BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 12/28/1998

Gravity Defyer, Inc.

(818) 501-527710643 Glenoaks Blvd, PacoimaCA 91331

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 12/28/1998

BBB has determined that Gravity Defyer, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Gravity Defyer, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has taken to respond to complaint(s).

Factors that raised Gravity Defyer, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 49 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

49 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 17 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues1
Delivery Issues3
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service43
Total Closed Complaints 49

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Gravity Defyer, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (49)
05/10/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Bought a pair.and they started to fall apart within a month of wearing them. company seems unwilling to even consider rectifying the problem
After the initial email there are no replies other than the case has been escalated I am sorry I ever purchased anything from this company and I would like my money back so I can purchase a different BRAND of shoes that will last longer than a month. Being a senior citizen on a fixed income is difficult enough without paying such high prices of this shoddily crafted footwear.

Desired Settlement
I took the time to send pictures but the reply that I received inadequately described the actual problem. my case update number XXXXXX.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** CRSV Supervisor
Contact Phone: (XXX) XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *******@gdefy.com
The order traced back to 11/2015 and was outside of the manufacture warranty. Based on the images and the issues with the shoes, we made an exception on the warranty. A replacement order was processed 4/2016.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

04/12/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was promised a refund since 2/1/16 and have not received it.
My return credit was not timely processed so it was not applied to my next purchase charged to my credit card. When I realized the error I started my attempt for a refund from them in January as I do not need any more shoes from this company for the foreseen future. I have been promised a refund since 2/1/16.

See The following contact information:

3/30/16 Update for Case #XXXXXX - "Refund Check"
Per Order XXXXXX Customer chatted on the status of the refund check advised per that department the request is there but it has not been printed out just yet, Customer wants to know why is is taking so long. Customer is asking for an ETA on his check was told would be processed in 2 weeks, Customer is not happy with this and states will seek "outside" help if not received by then

Customer Care

Message History
Original Message
From: CUXXXXXX ******** ****
Sent: Thursday , March 24, XXXX XX:XX pm PDT (GMT-07:00)
Subject: Refund Check

I have not received my refund. Please update me on the status of my refund.

Note: NO UPDATE WAS SENT TO ME

Original Message
From: Matthew *****
Sent: Thursday , March 10, XXXX XX:XX am PST (GMT-08:00)
Subject: Refund Check

Per Order XXXXXX Informed customer that We will process a refund check and mail out to your billing address:
******** ****
1208 E Fairmont DrTempe AZ XXXXX

Shipping address confirmed same as billing.


Customer Care

Original Message
From: ****** **** ****** ****
Sent: Thursday , March 10, XXXX XX:XX am PST (GMT-08:00)
Subject: Refund Check

Per order XXXXXX,

Mr. ****,

Your reimbursement could not be processed to the original method of payment due to the time frame of the original order. We will process a refund check and mail out to your billing address:
******** ****
1208 E Fairmont Dr
Tempe AZ XXXXX

You will be emailed and notified once the refund check is processed and mailed.

Customer Care

Original Message
From: Matthew *****
Sent: Thursday , March 10, XXXX XX:XX am PST (GMT-08:00)
Subject: Refund Check
Per order XXXXXX We will forward the urgent refund request to our Accounting Dept. You will see the refund on your next credit card statement.

Customer Care


Original Message
From: Erendira ****
Sent: Tuesday , March 01, XXXX XX:XX am PST (GMT-08:00)
Subject: Refund Check

Customer has not seen his refund for $89.95 back on his credit card statement. I will forward this information to Accounting Dept. The refund will be processed within 24-48 hours.

Customer Care

Original Message
From: Erendira ****
Sent: Monday , February 01, XXXX XX:XX pm PST (GMT-08:00)
Subject: Refund Check

Customer was upset we did not mention the credit to him when he placed his last order. The credit was processed after the last sales order he placed. I was able to get this refund approved by the Supervisor in charge, ****** S. We appreciate your business, time, and patience. The refund for $89.95 will reflect back on your next credit card statement.

Customer Care

Original Message
From: Lino B *****
Sent: Monday , February 01, XXXX XX:XX pm PST (GMT-08:00)
Subject: Refund Check

Per RA XXXXXXvia chat

Customer called regarding refund request, advised per notes past the 330 days and stpore credit was issued. Customer wants to talk to a manager. Advised he can call and ask for one.

