BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 12/12/2009

PickYourShoes.com

Phone: (909) 627-6001

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service4
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints6

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (6)BBB Closure Definitions
05/30/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Both the customer service rep and his manager were extremely inappropriate while dealing with me regarding a refund. Degrading and down-talking.
In May 2013 I purchased a pair of Asic sneakers from their website (order # XXXXXXXX). The sneakers were entirely different colors than shown on the website. I emailed them explaining I wanted to refund them and they proceeded to send me extremely long emails listed with excuses why I am wrong. They asked me to provide photos to prove that I wasn't lying I did so. Then they responded with more lengthy emails listing more reasons why I am wrong, they spoke down to me in a degrading way. I have never been treated with such horrible customer service. I finally got the the point where I was giving up and was going to contact my bank to dispute the charge. I sent the manager ********* one last email telling him if I could not receive a return shipping label from him that I would contact the bank to dispute the charge. He then decided to agree to process the refund and send shipping label to me. The label took over a week to arrive and wasn't even a digital copy of the label, it was a photo of a label sitting on a desk taken with a mobile phone. I was unable to print the label in a format that would be acceptable at UPS, as they need to be able to scan the label. Still to this day I have not received a proper shipping label or refund.

Desired Settlement
Prepaid return shipping label and a full refund for the product since it was not as represented on the website(different color).

Business Response
The item was purchased according to brand's description and the pictures showing on the website did show the Navy color on our monitor and it was the actual color for the item. We never received any claim from other customer regarding the coloring for this item, but we do understand that someone might have concern for other issue, that's the reason why we need the picture at the first place to make sure/figure out what had happened for the item.

After reviewing the picture of the item and compare with our inventory, it was the same item and we did ship the item the customer ordered. The website picture was also taken from real product, so we tried to explained to the customer and even attempted to offer some discount for their dissatisfactory due to possible misunderstanding.

The case was brought to manager's attention and was agreed to issued the return label as an exception regardless the situation on May 3rd, the returned label was issued and emailed back to the customer on the same day. With a PDF scanned copy of the label.

After 1 week, the customer sent a threatening email saying he was going to file reversal for the credit card company because he claimed he didn't receive the label which was sent 1 week ago already.

We immediately resent the label again (the same scanned copy, which was legit and everyone was using that to send the package back to us)

However, the customer didn't want to try the label for no reason, but still saying he wants to reverse the charge, and we didn't even know if the customer "did" try to print out the label and bring it to UPS station or not, or he just doesn't want to even try which was known to be a working method to return the item back.

We had tried our best to work or fulfill this customer's request, once we have the item back, we already agree to issue the full refund. However, he didn't try to send it back yet for more than 3 weeks already and we still not sure what he wants to do beside keep on saying he will file dispute with the credit card company.

Once the customer return the item back with our return label back to us at our cost, we already told him we will issue refund back to him.

The return label was issued to the customer, he just need to use any 8.5 x 11 paper to print it out and it can be used by UPS.

Refund was not issued because the customer still didn't follow the instruction to send the item back to us.

12/19/2014Billing / Collection Issues
07/11/2014Problems with Product / Service
10/30/2013Problems with Product / Service
08/14/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I ordered a brand new pair of shoes from pickyourshoes.com and the sole of the shoe is starting to come off. I only lightly wore the shoes about 3-4 times when I noticed that the sole of the shoe was hanging off on the side. Mind you, these are $215.00 Air Jordan sneakers. I e-mailed them and they told me to e-mail Nike with a complaint, basically telling me to lie and say I received the shoes as a gift, tell Nike about the issue and have Nike handle it. pickyourshoes.com offered me a $10.00 credit to use on their website. They also said that they can't give me a refund or replace the shoes because it's a manufacturer defect and because the shoes have already been worn. I have all of the e-mails to prove everything i'm saying. Please help me get my money back or replace the shoes. Thanks.
Product_Or_Service: Air jordan XII sneakers

Desired Settlement
I would like to have the shoes replaced or get a refund.

Business Response
Item purchased on 3/20 - 2012
customer tried to return after one year - may - 2013 which has passed returned period (30 days) agreed prior to purchase.

the shoes were purchased on 3/20/2012 and the customer only let us know in May 2013, which was one year after he made the purchase. The customer also wore couple times as he mentioned. According to our return policy, return was only accepted if he is not satisfied with the shoes within "30" days, which is already a pretty reasonable period to ensure the item is in good condition before any possible change might happen due to aging issue.

Since the purchase has passed 30 days or even more than 360 days, we cannot extend the return period to more than one year especially to a worn item. This has violated our return policy which the customer has agreed before making any purchase.

We had offered some store credit $10 or even $20 to offset the case and see if the customer can fix the issue with any local store or seek help from manufacture; however, due to the time the shoes was produced, the item might not be eligible for warranty anymore and made of year/release year can be found on the website or from the brand directly.

Sorry that the customer is not happy; however, if the shoes was received in good condition and the customer didn't bring up within 30 days; however, due to storage or any other unknown factor through out the extended time (360 days) after the return period, the shoes might become not as new or as strong anymore; that's why return period for the item was set to a reasonable timeframe which is 30 days for the customer to contact us back for any problem for the product.

We would love to issue refund if the customer can report and return the product within 30 days which is the return period stated under disclaimer and purchase agreement when customer made the purchase.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I do not accept the response because they sold me a pair of shoes that were manufactured 4 years before i bought them and that's why they fell apart. They also tried to get me to commit fraud by advising me to complain to Nike and telling them I got the shoes as a gift when in reality I bought them from pickyourshoes.com. Nike has a 2-year warranty for manufacturer defects, but the shoes were already 2 years past the warranty when I bought them so Nike couldn't help me. pickyourshoes.com also e-mailed me saying that their retro shoes are collector's items and not meant to be worn, but it does not say that anywhere on their website. they are selling faulty merchandise and I want my money back.

Final Consumer Response
Pickyourshoes.com ripped me off. They sold me pair of $215.00 sneakers that fell apart after I barely wore them a few times. I bought them over a year ago but I hardly ever wear them. They're saying they have a 30-day return policy but the shoes didn't fall apart until after that 30 days expired. When I first got the shoes, they were in good condition and still are aside from the fact that the bottom of the shoe is coming off because the glue is not holding up and that is due to the fact that they sold me a pair of shoes that were manufactured 4 years prior to me buying them, so they were already old to begin with. I had no way of knowing they would fall apart and I take very good care of my shoes. pickyourshoes.com also tried to get me to commit fraud by telling me to call Nike and say I received the shoes as a gift because they are not an authorized dealer of Nike products and they know that they are selling faulty merchandise, so they told me to do that in order to get Nike to take care of the problem because pickyourshoes.com said it was a factory defect, but the fact is they sold me a pair of old shoes that were not stored properly. I want my money back and I will not accept anything other than that.

10/17/2014Advertising / Sales Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Shoes - Retail

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.