BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 10/05/2001

RazorGator, Inc.

Phone: (800) 542-4466

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

22 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 7 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues6
Billing / Collection Issues1
Delivery Issues3
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service11
Total Closed Complaints22

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (22)
01/08/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased tickets on Razorgator's online site on 10/2/13 for a game on 10/5. I inputted a new credit card as I did not want to use the prior credit card I have used with Razorgator. During the transaction, their site had some glitches, as it kept giving me an "error" message. Finally, it said my purchase went through. The transaction did not show up on my new credit card. I later find out that it was somehow charged to a prior credit card I had used in the past: one I DID NOT want to use. I don't know how this happened, as I did not mark that old credit card for this purchase, and I definitely did not input the security code for it. I called Razorgator's customer service when my bill came, and spoke with "****." When I told him what happened, he kept insisting I HAD to have authorized it otherwise it would not have gone through. He did not listen to me when I told him I did NOT authorize it and I didn't give the security code to charge it. He told me he would inform the other department who could handle this and I would be contacted the following day. I was never contacted. I then sent an email on their website outlining what happened and to pls contact me. To this day I have not received a reply. I have purchased from them before, and they messed up BIG time on one of my orders by sending me the wrong tickets. They made up for this and I moved on, as previous transactions I was satisfied with. But for a mistake to happen TWICE and furthermore to get such poor customer service this time around is UNACCEPTABLE! I don't feel secure with their website's transaction security if they were able to somehow use my old credit card to make a purchase without my authorization. I nearly went over the limit on this card, which is why I was avoiding using it in the first place. I have given Razorgator chance after chance to get back to me but they never did. I need some answers, and some quality customer service, not empty promises. I will look to patronizing another ticket broker in the future.
Product_Or_Service: A's ALDS home game tickets (4) purchased on 10
Order_Number: XXXXXXX

Desired Settlement
I want Razorgator to look into my situation and provide me with an explanation. As much as I have patronized them, I expect more, and am BEYOND disappointed. I do not plan to use them again in the future except for the credit I have, unless they shape up and give me answers. Had I gone over my limit on my old credit card, I would be furious and would expect Razorgator to cover the payment. Luckily for me, it only NEARLY went overlimit.

Business Response
The customer states that we used an old credit card number rather than the new one that she entered at the time of purchase. Our software uses ONLY the credit card number in the proper field when the "buy" button is pressed. Our system uses the last credit card number entered, and does not go back to an earlier number. We have tried multiple scenarios trying replicate the situation the customer describes, and have been unsuccessful. We are sorry for the inconvenience suffered by the customer, and hope that she will consider using our services again.

04/29/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased tickets from TickCo through the Southwest Shopping site where TickCo was offering 4 points for every dollar. I never got the points. When I questioned it TickCo claimed that my purchase was not eligible and that commission was paid to a third party. They claimed because that I may have had some ad-aware program on my computer. I made hundreds of purchases through the Southwest site without a problem. This is clearly a case of a company being dishonest and not wanting to live up to its commitment. I actually paid a slight premium for the tickets over what other ticket sites were offering just to get the points.A clear case of bait and switch.I do not like getting ripped off.
Product_Or_Service: Baseball Tickets
Order_Number: XXXXXXX
Account_Number: XXXXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement
I would like to get the Southwest Rewards Points that I was offered.

04/15/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased tickets to the Masters (april 11th) thru Razor Gator/ Tick co. I have a receipt of the purchase as well as a letter from Razor Gator guaranteeing that the tickets are mine. Now I get a call yesterday from the ticket broker (above) telling me that there is an "oversold" situation and that i may not have the tickets now. Unfortunately, i have a flight tomorrow to get to the Masters and have not only spent a fortune on the tickets but non refundable hotel and airfare as well. How in the world can the tickets now not be available? I was told by the company that the Masters has raised the ticket prices which resulted in shortage of tickets. Again, I am confused how that should impact me. I have paid for, gotten a receipt of payment and a guarantee that the tickets were mine. Something is not right here. I would appreicate any help you can provide with this. I was promised a call back by end of day yesterday (9 pm EST) with resolution. That call never arrived. Today i was told to call at 9 (EST) which i did. The individual that i have been dealing with is **** and he can be reached at X-XXX-XXX-XXXX ext ***** He is not in yet today and i am told that because he is "management" only he can help me and that he can come and go as he pleases because he is "management". I guess that pretty much sums this up.
Product_Or_Service: Masters Tickets
Order_Number: XXXXXXX

Desired Settlement
I would like the tickets and would like the above broker to be accountable for their actions.

04/10/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Misleading online listing caused gross overpayment for tickets to the Book of Mormon
On October 16, 2013, I ordered 2 tickets for the February 13, 2014, show of Book of Mormon at the Pantages theater in Los Angeles for a total of $294.95.

In October, tickets for The Book of Mormon were still fairly available through the official ticket seller, Ticketmaster. I compared prices for center Orchestra seats (the best seats available) with listings on Razorgator, an after market ticket marketplace. Some tickets towards the rear of the center Orchestra section were available from Ticketmaster for about $180 each. And tickets for the rear of the center of the Mezzanine were available for $108. Meanwhile, for about $150 each, tickets for the very first row of the Mezzanine section were listed on Razorgator. This was a sizable but fair markup on the $108 Ticketmaster was charging for remaining seats from the center of the Mezzanine.

I opted to spend a little less than the Orchestra seats and a little more than centered, back row Mezzanine seats to get what I expected to be seats in the front row of the center section of the Mezzanine. I am confident the listing on Razorgator either implied or explicitly noted the Mezzanine tickets were in the center section. Unfortunately, the tickets I received were located in the far left section of the Mezzanine the cheapest seats in the house available from Ticketmaster for less than $50.

To be clear: somehow I was misled into paying $150 for something I could essentially still officially buy for $50.

According to **** at Razorgator's customer service line, the sales listing specified only that the seats were on the Mezzanine level and did not list a particular section. Unfortunately, their website does not allow me to look back to October to see the details of my order or in what context the listing appeared. Moreover, my email correspondence from Razorgator contains no additional details about my order beyond the event name, price, and number of tickets. In other words, I have a suspicious lack of evidence to refute their claims that the ticket listing I purchased did not offer any indication they were in the center section.

Had it been clear from the sales listing that the specific location of the seats was not known, I would not have completed the purchase. Certainly, had the listing clearly stated the tickets were for the far left end of the Mezzanine, I would not have completed the purchase. Either Razorgator or the seller they represented misled me, intentionally or accidentally, and provided tickets that were technically similar to the sales listing but with a dramatically lower value.

Desired Settlement
To resolve this issue I would like:

1) a full refund

2) listings on Razorgator's site to clearly state when seat location has not been specifically provided to allow future customers to make informed buying decisions

3) email confirmations to contain line item details about each ticket sale, including specific ticket descriptions and additional notes from the seller

Thank you for your time and consideration.

Business Response
The tickets purchased by this customer were not misrepresented. The listing of the seats on our website indicated "Mezz Row A," which was correct. The cusomter assumed that the seats were in the center section, but a seat map of the venue shows clearly that Miezzanine Row A covers the sides as well as the center section. Razorgator gave no description of the tickets other than "Mezz Row A."

The customer also expresses dissatisfaction with the price of the tickets compared to their location. Prices of tickets are set by the sellers, not by Razorgator, and these prices can vary considerably depending on circumstances. Razogator works in the secondary market, and its function is simply to connect sellers and buyers, for which Razorgator collects a connection fee. This fee, as well as the price of the tickets and all relevant taxes and delivery charges is clearly set forth on the final screen before the customer presses the "buy" icon. We are sorry that the customer was dissatisfied with his tickets, but they were not misrepresented.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The legal definition of fraud is: a false representation of a matter of fact whether by words or by conduct, by false or misleading allegations, or **by concealment of what should have been disclosed** that deceives and is intended to deceive another so that the individual will act upon it to her or his legal injury.

Actual fraud requires proof of intent. The seller must knowingly choose to hide information from potential customers to cause harm. I cannot prove the seller's intent and neither can Razorgator. Therefore, their suggestion that "The tickets purchased by this customer were not misrepresented" is not accurate; it is a guess. If the seller intentionally chose not to include clarifying information regarding the location of his or her seats to draw a better price, then the listing is a misrepresentation by omission.

It is now clear that Razorgator allows sellers to post generic listings. Meanwhile, competing secondary markets like StubHub enforce more specificity. Additionally, services like SeatGeek display the following warning when adding tickets with an unspecified location to the shopping cart: "because ticket sellers often don't include specific seat information in their listings, tickets may be located in any part of the indicated row."

