BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 08/22/2001

Fandango, LLC

Phone: (866) 857-5191Fax: (310) 954-0296

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

202 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 78 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues51
Billing / Collection Issues24
Delivery Issues8
Problems with Product / Service119
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints202

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (202)BBB Closure Definitions
10/06/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On June 20, 2014 I purchased 3 tickets on-line from Fandango for the movie 21 Jump Street. Total cost was $38.25 which I billed to my American Express card. Fandango billed my credit card twice. I have called three times and each time I am told a different version of why the credit was not processed. Now I am being told that they can't refund because its up to the movie theater. The problem is the movie theater does not have a contract with me. The contract for the purchase of the tickets was between myself and Fandango. Also, Fandango does not put this on its website or is not on any emails or other documents provided in the purchase of the tickets.
Product_Or_Service: movie tickets

Desired Settlement
A refund of my $38.25 which they clearly know they doubled billed.

Business Response
We do apologize for any inconvenience and/or misunderstanding. Fandango did not charge the customer twice, but rather the customer went through the purchase process twice. The customer did not receive their confirmation email for the first transaction because they entered the wrong email address, ******@comcast.net. We assume that since they did not receive their confirmation email, they went through the purchase process again. This time using the correct email address, *******@comcast.net. Even though the customer entered the incorrect email address for the first transaction, the customer would have been directed to the confirmation screen. When the customer did not receive their email, they could have contacted our CS team and we could have provided that information to them.

As for our purchase process, the only way to complete a purchase is by clicking "Complete My Purchase." Directly under the "Complete My Purchase" option the customer is presented with the following statement.

"By clicking the Complete My Purchase button, you agree to the Purchase Policy, Terms of Use, and Privacy Policy and will be charged for this order. Tickets purchased on Fandango cannot be refunded or exchanged. Please carefully review your order information.
An e-mail confirmation of your order will be mailed to you."

All of this information can be produced on our website by doing a mock purchase to gain full understanding. Once the customer completes the purchase, they are accepting the terms of use for our website. Part of our terms of use is our "No Refunds" policy.Fandango does not make revenue off the ticket price. All revenue goes to the theater since the tickets are their property. The reason we have a no refunds policy is for the protection of the theaters that we represent. Once a purchase is made, the ticket cannot be put back into the theater's inventory. This means that the theater has to take the loss since they cannot resell that ticket. Though Fandango has a "No Refunds" policy, we understand that mistakes happen and situations arise that may prevent the customer from attending their showtime. We can issue a refund on a case-by-case basis, the basis being the policies that have been mandated by each individual theater chain. Unfortunately, we could not process a refund for this particular customer because they purchased for a Regal Cinemas theater and did not contact us until after the showtime. Regal has asked that we not process refunds for after showtime contacts and direct the customer to the theater. We hope this helps.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Fandango website is very clear that you will receive a confirmation email once purchase is completed. This is the first time Fandango has made this statement. All prior conversations were " we do not refund you have to take it up with the theater you were seeing the movie and see if they will refund your purchase." I indicated my contract was with Fandango and not the movie theater. They do affirm that no confirmation email was ever sent so a consumer can only assume the purchased failed and proceed again. The time of the two charges on my Amex card are minutes apart. When I asked the Fandango representative were the refund policy was he stated, " its pretty well buried on the website." He could not point its location to me. I spoke with Fandago on the 15th of July, fax on the 16th of July, another call on the 15th of August, another call on the 19th of August. Each time i was given a different version of the events as to Fandango records, each time I was not allowed to speak with a supervisor or manager and each time the Fandango representative refused to put his/her comments in writing and email Fandango position.

Even by Fandango response and that an incorrect email was entered and no confirmation email could of been received then according to its own website the purchased as to the consumer was not completed and there is no reason the consumer would be aware of two charges. Also, clearly Fandango realized this but capitalized on the opportunity to over charge the consumer and when contacted about the error came up with different reasons for the non - refund.

