Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Bales Auto Mall

Phone: (812) 282-4356 Fax: (812) 283-6766 630 Broadway, Jeffersonville, IN 47130 http://www.balesmotors.com View Additional Web Addresses



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Bales Auto Mall meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Bales Auto Mall include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 11 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 11

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

6 Customer Reviews on Bales Auto Mall
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 4
Total Customer Reviews 6

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 01, 1970 Business started: 01/01/1952 in IN Business incorporated 01/01/1952 in IN
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

SECRETARY OF STATE
302 WEST WASHINGTON , Indianapolis IN 46204
http://www.in.gov/sos/dealer/index.htm
Phone Number: 317-234-7190

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Les Albro, President Mr. David Lewis, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Les Albro, President
Principal: Mr. David Lewis, Owner
Business Category

AUTO DEALERS-NEW CARS AUTO DEALERS-USED CARS

Alternate Business Names
Bales Chrysler, Jeep, RAM, Hyundai Bales Motor Company, Inc. Bales Motors
Industry Tips
Used Cars

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Bales Auto Mall has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 630 Broadway

    Jeffersonville, IN 47130 (812) 282-4356

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/1/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have owned many vehicles in my life and have dealt with many dealerships (especially in the ******** ******* area) and have NEVER had a worse experience! I have dealt with Bales Auto Mall on 3 separate occasions and have had 3 TERRIBLE experiences and just feel it is time to say something... The first time I dealt with Bales, it was for the purpose of buying a truck. I had their salesman, **** ********, build and price me a new Dodge Ram truck... The pricing was NOT EVEN CLOSE to competitive and after I (obviously) chose another dealer, they had the audacity to ask me for compensation for the time they spent looking for me a truck (never buy a vehicle from them without exhausting EVERY possible option, do yourself a favor)! I have never seen such low class out of a salesman or dealership, asking me to pay them for giving me an outrageous estimate! Wow... The next time I tried to do business with them (still kicking myself for even giving them another chance, but they are unfortunately the only Dodge dealer in our area), they offered me LESS THAN HALF of the trade-in value for my truck (NEVER trade in your vehicle to this dealership), so needless to say, I choose another dealership (again) and had no intentions on ever contacting them again, until I got a recall in the mail for my truck... Unfortunately, again, they are the only dealer in the area and I thought I should get the recall done (do my responsible ownership duty) and like my diesel mechanic said when expressing my concern of letting them perform the recall, "surely they can handle a simple recall..." but as you might have guessed by now, wrong again! I went into their service department to fix 1 problem and walked out with 2 problems! They not only messed up my truck (have had warning lights flashing and the check engine light on now for 3 weeks!) but every time I call down there, nobody is willing to help me fix the problem... I spoke with ***** ****** (senior service advisor) and he proved exactly what another (reputable) dealership said about them (after he said he knew there was a problem the moment their name got mentioned, what does that tell you?!) that, "They only have parts replacers down there, not mechanics!" I spoke to the service manager, **** *********, who was literally the ONLY person in the entire dealership willing to help me, but he was told by the owner of Bales, ***** ***** (who I also spoke with), that they would not do anything to help me unless I wanted to pay... I cannot believe this dealership stays in business taking such poor care of its customers... I now have a major problem to my truck due to the work they performed on it and am stuck with no recourse, so thought I should warn others to stay away from this poor excuse of a dealership! From their sales, to their service, to their management, a terrible repeated experience across the board... I have never written an online review on anyone or any company before (if that tells you how bad the experience was) and work in sales locally, so everyone I speak to (at least) and all who reads these reviews on these websites will know about these bad experiences! I can only hope that Bales will start taking better care of its customers and not ruining expensive trucks moving forward... I have truly gave them every possible chance to help me (even stopped in there on 3 separate occasions) and simply got dropped by most of the people there... It is a bad way to do business and hopefully someone can learn from my experiences to avoid their own problems with this dealer... I would not allow Bales to touch my vehicle for ANY reason and will never shop there again... It is the sad truth (would honestly give them a ZERO rating if the website had it as an option!) so please do yourself a favor and stay away from these people and this dealership completely (not worth the headache and aggravation)! There are too many good dealerships out there that take great care of their customers... Thank you consumer!

