BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 08/01/2010

Digital Buyer

(800) 408-271888 S 3rd St #151, San JoseCA 95113-2503

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 08/01/2010

BBB has determined that Digital Buyer meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Digital Buyer's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Digital Buyer

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
05/04/2016Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We purchased a file cabinet from the website. It was paid for. DigitalBuyer.com canceled our order 4 days later saying they would not honor price.
On November 10, 2015, we purchased a 2 drawer 36" W. Lateral File Cabinet. Item #80FL236, Order #XXXXXXX, Cost $289.63, no shipping because we chose to do tailgate delivery. On November 10, 2015 we received a purchase confirmation of our order via email. On November 10, 2015 we received a 3rd email. This one was from Gloria in Customer Care. She wanted to make sure that we understood what tailgate delivery was, which we do. She was very sweet took down our number and said the driver would call us and make an appointment delivery since this is a church and we are not staffed like a normal business. On the confirmation email it stated that we would receive another email when the item was shipped. I called Digitalbuyer.com on November 12, 2015 asking why I had not yet received a shipment email because we needed to track the order. The gal in customer service said that after the order processes it takes 48 hours to ship and the email should be here on Friday. On November 18th I still had not received an email. I called Gloria and left a message saying that I was worried and wanted to know why I had not received a shipping email. I then called the main number and the answering machine came on saying to leave a message and they would get back to me in about 15 minutes. I left my name, number and reason for calling. 2 hours later I still had not received a return call from either party. I called a 3rd time and got someone in customer service. She I explained about the email and said I needed to know when the item would be arriving. Said read something on my order and said can you please hold my notes are conflicting. When she came back she said that the order had been canceled. I said what are talking about. Who canceled it? She said we did. I was shocked. I asked why and she said that they could not honor the item price that was posted on the website. She said it was incorrect. I honestly did not know what to say. I communicated that our credit card was already charged. We received a confirmation email. I even spoke with customer service about delivery. I told her I never received a call or an email regarding the cancelation. She said she was really sorry but that was that. I told her I thought that was extremely unprofessional and that digitalbuyer.com should honor their mistake. I asked to speak with Gloria and she said why. I told her I wanted to double check all of this. The lady would not transfer me. I asked to speak with a manager and she said they were not in and that they don't get in until the afternoon. Non of it was making any sense to me. She said she would ask if we could have a discount. I told her to let them know that I wanted a call back from the manager and to tell the managers that I expected them to honor the Purchase price. She said she would send me an email regarding our conversation. I received an email later that day saying that they could offer the product to us for $354.60 plus $75.00 liftgate delivery. Liftgate delivery was free on the original purchase. I responded back to her on November 24, 2015 saying that if they would not honor our original purchase then we wanted our credit card refunded the full amount.

Desired Settlement
I feel DigitalBuyer.com should honor the original purchase price and ship us our item.

Business Response
DigitalBuyer.com apologies for the system glitch that calculated an incorrect product price. We understand this is a disappointment, but we hope you can understand that errors do occur from time-to-time.

Although we make considerable effort for accurate catalog, we specifically outline the possibility for order adjustments and cancellations within our terms and conditions.

A reasonable effort was made to provide a discount due to the pricing error. The offer was declined.

The credit card was never charged in any amount. This is in accordance with our policy which dictates that credit cards are not charged until the order has shipped to the shipping address provided. Because the order was canceled, and therefore not shipped, there is no refund outstanding.

Lift-gate / Curbside Delivery is a separate, paid delivery service. The free delivery advertised is the Dock/Tailgate delivery. These options are provided on the website and no error has been found regarding delivery services.

Regarding the cancellation without e-mail notification, we appreciate the feedback. We will address the issue internally and ensure this process is improved.

We apologize for the frustration this experience caused, and we apologize for our inability to serve you in a satisfactory manner. We will take this opportunity to improve our service and online catalog. Thank you for your understanding.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I do not agree with about 1/2 of what they said. In situations like this I will agree to disagree and will simply not ever do business with this company again. I will also encourage others to do the same.

Final Business Response

The Customer Service team at DigitalBuyer.com appreciates your feedback, and we have implemented new processes designed to improve our service, website pricing, and cancellation notifications.
We apologize for the frustration this experience caused, and we apologize for our inability to serve you in a satisfactory manner.
Please accept our apology regarding this case as there are no issues outstanding.


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I accept the written apology in the above paragraph and just hope it never happens again to someone else.

07/08/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Business' Initial Response
We and the consumer agreed to have the item returned and consumer is free from any charges or liabilities. Consumer has agreed to cooperate with the moving company to have the unit picked up.

