Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Bob Hook Chevrolet

Phone: (502) 499-0800 Fax: (502) 495-6021 View Additional Phone Numbers 4144 Bardstown Road, Louisville, KY 40218 http://www.bobhook.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Bob Hook Chevrolet meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Bob Hook Chevrolet include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

17 Customer Reviews on Bob Hook Chevrolet
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 16
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 17

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 01, 1985 Business started: 01/01/1953 in KY
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Kentucky Motor Vehicle Commission
105 Sea Hero Road, Suite 1, Frankfort KY 40601
Phone Number: (502) 573-1000
Fax Number: 502-573-1003

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Bob Hook III, General Manager Mr. Bob Hook Jr., President Ms. Sandy Lampkin, Controller
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Bob Hook III, General Manager
Business Category

AUTO DEALERS-NEW CARS WHEEL ALIGNMENT, FR & AXLE SRV-AUTO SPRINGS-AUTOMOTIVE-SALES & SERVICE LUBRICATING SERVICE-AUTOMOTIVE HEATERS-AUTOMOTIVE AUTO WARRANTY SERVICE AUTO WARRANTY PROCESSING SERVICE AUTO SERVICE - SPECIALTY PARTS AUTO SERVICE - MAINTENANCE/OTHER AUTO REPAIRING-FOREIGN AUTO REPAIR & SERVICE AUTO REPAIR & SERVICE - DIESEL AUTO RENTING & LEASING AUTO PERFORM, RACE & SPORT EQUIPMENT AUTO PARTS & SUPPLIES-NEW AUTO PAINTLESS DENT REPAIR AUTO ELECTRIC SERVICE AUTO DIAGNOSTIC SERVICE AUTO DEALERS-USED CARS AUTO DEALERS - HYBRID VEHICLES AUTO BUMPERS, GUARDS & GRILLES AUTO BODY REPAIR & PAINTING AUTO APPRAISERS AUTO AIR CONDITIONING ALTERNATORS & GENERATORS-AUTO REPAIR

Industry Tips
Used Cars

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Bob Hook Chevrolet has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 4144 Bardstown Road

    Louisville, KY 40218 (502) 499-0800 (888) 480-1854

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/10/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a used (14000) miles Ford F-350 from Bob Hook Chevrolet at the end of August 2104. To get me to buy the vehicle at close to 50,000 dollars they offered me some incentives to buy the vehicle. Those incentives came by way of a plan called the Maintenance advantage plan. These incentives were offered to me buy both the salesman and the finance manager. The main incentive for me to buy was 8 free oil changes which came with the plan over the next four years, two per year. I made sure we discussed this several times before I signed my name to the dotted line. because I know the cost associated with this because I have been driving Ford Super Duty for over 15 years now. They gave me the first one free of charge and the second I had to fight for. When I called to get my second oil change I told the service tech that I got the free oil changes and he said I did not. As I explained the circumstances of how I come to claim the incentives I was offered, he stated to me that the salesman and the finance manager both had lied to me. He said that all I would get is a 40 dollar discount and I would be responsible for the rest of the bill. I went ahead and scheduled the oil change. I called back to speak to the original salesman only to learn he had left the company and the finance manager was still there. The person I talked to told me someone higher up in the company would give me a call the next day and no one ever called. I went in on schedule for the second oil change and I asked to speak to someone of higher authority. I was sent to a sales manager whom I spoke with for several minutes. He went ahead and authorized the second oil change at no cost to me and also stated that someone higher up in the company would give me a call the next day, and again no one ever did. I was told by the service tech that my next oil change I would be responsible for except for the 40 dollar discount. I believe they either promised me something that had no intention of honoring or they realized after the first oil change just how much it cost to change oil in a big Ford Super Duty. Roughly 100 to 130 dollars. Once they discovered that they just decided not to honor their commitment to me for the sale. The service Tech's name was **** (Did not get a last name), the salesman's name was ******* ****, the Finance Manager's name was ***** (Do not have his last name) and the service manager's name is *** *****.

Desired Settlement: I want them to honor their commitment to me and what they promised me in the Advantage Maintenance Plan to buy from them. I want the remaining 6 oil changes that I am owed at no charge to me that I was promised to me over the next 4 year period.. I am not asking for anything more than what I am due.

Business Response:

*** ******

 

Thanks for reaching out to us via the Better Business Bureau.  In short, we will honor your desired outcome and cover your next 6 oil changes on our Maintenance Advantage Plan.  It should have been clearly explained at the time of purchase, both verbally and in writing, that our Maintenance Advantage Plan covers the cost of a basic oil change and also a tire rotation on half of those visits.   This is typically $ 34.95.   For Diesel and full synthetic oil changes, which are an exception to this rule, we credit $ 34.95 to the total cost.   In this instance, I don't think the program was explained accurately to you.  For that reason, we will cover your oil changes in full, and I will make the necessary changes to note that in your account here.  