I find it amazing the length that Fandango will go not recognize its error and keep $38.25 from a consumer. I Fandango fails to refund the amount back to my Amex card i will seek relief in Rockingham Superior Court not only seeking the original $38.25 plus all other costs and the time I have spent dealing with this matter.

Thank you once again for your cooperation in this matter.

*** ********

Final Business Response
Again, we do apologize for any inconvenience that the customer experienced. As stated in our previous response, even though the customer entered the incorrect email address for the first transaction, the customer would have been directed to the confirmation screen. The purpose of the confirmation screen is confirm that the purchase went through. It also provides the confirmation number, which can be used to redeem the tickets. When the customer did not receive their email, they could have contacted our CS team and we could have provided that information to them.

Fandango does not make revenue off the ticket price. All revenue goes to the theater since the tickets are their property. The reason we have a no refunds policy is for the protection of the theaters that we represent. Once a purchase is made, the ticket cannot be put back into the theater's inventory. This means that the theater has to take the loss since they cannot resell that ticket. Our "No Refunds" policy is in place since most theaters have a "No Refunds" policy.

Again, we do understand that mistakes happen and we are more than willing to refund a customer on a case-by-case within the parameters set by the theater. Again, in the this case it the policy of Regal theaters that refunds not be processed for request that come in after the showtime. The customer was not left without any recourse, they merely chose not seek compensation with the theater as directed. As a gesture of good faith, we have worked with Regal theaters to grant the customer a refund. Going forward, they will need to adhere to the terms and conditions that the were agreed to upon checkout.

08/11/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased two movie tickets from Fandango and the tickets were never delivered to our cell phone as promosed and Fandango will not refund.
I purchased two movie tickets from Fandango online June 1st 2014 to be delivered to our cell phone. The tickets were never delivered/sent to our phone. Since we paid with paypal we had no way to prove to the movie theater that we purchased tickets and could not enter the theater. Fandango is refusing to refund the money even though they did not deliver the product (electronic tickets) as they promised. I requested a refund because the product was never delivered and Fandango refused to refund.

Desired Settlement
I am seeking a full refund of the money $33.50

Business Response
We do apologize for any inconvenience that the customer experienced. The mobile ticket is a fast and reliable way to redeem movie tickets, but like all things mobile it is subject reception issues and any blocks the customer may have on their phone. The mobile ticket is not the only way the customer could have redeemed their ticket. They could have provided their confirmation number, which would have been found on the confirmation email that was successfully deployed to the customer. Another option the customer had was to contact us when they didn't receive their mobile ticket. Not only could the customer contacted us, but for time sensitive reasons the theater has a specific line that they can call to speak with CS representative. According to our records, show took place on 6/1/2014; however, the customer did not contact us until 6/2/2014 the next day.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The ticket could not be redeemed it was not delivered to my cell phone as promised by Fandango, there are no blocks on the cell phone there is a fault in their delivery system.
I was at the movie theater when I discovered that there was no ticket issued to me and I was unable to access my email at the theater because my phone does not have email access and the theater did not have a computer I could use to log-on to my email. There was no time left to return home and access my email before the movie started. The round trip home and back would have been an hour.
I attempted to contact Fandango from the movie theater from the number given to me by the movie theater and all I got was automated messages trying to sell me movie tickets, I was unable to find the number for the help line until the following day when I requested a refund.
Fandango promised an electronic ticket to be delivered to my phone and they did not deliver this product that I had purchased. I don't understand why they would not automatically issue a refund for a product they were unable to deliver.


Final Business Response
We apologize for any inconvenience that the customer has. Again, another option the customer had was to contact us when they didn't receive their mobile ticket. Not only could the customer contacted us, but for time sensitive reasons the theater has a specific line that they can call to speak with CS representative. According to our records, show took place on 6/1/2014; however, the customer did not contact us until 6/2/2014 the next day.

