BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Internet Brands, Inc.

(800) 692-2200View Additional Phone Numbers909 N Sepulveda Blvd Fl 11, El SegundoCA 90245-2727http://www.internetbrands.comView Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Internet Brands, Inc. is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

This business has no rating at this time.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service8
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 10

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Internet Brands, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (10)
04/28/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was billed an increased charge for services after stating that I did not want services at this higher price.
I received an email on 12/23/2015 notifying me that the price for my monthly subscription to Old Ride's services would be rising from $39.95 to $59.95 after paying the same price for 8 years. I replied to the email, saying that I was not willing to pay this increased price. I received no response, but was charged $59.95 on 02/03/2016. I emailed them asking for a refund of the overcharge and got a reply saying that a representative would contact me. Someone contacted me a few days later, saying that I would not be receiving a refund, even though I never authorized payment for the increased price.

Desired Settlement
I would like a refund of $20.00 for the month of February. I am not willing to pay more than $39.95 per month, according to our agreement when I signed up for the service.

Business Response
We reserve the right to increase fees for our services, which is certainly not an unreasonable provision for any business. While we were pleased to have been able to keep pricing for our services unchanged for over 8 years, we recently had to raise our rates due to increased operating costs and market conditions, among other factors. Despite this increase, we find that our services are still highly competitive and provide extensive value for our customers.

After speaking with Mr. ******* on 2/26/16, per his request we have cancelled his account and services and have refunded the $59.95 to his credit card.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
As of 2/29/2016 the refund has not been received. Its also funny that on the old ride site it says nothing about reserving the right to raise prices. Also your site is the only one out of 100 plus sites i advertise on to try and raise the prices on existing customers.

Final Business Response
Mr. ******* was refunded $59.95 as of March 7, 2016. We now consider this matter closed.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The company refuses to honor the original price agreed on.

02/25/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I requested to update my acct info to my new name, they are demanding gov't issued IDs. I never needed any ID to purchase their product to begin with
Years ago I purchased a web license to run vbulletin forum and content management software on my websites through this company.

Since then I have undergone a name change, due to marriage, and I requested that my account information be updated to reflect my name change and my new email address which also reflects my name change.

They sent an email reply back demanding copies or clear images of government issued ID's and/or passports ** order to update my account.

Considering that I did not need government documents in order to purchase the license to use this software to begin with, there is no reason why they should ask me for that information now - as they have nothing to compare it with anyway.

I am not willing to send them this information as it contains private information that is none of their business, especially in this day and age of identity theft and considering that I never needed such documents to purchase the license in the first place.

I did send my request to them via their website, securely logged in to my account, and replied to their email address from my previous email address, which I rarely use, again, requesting that they update my information.

I would like this matter resolved or a full refund of the $537.00 that I spent to purchase said license and their web software to go with it.

Thank you.

Desired Settlement
I want my account updated to reflect my current information, or a full credit of the money I put into their product. That they did not require government documents which contain more information than my name for me to purchase their product, yet they demand it of me to change my name on my account (which consists of my name, email address, and customer number along with the website URL where their product is used) is ridiculous and even questionable.

Business Response
The vBulletin software license specifically restricts how it may be transferred. In order to manage those restrictions on transfer, we request that any changes to a customer's account, such as a name change, be demonstrated through production of a valid government ID.

If a customer is unable to produce an ID or refuses, we alternatively ask them to provide any of the following as proof of identity: a. customer number, b. The authorization code generated when you enter your customer password into the form on the following page: http://members.vbulletin.com/authcode.php, or c. The answer to the security question: What is the name of your favorite book?

We notified Ms. Dykes of these alternative options for proving identity on Jan. 13, but have not received a response to the request.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
They do not have the right to ask me for government documents, and I restrict who has access to those. I did not need government documents to prove who I was in the first place, so it is unreasonable for them to demand them now. Plus, I corresponded with them while securely logged into my account AND while securely logged into my previous email account AND provided them with my customer number, as requested. They did not ask for the answer to a secret question, nor do I recall one being set up when I opened my account. Furthermore, they blocked my email address that is associated with my account, so my further email correspondence to them have been bouncing.