Customer Care

Original Message
From: Lino B *****
Sent: Monday , January 25, XXXX XX:XX pm PST (GMT-08:00)
Subject: Refund Check

Per RA XXXXXX

Customer called regard refund will forward to accounting dept

Customer Care

Desired Settlement
Immediate refund

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: Serjio **
Contact Phone: XXX XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ************@gdefy.com
Your refund check has been shipped out on 4/8/16. Fed EX smartpost tracking # XXXXXXXXXXXX. It is due to arrive 4/12/16.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

03/31/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Leather cracking and peeling away from the shoes. Company refused to exchange them.
Gravity Defyer sneakers size 8 ART NO: TB90O7FWS-W. Purchased through Gravity Defyer Website April 17, 2015 using Visa $149.95. Tried the shoes when they arrived and was satisfied with the look and fit. Shoe were purchased to take on vacation in May. Did not wear the shoes on vacation. Subsequently, wore them three times. Noticed no problems. Wore them again October 9,2015 and noticed the leather is cracking and peeling around the toes near where the shoe is fixed to the sole. Contacted customer service at GD and was adviced that the shoes are out of warranty (60 days)and there is nothing they would not exchange them for another pair. The only thing that could be done was to offer me 50% off my next purchase. The shoes are practically new. This peeling will only get worse. I would gladly settled for a replacement pair, however, I am not sure that the same thing won't happen with a different pair. I would like a refund and will gladly send the shoes back. I would think that having the shoes will help GD determine what the problem is so that they can resolve any manufacturing issues and this won't continue to happen,

Desired Settlement
Refund of $149.95 either to my Visa or in a check. I will send the shoes back at my own expense.

Business Response
Ms. ******

We have reached out to you directly in order to further assist you.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The shoes are unusable and I am concerned that the problem will continue to get worse. I have sent an email containing a photo of one of the shoes to both the BBB and Gravity Defeyer. The other is equally damaged in the same areas. I am seeking remuneration for the shoes. 2/8/2016

Final Business Response
***Document Attached***
Mrs. ****,

It appears that a replacement was processed for you at your request. Fed Ex tracking # XXXXXXXXXXXX. At this point we consider this matter to be resolved

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I am satisfied with an exchange to a different style shoe. Exchange has already been received.

03/24/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I bought a pair a shoes and tried them on in the house and they were not comfortable..I sent them back for a refund and 6 weeks later the company tells me the shoes were notin A condition so they gave me a company credit. That is hogwash.. A scam.. Don't givepeople back their money and give them a store credit and claim the shoes were worn...Its rubbish... I told them that and they did not care. I cannot wear their shoes. They maywork for others but not for me. When you sell online you have to accept that people will buyyour shoes and they will not find them comfortable. That is the whole issue, problem with buying online... That is part of their business model as they only sell online..I acted in good faith in trusting their advertising that one could return shoes for a refundif one did not like their shoes for any reason... The shoes were in perfect condition as Istated before as I just wore them once in the house

Desired Settlement
I want my money back... no store credit as their shoes are not comfortable for me

Business Response
Mr. *****,

Your refund check was processed 3/2/16. Fed Ex Smart Post Tracking # XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX. We note that it was delivered. We now consider this matter to be resolved.


****** S


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

02/24/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased a pair of shoes which were horrible, wore them two days and returned them. They are refusing to refund my money or return my emails.
I want them to prove that the shoes were returned in not like new condition. I wore the shoes twice. I do not want their store credit. I want my money back. These shoes has cost me more money than they are worth. The shoes were not the main cause but pushed the issue over the edge. I now have a herniated disk and am going to spinal decompression and may have to have surgery.

Desired Settlement
I want my money back.