01/14/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Purchased a security safe from Digital Buyer.The product is not as advertised.
On October 1,2014 I purchased a security safe from Digital buyer.com(order#XXXXXXX)I paid$375.00 for this safe,the safe had been altered in that the safe's keypad had been replaced from a permanent keypad that was attached securely,to a keypad that is unattached to the safe unsecurely.The safe weighted 105 lbs.Not only am I a 60 yrs. old I am a totally disabled veteran.The safe was so heavy that I had to pay a relative to remove it from the box and place it.When the safe was removed from the box,the keypad was hanging loose from the safe, only attached by a small cord.Attached to the keypad was a 9 volt battery.There were 2 screws on the door of the safe to hang the keypad on.The keypad hanged on the door,turn right to attach it, turn left to unattach it,in case you want to replace the battery.The advertised safe had a keypad permanantly attached to the safe.It was battery operated by 2 9 volt batteries that were inside the safe in a compartment on the backside of the door.When I open the compartment it was empty and it had the appearance that the 2 9 volt batteries had burst inside the compartment because there was white powder all inside the compartment,like maybe it was used before.There was also 2 holds on the outside door where the original keypad had been bolted to.The keypad had been rewired,it no loner was required to access the safe to replace the 9 volt batteries,instead it had 1 9 volt battery on the backside of the keypad.The keypad had about a 2 to 3 inch small cable attached to the 9 volt battery.Simply attach the keypad to the 2 screws,turn right to attach it to the safe,turn left to remove it,it attached loosely and did not hang straight,it was like changing the battery on a smoke alarm.It hanged by the attached cable.It was not secured like the advertised safe.The keypad was powdered by the 9 volt battery,if the keypad was unattached by someone,being that it was not secured, and the cable was cut ,I had no way to get my belongings out of the safe.The original keypad could not be removed,it was secured to the safe.I contacted Digital Buyers.com and spoke with customer service rep by the name of "******".I voiced my concerns to her,she contacted the manufacturer "Protex"which said the safe keypad was secured.I asked ******"what happens if someone removed the keypad and cut the cable ,"which has the 9 volt battery that regulated the electrical function of the keypad",how would I get my things out of the safe.it would require a locksmith and it would not have been an easy job,very costly.****** told me she did not know how I could get my things out of the safe,no one there had the technical knowledge.She refered me to Protex the manufacturer who also did not have an answer for this question.As a 60 year old man ,a totally disabled veteran I cannot repackage the safe and send it back without help.Digital buyer.com offered to setup a return for the safe."Photos are avilable".

Desired Settlement
Replace with the advertised safe.

Business Response
We have emailed the customer the return label for full refund.

Consumer Response
I have agreed to return the safe,the safe was deemed defective,however the shipping label will not pay for the safe to be picked up.I called Digital Buyer.com who told me to drop the safe at a ups store.I told them that that was impossible,the safe weights 105 pounds,I cannot lift the safe,I am totally disabled,I had to pay someone to move the safe and prepare it for shipping,I also paid to have it unwrapped and placed in an area in my house when it was delivered,I have incurred enough expenses.I will not pay shipping cost on an item sent to me under false advertisment.Normally the return label allows for home pickup.The return label is from the manufacturer,obviously the Seller, DigitalBuyer.com thinks that they are not responsible in any way for the situation.They were the seller, they should share in the responsibility of this purchase,from the beginning they continued to refer me to the manufacturer,when in fact they were the ones that got my
payment.


Final Business Response
Customer was refunded in full.

A replacement safe can be ordered from various online retailers and retail locations in the USA. Protex Safe has a list of dealers on their website.

DigitalBuyer.com's description is the manufacturer's description enhanced with graphics and stylistic adjustments by in-house editorial staff.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Even though I was refunded my $375.00,the company engaged in false advertisement.The whole situation was very inconvenient because of the weight of the safe ,having to initially pay someone to unpack it and then pay someone to repack it to return it.DigitalBuyers.com refunded my money,deemed the safe damaged.To resolve this matter,I requested a replacement safe,like the one advertised, and was never given that option by DigitalBuyers.com,since that safe supposedly was damaged.None of the problems would have occurred had DigitalBuyer not engaged in false advertisement.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Office Furniture & Equipment, Office Supplies

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 06/24/2010Business started: 01/01/2001
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: May 2010, DE

Contact Information
Principal: Customer Care
Number of Employees

8

Business Category

Office Furniture & Equipment, Office Supplies

Alternate Business Names
Digital Buyer Marketing Company, digitalbuyer.com

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Digital Buyer

88 S 3rd St #151

San Jose, CA 95113-2503

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 88 S 3rd St #151 

    San Jose, CA 95113-2503

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the Counties of Los Angeles, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz, Monterey and San Benito. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Digital Buyer is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Office Furniture & Equipment

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.