We're showing that a refund of $31.00 was processed on 6/5/2014, which was the price of the tickets minus the service fees. If the customer has not received the refund, we will reach out to PayPal (the method of payment used by the customer)to see why the customer did not receive their refund.

08/01/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On Nov. XX XXXX I purshased a $50 gift card that had a promotion of "by a $50 card and get a free movie ticket". and they didn't giveme thefree ticket
On Nov. 15, 2013 I purshased a $50 Gift Card on Fandango.com that had the promotion "with a purshase of $50 gift card you get a free movie ticket" When I check with customer service (chat) the same day to find out why I havent get the free ticket from the promotion they old me that I will recive it in 48 hours.On Nov. 19 I checked back with the chat service and the agent was back and foward with the same questions and told me that he needed to scalate the case with the corporate office. today is Nov. 21 and I have not get any answer from Fandango.

My Confirmation number is XXXXXXXXXX
my $50 gift certifidate is *******************

Desired Settlement
I'd like them to honor their promotion and give me the free movie ticket they promised

Business Response
We do apologize for the inconvenience that the customer experienced. We have confirmed that the customer made a successful purchase of a $50 gift card; however, that was not the only term of the promotion. The promotion was for The Hunger Games: Catching Fire, in which we ran a promotion that if customers purchase a $50 HUNGER GAMES gift card or more they would receive a free ticket. The promotion was also while supplies last so once the Hunger Games gift cards sold out, the promotion was over. The promotion was an incentive to purchase a particular type of gift card. The customer did not receive their free ticket because they did not purchase a Hunger Games gift card. Instead, they purchased a gift card that said "Happy Holidays." As a one-time courtesy, we will extend a free ticket code to the customer; however, it the future if the customer does not follow the terms and conditions for the promotion we will not be able to honor it.

07/11/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased 2 tickets on 6/5/14, for a movie that was to premire on 6/6/14. When my confirmation stated that the ticket was for that night on 6/5 I called ********. I spoke to **** who told me there was nothing they could do and to contact the Pavilion Regal theaters in Port Orange FL to get a refund or an exchange for the tickets. I called the number for the theater, and they redirected me back to ******** where I spoke to *******. After I explained the situation to her and asked if she had a direct line to the theater, she stated, that I COULD be issued a refund, and to go ahead while she was on the phone wit me, to purchase 2 more tickets which was $22.50 for 6/6/14. It is now 6/10/14, I called ******** inquiring about my refund, and was told they were "sorry" but I was misinformed by their employee *******, and that they couldn't give me a refund and to contact the theater. I then spoke to a supervised at ********, who told me the same thing. Who told me to speak to a manager arte theater, and if there was am issue, to call ********. I then called the theater, I spoke to the manager, who informed me that since this transaction was done on 6/5/14, he couldn't give me a refund. All he could do was issue me more tickets, which I do not need because I already seen the movie with the tickets that re-purchased thanks to *******. The manager said he wouldn't call ******** because they were a separate company. So I called thru 'operate office for ********, and I got nothing. So, in short, I purchased 45 dollars for 2 tickets, and I'm out 22.50, when it was ONLY supposed to cost that 22.50.

Desired Settlement
The 22.50 that I was told I would receive by their employee ******* that is owed to me.

Business Response
We do apologize for any inconvenience that the customer experienced. It is correct that The Fault in our Stars officially opened on 6/6/2014; however, recently the studios have been allowing certain theater chains to show the movie the night before. This is why the customer was able to purchase a ticket for 6/5/2014.

As for our purchase process, once a customer has selected the quantity of tickets desired, the order details are clearly presented on the right side of the screen. This is down so that we can calculate the customer's total order (including the service for each ticket) prior to the customer checking out. It also allows the customer to review their order, including the date before completing the purchase. The only way to complete a purchase is by clicking "Complete My Purchase," but again the customer is present with their all of the details of their order for review prior to completing the purchase. In fact, directly under the "Complete My Purchase" option the customer is presented with the following statement.

