BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 03/21/2016

Luxury of Watches

Phone: (888) 854-6606

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service3
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints6

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (6)
06/19/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased an "authentic" Bell and Ross watch. I received the watch and it is a Fake. NOT AUTHENTIC as it was described. I need 100% refunded to me

Desired Settlement
REF

02/22/2016Advertising / Sales Issues
07/10/2015Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Company warranty was stated to cover watch band. Watch bad was defective and company will not honor warranty.
Purchase date: September 10, 2013
Problem date: April 9, 2015
Model Number: Movado Women's Serio XXXXXXX
Order Number: 5986
Payment amount: $801.00
Payment method: Visa *8125

Specific details:
When I purchased watch, warranty read "All watches will come with a lifetime warranty from Luxury Of Watches, we will cover the movement, the band, and any other moving part free of cost. Batteries are not included." (Taken from web.archive.org from Sept 20, 2013). On April 9, 2015 my watch band broke, so I took it into a local jeweler who said the watch band would need to be replaced and quoted me $700-$900. I then called Luxury of Watches, and they told me to go to one of their certified jewelers, who told me the same thing. When I called Luxury of Watches to relay this information, they told me that since their jeweler could not fix it in-house, it was not covered by the warranty despite their warranty having said that they cover the band. Since the time of purchase, they had changed their warranty to only be a 5-year warranty, which would still have been acceptable as it would have gotten my watch repaired. A while after I got of the phone with Luxury of Watches, I pulled up their warranty information again, and saw that it had been changed to exclude bands, likely in order to not have to honor my warranty.

Desired Settlement
Settlements that would be acceptable: refund of watch, replacement or watch, or honor warranty so band can be repaired.

Business Response
Watch was inspected by a authorized Movado dealer and verified that item was not defective and was caused do to wear.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Authorized Movodo dealer did not indicate that it was due to wear, only that it was a part of the band that he, himself, could not fix in-store. Additionally, when I purchased the watch from your website in September 2013, the warranty listed on your website read: "All watches will come with a lifetime warranty from Luxury Of Watches, we will cover the movement, the band, and any other moving part free of cost. Batteries are not included." (Taken from web archive). There were no other exclusions. Since then, changes have been made to the warranty, but the warranty applies from date of purchase, not any changes made after the fact.

Final Business Response
The service center offered to send it in to the factory to have it fixed, but you declined.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Service center indicated that if it was sent in to be repaired, it would be at my own expense for the repair which he estimated to be in the hundreds of dollars. If I am able to take it back in to the service center and have them send it in to be repaired at no cost to me, that would be an acceptable resolution.

06/23/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I bought a watch that was defective since I first got it. I sent it back to get fixed twice and it's still not working properly. I want to return it.
I placed an order for a Longines Master Collection watch for $1813.00 on December 6th, 2012 with Luxury of Watches. I received the watch in the mail on Dec. 23rd, 2012. Several months later, I noticed the watch was not working properly. It was adding time every day, at least 10 minutes or so. I contacted the store to notify them and ****** offered to fix it, this occurred on July 16, 2013. I was traveling for work and sent the watch to him on Sept. 24, 2013. Luxury of watches had my watch for 4-6 weeks, and then sent it back. I wore the watch and again realized the watch was having the same problem. I contacted the store on December 16th, 2013 via email to notify them of this problem, and he replied that I should send the watch back to him after the new year and he will take care of it. I sent the watch to Luxury of Watches again on Jan 16, 2014. Luxury of Watches had my watch for 4-6 weeks and then sent it back. Upon receiving it, I noticed that now, the watch is having the opposite problem it run slow everyday by about 10 minutes. I called Luxury of Watches on March 25, 2014 and spoke to ****** about my dissatisfaction with the watch and explained that an watched the is retail valued at $2500 should not have this many problems within a year of ownership. I explained that I believe this watch is defective and I don't think I should be going back and forth with repairs this many times. I asked to return to the watch and would like my money back. ****** refused, and said that was not an option. He said, all he could offer was to try to fix it again or possibly send it to the manufacturer to see if they could repair it. Again, I try to explain that the watch is defective because it has had so many problems and he argued that it's normal for watches to have problems. Luxury of watches sold me a defective watch and refuses to allow me to return it and get my money back. I checked with a dozen other watch retailers, and every single store said they would have allowed me to return a defective watch and given my money back. They sell defective products and have horrible service.

Desired Settlement
I want to return the watch and get my $1813 back.

Business Response
item was purchased in Dec, 2012. Item came back several times for repair, We have used the factory for warranty work. Item is under warranty and customer does not want to send it back.

02/11/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
In February 2013, my wife bought for me a Rolex watch from this merchant which was described as new but turned out to be used.
In February 2013, my wife bought for me a Rolex Oyster Perpetual Datejust XXXXXX *** from this merchant as a Valentine's present.

After only a couple of months' wear, the bracelet on the watch stopped closing, thus rendering the watch unwearable. Needless to say, this was not the standard expected of a new, genuine Rolex, which was how the watch was sold the watch to us and what we thought we were purchasing from the merchant.

Nevertheless, thinking that only a minor adjustment was required, we recently took the watch to the Rolex shop in San Francisco. There, they advised us of the following:

The watch was not new, dating it at approximately seven to eight years' old from the signs wear and tear, and had been refurbished with non-geneuine Rolex parts. It had also been polished, presumably to cover up scratches.

We immediately contacted the merchant once we realised that they had violated the contract we entered into because the watch is actually used and contained non-genuine Rolex parts.

The merchant failed to accept responsibility, to offer any solution or to honour our contract.

Desired Settlement
A full refund or replacement with a new, genuine Rolex of the type purchased.

Business Response
The consumer has agreed to take done the complaint, we are resolving his issue.

02/25/2016Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Watches - Dealers

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.