeze began pouring from under the truck. Upon futher inspection I noticed the grill, fan shroud and air box were loose as well as all the retaining clips under the hood were damaged. GM road side assistance had the truck towed to the dealership. I was then offered a loaner vehicle. The loaner was a truck painted up as a *** **** billboard, It smelled bad on the inside and rattled when driven. While driving the loaner vehicle a tire blewout. There was no lug wrench or jack in the loaner. When called they sent out a wrecker with no way to change the tire. The wrecker towed the loaner to the dealership where I got to wait two more hours for the tire to be changed. I was agian told the truck was repaired after they have had it in their possesion for one month. During this month I had to rent a heavy duty truck 3 times to cover for mine being in the shop. At this time they told me they had messed up the cooling system while removing the cab from the truck but now it was fixed. Upon inspection before picking the truck up I brought to their attention a busted sheild under the fan, and a scratch on the front passenger door as well as greasy hand prints on the interior a pillars. There was also an additional 42 miles on the truck at this time again with no explanation. After driving the truck for a week I noticed the exaust system was still not repaired. I then took the truck truck to a different dealership where it was properly repaired in two days with no problems However the tech at the differrent dealer noticed most of the screws and retainers on the inner fenders were missing.

Desired Settlement: I want them to provide a replacement for the busted shield, replacement screws and retainers for the fenderwells and reasonable compensationfor the paint repair and rental.

Business Response:

The response below was provided by our Service Manager, **** ****, who has been actively involved with this case, both with Mr ******* and Chevrolet.

When Mr. ******* dropped his vehicle off for repairs he did ask about a rental but at the time ********** didn’t have any trucks so he chose not to take one.  During the repair we did let him use our service truck.

GM has a concern with the new design they are using on their coolant systems.  They are aware of it and are collecting data to publish a bulletin.  This was the cause for the delay. 

Miles put on vehicle is for test drive that customer agrees to at write up.  With the leaking coolant concern we had to make extra test drives.

We did fill his fuel tank before the truck was returned to him

 Customer called Chevrolet's Customer Assistance Center (CAC) and the rep was in contact with us and the other dealer.  CAC informed me that the other dealer could not find anything wrong with Mr. ******* truck and that no repair was made.  We confirmed via Chevrolet's warranty system that the other dealer ran a "no problem found" warranty claim.

Bob Hook Chevrolet and the CAC have made offers to repair any damage to Mr. ******* vehicle that we may have caused, but we would need to have his vehicle here to do that.

Thank you,

*** **** ***

Consumer Response:

After considering the fact that this dealership never managed to fix the original problem with the truck and only repaired part of the damaged that they caused after multiple attempts and an extended time to do so I will not take my truck back to them for repairs. I do have a work order signed by the Bob Hook service man acknowledging the busted shield and scratch on the door when i picked up the truck the final time. I also have a signed statement from the repair tech from another dealer stating the truck is missing most of the screws and clips from the fenderwell. Therefore i consider my offer to install the shield,screws and clips if they provide them more than fair. A quality local body shop said they would repair the scratch for $225.00. I do think Bob Hook should cover this expense.

Regards,

******* *******


 

Business Response: Dear Mr. ******* and BBB,


I understand your ongoing concern and I'm sorry that bringing the vehicle to us for verification and a solution is not feasible.  We would like to repair any damage that was caused while the truck was in our possession.  I still do not know which one of our Service personnel signed and acknowledged this damage, but I won't dispute that it happened.   

With regard to the shield, screws and clips, we can ship or deliver the replacement parts to you if we can get verification on exactly parts are needed.  Photos may help this process.  With regard to the scratch, we would be able to fix it here for less than $ 225 at our internal cost, but we will send funds to the body shop of your choice if they will invoice Bob Hook Chevrolet for the repair.   