"By clicking the Complete My Purchase button, you agree to the Purchase Policy, Terms of Use, and Privacy Policy and will be charged for this order. Tickets purchased on Fandango cannot be refunded or exchanged. Please carefully review your order information.
An e-mail confirmation of your order will be mailed to you."

All of this information can be produced on our website by doing a mock purchase to gain full understanding. Once the customer completes the purchase, they are accepting the terms of use for our website. Though Fandango has a "No Refunds" policy, we understand that mistakes happen and situations arise that may prevent the customer from attending their showtime. We can issue a refund on a case-by-case basis, the basis being the policies that have been mandated by each individual theater chain.

In this case, *****'s corporate office have mandated that we don't process refunds after the showtime. The information that **** gave to the customer initially was accurate. Once the showtime has past, it is up to the theater to provide compensation. The customer disconnected the call and then called back. As a one-time courtesy, we have refunded one of the customer transactions. Going forward, we cannot refund a transaction if the customer contacts us after the showtime.


05/02/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Business Response
We do apologize for any inconvenience that the customer experienced. Unfortunately, we were not provided with enough information to investigate the customer's issue. We were not able to locate a transaction using the the customer's email address that was provided in this complaint. Did the customer use an alternative email address to make the purchase? Also, we were not able to locate a contact from the customer?

We will be more than happy to investigate the customer's issue once we have more information. The customer can either provide that in their response or they can got fandango.custhelp.com. From there they can either speak to an agent on the phone, speak to a live chat agent, or submit an electronic inquiry which will take 24hrs to receive a response.

Page 1 of 37
07/19/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
All movie theaters are listed for a certain movie. When you a choose a theater, it substitutes without notice an area theater they work with.
I purchased 3 tickets for Philomena (confirmation number: XXXXXXXXXXXXXX ) and chose the desired theater from the listed area theaters. Without obvious notice, the website substituted the theater to an area theater with whom Fandango works. Although the actual theater appears in the confirmation, there is no obvious notice that the theater you have chosen is not the theater that you were issued tickets for. When I arrived at the theater we had chosen, they told me that the purchase was actually for another area theater (about 15 miles away) and that SUCH SITUATIONS HAPPEN VERY FREQUENTLY WHERE PEOPLE ARRIVE THINKING THEY HAD PURCHASED TICKETS AT THE THEATER ON FANDANGO BUT THE TICKETS WERE ACTUALLY FOR ANOTHER THEATER.

Desired Settlement
SETTLMENT REQUESTED:
1. refund of my $41.25 purchase.
2. BBB highlighting Fandango's deceptive ordering process, and requesting them to cease doing so.

Business Response
We do apologize for any inconvenience that the customer has experienced. As a free service to all of our users, Fandango provides show times, movie listings, and theater information for most theaters in the United States. We provide this service free of charge, even if we are not partnered with the theater so that our customers always have access to the information they need to plan a trip to the movies. Aside from the fact that it would be an unethical business practice, we do not change the details of a customer's purchase because we want all who visit our site to have as much information available to them as possible. The customer would have had to accidentally selected the theater detailed in their purchase.

Please allow us to walk you through our purchase process. Customers can begin their purchase process in two ways. They can either :

1. Select their movie, or
2. They can enter their zip code in the zip code search field to locate various theaters in their area.

The customer then selects a specific showtime, and from that point the screen will display the purchase details on the right side of the screen, which includes that date. These details are clearly displayed on the right-side of the screen until the end of the purchase process so that the customer has easy access to the details of their purchase. Again, these details will display the movie, the theater, and the date. When the customer selects "Complete My Purchase," they are presented with the following statement:

"By clicking the Complete My Purchase button, you agree to the Purchase Policy, Terms of Use, and Privacy Policy and will be charged for this order. Tickets purchased on Fandango cannot be refunded or exchanged. Please carefully review your order information.
An e-mail confirmation of your order will be mailed to you."

All of this information can be produced on our website by doing a mock purchase to gain full understanding. Once the customer completes the purchase, they are accepting the terms of use for our website. Part of our terms of use is our "No Refunds" policy. Because of these terms of use, we strongly urge customer to review the review page before completing the purchase.

Fandango does not make revenue off the ticket price. All revenue goes to the theater since the tickets are their property. The reason we have a no refunds policy is for the protection of the theaters that we represent. Once a purchase is made, the ticket cannot be put back into the theater's inventory. This means that the theater has to take the loss since they cannot resell that ticket.
Though Fandango has a "No Refunds" policy, we understand that mistakes happen and situations arise that may prevent the customer from attending their showtime. We can issue a refund on a case-by-case basis, the basis being the policies that have been mandated by each individual theater chain. In this case, we were not able to process a refund for the customer because Regal has asked that all refund requests after the movies showtime be directed to the theater, which is what the agent advised the customer to do according to our records. Please feel free to reach out to us with any questions.



Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The "free service to all of our users, Fandango provides show times, movie listings, and theater information for most theaters in the United States. We provide this service free of charge, even if we are not partnered with the theater" is misleading - and I suspect deliberately so as it is not clearly stated on the listing that you can not buy these tickets. Not only was I mislead, but at the theater when I presented my ticket I was told that very often people come with the same problem - thinking they had bought a ticket at the White Plains theater but actually being sold a ticket for New Rochelle.

This is a misleading practice which I can only assume is deliberate.

Final Business Response
Again, we apologize for any inconvenience. As stated before we show movie times for non-partnered theaters a free service to all of customers so that they can simply look up movie times if they choose those theaters. Under the non-partnered theater listing, we state verbatim "Online Ticketing Currently Not Available for this Theater." Not only do we provide the above statement, our site will not allow the customer to select a movie time for these theaters since the displayed showtimes are not hyperlinks. They are just there for display. The only way to purchase for a showtime for a particular theater is to click on the showtime under that particular theater. Once this is done, the order details is presented on the right side of the screen until the end of the purchase process so that the customer can always review their order during the process. We hope this helps!

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
There is no resolution proposed for the money I lost, and for their deceptive advertising which others are confused by. The only resolution is "we hope this (their explanation why it was my - and others who are mislead - fault) helps".

07/19/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Purchased a movie ticket that was supposed to come with extras, they never provided the extras and told me they could not
I bought the "Hobbit: Desolation of Smaug" super ticket, which comes with a code for the ultraviolet copy of this movie, as well as the ultraviolet copy of the first Hobbit movie. I never received the code for these movies and support told me to wait 48 hours, than 5-7 more days. Each person I talked to added more and more time to how long it would take to get this resolved.

When I asked for a refund I was told they cannot do that, but yet they would not provide me with the products I purchased.

Desired Settlement
I want a full refund as I will not do business with them going forward. I do not want them to send me the code, I want nothing less than a full refund from these scam artists.

Business Response
We do apologize for any inconvenience that the customer has experienced. We have reached out to our email service and they have confirmed that the email did deploy successfully on 11/23/2013 at 9:04pm containing their digital codes. The customer's email may have filtered the email to spam or another folder.

As for the time frame, they agents were not giving false information. In the instance that a customer doesn't receive their code for any of the many promotions that run, the agents is not able to see that the code that was assigned to the customer. The agent would have to escalate the incident to our corporate office so that we can reach out to the distributor service. This process can take up to 5-7 business days,since we receive many request and the those request are queued. We processed them as they are received as fast as we can. Due to the popularity of The Hunger Games and The Hobbit 2 there are more request than normal.

That being said, we are showing that we processed a full refund for the customer on 11/25/2013.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
As I have previously stated, they did provide me a refund as they stated, but the way in which I had to fight to receive it was ridiculous. There customer service is terrible and until I talked to a manager, their attitudes are quite rude.

Final Business Response
Again, we apologize for any inconvenience that the customer experienced. We have reached out to our email distributing service and they confirmed that the email containing the codes deployed on 11/23/13 at 9:04am. The customer contacted us on 11/23 at 8:00pm to report that he hadn't received the email within 48hrs; however, the customer had received the code at that point according to our email service. We noticed that the customer has a gmail account. Often times, gmail will filter emails to spam/junk when the email is deploying from an email service. This may explain why the customer thought they hadn't received the code. In any case, the customer was refunded on 11/25. The purchase was made on 11/21 so their request was processed within our allotted time frame. We hope this helps.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
It is irrelevant as to how quickly you responded as my complaint is the terrible customer service you have to get the support required.

I would love to see the logs of the e-mails you are referring to, and specifically, I think the e-mail you are talking about is nothing more than the receipt. so nice try.

07/17/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have used a gift certificate to purchase two movie tickets through Fandango website, to a movie I couldn't watch at the same night due to emergency. I have contacted the theatre and they told me that only if I get to the theatre by the same night, they will be able to issue a replacement tickets, otherwise, they told me to contact Fandango. I have contacted a young female rep' wich was very nice, but unfortunately gave me the wrong information. She specifically told me that if I purchase two movie tickets, to the same movie within the following 48 hours, then they will be able to refund the funds to my debit/credit card. And this is exactly what I did, I have purchased another pair of movie tickets to the same show I have missed. When I have tried to get a hold of them I was close to 45 minutes on the line, waiting for rep' to answer, once they have answered, I have asked for my refund, and they replied back that they refund me via GIFT CARD, which this is not what I have been told. I have spoke to a supervisor which as well, said that they cannot refund my debit card transaction. Very very disappointing.
Product_Or_Service: Movie tickets
Order_Number: Conformation # ****

Desired Settlement
I would like to be refunded for my debit card transaction amount of $22.

Business Response
We definitely apologize for any inconvenience the customer has experienced. According to our call log there is no mention that the customer would be refunded on their debit card; however, we are in the process of locating the customer's recorded call. Once we locate the call, we will investigate this matter further and present a resolution.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
How can they be in the process of locating the customer, isn't it mentioned in the call log ?!
The only way I'll be satisfied with their action is by getting my $22 refund as promised by their rep.

Final Business Response
Again we apologize for any confusion. In regards to our previous response, when we were referring to the call log we were referring to the information that the agent inputs into a system. This allows us to have a record of every customer that contacts us and a general idea of what the contact was about. Since the agent enters this information themselves into the system, we requested a little more time to locate the call to hear exactly what was said. After reviewing the call, we have found that the agent did not tell the customer that we would be refunding the customer back to their debit/card used for the repurchase. We can only return funds to customers in the same manner in which they made the purchase. In this case, the customer made the original transaction payment using a claim code so the result of a refund for that transaction would be a claim code worth the same amount. The claim code was issued to the customer's email address that was used to make the original transaction.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The company has my debit card on file, since that was the one I used to get the second tickets, the agent specifically told me that once I use my credit card/debit card on the second purchase, since I missed the first show, I will be refunded on my type of payment, which is credit card/ debit card, I complained about the second purchase, which was made through actual debit card, it does not make any sense that a well respected company would offer me this kind of solution, I have been dealing with customer service before that an agent input the "call log" in their words, it is very easy to drop some details, and then the customer falls in between.
It is an unexeptable solution for me, in case of disagreement, I will have to escalate it to a higher authority. It's a shame that a respectfull company would let it happened for $22.

03/06/2015Problems with Product / Service
03/02/2015Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 4

Industry Comparison| Chart

Ticket Sales - Events

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.