Other secondary markets tend to stand by their customers when sellers use their services to trick customers into overpaying. For example, eBay recently pulled down one of my friend's auctions until he could professionally authenticate the item. And it's pretty easy to find news stories about eBay refunding customers when they buy some gadget and receive a picture of the gadget instead. (e.g www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-XXXXXXX/Father-receives-photo-XBox-One-duped-Ebay.html)

Lastly, Razorgator's statement suggesting the "seat map of the venue shows clearly that Miezzaninesp Row A covers the sides as well as the center section" is entirely subjective. What's clear to an employee of Razorgator may not be clear to every customer. When paired with listings that include only "MEZZ RIGHT," "MEZZ LEFT," and "MEZZ," and no additional clarifications or warnings, it is easy to mistakenly assume "MEZZ" implies centered as I did. Unlike competing services like StubHub, the Razorgator website does nothing to highlight the venue map as customers hover over sales listings. Worse, Razorgator sometimes recommends non-specific listings with a star icon. The 8:00pm show on April 5 (Book of Mormon at the Pantages) currently shows a "MEZZ" listing (among a sea of "MEZZ LEFT" and "MEZZ RIGHT" listings) recommended by Razorgator.

This is my fourth time using Razorgator and I placed trust in their 100% Guarantee and grade A rating from the Better Business Bureau. I expected that if something went wrong, Razorgator would stand by a valued customer like other recognizable secondary markets do. Disappointingly, I continue to be dissatisfied with their handling of this situation.

Final Business Response
It appears that the basic complaint of this customer is that he assumed "Mezz Row A" meant "Center Mezz Row A," even though the venue map shows that "Mez Row A" includes the sides as well as the center of the row.

When Razorgator lists tickets on its website, it must rely on the information supplied by the seller, since Razorgator is a secondary marketer and does not have the actual tickets. In this case, the information supplied by the seller was correct, but the buyer made an assumption about the location which was not warranted by the description. We are indeed sorry for this customer's disappointment, but the tickets were as advertised. We also cannot subscribe to the customer's contention that the seat map is "subjective." On the contrary, the seat map is an objective representation of the seating at the venue, and has been constantly in use by theatre patrons and businesses for years.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The business seems to repeatedly state two points:

1. The ticket listing was "correct" or technically "accurate" because it specified only "MEZZ" and not "MEZZ Center"

2. It's the seller's responsibility to provide information and details regarding each ticket listing

Imagine a weather service that forecasts this coming Saturday will be a cloudy day. You have plans for an outdoor event this Saturday. A cloudy sky isn't ideal, but it's not a showstopper; the event will go on as planned. But when Saturday arrives, it's pouring rain and the event is a catastrophe.

The weather service, despite calculating near certain rain in the forecast, failed to mention the storm in their public report. The report was "correct" and technically "accurate," the storm brought with it a cloudy day, but omitted critical facts that would help improve your event planning decisions.

Would you be satisfied with a weather report that habitually reported cloudy days and failed to mention a strong chance of rain? You would probably switch to a more forthcoming reporting service.

Similarly, RazorGator finds it acceptable to allow sellers to be vague about the locations of their ticket listings. While "MEZZ" is "correct" it quietly omits critical information that is essential to making buying decisions. As I mentioned before, fraud can be either the inclusion of misleading facts or the intentional omission of material facts to, for example, boost the perceived value of tickets. Being "correct" and incomplete is still misleading.

All secondary markets for event tickets "must rely on the information supplied by the seller." The largest player in the market, StubHub, does a much better job at limiting a seller's ability or desire to omit key facts about the tickets they wish to sell. Nearly 100% of listings on StubHub for the Pantages theater specify a section of the venue. Vague or unusual listings are pushed to the bottom of search results and flagged as unspecific or unrecognized locations. Sellers on StubHub are disincentivized from omitting crucial facts.

Meanwhile, RazorGator plays the man in the middle game, pointing fingers at their sellers and customers while featuring and even recommending vague listings and being complicit in a seller's ability to use their service as a tool for committing fraud. As others evolve their software and services to make the secondary market more fair and useful, RazorGator simply rests on what's been "constantly in use by theatre patrons and businesses for years."

I continue to find RazorGator's oft-repeated arguments flimsy and unsatisfactory. I still expect a full refund and updates to their website that discourage sellers from being vague in their ticket listings to prevent my honest mistake from happening to someone else.

04/10/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was not notified that the tickets that I purchased the night before were not available till I called the next day.
They charged me $40 more for the same type of tickets that they replaced the ones I was supposed to get.That is not standing behind there guarantee! I purchased them on March 17 and didn't find out they weren't available till I called them on March 18 @9 am...They sent me an e-mail after the fact.My original purchase was $260.I should have not had to pay more for the same type of ticket!