Business Response
Mrs. ********,

Your reimbursement was processed 2/24/16.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

Page 1 of 6
05/10/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I am still waiting on a new pair of shoes at no charge.
I placed my order (order # XXXXXX) on July 30, 2015. Within 6 weeks my shoes started to have a clicking sound. On October 26, 2015 I contact the company to tell them about my shoes. They are very slow to answer. I sent them a video on December 9, 2015 so they could hear it. On December 17, 2015 they said they could only give me 50% off another pair of shoes. I asked them why I would want to buy new shoes and maybe have this happen again. I paid $99 for the original ones. I cannot keep paying that kind of money for shoes that might have a problem again. On January 21, 2016 they sent me replacement shoes. The replacement shoes we a man's size 7 extra wide white shoe and my shoes are a woman's size 9 wide black and purple. I had bought the man's shoe for my husband (who really doesn't like them), but they had a video of my shoes and also my order number. I returned those shoes and asked for the correct shoes. On February 23, 2016 they emailed me and said I would have to pay $28 for the replacement shoes. They are supposed to be exchanging it for the exact same shoe. I would just like the new shoes and I will return these, even though they said I did not have to. I really do love the fit of the shoe.

Desired Settlement
I would just like the new shoes and I will return these, even though they said I did not have to. I do not feel that I need to pay $28 more for the exchange. If I cannot get an exchange, I would like my money back. I really do love the fit of the shoe.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ** Supervisor
Contact Phone: (XXX) XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *******@gdefy.com
Ms. *****,

The style of shoes that you purchased on 9/2015, were valued at 89.95. We have made an exception and authorized and exchange although you were outside of our 60 day warranty. The shoes that you are requesting are valued at 129.95. You are responsible for the price difference for the shoes. In addition, since the order traces back to 9/2015, you are currently outside our 30 day money back guarantee.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The value of the shoes I purchased was $129.95. I don't know where they are coming up with an $89.95 value They are the same shoe and price as the replacement I am asking for. Gravity Defyer will not stop and look at the shoes I ordered. I have placed more than one order and these shoes are from my very first order from 7/30/15.

Final Business Response
As stated before the original order was processed 9/2015. Value of the shoe 89.95. The shoes were returned for the same shoe, (89.95), in a different size. Now she want's an exchange for The Superwalk shoes valued at 129.95. At this point the customer is responsible for the price difference or we can locate a different shoes valued at 89.95.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
If you would please read my original complaint and check the dates and order number, you will see that I AM correct. I have put the original complaint below. See order # and date!

I am still waiting on a new pair of shoes at no charge.
I placed my order (order # XXXXXX) on July 30, 2015. Within 6 weeks my shoes started to have a clicking sound. On October 26, 2015 I contact the company to tell them about my shoes. They are very slow to answer. I sent them a video on December 9, 2015 so they could hear it. On December 17, 2015 they said they could only give me 50% off another pair of shoes. I asked them why I would want to buy new shoes and maybe have this happen again. I paid $99 for the original ones. I cannot keep paying that kind of money for shoes that might have a problem again. On January 21, 2016 they sent me replacement shoes. The replacement shoes we a man's size 7 extra wide white shoe and my shoes are a woman's size 9 wide black and purple. I had bought the man's shoe for my husband (who really doesn't like them), but they had a video of my shoes and also my order number. I returned those shoes and asked for the correct shoes. On February 23, 2016 they emailed me and said I would have to pay $28 for the replacement shoes. They are supposed to be exchanging it for the exact same shoe. I would just like the new shoes and I will return these, even though they said I did not have to. I really do love the fit of the shoe.

03/07/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I am due a refund for a return and the company is disputing the condition of the returned item
I ordered a pair of Super Walk sneakers. When they arrived they were too small so I returned them for a larger pair. I did wear the shoes indoors for an afternoon and they hurt my feet as I have rheumatoid arthritis. I called to see when I could return the shoes on Friday, August 28th, 2015 and was given Case #XXXXXX since my 30-day trial period expired on Sunday, August 30th. I drove 25 miles one-way into town to mail the shoes. The customer service rep I spoke to told me that the fact I had worn the shoes was fine just to be sure to clean the bottoms, which I did. The shoes were in perfect condition when I returned them as I had not worn them in dirt but indoors. The company is saying the shoes were not in perfect condition so they are giving me a "store credit". I do not want a store credit for shoes that hurt my feet. I would NEVER buy shoes from this company ever again and they are $129.95. I want my refund as specified in there advertisement.

Desired Settlement
I simply want a refund of my $129.95.

Business Response
Ms. *******,

We are reaching out to your directly in order to solve your issue. We have attempted to reimburse your account with no success. Is you card ending in 3282, still active?

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I did receive an email the same day I received this communication from the BBB. I am still waiting to see if Gravity Defyer will issue my refund.

Final Business Response
Your reimbursement was processed 2/19/16.