Thank you and have a great day.
*** **** ***

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/16/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On April 16th, 2012, I purchased my first vehicle at Bob Hook Chevrolet, in Louisville, KY. It has been the most humiliating consumer experience I've ever had. ***** *****, salesman, representing Bob Hook Chevrolet, has lied to me several times, about features of the vehicle before sale, and about the status of work which the dealership agreed to perform. Before the sale, I was told that the vehicle, a Chevrolet HHR SS, took regular gas, and that this particular vehicle had wireless, "blue-tooth," capabilities. These features helped persuade me to buy the vehicle, because I would save money on gas, as well as be in compliance with state laws forbidding cell phone usage while operating a motor vehicle. It did not have blue-tooth, and it takes PREMIUM gasoline. There are still two pending repairs that the dealer agreed to, but has not repaired: replacing the weather strip in the driver-side door, and repairing a scratch across the front and rear passenger doors. I've been lied to about the ordering of the weather strip, which was confirmed by *****, a Service Advisor at Bob Hook Chevrolet, whom informed me two weeks after the sale that the part had still not been ordered, after ***** ***** had told me several times that it was in transit. Also, there is a scratch on the side of the vehicle that was to be fixed, per the "do list", that has yet to be fixed. Throughout this process, I've made three trips to Bob Hook Chevrolet which is an 80 mile round-trip. They've had the vehicle in their posession 3 times, and for one reason or another, have failed to perform the above mentioned repairs, They also failed to notify me that I had been driving without temporary tags. Once again, this is the first vehicle I've bought, so I naively assumed that my tags from my trade in would work. They let me drive off the lot without temporary tags, and have not provided them to me as of yet. On May 3rd, I made my 3rd, and most recent trip to Bob Hook Chevrolet. I dropped off the vehicle with them at approximately 1pm, and a friend picked me up for lunch. Mr. ***** called me about an hour later with bad news. The wrong weather strip had been ordered, and Mr. ***** failed to make an appointment to have a 3rd party fix the scratch on the vehicle. Mr. ***** had 1 weeks notice as to my arrival before all three of my trips, and failed to schedule an appointment to have the scratch repaired each time. Because of this, I escalated the situation to the general manager, Bob Hook III, who is currently working towards a solution to get what they are contractually obligated to finish, finished. But to further my embarassment, he was dismissive towards the fact that I had been constantly lied to. I traded in a trusty Ford Escape with brand new tires, towards my purchase at Bob Hook Chevrolet, that was purchased for me when I was 16. Although it had around 148,000 miles, it has a clean Carfax, which shows regular maintenance, something that the car I bought from them does not show. Not only does the Carfax on the HHR SS not show any regular maintenance, the Carfax failed to mention a dealership whose bumper sticker's imprint is still visible on the paint. I was told before purchasing the vehicle that it was originally purchased at Bob Hook Chevrolet, and was traded back in directly to them, by the original owner. With research, I've discovered the vehicle I purchased, was offered for sale at ****** Motors in Louisville, KY at one point. To further my frustration, every time I accelerate from a stop, in the car I bought from Bob Hook Chevrolet, a message runs across the dashboard that says, "Low Traction." The tire treads are worn down past the markers, and need to be replaced NOW. If Bob Hook Chevrolet is as concerned about their consumer experience as they claim to be, they should compensate me for my time, embarrassment, and emotional stress.

Desired Settlement: This dealership has made me feel naive, incompetent, stressed, and embarassed. I gave them a vehicle that is in excellent condition, that has brand new tires, and has been well maintained. Of my expenses in gas, time, and stress, I would feel best compensated with new replacement tires, of the same kind and brand that are presently on the vehicle I purchased from them. This is a small thing to ask, as I plan to return there as a service customer throughout the life of the vehicle once these matters have been resolved satisfactorily.

Business Response: I personally spoke with Mr. ******* yesterday.  We have arranged to pick up his vehicle at his workplace today, have the scratch and weatherstripping repaired this afternoon, and return the vehicle to him.  The vehicle will be returned with a valid temporary tag, and we have put a rush on his paperwork with Harrison County, IN.   Unfortunately their license bureau was closed the last two days due to elections.   


All loose ends should be tied up today, and we hope this will eliminate any further inconvenience for Mr. *******.  

Thank you and have a great day,
*** **** ***

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9031835, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

All of the work, that was agreed upon at the time of purchase, has been completed. They picked up my car from my workplace today, (05/09), and returned it to me with the work completed by my lunch. 

However, I have recieved no recognition nor compensation for now owning a vehicle that has a difference in features, than what I was informed of at the time of purchase. Dishonest sales practices have been used in the persuasion of this purchase.

Since escalating the situation to management, I have been treated as a threat, rather than a welcomed customer, and my concerns about dishonest sales practices have been dismissed by the manager as "miscommunication."

If my hardships since purhcase have been dismissed simply because they believe that replacement tires will not retain me as a returning customer, and keep me from providing my well documented experiences at Bob Hook Chevrolet to the local news, then I apologize.

I DID NOT agree at the time of purchase, to overlook variances in said features.

I DID NOT agree at the time of purchase, to make multiple trips to Bob Hook Chevrolet to NOT have contractually obligated work performed in a reasonable amount of time.

I DID NOT agree at the time of purchase, to sacrifice multiple days off work to have this work completed.

And since the work has finally been completed after nearly a month, I DO NOT agree to overlook the value of MY TIME SPENT driving to Bob Hook Chevrolet, sitting at Bob Hook Chevrolet, using phone minutes to call Bob Hook Chevrolet to give them plenty of notice to my arrivals, and countless hours stressing over WHAT I CAN DO to relentlessly ensure THEIR WORK is completed.

Nor do I agree to overlook the fact that temporary tags were not provided to me at the time of purchase, and if I had been pulled over by a police officer before I was provided with those tags, I could be faced with fines.

I feel as though I was taken advantage of, as a naive consumer, and I will make public recommendations to shop elsewhere if my concerns of dishonest salesmanship are going to continually be dismissed as "miscommunication."

Regards,

******* *******


 

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

6/16/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1