Thank you again for your truck purchase with us, and I apologize for this miscommunication. 

Have a great day,

*** **** ***

9/1/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/17/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a new vehicle in April of 2013. In June of 2015, it was brought to my attention by another dealership, that the engine in my vehicle was replaced before I purchased it. Bob Hook has admitted that the engine was replaced and that I was not made aware of this during the purchase. However, Bob Hook also told me that there is no legal obligation to make the customer aware of this repair.

Desired Settlement: The business should replace my current vehicle with a new, equivalent vehicle.

Business Response: In Kentucky, it is clear that a dealer must disclose to a customer any "damage" to a new vehicle that exceeds $ 1,000 in repairs.  This is true for collision damage, hail storms and other repairs that might show up on a vehicle history report and subsequently affect the value of a vehicle.  In this case, we received a new Silverado from Chevrolet with an internal issue in the engine.  After diagnosis at Bob Hook Chevrolet, it was determined by Chevrolet that the appropriate fix was a brand new crate engine.   This new engine was installed when the vehicle had 55 miles on it.  The new engine, and the new Chevrolet Silverado, carried the exact same manufacturer's warranty as any other new Silverado (3 years, 36,000 miles Bumper to Bumper, and 5 years, 100,000 miles Powertrain).  For this reason, there is no "damage" to the vehicle.  It had brand new OEM parts and Warranty.   When Mr ****** contacted us with the solution of replacing his truck with a brand new truck, we offered to send him a reimbursement for his recent repair/rental bill, which totaled around $ 750.   That offer still stands.  Thanks for your time, Bob Hook ***

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Kentucky Legislature

Kentucky Revised Statutes

KRS Chapter 190 

190.0491   "Delivery" defined -- Dealer's duties concerning vehicle damaged in transit -- Reversion of ownership -- Certification to consumer -- Failure of manufacturer to indemnify dealer.

(6) Whenever a motor vehicle is damaged resulting in repairs or repair estimates that exceed one thousand dollars ($1,000) after delivery to the dealer by the manufacturer or distributor, as defined in subsection (1) of this section, but before sale by the dealer to the consumer, the occurrence and extent of the damage must be disclosed by the dealer to the consumer prior to a sale, and upon repair of the damage sustained, or replacement of parts or accessories damaged, the dealer must certify to the consumer that this motor vehicle has been repaired or remanufactured according to the manufacturer's standards. Upon this certification, liability for any concealed damages then remaining with the motor vehicle shall lie with the dealer.

Bob Hook has assured me that there is no record of them disclosing the engine replacement to me prior to the sale. I think (and so does my lawyer) that the replacement of the engine falls under "repairs exceeding one thousand dollars."

Therefore, Bob Hook broke the law by not disclosing the engine replacement to me. Furthermore, just because they do not see a legal obligation (which I disagree with) to inform their customers of instances such as this, that does not make it ethical.

I want all future customers to be aware of this instance and make an informed decision when choosing a dealership to purchase from.

 

Regards,

*** ******

 


 

 

 

Business Response: We are aware of the KY statute regarding vehicles "damaged in transit" but we do not, and our KY attorneys do not, believe the statute applies in this situation.  Despite that, we have proposed a solution that reimburses Mr. ****** for a repair and rental expense that is unrelated to the original engine replacement.  We feel his proposed solution is unreasonable, and the gap between these two proposals is frankly so significant that we do not have a compromise solution in mind.   However, we are open to ideas. 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Regards,

*** ******

 


 

First of all, I no longer want, or expect anything from Bob Hook. I feel as though I am dealing with someone that is not taking the time to actually read the paperwork that I sent to them. When Bob Hook replaced the engine, the wire harnesses were not properly secured or routed. The original complaint clearly states that wires were not properly routed through the engine compartment. This lead to the wires coming in contact with "hot" parts that melted them and caused the entire situation and prompted repairs. Therefore, the solution to "reimburse me for a repair that is unrelated to the original replacement" is incorrect.

At this point, I simply want to make anyone "doing their homework" to discover that Bob Hook Chevrolet admittedly sold me a "new" vehicle with a replacement engine. Bob Hook then tells me not only did they not have to tell me, but that it does not alter the value of the vehicle. Would anyone deciding between two identical vehicles opt for the one with the replacement engine? NO.


I went ahead and copied the entire statute to show that the portion I previously copied did not apply to "damage in transit."  I took the liberty to bold the section and capitalize the most important parts.

 190.0491   "Delivery" defined -- Dealer's duties concerning vehicle damaged in transit -- Reversion of ownership -- Certification to consumer -- Failure of manufacturer to indemnify dealer.

