BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Louisville, Southern Indiana and Western Kentucky
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Bales Auto Mall?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Bales Auto Mall

Additional Locations

Phone: (812) 282-4356 Fax: (812) 283-6766 630 Broadway, Jeffersonville, IN 47130 http://www.balesmotors.com View Additional Web Addresses

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Bales Auto Mall meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Bales Auto Mall include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 10 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 10

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

6 Customer Reviews on Bales Auto Mall
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 3
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 6

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: September 01, 1970 Business started: 01/01/1952 Business incorporated: 01/01/1952 in IN
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

SECRETARY OF STATE
302 WEST WASHINGTON , Indianapolis IN 46204
http://www.in.gov/sos/dealer/index.htm
Phone Number: 317-234-7190

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Les Albro, President Mr. David Lewis, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Les Albro, President
Principal: Mr. David Lewis, Owner
Business Category

AUTO DEALERS-NEW CARS AUTO DEALERS-USED CARS

Alternate Business Names
Bales Chrysler, Jeep, RAM, Hyundai Bales Motor Company, Inc. Bales Motors Bales Used Cars
Industry Tips
Used Cars

Additional Locations

  • 630 Broadway

    Jeffersonville, IN 47130 (812) 282-4356

  • Seventh & Spring

    Jeffersonville, IN 47130 (812) 282-4356

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

9/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bales Auto had my Santa Fe under repair and unable to provide me with a loner car from their car lot, so they stated that they would provide me with a rental car and pay the costs. I was instructed by service representative, ***** *******, to return the rental car to Bales and not to ********** rental. Upon my return to Bales of the rental car, I informed ***** that I had not added gas to the rental car since I was dropping the car off to the service department instead of **********. ********** billed me for $61.49 for gas filling of tank, which Bales failed to do upon my return to them. I notified ***** in the service department of this added charge to me and he stated, "I will call ********** and take care of it." After one week the charge was still on my bill and I called ********** and was informed that they couldn't refund my money, but instructed Bales to refund me. I then spoke with ***** and he stated that ********** did not state that to him. He then informed me that he would speak with his boss and get back with me that day. After another week I had not heard from *****, so I called him and he stated that they could not refund me the money, since they had to pay for 2 days of rental instead of the anticipated one day of rental. I repeated to him that he had stated that they would take care of it when I first notified him of the charge. He stated he would call ********** and get back with me that day. After a 4 day delay I called his boss, **** *********, and spoke with him about the situation and he rudely informed me that they would not refund my money and that they would no longer be offering rental service to customers due to my issue with the service department. He stated that Bales did not have to offer me a loner car or a rental car; he stated that it was a "courtesy" only. I had just paid Bales over thirteen hundred dollars to repair my car and they could not offer to pay over 61 dollars for gas after they had told me twice they would take care of it and cover the cost. I am totally disappointed in their dishonesty during this issue and informed **** that I would not be returning to their business in the future. I have no complaints with Hyundai, just with the Bales service department and how this issue was handled.

Desired Settlement: I would like to receive a refund check for the amount charged to me by ********** from Bales Auto of $61.49. I would also like to receive some form of apology from Bales management for the dishonesty and rudeness that I received from the service department. I have been a customer with them for over 12 years, as well as purchased a car from them, and I have never been treated with so much disrespect. I am truly disappointed in the customer service department.

Business Response:

We spoke to Ms. **** and apologized for not being more proactive in handling her concern.  We had discounted the  repair and provided the rental during the repair but didn't  pay for her gas.  I don't think we understood, originally, that that was an expectation, but when she made it clear that it was we should have gone ahead and paid it.  We are issuing her a check for the gas expense.