Desired Settlement: They need to fix my truck! It is not fair that they mess it up and I get stuck with paying to have it fixed (regardless of the reason)... I took it into their dealership with no mechanical issues and left with lots of mechanical issues! It is bot my fault that they did not do their due diligence and let me know that what they were doing would cause more problems! You should never let a customer leave your shop in worse condition than when they arrived (bad business)!

Business Response:

Mr. ******* purchased his truck from an individual.  The previous owner had removed the emissions system and had software installed that overrode the vehicle's recognition that the equipment was not there.  This allowed the vehicle to operate properly without the indicator lights showing that there was a problem.  When we performed the recall that Mr. ******* asked us to complete, the software was deleted as part of the recalls resetting of the system.  The indicator lights are now on because the software is no longer overriding the system.  Mr. ******* wants us to override the indicator lights.  This is illegal and would open us up to fines for bypassing the emissions system.  I explained to Mr. ******* that there are two solutions to his problem.  One, re-install the proper and legal emissions equipment and restore the truck to a legal status.  We can do that work for him but he would have to pay for it.  Two, purchase the illegal software and find someone to install it for him to bypass the emissions system and cause the indicator lights to go out.  We will not participate in that process. 

No one here has been anything but polite to Mr. *******.  When I explained our position, he said that he understood and would never ask us to do anything illegal but that is exactly what he is asking of us.  We understand that Mr. ******* purchased a very expensive used truck and didn't really know what he was getting.  His complaint should be focused toward the individual who sold him the truck and did not provide the software that had been installed.  If he had the original software, he could re-install it on the truck and restore the truck to the condition it was in before the recall was performed.

Please contact me or **** ********* if you have any further questions.

***** *****

1/14/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In March of 2013 - less than two years ago I purchased a 2006 Mercedes Benz C230 from the Bales Used Auto Dealership in Jeffersonville, Indiana. I purchased the car from sales representative **** ****** - whom from investigation is still employed with Bales; however is the "Commercial Fleet" manager rather than a sales associate as he was the day I purchased the car. Within six months of purchasing the car and less than 10,000 miles the transmission needed to be replaced to the tune of $5,000 - the service was completed at "******** ************ *******" who then had to forward the work on to the Mercedes Dealership of ************ as they were unsure of the repair process. Also, when purchasing a car from Bales they give you the first oil change for free - when I brought my car to Bales for the free oil change service members of the Bales staff actually caused damage to the intake area of the vehicle which I had to have repaired in ************ - where I live. When I contacted the service department of Bales I was treated very rudely and was assured that they had done nothing wrong and I had to go through a rather lengthy process of faxes and emails with the service manager until I was refunded the money for the damage caused by Bales. Over the next months approximately another $5,000 was invested into the vehicle to repair various aspects of the car including oil leaks, faulty gaskets, seals, steering issues, and a bent camber shaft (which was apparently bent when I purchased the car). When I purchased the car from Bales I was told by Mr. ****** and another member of the Bales staff whom is no longer employed with Bales that they "personally knew" the person who had owned the car before me and while they didn't know much about Mercedes Cars they were sure that this vehicle was well maintained. Between the large "QUALITY" inscription on the building windows and these two gentlemen's so called "connection" to the previous owner I decided to forgo the extended warranty on the car due to that advertisement by the two staff members, or "False Pretenses" under Indiana Law. This was my first car that I had ever purchased on my own - and I was completely taken advantage of by this staff. Due to their faulty advertisement of a relationship with the previous owner I was manipulated to think they had the best of intentions in trying to assist me in purchasing a quality used car. When the transmission was replaced I wrote a review on the Bales website explaining what had happened to me - I was never contacted by any member of the Bales staff to discuss my problem. Also, my review was swiftly deleted from the site. On the anniversary of purchasing the car I received a "congratulatory" email from Mr. ****** and a phone call from Bales to discuss my year's ownership of the car. I explained all of the issues I'd had (at that point) with the vehicle to Mr. ****** in an email - and he chose to never respond to the email. When I explained my problem over the phone yet again nothing was done - a simple "we're sorry for your experience" I have scrupulously maintained the vehicle with the Mercedes Benz Dealership of ************ (***** **** Motors) who has proof of the damages to the car caused by the Bales Service department who was rude in dealing with, although they did finally refund my costs. The service representative that I have used at ***** **** Motors is Mr. ***** *********, the department number is ************ *** **** or his email is *********@****************** I have documentation over the ownership of the vehicle documenting the approximately $10,000 that has been spent in making repairs to the car that should have never been necessary had the faulty advertisement of Bales and Mr. ****** actually been true. Driving home on the interstate last night the "Check Engine" light - that seems to have constantly been lit since owning this car has yet again become lit and I will again need to go service the car with Mercedes to solve yet another problem.