Desired Settlement
If I had known that's how they operated I could have had way better seats and if I would have been notified earlier I could have boughten way better seats on another reputable site. I would like my money back for these tickets!!!

Business Response
Razorgator sells tickets in the secondary market, which means that the tickets for sale on Razorgator's website are not owned by Razorgator, but by sellers who set the prices and terms. Razorgator receives only a connection fee for its service in connecting buyers and sellers.

In this case, the customer's order was rejected because the seller had already sold the tickets before the customer placed her order.

We sold replacement tickets to the customer from another seller. We waived our fee and provided our connection service gratis, as compensation to the customer for the unexpected cancellation.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Because they didn't notify me till the next morning after I called themto inquire about the tickets .They sent an e-mail after I called. There guarantee is to replace with the same or better tickets and they charged me $40 more for what they said was the same type ticket.Ibelieve I still have the e-mail with the price I originally was supposedto pay for the tickets. I want to be re-Imbursed for the extra they charged me for the tickets they replaced them with! If nit I will dispute the charge!

Final Business Response
When a customer makes a purchase request on Razorgator's website, the customer receives a response titled "What's Next?" which explains the order process.

"What's Next?" explains that if the order is confirmed, the customer receives an "Order Confirmation" e-mail, and at that time the customer's credit card is charged. It is clear from the website that if there is no order confirmation, then there has been no sale. (Razorgator's guarantee goes into effect once the order is confirmed.)

In this case, the customer's order was not confirmed, and her credit card was not charged. When she called to ask about the sale, she was informed that the tickets had alreaady been sold but that the seller had not immediatly removed the listing on the website. At that time, the customer purchased alternate tickets, the price of which was set by the seller, not Razorgator. As a gesture of goodwill to the customer, Razorgator waived its connection fee and provided its services gratis in acquiring the new tickets. We feel that this was sufficient compensation, since the cusomer's original purchase request had never been confirmed.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
They never notified me till after I called them the next day and if I hadn't called them when I did I would not have known till it was too late to get them on another site. I think they should reimburse me for the $40.00 extra I had to pay because they should have had to notify me immediately if they were already sold.Its not my problem the seller didn't notify them that they sold them already. It's against the law to have tickets for sale that aren't available ...Ive already spoke with my lawyer.If they don't want to do anything shame on them! Poor business and I will tell everyone how they operate on there website.I will be disputing the charge!

04/07/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Ticket prices listed on website were falsely advertised for what they were selling them for the event
On Sunday March 23, 2014 I went to Razorgator website to search for tickets for the NCAA Men's Regional Finals in Indianapolis, IN. I was in search for 4 tickets to the game. Ticket demand was through the roof because Kentucky had just reached the Sweet 16 and would be facing Louisville in the next round. Needless to say, the entire state of Kentucky was looking for tickets to the game. I was looking for tickets around 6pm Sunday afternoon and found 4 tickets that after taxes and fees was around $150 per ticket that included both sessions (Friday & Sunday games). I immediately purchased these 4 tickets because these were the cheapest tickets I had found online anywhere and was happy with the price. After checking out I received an email from Razorgator saying they had received my order and would be processed and confirmed within 2 days. Also I had a pending credit card charge of $600 on my online statement. I thought I had my tickets to the game.

At 2:30pm on Monday March 24, 2014 I received a cancelation email from Razorgator saying my order had been cancelled. I called Razorgator immediately to get the details and they told me that my order was never confirmed and because they were not a 24 hour 7 days a week operation they could not complete my order. According to them they never had the tickets, they had to go through another broker to get the tickets and the prices changed. Now the tickets I had bought were already gone, or they never had them, and the same tickets in a similar section were $250 a seat. There was nothing else they could do for me except sell me tickets at the new price. I did buy 4 tickets from them at $250.

Razorgator false advertised that they had the tickets listed on their website at a price of $150 per ticket. I understand how supply and demand works for popular events and how ticket brokers want to take advantage of price increases in tickets. However when you advertise on your website that you have the tickets at a certain price and I can put my credit card information in and order the tickets, I expect that my tickets were purchased already and belonged to me. I also deserve a fair shot at getting a good deal and being proactive in my search for tickets by beating out the demand.

I was completely taken advantage of and was mislead by the information on Razorgators website. Not only did I miss out on the seats I purchased but I also missed out on maybe finding better tickets earlier on Monday because it took them so long to notify me that my order had been canceled.