03/07/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have returned my shoes for a different size, they received my shoes 9/18/15,they charged my ck acct twice for them, today is11/28/15 still no refund
in july i purchased 2 pairs of shoes ,mine and my husbands , the shoes where buy on get 1/2 off, they sent my shoes and charged my acct 160.00. my husbands shoes were on back order they said, i got my shoes and they were defective, they leaned to the right, so they shipped me a new pair.about a week later i was checking my acct and saw they took another 160.00 out of my checking acct, so i called them and they said i did not return the defective shoes,when they get the shoes i will get my money back, i thought my husband sent them back,but he didnt, so i mailed them back to them,now this is in August 2015 so a few weeks went by ,still no money refund called them about 6 times and each time i call they that they will talk to their supervisor and get back to me! but it is now 11/28/15 and no one has got back to me nor did i get my 160.00 back! my husbands shoe never did come in, 3 1/2 months later i had to call them to see about his shoes ,he had to take a different color than what he wanted! please help

Desired Settlement
i just want my $160.00 back!

Business Response
Ms. *******,

We have reached out to you directly in regards to this matter.

03/07/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I am very disatisfied with the shies that I paid good money for. They should hold up better and uphold the advertising.
I don't have all the information in front of me on the 3 yes 3 pairs of shies that are bad. I bought 2 pairs for my son who is a bad diabetic and 1 pair for my husband who has bad feet. My son's shoes lasts no time till the air bad or whatever you call it blew out. The sole of the shoe came loose from the side of the shoe itself. The other pair my son went to put on and the eyelet in the shoe tore out by very little pressure on the strings. The pair I bought for my husband sound like clickers when you walk. Just a terrible experience with this company and shoes. I spent over 300 dollars and could've got 10 pairs somewhere else,but I wanted these because of what they said they were supposed to be.

Desired Settlement
I'd either like a full money back guarantee or 3 new pairs. I have referred people and will not again if not resolved. These are not worth the money if they only last this long.

Business Response
Ms. ******,

We have reached out to you directly. We will assist you in resolving your issue.

03/07/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Returned shoes using prepaid label, however shoes never reached company. Will not refund money to me even though not my fault.
Ordered shoes from Gravity Defyer after seeing advertisement in AARP magazine. Have trouble with my feet and on them they looked like a shoe that might work. And with a 30 day free trial and free return thought what could I lose. So after having them on my feet for less than 1/2 day found out they are not what my feet needed. Don't think they fit the advertisement at all. So on December 2, 2015 well within the 30 day trial I returned them to a fed ex pick up location. Since we are in a rural area my choices were The Wrapped Gift in Monroe, MI. I took my package there had the very knowledgeable clerk take it for pick up by Fed Ex. Using the prepaid label Gravity Defyer gave me. However somehow someway the driver failed to scan the package because it now shows that the fed ex number was never used. The clerk definitely remembers me and my package. I being a trustworthy person failed to keep my paper that I sent it. After numerous calls to Gravity Defyer and Fed Ex it was determined that Gravity Defyer had to file a claim against Fed Ex to continue on with this matter. I informed Gravity Defyer of this and said yes they would and would get back with me. Well after two weeks of no news I called them and was told they could not file a claim, that it was up to me. So I the consumer am stuck in the middle. I did everything right to ensure the package was sent back. Somewhere it got lost. And now I am out of $116.94. The shoes were terrible poor quality. I have spent so much time on this but it is the point of it now. The consumer loses out. And Gravity Defyer customer service stinks and so do the shoes.

Desired Settlement
$116.94 refund to me. The shoes are lost out there somewhere. Why does the customer have to pay the price when she did everything right?

Business Response
Ms. *****,

Your account was credited 2/9/16. At this point, we consider this matter closed.

Page 1 of 5

Industry Comparison| Chart

Shoes - Retail, Internet Shopping

Additional Information

top
Business started: 11/07/2001
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: August 2008, CA

Business Management
Principal: Mr. Paul Coleman (CFO)
Number of Employees

46

Business Category

Shoes - Retail, Internet Shopping

Alternate Business Names
Gravity Defyer Corporation

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Gravity Defyer, Inc.

10643 Glenoaks Blvd

Pacoima, CA 91331

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the Counties of Los Angeles, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz, Monterey and San Benito. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Gravity Defyer, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Shoes - Retail

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.