Desired Settlement: My desired outcome of this situation is to either be refunded the cost of repairs that have been necessary to repair the car since ownership - or to be refunded the purchase price of the vehicle when it was purchased less than two years ago.

Business Response:

Attached is the AS-IS form that Mr. ********** signed when he purchased the car.  We are very clear, as is evident by the detail in the form, in communicating to our customers when a car can't be guaranteed.  Usually, this is done when a car is several years old, has high mileage or is a brand that could require maintenance or repairs that cost more than the average car.  The purpose of this policy of identifying a car as AS-IS is to make sure the customer knows that there could be excessive costs in owning it.  Often times, it serves as a deterrant to a customer from buying the car.  We would rather someone not purchase a car than end up with repairs they can't afford.  Some customers who purchase AS-IS cars are mechanics or have a connection with someone who can assist in possible repairs down the road.  All of our AS-IS customers receive this AS-IS form and are given the opportunity to have the vehicle inspected independently prior to commitment.

***** *****

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I received no offer of reprisal from Bales for the services needed on the vehicle during my brief ownership. The only reply was to forward on an AS-IS document that I signed. What is not mentioned in the email is any account of the manipulation that occurred when I purchased the car. As I FIRST TIME car buyer I was manipulated by the Bales Sales staff into believing the car was of quality in no need of inspection or otherwise by a third party. My request is for at least the cost of the transmission that began acting up right after purchase. My next step is to contact the Indiana Attorney General under fraud laws of automobile purchase.

Regards,

 

***** **********  


 

 %

12/5/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Our 2005 Jeep, would not disengage the transfer to tow the vehicle. After over 4 hours in the waiting room, my wife was brought home. after another 2.5 hours they called and said the car was ready. I took her to pick it up, and when she left the service bay she noticed that the Navigation screen was black, Then she tried to turn the Radio on, only to find out it didn't work. She took it back, and they said to bring it back Monday morning 12/1/14. She took it there at 08:30 and after They checked it out, they said a wire was loose in the wiring harness, and nothing that they did caused the problem, that the Radio Had just GONE bad. First how does a wire just come loose in a Wiring Harness? Second, There was NOTHING wrong with the Radio when she took the vehicle in to Bales, and anything that happened, Happened while it was in THEIR possession. Of course they can order us a new radio for $900. Wrong, I would NOT buy Anything EVER again from these ripoff thieves.

Desired Settlement: I want the Radio and Navigation system replaced at their facility, and their cost.

Business Response:

The repairs that we performed related to the 4-wheel drive system were in the rear of the vehicle.  The loose wire that Mr. **** referred to was related to that repair, not the radio.  When they brought the vehicle back in, our technician verified that the radiio had power and proper ground.  That indicated that the problem was internal with the radio.  We did not touch the radio or perform any tasks near the radio.  We have seen these types of radios fail before.  It is a 9 year old vehicle.  A refurbished radiio is available and would cost somewhere around $400 .  If Mr. **** would be willing to purchase the radio, we would be willing to install it at no charge as a goodwill gesture.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Regards,

****** ****

 


 

 There was NOTHING wrong with the radio or the Navigation system, when the vehicle went into their shop. Whatever happened, HAPPENED while the vehicle was in their possession, and I want it fixed, in their shop at their expense. I will go to the Attorney General, Chrysler corp. or any where else I can go if necessary to get this done. I have already posted it on Facebook, and will continue as far as necessary to prevent these sorry ****** from doing this to anyone else.

9/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bales Auto had my Santa Fe under repair and unable to provide me with a loner car from their car lot, so they stated that they would provide me with a rental car and pay the costs. I was instructed by service representative, ***** *******, to return the rental car to Bales and not to ********** rental. Upon my return to Bales of the rental car, I informed ***** that I had not added gas to the rental car since I was dropping the car off to the service department instead of **********. ********** billed me for $61.49 for gas filling of tank, which Bales failed to do upon my return to them. I notified ***** in the service department of this added charge to me and he stated, "I will call ********** and take care of it." After one week the charge was still on my bill and I called ********** and was informed that they couldn't refund my money, but instructed Bales to refund me. I then spoke with ***** and he stated that ********** did not state that to him. He then informed me that he would speak with his boss and get back with me that day. After another week I had not heard from *****, so I called him and he stated that they could not refund me the money, since they had to pay for 2 days of rental instead of the anticipated one day of rental. I repeated to him that he had stated that they would take care of it when I first notified him of the charge. He stated he would call ********** and get back with me that day. After a 4 day delay I called his boss, **** *********, and spoke with him about the situation and he rudely informed me that they would not refund my money and that they would no longer be offering rental service to customers due to my issue with the service department. He stated that Bales did not have to offer me a loner car or a rental car; he stated that it was a "courtesy" only. I had just paid Bales over thirteen hundred dollars to repair my car and they could not offer to pay over 61 dollars for gas after they had told me twice they would take care of it and cover the cost. I am totally disappointed in their dishonesty during this issue and informed **** that I would not be returning to their business in the future. I have no complaints with Hyundai, just with the Bales service department and how this issue was handled.

Desired Settlement: I would like to receive a refund check for the amount charged to me by ********** from Bales Auto of $61.49. I would also like to receive some form of apology from Bales management for the dishonesty and rudeness that I received from the service department. I have been a customer with them for over 12 years, as well as purchased a car from them, and I have never been treated with so much disrespect. I am truly disappointed in the customer service department.

Business Response:

We spoke to Ms. **** and apologized for not being more proactive in handling her concern.  We had discounted the  repair and provided the rental during the repair but didn't  pay for her gas.  I don't think we understood, originally, that that was an expectation, but when she made it clear that it was we should have gone ahead and paid it.  We are issuing her a check for the gas expense.

***** *****

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

**** ****

 


 

 

9/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/10/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Wednesday the 19th of March we took our 2012 Dodge Journey into Bales Auto Mall to get an engine light checked out and to get an oil change. We spoke with ***** in service when we got there. She informed us that it would not be a problem getting it in. We told we had a warrantee package on the vehicle but we failed to bring it with us and asked if it would be ok to call her back with the information to which she said yes. So we left and called her back within the hour. She called us later that day and told us that both the thermostats in our vehicle had gone bad and needed to be replaced and that they would have to order parts and they would not get there for 48 hrs and that they would call us on Friday when the vehicle was ready. She asked us if we wanted to go ahead and replace the windshield wipers while they had the vehicle being serviced because by doing so it would not be charged the normal labor fees. She did not at any time give us any pricing on the windshield wipers. We called back within 10 minutes of the call to ask that the vehicle also be put in for an oil change as well. On Friday we called the dealership after not receiving any calls or messages from them at 4:14 to check on the status of our vehicle and we were informed that the service department was already closed for the day and that they would be open again Saturday from 8 AM to noon. My wife and I went to the dealership Saturday morning around 10 or 11 AM to make sure that we got there in plenty of time before they were supposed to close. When we got there we went to the service area where we had dropped off our car and there was absolutely no one there. We were told by an employee that we needed to go to the Hyundai side to be able to check on our vehicle. We were walked over by an employee to their service counter. The young lady who was working the counter asked for our name and what type of vehicle to which we gave her the information. we were then informed that the paperwork was not even "booked" by ***** and that she was going to have to try and pull it up. She then had to call ***** at home because She couldn't figure out some of the information she was seeing. We were given a total that did not sound correct to us and we asked if the warrantee had even been contacted to which she had to contact ***** again. We were then given a second total which still seemed incorrect. We reviewed the paperwork that was given to us as we were in the process of paying and questioned some of the charges and were informed that we could contact ***** or some one in the Dodge service area on Monday and that they would be able to address our concerns and make any corrections if need be. My wife called Monday morning and spoke with a gentleman by the name of Sunny. Who refused to assist with any of the issues.

Desired Settlement: We would like to be contacted so we can get the service charges adjusted to what they should be, and for the customer service training to be addressed throughout the facility in the service areas!