(1) "Delivery" of a motor vehicle to a dealer by a manufacturer or distributor for the purposes of this section shall be accomplished by the: (a) Tender of the motor vehicle and any documents necessary to enable the dealer to obtain title and possession of the motor vehicle at the dealer's place of business or designated place of delivery, and (b) The giving of notice of the tender of the motor vehicle and documents to the dealer.

(2) Whenever a motor vehicle is damaged while in transit when the carrier or the means of transportation is designated by the manufacturer or distributor, or whenever a motor vehicle is otherwise damaged prior to delivery to the dealer, the dealer must: (a) Notify the manufacturer or distributor of the damage within three (3) working days of the occurrence of the delivery of the motor vehicle as defined in subsection (1) of this section; and (b) Request from the manufacturer or distributor authorization to repair the damages sustained or to replace the parts or accessories damaged.  Notification of damage by the dealer must be by certified mail, with a notice of delivery requested to be returned to the dealer, and shall be presumed to have occurred upon deposit of the notice with the United States Postal Service.

(3) In the event the manufacturer or distributor refuses or fails to authorize repair or replacement of the damage within three (3) working days of notification of damage by the dealer, ownership of the motor vehicle shall revert to the manufacturer or distributor, and the dealer shall incur no obligations, financial or otherwise, for the damage to the motor vehicle. In determining when the notification of the damage by the dealer to the manufacturer or distributor occurs, the date the notice is received by the manufacturer or distributor by the United States Postal Service indicated on the notice of delivery returned to the dealer shall be controlling.

(4) In computing the lapse of three (3) working days under this section, the day of the occurrence of delivery of the motor vehicle to the dealer by the manufacturer or distributor, as defined in subsection (1) of this section, or the day of notification of the damage to the manufacturer or distributor by the dealer, as described in subsection (3) of this section, shall not be included, but the last working day of the period so computed shall be included.

(5) Prior to the sale of any motor vehicle damaged prior to delivery to the dealer as described in subsection (2) of this section, excluding damage to glass, tires, and bumpers when replaced by identical manufacturer's original equipment and any damage not exceeding six percent (6%) of the sticker price of the vehicle, the occurrence and extent of the damage must be disclosed by the dealer to the consumer, and upon repair of the damage sustained, or replacement of the parts or accessories damaged, the manufacturer and/or dealer, must certify to the consumer that the motor vehicle has been repaired or remanufactured to the manufacturer's
standards; if the dealer makes the certification he shall be indemnified by the manufacturer. Upon this certification, liability for any concealed damages then remaining with the motor vehicle shall lie with the manufacturer
.

 (6) WHENEVER A MOTOR VEHICLE IS DAMAGED RESULTING IN REPAIRS OR REPAIR ESTIMATES THAT EXCEED ONE THOUSAND DOLLARS ($1,000) AFTER DELIVERY TO THE DEALER BY THE MANUFACTURER OR DISTRIBUTOR, as defined in subsection (1) of this section, but before sale by the dealer to the consumer, the occurrence and EXTENT OF THE DAMAGE MUST BE DISCLOSED by the dealer to the consumer prior to a sale, and upon repair of the damage sustained, or replacement of parts or accessories damaged, the dealer must certify to the consumer that this motor vehicle has been repaired or remanufactured according to the manufacturer's standards. Upon this certification, liability for any concealed damages then remaining with the motor vehicle shall lie with the dealer.

(7) Notwithstanding the terms of any franchise agreement, it shall be a violation of this section for any new motor vehicle manufacturer to fail to indemnify and hold harmless its franchised dealers against any judgment or settlement agreed to in writing by the manufacturer for damages, including, but not limited to, court costs and reasonable attorneys' fees of the new motor vehicle dealer, arising out of complaints, claims, or lawsuits including, but not limited to, strict liability, negligence, misrepresentation, warranty (express or implied), or rescission of the sale as is defined in KRS 355.2-608, to the extent that the judgment or settlement agreed to in writing by the manufacturer relates to the alleged defective or negligent manufacture, assembly, or design of new motor vehicles, parts, or accessories or other functions by the manufacturer, beyond the control of the dealer.

Effective: February 22, 2000 History: Amended 2000 Ky. Acts ch. 23, sec. 5, effective February 22, 2000. -- Amended 1996 Ky. Acts ch. 111, sec. 8, effective July 15, 1996. -- Amended 1982 Ky. Acts ch. 373, sec. 12, effective July 15, 1982. -- Amended 1980 Ky. Acts ch. 114, sec. 35, effective July 15, 1980. -- Created 1978 Ky. Acts ch. 182, sec. 1, effective June 17, 1978.

 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

17 Customer Reviews on Bob Hook Chevrolet
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart