BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 01/23/2007

Youthology

Phone: (866) 968-8490

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

13 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues5
Problems with Product / Service8
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints13

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (13)BBB Closure Definitions
08/05/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Hi,I am filing a complaint as an upset customer. I had orginally ordered 2 youthology 90 day supply bottle orders for my aunt and didn't realize that when you checked the box on the bottom of the product the company was allowed to charge a eye click pen of $39.99 and shipping. On May 21st I saw two charges made to my acct. and I spoke to ***** ******** a Youthology supervisor who told me that I would no longer receive any products from the company and that those charges that were made for the eye click pens would be the last charges/payment taken out of my acct. Now, on June 29 and July 4 the company wants another payment and want to send me to a collection agency. Today I sent them an email to stop sending anymore products and billing me for products that I don't want. I asked them handle the situation in a fair and just way. Since payment was taken out of my acct in May and I spoke to a representative who told me I would no longer be receiving these items I expected this to be true. Sincerely,********
Product_Or_Service: Youthology Star 90-day supply
Order_Number: XXXXXX
Account_Number: customer # XXXXXXX

Desired Settlement
Stop sending billing statements and products that I do not want or need.

Business Response
On 4/5/13, Consumer placed an order for Youthology Eye Serum on our website (www.youthology.com). At the time she placed her order, Consumer also enrolled in our Preferred Customer Program. Our website clearly states: "When you order today, we will send you a 30 day supply (one click pen) of the Youthology 90 Second Wrinkle Removing Eye Serum PLUS a complimentary supply of the Youthology 3 Step Age Reversing Skin Care Regimen and charge you only $39.99 plus $9.99 shipping & processing. Approximately 40 days after your initial shipment, and then every 90 days thereafter, you will be shipped three 30 day supplies (3 click pens) at the same low price of $39.99 per month. At the time we ship your product to you, you will only have to pay $39.99 plus $9.99 shipping & processing to the account you are using today." There is also a notice of our 30 day Money Back Guarantee.
The initial shipment of Youthology was delivered to Consumer on 4/15/13. Because we did not receive any returned packages or communication from Consumer, per the terms of the offer the Preferred Customer Auto-Ship Program began. On 5/20/13, we shipped Consumer the first auto shipment (3 click pens) and billed payment #1 of 3 in the amount of $39.99 + $9.99 S&P. On 5/21/2013, Consumer called our Customer Service Department and told a Customer Service Representative that she did not intend to order the auto shipment program and did not want it. The call was transferred to a Supervisor who explained that we could not cancel something that had already shipped, but as a courtesy she canceled one of the two remaining payments (Payment #3) for her and also canceled the program so no further shipments would be sent to her. On 6/28/13, we attempted to charge Payment #2 to the credit card provided by Consumer and the payment was declined. On 6/29/2013, we sent an email to Consumer alerting her to the failed charge and asking her to call with updated billing information. Having no response from Consumer, we sent her another email on 7/4/2013. On 7/9/2013, we received an email from Consumer wherein she claimed that the Supervisor had promised to cancel both payments and was angry that we were still trying to charge one payment. All calls to this office are automatically recorded and attached to the Consumer's account. The call was reviewed and it was confirmed that the Supervisor (*****) canceled one payment as a courtesy, not both. However, in reviewing the telephone call and the entire account, it was discovered that Consumer HAD LOGGED IN TO OUR WEBSITE A SECOND TIME AND PLACED ANOTHER ORDER FOR YOUTHOLOGY, ALSO WITH THE AUTO SHIP PROGRAM. This has a separate Order # and a separate Customer #, but Consumer did not mention the second order/account to ***** when she called. The payments Consumer is now complaining about includes money owed for that second account which is also delinquent. We responded to Consumer's email with all of this information and outlined clearly for her the charges outstanding on each account after the one payment had been canceled as a courtesy to her. Consumer sent an email indicating she would send a Money Order for the remaining balance on both accounts and asked to confirm the mailing address. She then filed this Complaint and no Money Order has been received for any of the outstanding payments.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I do not accept their response because I initially ordered two of their eye serums that same day. I did have to do two different transactions in order to purchase the serums but I did not realize that underneath the small light colored tiny letters that they have on the side of the screen that you will be enrolled in the autoship program. First of all during the conversation that I had with them on 5-21-13 I did not know that when I ordered two of their eye serum orders they would be treated differently since I figured that it would be under one single acct. under my name and later on July 4, 2013 they emailed me stating that "At the time of your order, you requested the 3 payment plan. Unfortunately we have been unsuccessful in obtaining authorization for your payment #2 in the amount of $39.99, charged to your credit card or electronic check ending with the four digits 2778.Your account, with the remaining balance of 39.99, will be referred to a collection agency for immediate collection on July 19, 2013. To avoid collection agency action resulting in a negative effect on your credit record, please contact us immediately.." this all happened when I have already told them that I no longer wished to receive any products from them and to stop billing me as they had already collected some money from my acct.I emailed them on July 9th and sent them a money order which I have proof of since I send it via USPS Tracking and have a tracking number that states payment was received in full for tracking number XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX and delivered July 17th at 2:26pm and paid them $119.97

Final Business Response
We did receive a money order from Consumer and that payment, together with the fact that we waived one payment for her in the amount of $39.99, pays this account in full.

07/09/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I called to place an order of a product from Youthology that was advertised on TV. When I ordered it I specifically told the man who took my order that I did not wanted them to send me any other refill unless I call them back and reorder it. I received the product which I fully paid. However, I had to discontinue using the product because it caused a severe rash on my face. I did not return it because I would call their number for customer complaints and they would never answer. Then, they sent me another package which I did not order. Once again, I tried to get in touch with them, so they can pick up the package, and no one answered the phone. They sent me a letter form a collection agency charging me for a refill I did not request. In order to get them to answer a call from me I had to call their number like I was going to place a new order and then was when I could get in touch them. I spoke to a man named ****** a customer service representative, who would not let me speak. Although, I tried to explain the situation he would not listening nor was he helpful. Then, he placed me on a never ending hold. Of course you have to hang up because they do not want to listen. Now they have a lawyer called ****** J. ********* the 3rd who is trying to collect $80.22 from me for an additional order which I never placed.

Desired Settlement
I want them to pick up the package of Youthology product they sent me without my authorization and for the collection agency to stop bothering me and make sure they do not damage my credit rating.Unfortunately, later on I learned that this company is used to doing this to hundred if not to thousands of customers. I believe something should be done to stop them.

Business Response
On December 8, 2012, Consumer placed an order for a 30-day supply of Youthology. We accept orders by telephone and on our website. This order was placed by telephone with a Sales Agent. At the time she placed her order, this customer also enrolled in our Preferred Customer Program. She was told: "When you order today, we will send you a 30 day supply (one click pen) of the Youthology 90 Second Wrinkle Removing Eye Serum PLUS a complimentary supply of the Youthology 3 Step Age Reversing Skin Care Regimen and charge you only $39.99 plus $19.99 shipping & processing to Puerto Rico. Approximately 40 days after your initial shipment, and then every 90 days thereafter, you will be shipped three 30 day supplies (3 click pens) at the same low price of $39.99 per month. At the time we ship your product to you, you will only have to pay $39.99 plus $9.99 shipping & processing to the account you are using today." She was also told about our 30-DAY MONEY BACK GUARANTEE: "If, for any reason, you are not fully satisfied, you can return your purchase within 30 days of the initial delivery date of the product by calling one of our Customer Care Specialists. At that point, you will be given a return authorization number and return instructions. Then, send the remaining product back and we will happily refund the full purchase price (less shipping and processing), no questions asked. You will even get to keep the complimentary supply of the Youthology 3 Step Age Reversing Skin Care Regimen ABSOLUTELY FREE as our gift to you just for trying Youthology." During this conversation, the Consumer asked numerous questions, about the initial order and about the Preferred Customer Program. The call lasted 25 minutes and 49 seconds.

On 12/10/12, we shipped the initial order to Consumer. Because we did not receive any returned packages or communication from Consumer, as per the terms of the offer the Preferred Customer Auto-Ship Program began and we billed her account for payment #1 of 3 for $59.98 ($39.99 + $19.99 s/p to Puerto Rico) for a 30-day supply of Eye Serum on 1/19/2013. Consumer's first auto shipment was sent on 1/22/2013. We attempted to charge Payment #2 using the credit card provided by Consumer on 3/2, 3/5 and 3/8/2013. The charge was declined on each occasion. We sent an email to Consumer on 3/9 alerting her that the charge had been declined by her credit card company and received no response. We sent another email to Consumer on 3/11 and again there was no response. We canceled the auto shipment program so no further products would be sent to Consumer. On 3/14, we sent a letter to Consumer asking her to call regarding the outstanding balance and received no response. On 3/20, we sent another letter to Consumer and again did not receive a response. On April 7, we referred the account to collections.

On 5/3/2013, approximately five months after the original order, Consumer's husband called Customer Service and requested a Return Authorization for the initial shipment and the auto shipment. He said that his wife did not agree to the program. The husband conceded that he did not place the order and did not hear Consumer's call on that day. All calls to our office are automatically recorded and attached to each customer's account. A Review of this particular call confirms that the Sales Agent fully explained the auto shipment program to Consumer. Consumer asked questions about the auto shipment program including how she would be able to cancel future shipments should she wish to do that. The Sales Agent repeated the instructions and Consumer provided the last four digits of her credit card account to confirm that she understood and agreed to the terms of the offer. The Customer Service Representative told Consumer's husband that the 30-day Money Back Guarantee had expired months earlier and the Youthology could no longer be returned. The husband then claimed that they had been calling for weeks to try to cancel the program but could not get through to us. He did not explain why they would be calling to cancel a program he claimed they did not agree to. At that point, Consumer replaced her husband on the call and said that the program was never explained to her. Our Customer Service Representative reminded her of the policy and that it could not now be returned. Consumer abruptly terminated the call.

Since everyone's skin is different, the instructions that are provided with Youthology explicitly state that the customer should perform a patch test to make sure there would be no adverse reaction to the product. Consumer apparently ignored these instructions. It should be noted that we can be reached by telephone and by email. We are open from 9:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m. EST (which is also Atlantic Standard Time where Consumer resides) seven days each week. Consumer did not contact us until after her account was referred to collections, almost five months after her order. As a courtesy to her, we will allow her to return the Auto Shipment for a refund, less shipping and handling. Upon receipt of the returned package, we will remove the account from collections, refund the amount paid for the auto shipment and cancel the two outstanding payments due for that shipment. The package should be mailed to: Returns Department, XXXXX ****** ******* ******** CA XXXXX, and Consumer should write "RA #XXXXXXXXXXX" on the outside of the package in clear numbers. Consumer is responsible for return postage, and the package must be postmarked on or before July 20, 2013 or the RA will automatically expire without further notice to Consumer.

06/19/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I saw a product that was being shown on TV I found it interesting and decided to buy.I was surprised when I to receive an email day 04/14/2013 where they said that I had sent me another product and the shipping tracking number. When I check my credit card had deducted 39.99 amount.when I buy online, never check any box to tell me or warn that it agreed to buy a subscription or I would be charged to my credit card.I have tried on several occasions to communicate with costumer service and I have not been possible. I wrote an email to them, this is the answer.Dear *****, Thank you for your email. Reminder, the Youthology Eye Serum only comes on a subscription as advertised on our online website where you initiated your order. Approximately 40 days after your initial shipment you are sent out a 90-day supply, 3 bottles, of Eye Serum at $39.99 per bottle. Each subscription order package is split into 3 payments and the first payment includes the same $9.99 shipping and handling charge. The charges, subscription explanation and cancellation policy is explained before any billing or shipping information is required. You cannot order this product one-time online; all internet orders only come on a subscription. One-time purchases are not an option online. You may re-visit our website again to review this information again. Remember, you initiated the online order, no one else placed the order for you. You had the opportunity to cancel your subscription since receipt of your initial package in March. Our invoices explain our subscription program and provide you with our Customer Service telephone number XXX-XXX-XXXX to cancel your services. Per your request, we have canceled future subscription shipments of the Youthology Eye Serum. Your subscription package in dispute was delivered on 4/23/13. This is the last shipment you will receive. Reminder, no returns or refunds will be issued for subsequent auto-shipments once they have already been shipped as indicated on the back of the invoice that came with your initial order package and your subscription package. As advertised online, your subscription package is spilt into 3 payments: $49.98 on 4/14/13, $39.99 on 5/26/13 & $39.99 on 7/07/13. Please be advised your balance and remaining payments for this subscription package. These charges in May and July are not for other shipments, theyre just your remaining balance on your subscription package that shipped before your cancellation request. All customers are responsible for their balance due on merchandise shipped before cancellation request. Your same credit card you initially provided us and authorized will be used to pay your remaining scheduled payments/balance on this subscription package. Please review your invoice that comes with your subscription package. Attached is a copy of your Sales Order Draft. DO NOT return, refuse or return-to-sender on your subscription package upon delivery for no refunds will be issued if returned or lost. Return authorization is denied per your invoices. Again, you had the opportunity to cancel your subscription since receipt of your initial package in March. You may re-visit our website to review this information was presented to you before you initiated your initial order in August. If the chargeback dispute is not reversed and the balance due on the package is not collected all disputed and uncollected amount may be referred to a collections agency. Should you have any additional questions, please feel free to contact us via email or toll free at XXX-XXX-XXXX and we will gladly assist you.
Product_Or_Service: Youthology Eye Serum
Order_Number: XXXXXXX

Desired Settlement
I want to cancel this "subscription", I sent back the second product and they refunded me my money.

Business Response
Consumer placed an order for Youthology on our website rather than calling our Sales Office and therefore no Sales Agent was involved in this order. Her order includes the auto ship program which was canceled at her request. However, she did not contact us to cancel until after the first auto shipment was delivered to her. These shipments may not be returned for a refund after the initial 30 day Money Back Guarantee has expired. Having said that, Consumer has submitted these issues to her credit card company and we are cooperating with that process and will accept whatever decision results from that complaint. It should be noted that this is the first notice we received from the BBB regarding this complaint and we will follow-up with BBB re that separate issue.

06/05/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
i wanted to cancel my account, i sent the item back. did not even open the box. i sent it back un opened and tried to cancel. they will not cancel when i have sent it back. i have looked on their web site to see if it states that they will not cancel and can't find anything saying they would not cancel. please help me with this matter as they are going to turn me into collections for not paying, when i have sent the item back.
Product_Or_Service: eye serum
Account_Number: Customer Number: ***

Desired Settlement
Desired Settlement ID: Refund
credit my account.

Business Response
Consumer sent an email to our Customer Service Dept. asking that her Preferred Customer Auto Ship Program be discontinued. The email was processed after the next auto shipment was sent to her, but upon review it is clear that the email was received before that shipment. Therefore, Consumer is entitled to a full refund for that shipment. We have refunded Payment #1 for that auto shipment (a 90-day supply) in the amount of $49.98 and we have canceled both Payment #2 and Payment #3.

05/07/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I ordered the eye serum back in January because I saw it advertised on TV. When I receieved the product I was super excited and tried it that evening. It burned my eyes really bad and left them red and swollen. My husband thought that maybe my skin was just too sensitive for it, so he decided to try it seeing as how they make all these great claims on TV. The product didn't hurt him, but it did absolutely nothing at all. I called the number to return it and there was a recording saying that because the call volume is too high they couldn't take my call but I could leave a message and someone would call me back. I just let it go realizing that returning it would be a huge hassle. So here comes March and I'm being charged $49.98 for youthology, and I did NOT order more. So I call and get the same recording so I decide to email. Apparently because I didn't send it back within 7 days after receiving the item, I was put on autoship (I apparently signed up for that too) and they not only charged me in March, but will also charge me again in April and June because they already mailed out another 3 month supply. They said they very clearly state this on their website. I did go back on the website and saw it. It's not something that jumps out at you and I'm sure over half the people that order this has no idea they're signing up for autoship. I told them I would send it back and they said, "no, we clearly state we don't take returns because we're not guaranteed to receieve it." So I said I would send it certified and they still said no because they state the clearly what I signed up for and therefore will not refund me. This is shadey business practice. There is in no way anything that says when you're checking out, "hey, click here so that we know you know you're signing up for autoship. And I'm not satisfied. It burned my eyes!
Product_Or_Service: Eye Serum
Order_Number: XXXX-XXXXXX

Desired Settlement
Desired Settlement ID: Refund
I want to be reimbursed the $49.98 that was charged on March 11th and I don't want them holding me responsible for April or May's payments. I am more than happy to send all of it back certified mail. The first eye serum was used because we tried it, but the second package I just received hasn't even been opened.

Business Response
We have issued a refund to Consumer and provided her a Pre Paid Return Label to return the product.

Page 1 of 3
04/28/2014Billing / Collection Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Skin Care

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.