BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 05/01/2010

MLSListings Inc

(408) 874-0200350 Oakmead Pkwy 2nd Fl, SunnyvaleCA 94085-5400

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 05/01/2010

BBB has determined that MLSListings Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised MLSListings Inc's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Our complaint history for this company shows that the one complaint brought to the company's attention was responded to and given proper consideration.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on MLSListings Inc

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
11/29/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
MLS Listings refuses to remove online photos of my property, despite requests from the real estate agent that took the photos and uploaded them.
Hello. I purchased a home 8/8/2013. The seller's agent had photographed/uploaded 22 interior/exterior photos to MLS Listings. These show up on real estate websites. For example, http://www.redfin.com************************************************* After I bought the house, the Seller's agent (at my request) and also myself asked MLS to delete the photos. MLS refuses. My Buyer's agent says a lot of buyers want MLS to remove the photos but MLS refuses.
Here's two emails I got from MLS. They never answered or returned my calls, and they don't reply to my emails.

****** ******** <*********@mlslistings.com>

Aug 20

to ******, me
Mrs. *******,

We received and reviewed your request to have photos removed from a sold property listing.

We understand your request and we are sensitive to your concerns. The photos of the property were taken when the property was placed in the MLS for sale by the owner of the property at that time, and your possessions do not appear in those photos. Additionally, the MLS exterior photos are not unique; images of nearly all public streets and addresses are readily available on Google, Bing, Yahoo, and MapQuest. The removal from the MLS would not change that nor would it remove them from other Internet locations as the photos are syndicated and displayed by sources and vendors outside of the MLS such. The photos displayed were originated by the listing agent, placed into the MLS, and syndicated to Broker websites for display as directed by both the listing agent and the listing broker. Those were selections made by the listing agent and listing broker with agreements to do so in writing by the seller, not by the MLS, to place the photos which are copyright owned by the listing broker on external websites in addition to inside of the MLS. The MLS does not choose what photos are sent to what locations on the Internet for marketing purposes, those are selected by the listing agents and listing broker who owns the listing and related content.

We keep the historic compilation intact and complete so that buyers, such as yourself can receive the best price in your transaction; and so that when you are the seller, you can best market the home for sale. For this reason, the leadership body of MLSListings has instructed us by policy to leave historic images intact.

You can see the value on preserving this archive as well as that the photos are available on the Internet outside of the MLS's display, distribution, and control for removal.

We will not be removing these photos from the MLS database at this time.

Since you have referred to legal actions going forward, myself as well as the other staff members of MLSListings are not authorized to have any further conversations with you related to this matter and all future correspondences will need to be directed to our legal counsel as coordinated through our CEO.


Sincerely,

******



****** ********
Chief Operations Officer

***** ******* <********@mlslistings.com>

Aug 20

Hi *****,

We can understand your request and we are sensitive to your concerns. However, these photos were the property of the creator and assigned to MLS when they published the listing for sale.

There are many reasons we keep the historic compilation intact and complete. Subscribers to the service (our customers) want and demand that the listing content remain as it was during the listing's on market timeframe. It's likely at least the listing agent used this comparable historical data to help value the property to sell. And photos are now a big part of this record. Comparable sales, new selling prices and other future events are all tied to the listing information. Was there a pool? Type of pool? What was the condition of home/kitchen/bath when it sold or didn't sell You can see the value on preserving this archive. These are reasons among others that we do not remove photos.

Desired Settlement
I would like MLS Listings to remove photos of ************** from their database. I would also like them to allow any homeowner to easily to remove photos of their property if they so desire. At the very least, they should be allowed to remove interior photos. If one photo must be kept up, it would be the front of the house, and the homeowner should be allowed to blur it, like Google Maps lets you do for privacy concerns. Thank you very much for your consideration.

Business Response
Dear Mrs. *******:

The removal of data from a multiple listing service, (MLS) is neither arbitrary nor permissible based upon the rules and regulations of our business and the services we provide. The data owned by brokers and the MLS include property photographs, property details and pricing; among other features. As an MLS we are not allowed to remove or alter that data. As a subscriber-based business that is industry regulated, our core responsibility is to serve as a trading platform for real estate professionals by providing accurate data from which real estate transactions are based. The information about sold properties serves as the basis for comparable pricing, appraisals, historical data research and marketplace evaluations.

While we understand the request to remove photos, it is not within our rules to grant that request. Additionally, the depth and breadth of the Internet make it nearly impossible to achieve the complainant's desire for complete removal because real estate photos are copied and syndicated.

We have an obligation to our subscribers which is reflected in our rules and policy.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Are you saying that the subscriber that uploaded the photos is responsible for removing them? WONDERFUL! Because the subscriber in question (the seller's real estate agent who uploaded the photos) tried to take the photos down for me but was not able to. There is nowhere for them to go online and take them out. The seller's real estate agent even contacted you by email to remove the photos, and you responded that you could not. That must have been an error then. Would you like me to contact seller's agent again so they can remove the photos from your listing? Thank you.

Final Business Response
The history in our service is a key asset which is intended to benefit our subscriber base; that includes data and pictures. This information is locked down by our service for future use by our subscribers as they perform CMAs, appraisals, research how to price new listings, and when they are negotiating on behalf of their buyer clients. We are bound by our commitment to our subscribers to provide them a robust service with solid history, and we are regulated by our rules and our policies to keep our content rich and accurate. Based on our rules and policies and our commitment to our subscribers, we do not remove listing content from our historical records, including tax record data, photos, remarks, and other historical data on our comparable database.

We are trying to make clear to Mrs. ******* that we have no ability to make the desired change. We understand the frustration, but this is not within our authority. The removal of data from a multiple listing service, (MLS) is neither arbitrary nor permissible based upon the rules and regulations of our business and the services we provide. The data owned by brokers and the MLS include property photographs, property details and pricing; among other features. As an MLS we are not allowed to remove or alter that data.

With Best Regards,

Myra ******** Vice President of Public Affairs

Industry Comparison| Chart

Real Estate Services, Real Estate Consultants, Computers Hardware, Software & Services

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 04/08/2010Business started: 01/01/2007
Contact Information
Principal: Jim Harrison (President)Ms. Jan Bruce (Executive Assistant)
Number of Employees

60

Business Category

Real Estate Services, Real Estate Consultants, Computers Hardware, Software & Services

Products & Services

This company's business is Real Estate Information Services, Real Estate Services - Other and Computer Software Publishers & Developers.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for MLSListings Inc

350 Oakmead Pkwy 2nd Fl

Sunnyvale, CA 94085-5400

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 350 Oakmead Pkwy 2nd Fl 

    Sunnyvale, CA 94085-5400

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the Counties of Los Angeles, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz, Monterey and San Benito. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*MLSListings Inc is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Real Estate Services

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.