Desired Settlement
I would like a refund of $100 per ticket, $400 total. My originally credit card charge was $600, when I purchased new tickets from them my new charge was $1000. I would like to be refunded the difference in ticket prices from the original price to the new price. I just want them to honor their original ticket advertising on their website.

Business Response
Razorgator sells tickets in the secondary market, which means that the tickets for sale on Razorgator's website are not owned by Razorgator, but by sellers who set the prices and terms. Razorgator's charge is only for a connection fee for its service in connecting buyers and sellers.

In the present case, the order placed by the customer was rejected by the seller because the seller had sold the tickets before he took them off our site.

We sold the customer replacement tickets in a separate order, at a discount to make up for the first order cancelation.

02/03/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Product was not delivered, Tickco could not get timely response from their vender for resolution. Took 5 days to say issue not resolvable.

This company (TickCo or Razorgator,Inc) is not equipped(resources:customer follow through, lack of communication,staff not empowered to handle issues in timely manner) to handle simple issues that pertain to their product (refund/resolution) in a timely manner. Issues pertaining to delivery should have existing protocols in place, staff should be able to contact this company's venders for expedient resolution. This is my first time dealing with this company and last. First impression are permanent, hopefully TickCo/Razorgator will take this feedback and proactively provide timely alternatives for customers and staff!

Desired Settlement
Due to the delay in timely resolution, we were not able to attend the event (concert occurs ONLY 1x a year). I expect immediate refund of my purchase (cost of tickets and fees).

Business Response
Dear Ms. *******

We seem to be having some difficulty on occasion in getting our responses to BBB into your records.

On 1/2/204, we responded in Case #XXXXX as follows:

"The tickets ordered were for a 12/30/13 concert, and were delivered by FedEx on 12/10/13. (We have a confirmation receipt from FedEx for the delivery.) We also sent customer an e-mail the night before, telling her to expect the tickets. She called us on 12/26 to say she had not received the tickets. We tried to get the tickets reissued, but by then it was too late. We refunded this order on 12/30/13 after our Director of Operations spoke to her by phone.'

For your information, I am attaching a copy of the receipt from FedEx, showing that the tickets were delivered on 12/10/13.

Please let me know if there is anything further we need to do with regard to this case.

Sincerely,

**** *****

10/30/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
October 9, 2013 Dear BBB:I am writing to you because I purchased two concert tickets for the Kenny Chensey concert for July 27, 2013 at the Angels Stadium.I used my mothers credit card and the tickets were not valid tickets- they got us in and then security told us we must leave the show. I believe that they are selling fake tickets and/or tickets to multiple for the same seats. We were doing nothing to justify being told to leave and I have tried to contact Razorgator via email and telephone and they refuse to address the issue.I want a refund of $382.45 because this is illegal business practice to sell counterfeit tickets.I look forward to your response.***************************************************Product_Or_Service: 2 concert tickets

Desired Settlement
$382.45 was the total charge on the mastercard for the No Shoes Nation ************* concert at the Angels Stadium for July 27, 2013.

Business Response
The tickets provided by us to the customer were accepted at the door of the venue as valid tickets, and the customer was granted entry. There was no question about the validity of the tickets at the door. The customer was later removed by security at the venue, for what reason we do not know. However, the customer mentioned bruises in a phone call to **********, which suggests there was some kind of confrontation at the venue AFTER the customer had arrived at her seats. The tickets provided by us allowed the customer to enter the venue, which is prima facie evidence that the tickets were valid. The reason for removal occurred afterwards, according to the customer's own account. Our responsibility is to provide valid entry to the event. We cannot be responsible for what might happen later.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
There was no confrontation and I was forced to give the tickets to security and so my only assumption is that the tickets were not valid.

I did not receive the service I paid for which was to see the concert and there was nothing I did on my part to have the tickets taken away from me.

If a paying customer buys a product and the product is not valid or security takes that product away and gives you no explanation as to why you are being told that you cannot sit where you are sitting it makes me believe that the tickets were fake or possible duplicates because there was no fault on my part as to why the tickets were taken from me.



Final Business Response
The tickets that we sell come only from licensed brokers. We contacted the broker in this case, explaining the situation. The broker sent us an e-mail, a copy of which is attached. The broker states "We checked with the venue and there were no denied entries with this section and row. The tickets were valid and scanned in."

We can only surmise that there was some reason for the removal of the customer other than the validity of the tickets.

Page 1 of 4

Industry Comparison| Chart

Ticket Sales - Events

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.