***** *****

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

**** ****

 


 

 

9/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/10/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Wednesday the 19th of March we took our 2012 Dodge Journey into Bales Auto Mall to get an engine light checked out and to get an oil change. We spoke with ***** in service when we got there. She informed us that it would not be a problem getting it in. We told we had a warrantee package on the vehicle but we failed to bring it with us and asked if it would be ok to call her back with the information to which she said yes. So we left and called her back within the hour. She called us later that day and told us that both the thermostats in our vehicle had gone bad and needed to be replaced and that they would have to order parts and they would not get there for 48 hrs and that they would call us on Friday when the vehicle was ready. She asked us if we wanted to go ahead and replace the windshield wipers while they had the vehicle being serviced because by doing so it would not be charged the normal labor fees. She did not at any time give us any pricing on the windshield wipers. We called back within 10 minutes of the call to ask that the vehicle also be put in for an oil change as well. On Friday we called the dealership after not receiving any calls or messages from them at 4:14 to check on the status of our vehicle and we were informed that the service department was already closed for the day and that they would be open again Saturday from 8 AM to noon. My wife and I went to the dealership Saturday morning around 10 or 11 AM to make sure that we got there in plenty of time before they were supposed to close. When we got there we went to the service area where we had dropped off our car and there was absolutely no one there. We were told by an employee that we needed to go to the Hyundai side to be able to check on our vehicle. We were walked over by an employee to their service counter. The young lady who was working the counter asked for our name and what type of vehicle to which we gave her the information. we were then informed that the paperwork was not even "booked" by ***** and that she was going to have to try and pull it up. She then had to call ***** at home because She couldn't figure out some of the information she was seeing. We were given a total that did not sound correct to us and we asked if the warrantee had even been contacted to which she had to contact ***** again. We were then given a second total which still seemed incorrect. We reviewed the paperwork that was given to us as we were in the process of paying and questioned some of the charges and were informed that we could contact ***** or some one in the Dodge service area on Monday and that they would be able to address our concerns and make any corrections if need be. My wife called Monday morning and spoke with a gentleman by the name of Sunny. Who refused to assist with any of the issues.

Desired Settlement: We would like to be contacted so we can get the service charges adjusted to what they should be, and for the customer service training to be addressed throughout the facility in the service areas!

Business Response:

I met with all that were involved with this situation.  Our mistake was that we promised to call Mrs. ***** on Friday and forgot to do so.  The service advisor who was involved left early, before the repair was completed.  When it was finished we did not follow through and complete the paperwork and make the call.  The $71.40 that Mrs. ***** is requesting be refunded is for the wiper blades that she approved but did not request a price.  It was the correct price.  The blades are expensive.  We have left messages for Mrs. ***** and as of this morning, I don't believe we have heard from her.  We are prepared to offer her 2 free oil changes, valued at $80 to offset the higher than expected cost of the wipers and the inconvenience caused by our failure to call her on Friday.

***** *****

3/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My vehicle was taken to Bales for an issue with the oil light coming on. The problem had attempted repair by a previous shop putting two different oil sending units on and not having any luck solving the problem. The vehicle was then taken to the dealer for expert testing to determine the problem. The tech states according to the repair order that the problem is in fact the oil sending switch. I have the service advisor ***** call me with a quote that was excessive since the part only cost $29.74 from their parts department. I arrive to pick up my vehicle and ask ***** for documented results to show it was the oil sending unit, to which she replied that the tech was at lunch and she could not give me them. The oil pressure switch's job is to only notify the driver of low oil pressure, since I assume they did test and proper diagnosis the problem, my vehicle was safe to drive. I did decline the repair, yet did complete the repair and I did drive the vehicle with the light on, but only based on a Chrysler certified technician's word of the problem. I now have upper engine noise that I never had before and the dealer and Chrysler Corporation declines to stand behind their diagnosis. This inclines me to believe that they can mis-diagnosis consumers vehicles, charge them for work ( if I had let them do the repair) and/or mis-repair and not be held accountable. They are stating because my vehicle has 150K miles they will not repair my vehicle. This is not right or should it be legal to mis-lead the consumer.

Desired Settlement: Have my vehicle repaired.

Business Response: We diagnosed the problem.  Mr. ***** chose not to have the repair completed.  If we had made the diagnosed repair, tested it and determined that there was still a problem, we would have gone further to determine the cause.  Once the vehicle left our facility, with the oil light still on, we had no control over what happened and can't be responsible for subsequent repairs or events.  We did not mis-lead Mr. *****.  We made a good faith diagnosis but were not given the opportunity to follow through on it.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution. Please respond here ONLY]

Regards,

****** *****


 

 

3/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: this is ****** ********** and I am a veteran of both the USN almost 7 years and federal civilian around 16 years, my daughter* ***** ********* purchased an as is 2000 Dodge neon from this dealership and I realize that if the brakes needed to be replaced because of being worn, but when it was making a squealing noise, I took it to a garage and I found out that the emergency brake cable was not even hooked up. That to me makes this vehicle unsafe. any other problems I understand would be her responsibility. I do, however believe that even as is vehicles should be at least sold in a safe working condition. I called Bales the first time two days ago and talked to the service department as my daughter works almost everyday except for some Sundays and they transferred me to sales and used sales and left a message which was not returned. I called ****** ********* today who says that is not their responsibility and they do not check the vehicles they sell as is. All I wanted is for them to attach the brake cable to the brake levers.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to connect the emergency brake cable to the brake levers on both back brakes as neither are connected.

Consumer Response: This ** ***** ********* I am 22 and I am the one that made the complaint with the help of my dad, ****** **********. ********** is my maiden name.

Business Response: Ms. ********* and Ms. ******** purchased the Neon "As Is".  The second paragraph of the "As Is" agreement that they both signed clearly states, "I was allowed to have the vehicle inspected by an independent mechanic of my choice before I purchased it."  We are very intentional in explaining that we make no promises or guarantees related to the reliability of a vehicle that is purchased "As Is".   We do make certain that the primary braking system is functioning when we sell an "As Is" vehicle.  We must remain consistent in how we handle "As Is" transactions so we can not make any repairs after the sale.  We would, however, be willing to refund Ms. ********* and Ms. ******** the purchase price of the vehicle.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID*******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution. Please respond here ONLY]

Regards,

***** *********


as I stated to the dealership it would be one thing if the parking brake was faulty or became bad but it is just not hooked up and I believe that makes it a safety issue. Do we allow businesses to sell unsafe products?

 

 

9/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In Oct a coolant leak was noticed in our Chrysler Concord. We took the car in for repairs. We were told that the water pump had failed and were quoted $1350 (approx) for the repairs. This work included a new timing chain and tensioner. When my wife picked up the car a few days later she was told the cost was $1500. I complained that we were quoted a different price and asked that we receive a refund of the difference. Bales refused to offer any amount of refund back. Once we got the car to our house we noticed that we still had a leak. We called Bales and asked them to look into the problem. This work was to be done while we were out of town from 12/26 -12/28. I came by to see what they had found out I was told that they could not find any leaks. I told the service manager and he took his mechanic outside where the car was parked. The mechanic promptly pointed to a water puddle next to where the car was parked and said that the puddle was not a leak but water. I made the Bales service manager aware that I could distinguish between a water puddle and a coolant leak and I insisted that they resolve the leak issue. They then pulled the car inside and put it up on a rack were they immediately noticed both a coolant leak and tranmission fluid leak. There was not a transmission leak prior to the repair work. I left the car there and after they looked into the matter again I was informed that the leaks were the result of the new the water pump increasing pressure of the system and thus created new leaks. They maintained that their repairs in no way were the cause of the new leaks. Of course they were eager to quote +$1200 for the repair of the new leaks. We took to car to another machanic and had the work done for less than 1/2 of what Bales quoted. When we picked up our car from the other auto service shop the machanic mentioned that some of the leaks were do to the coolant lines not being properly connected or fastened. I knew that Bales had been responsible but was glad that the issue was done with and I would not have to deal with Balese again. However, within the past 3 weeks we started hearing a noise coming from the engine. I called Bales and was told to bring the car back in. In the meantime I searched out some answers as to what was causing the noise and everything I found pointed to a faulty timing chain installation. Bales could not immediately look at our car so we had to wait until March 7th to have Bales look into the noise. We were told they replaced the parts originally installed in Oct. This morning my wife was told that our car would be ready later today. This afternoon I was informed by the Balse service manager that our car had valve damage and would not start. Bales said the damage was not their responsibility. We know that there was not any previous damage to the valves before bringing the car to them today. I have spoken with several mechanics and have been told that the damage had to have occured after they installed and improperly adjusted the timing chain. I have spoken with the Service Manager and his Manager and was told I that I had to pay for the valve repair and additional parts. I disagreed and was told I can take them to Small Claims Court. We are really tired of the being treated this way.

Desired Settlement: We want the damage to our car due to the neglect of Bales to be repaired without additional cost to us.

Business Response: I had a voice mail from Mrs. *********** when I arrived today.  I returned the call and spoke to Mr. *********** this morning before I had any knowledge of his BBB complaint.  We are going to schedule a meeting the first of next week to discuss the situation.  In the mean time I am arranging a loaner car for his wife to pick up later today.

8/14/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When I was looking to purchase a car I had done my research online and had requested a price from Bales on a 2012 Hyundai. They sent a reply with a price of $20990.00. They were very good with their customer service, even brought the car to my work for me to test drive. After several days they were able to finally get my financing approved. I made arrangements to go to the dealership to finalize the paper work and take possision of the car. Proably after having the car for two weeks I was looking at the paper work for the financing of the car and noticed that the selling price was not what they told me, it was actually $21800.00. A difference $810.00. When I went back and looked at my orignal email and forwarded it back to my sales person he called me and first said that was the discounted price for military or students...when I said it didnt say that in the email, he then said that because it was such a struggle to get me financed and that my trade in wasnt worth what they had origanlly told me that they had to play (that may not be the exact words he used) with the numbers to get me financed. I told him that I take some responsibility for not paying attention at the time of signing, but felt that he should of pointed that out to me. He then said that it was his fault that he didnt point that out to me and that his manager was off that day and he would talk to him about it. After thinking about this I sent him another email and told him that I really didnt like the way that I had been done and reminded him that he already had the papers printed for me to sign when I got there with my car that he said was not worth what he had told me that he was going to give me, at that point the papers should of been reprinted and it should of been brought to my attention but wasnt.

Business Response: We have spoken with Ms. ******* and told her that we will refund the $810.  Our internet response did not include the customary disclaimer related to qualifying incentives.  This is something that we are now going to include in all of our emails similar to what we have in our advertising.  The other contributing factor in this was that we gave an estimation of the value of the trade without seeing it.  Evidently, we did not communicate that well enough.  A check for $810 will be sent to Ms. ******* by August 14th.

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. I do appreciate what they are doing and am very happy with the outcome.

Thank you very much!!

Regards,

****** *******


 

6/25/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a Hyundai Tucson 2011 from Bales Auto Mall on 06/30/2011. I took my car for an oil change and when I came back to pick up my car, the service clerk behind the counter started looking for my car keys and it seems she could not locate my keys so after 15 mins I asked where were my keys. The lady at the counter called another worker called ***** and he told her that the keys should be behind the counter and said that my car was parked inside the service department a few minutes ago. I started to sense that something was wrong because all the employees started to act strangely. So ***** said ' your car was just parked here 2 minutes ago but now I cant find it" and I said what do you mean you cant find it. He said he needed to look outside in case some other employees drove my car to the parking lot outside. ***** came back 30 mins later and said they could not locate my car. I asked for a manager and they told me that the manager had to go home because of a family emergency. The lady at the counter said your car was there parked inside a few minutes ago and now it is gone. They all looked worried and I asked that they call the Police. It took them 10 mins to call the Police department and 30 mins later an officer came and took my report and asked to talk to Management. They told him that there was no member of management. He asked if there was a camera and they said yes but on that day they were not working. So the Police officer took all my information and prepared a report. I called my insurance while I was still at Bales and inform them that my car was stolen. Also Bales made me pay for the oil change but I argued that they should give me a refund because my car was stolen so they refunded me the oil change. After 2 hours of wait, a clerk at the service department told me they would loan me a car. I had no choice but accept because I had no way to go home. I came back to the dealership and ask to speak to the general manager and an employee told me she was busy and could not talk to me and that they accepted full responsibility for what happened and that I should hear from their insurance. I went back another day to speak to the general manager but no luck, I feel like nobody care or want to talk to me or apologize. I feel that this matter is very serious and that the general manager should have called me to apologize and make an appointment with me to discuss the matter. A week later I get a phone call from ********* Insurance (the dealership insurance) and a gentleman called **** ******* (tel. *************) telling me that they will send me a letter and make a settlement offer on the balance of on my car. I used Bales finance when I purchased the car and **** (the appraiser) send me a letter saying that they want to settle for $25 700.95 and if I accept they will send the money to their bank but I called the bank and my balance on the car is around 27,000 and **** explained to me that they can only offer the market value of the car with depreciation and I understand that.

Desired Settlement: I spoke to my insurance ******* ****** and they said that I have full comprehensive insurance and they will settle the total loss of the vehicle with the dealership bank. I feel like the dealership think that they are doing me a favor but giving me $25K which is about the same value that my own insurance is ready to settled. I pay insurance every month and ******* ****** must step up to the plate and cover the loss of my car and they have been very pleasant dealing with me on this difficult time. So ******* ****** is going to settle the total loss with the dealership insurance. Now I feel like the dealership is getting away too easy and paying me $800 for the content of my car is not going to change the matter which is: I still do not have a car all because of negligence and betrayal of my trust by the dealership". A few clerks at the service department said that they saw a man what was acting "suspect" and was looking at some car and gave the description to the Police. I find hard to believe that a complete stranger would come and steal keys behind a counter and know which key belong to a car and nobody saw him when they claim the counter was attended all along. And I find it even more suspect that the cameras were not working on that day but it is an investigative matter and the Police has been looking into it so even if I have my own opinion on this matter I will not comment on it. My car is missing to this day and each time I follow up with the Police department there is no lead. The desired outcome would be that the dealership gives me a replacement car or a monetary settlement. I have been using a rental loaned by Bales but I was told I will need to return it once the insurance settles the loss. Therefore I feel like I am being victimized and after all the dealing with the insurance the matter is I still do not have a car and I feel like that dealership should be liable for my loss of the car under their care and the only remedy that I would accept would be for them to: 1- give me (free of charge) a new car of equal value and with all the options I purchased in my car (bear in mind that I put some money down when I purchased the car 10 months ago and I will never recover that. I have a premium package and limited edition with rear view camera and navigation system and I also purchased the extented warranty for the car). 2- or give me a monetary settlement equal to the value of my car so I can purchase a new car. I have not been dealing with an attorney but I decided to give the dealership a chance to discuss the matter outside of Court before I file for a civil lawsuit for liability and negligence. I already spoken to ******* ***** Service ( ************) and they told me that I have a case and I also went to the Court in Jeffersonville and sought free legal advice and they told me that I can contact a pro-bono attorney or call the news channel to inform them how the dealership is not willing to work with me and that Management is not interested in meeting me. I am trying to avoid legal fees so I am ready to talk to the dealership via the Better Business Bureau as I feel that Bales Auto Malls failed me as a client. I even contacted ******* *** and they apologized for my experience with the dealer but told me they could not help because they are a franchise and that I should contact Bales directly which I already have. I would like to thank the BBB for all they do on behalf of consumers and for their time in reading my story. Thank you.

Business Response:

We have accepted full responsibility for Ms. ******** loss.  Her complaint indicates that we have not been responsive to her concerns.  I do not understand that.  She says the the General Manager would not speak to her.  I am the owner and GM of the dealership and I met with her the day of the loss and apologized to her personally.  I then walked her back to speak with ***** in service and directed him to provide her with a loaner car.  We hoped, at that point, that the car would be located and returned to us.  The cameras she referenced are not for security purposes.  They allow the phone receptionist to see if the advisors are available to receive a phone call.  We have no recording devices.  Ms. ****** was directed to the cashier to pay for her oil change before we realized that the car was stolen.  We refunded her money after we were sure that the car was not to be found.  After I was informed that Ms. ****** had declined our insurance company's settlement offer I reviewed the sales file to verify that the offer was reasonable in light of the car's depreciated value.  During this process I discovered that she purchased GAP insurance when she bought the car.  This coverage pays the difference between the value of the car (or, in this case, the settlement amount) and the payoff.  I attempted to call her but her phone did not have voice mail.  I found an e-mail address and sent her a message asking her to call me.  I told her I had good news regarding the reimbursement for her loss.  Rather than call she came in a couple of days later and I was not in the dealership.  She was directed to someone who helped her file the GAP claim and all she had to do was provide a complete payment history from the bank.  As of this afternoon I don't believe we have received that from her.

I am very sorry this has happened.  I do not, however, know what we can do beyond what we are in the process of doing.  We will offer to sell her another car at cost but have not had that conversation yet.  We did not think it was appropriate to broach that subject until she was comfortable and initiated discussions about needing another car.

***** *****                                                                                                                

President and GM

 

   

1/17/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 12-17-2011 I purchased a 2011 Dodge Dakota from Bales which had an inspection sticker on the windshield stating it had completed a inspection for all defects. Upon purchase the vehicle has been in their repair shop several times for the following reasons:Front passager headlight replacement because of moisture, Front passager door didn't close all the way, a bent rim and low antifreeze. There were 2 new tires on the passager side of the vehicle and I asked they be moved to the rear and when they moved the tires it began to shake and I brought it back to the repair shop and they ordered a new rim and put the replacement rim on a wheel that wasn't bent at all. After waiting 5 days for the rim to arrive they either replaced the wrong rim or there are 2 bent rims. I spoke with the salesman who was supposed to check and call me back but I didn't hear anything.

Desired Settlement: I don't feel Bales repair shop is able to complete the repair after putting the replacement rim on the wrong tire so I would like to take the truck to another dealer and have them pay for the repair costs. I would also like this to be documented against bales that the inspection wasn't completed and it didn't even have the most basic inspection of checking the fluids because the truck needed a half a gallon of antifreeze when I got home.

Business Response:

When Mr. **** purchased the truck, we agreed to replace a headlight and move 2 tires so that the front tires and the back tires were the same.  When he brought the truck in for these repairs we discovered that there was a bent wheel.  We also adjusted the door.  We have no record of an antifreeze problem.  He took the truck and we ordered a replacement wheel at no cost to him.  He returned within a  day or so and said he didn't want to drive the truck with the bent wheel because of the vibration.  We gave him a loaner vehicle (no cost to him) and kept the truck.  The wheel came in and we replaced it.  Our service personnel drove the truck to verify the correction.  His salesperson then delivered the truck to Mr. **** and drove it on the interstate so he could also verify the correction.  There didn't appear to be any vibration at that time.  Mr. **** then called back to express his continued concerns with the vibration.  He was encouraged to bring it back so we could drive it with him to identify the problem.  He declined.  He said he would take it somewhere else and expected us to pay the bill.  We will not pay someone else to repair the truck.  He was here two times and we went to him once.  We will be happy to re-inspect it and make any appropriate repairs. 

***** *****