Business Response:

I met with all that were involved with this situation.  Our mistake was that we promised to call Mrs. ***** on Friday and forgot to do so.  The service advisor who was involved left early, before the repair was completed.  When it was finished we did not follow through and complete the paperwork and make the call.  The $71.40 that Mrs. ***** is requesting be refunded is for the wiper blades that she approved but did not request a price.  It was the correct price.  The blades are expensive.  We have left messages for Mrs. ***** and as of this morning, I don't believe we have heard from her.  We are prepared to offer her 2 free oil changes, valued at $80 to offset the higher than expected cost of the wipers and the inconvenience caused by our failure to call her on Friday.

***** *****

3/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My vehicle was taken to Bales for an issue with the oil light coming on. The problem had attempted repair by a previous shop putting two different oil sending units on and not having any luck solving the problem. The vehicle was then taken to the dealer for expert testing to determine the problem. The tech states according to the repair order that the problem is in fact the oil sending switch. I have the service advisor ***** call me with a quote that was excessive since the part only cost $29.74 from their parts department. I arrive to pick up my vehicle and ask ***** for documented results to show it was the oil sending unit, to which she replied that the tech was at lunch and she could not give me them. The oil pressure switch's job is to only notify the driver of low oil pressure, since I assume they did test and proper diagnosis the problem, my vehicle was safe to drive. I did decline the repair, yet did complete the repair and I did drive the vehicle with the light on, but only based on a Chrysler certified technician's word of the problem. I now have upper engine noise that I never had before and the dealer and Chrysler Corporation declines to stand behind their diagnosis. This inclines me to believe that they can mis-diagnosis consumers vehicles, charge them for work ( if I had let them do the repair) and/or mis-repair and not be held accountable. They are stating because my vehicle has 150K miles they will not repair my vehicle. This is not right or should it be legal to mis-lead the consumer.

Desired Settlement: Have my vehicle repaired.

Business Response: We diagnosed the problem.  Mr. ***** chose not to have the repair completed.  If we had made the diagnosed repair, tested it and determined that there was still a problem, we would have gone further to determine the cause.  Once the vehicle left our facility, with the oil light still on, we had no control over what happened and can't be responsible for subsequent repairs or events.  We did not mis-lead Mr. *****.  We made a good faith diagnosis but were not given the opportunity to follow through on it.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution. Please respond here ONLY]

Regards,

****** *****


 

 

3/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: this is ****** ********** and I am a veteran of both the USN almost 7 years and federal civilian around 16 years, my daughter* ***** ********* purchased an as is 2000 Dodge neon from this dealership and I realize that if the brakes needed to be replaced because of being worn, but when it was making a squealing noise, I took it to a garage and I found out that the emergency brake cable was not even hooked up. That to me makes this vehicle unsafe. any other problems I understand would be her responsibility. I do, however believe that even as is vehicles should be at least sold in a safe working condition. I called Bales the first time two days ago and talked to the service department as my daughter works almost everyday except for some Sundays and they transferred me to sales and used sales and left a message which was not returned. I called ****** ********* today who says that is not their responsibility and they do not check the vehicles they sell as is. All I wanted is for them to attach the brake cable to the brake levers.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to connect the emergency brake cable to the brake levers on both back brakes as neither are connected.

Consumer Response: This ** ***** ********* I am 22 and I am the one that made the complaint with the help of my dad, ****** **********. ********** is my maiden name.

Business Response: Ms. ********* and Ms. ******** purchased the Neon "As Is".  The second paragraph of the "As Is" agreement that they both signed clearly states, "I was allowed to have the vehicle inspected by an independent mechanic of my choice before I purchased it."  We are very intentional in explaining that we make no promises or guarantees related to the reliability of a vehicle that is purchased "As Is".   We do make certain that the primary braking system is functioning when we sell an "As Is" vehicle.  We must remain consistent in how we handle "As Is" transactions so we can not make any repairs after the sale.  We would, however, be willing to refund Ms. ********* and Ms. ******** the purchase price of the vehicle.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID*******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution. Please respond here ONLY]

Regards,

***** *********


as I stated to the dealership it would be one thing if the parking brake was faulty or became bad but it is just not hooked up and I believe that makes it a safety issue. Do we allow businesses to sell unsafe products?

 

 

9/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In Oct a coolant leak was noticed in our Chrysler Concord. We took the car in for repairs. We were told that the water pump had failed and were quoted $1350 (approx) for the repairs. This work included a new timing chain and tensioner. When my wife picked up the car a few days later she was told the cost was $1500. I complained that we were quoted a different price and asked that we receive a refund of the difference. Bales refused to offer any amount of refund back. Once we got the car to our house we noticed that we still had a leak. We called Bales and asked them to look into the problem. This work was to be done while we were out of town from 12/26 -12/28. I came by to see what they had found out I was told that they could not find any leaks. I told the service manager and he took his mechanic outside where the car was parked. The mechanic promptly pointed to a water puddle next to where the car was parked and said that the puddle was not a leak but water. I made the Bales service manager aware that I could distinguish between a water puddle and a coolant leak and I insisted that they resolve the leak issue. They then pulled the car inside and put it up on a rack were they immediately noticed both a coolant leak and tranmission fluid leak. There was not a transmission leak prior to the repair work. I left the car there and after they looked into the matter again I was informed that the leaks were the result of the new the water pump increasing pressure of the system and thus created new leaks. They maintained that their repairs in no way were the cause of the new leaks. Of course they were eager to quote +$1200 for the repair of the new leaks. We took to car to another machanic and had the work done for less than 1/2 of what Bales quoted. When we picked up our car from the other auto service shop the machanic mentioned that some of the leaks were do to the coolant lines not being properly connected or fastened. I knew that Bales had been responsible but was glad that the issue was done with and I would not have to deal with Balese again. However, within the past 3 weeks we started hearing a noise coming from the engine. I called Bales and was told to bring the car back in. In the meantime I searched out some answers as to what was causing the noise and everything I found pointed to a faulty timing chain installation. Bales could not immediately look at our car so we had to wait until March 7th to have Bales look into the noise. We were told they replaced the parts originally installed in Oct. This morning my wife was told that our car would be ready later today. This afternoon I was informed by the Balse service manager that our car had valve damage and would not start. Bales said the damage was not their responsibility. We know that there was not any previous damage to the valves before bringing the car to them today. I have spoken with several mechanics and have been told that the damage had to have occured after they installed and improperly adjusted the timing chain. I have spoken with the Service Manager and his Manager and was told I that I had to pay for the valve repair and additional parts. I disagreed and was told I can take them to Small Claims Court. We are really tired of the being treated this way.

Desired Settlement: We want the damage to our car due to the neglect of Bales to be repaired without additional cost to us.

Business Response: I had a voice mail from Mrs. *********** when I arrived today.  I returned the call and spoke to Mr. *********** this morning before I had any knowledge of his BBB complaint.  We are going to schedule a meeting the first of next week to discuss the situation.  In the mean time I am arranging a loaner car for his wife to pick up later today.

8/14/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When I was looking to purchase a car I had done my research online and had requested a price from Bales on a 2012 Hyundai. They sent a reply with a price of $20990.00. They were very good with their customer service, even brought the car to my work for me to test drive. After several days they were able to finally get my financing approved. I made arrangements to go to the dealership to finalize the paper work and take possision of the car. Proably after having the car for two weeks I was looking at the paper work for the financing of the car and noticed that the selling price was not what they told me, it was actually $21800.00. A difference $810.00. When I went back and looked at my orignal email and forwarded it back to my sales person he called me and first said that was the discounted price for military or students...when I said it didnt say that in the email, he then said that because it was such a struggle to get me financed and that my trade in wasnt worth what they had origanlly told me that they had to play (that may not be the exact words he used) with the numbers to get me financed. I told him that I take some responsibility for not paying attention at the time of signing, but felt that he should of pointed that out to me. He then said that it was his fault that he didnt point that out to me and that his manager was off that day and he would talk to him about it. After thinking about this I sent him another email and told him that I really didnt like the way that I had been done and reminded him that he already had the papers printed for me to sign when I got there with my car that he said was not worth what he had told me that he was going to give me, at that point the papers should of been reprinted and it should of been brought to my attention but wasnt.

Business Response: We have spoken with Ms. ******* and told her that we will refund the $810.  Our internet response did not include the customary disclaimer related to qualifying incentives.  This is something that we are now going to include in all of our emails similar to what we have in our advertising.  The other contributing factor in this was that we gave an estimation of the value of the trade without seeing it.  Evidently, we did not communicate that well enough.  A check for $810 will be sent to Ms. ******* by August 14th.

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. I do appreciate what they are doing and am very happy with the outcome.

Thank you very much!!

Regards,

****** *******