Final Business Response
We have clearly outlined and provided rules for updating the customer's account based on the terms and conditions of the vBulletin website. To date, the customer has not provided this information so we have nothing additional to add to this complaint. Furthermore, we are not blocking the customer's e-mails as she alleges and the customer is able to communicate freely with us.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
All of me emails to this company are bouncing, first of all, and secondly, their non-solution is still unreasonable since I already submitted to them my customer ID as requested. They have no business asking me for government documents when I did not need those to purchase the software to begin with.

I initially contacted them to request my account be updated to reflect my new name via their website while securely logged in to my account, then made further contact from my email account that they have on file AND via my new email account before all my emails to them started bouncing. Do I need to provide screenshots of the bounced emails now?

Even the US Government did not give me this kind of trouble when going through the name change process, for crying out loud. So who does this company think they are?

11/13/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Several issues with product and requests for help constantly ignored on 'Priority Support Forum'. 3 replies in one month from support
Several issues with product and requests for help constantly ignored on 'Priority Support Forum'. 3 replies in one month from support, no resolution to issues. Several other users on official support forum complaining that no staff are helping them. This is the so-called 'priority support' vBulletin comes with. With most companies you email asking for help with a fault and get a reply within a day, here you are only allowed to use the forum (unless you pay a ton for the privilege of starting a support ticket) and many users never get one reply. Basically support is just about unreachable.

Desired Settlement
Forum issues resolved

Business Response
We need additional information from the customer like the email address or Customer ID for vBulletin so we can attempt to resolve the issue.

Thanks

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
User id scamtacular

Final Business Response
We had not received the Customer ID or Customer email address after requesting couple of time from the customer through BBB forum, we were unable to help as we cannot locate the customer in our data base with his provided name.
Kindly forward us email address used for vBulletin or Customer ID for prompt response!


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Customer Number: ************

11/10/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Daves Garden watchdog and internet brands Inc has my name on their website with false claims.
Dear Sir, I have a Container Tree Nursery in *******. I have a complaint against Dave's Garden. Com. I have proof of 10,000 happy customers and feedback on EBay. But 2 unhappy customers have posted to davesgarden.com, Dave's Garden somehow puts on my webpage the 2 only unhappy customers that I have had. Anytime anyone google's my business in search engines this is brought up when my name comes up. I pay for my webpage and they come on their with the complaints free. They never put the happy customers by my name only the bad. In general people only take the time to make a remark if they are unhappy. They are slandering my name and ruining my business. Today I had a customer that I've been dealing with an order of 200 trees, now after seeing that complaint from Dave's Garden, he cancelled. I would like for my name to be removed completely from Dave's Garden website. They are running my family run business! Dave's Garden.com is ranking higher in search engine than my paid Google, that I pay paid for, for my business. I would like my business removed from Daves Garden completely or I will be reporting them for slander to IC3 and other online police departments. Daves Garden is not interested in helping!

Desired Settlement
Removed from Internet brands inc/ Daves garden website

Business Response
Complaint Case #: XXXXXX
Consumer: ***** *******
Case Opened: XXXX-XX-XX

DavesGarden allows and encourages people to freely voice their opinions of gardening businesses on the site through user reviews. We do not filter reviews and allow both positive and negative reviews. We don't remove reviews because they are negative because the provide information to potential new customers.

The reviews posted on this web site are generally protected by the First Amendment of the United States Constitution and DavesGarden.com makes them available under protection of The Communications Decency Act of 1996 (CDA) 47 U.S.C. Section *** and supporting case law.

Thanks,

***** *****

09/15/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The information we supplied to be conatined in a job posting on the website www.groovejob.com was not used and the posting on the site is irrelevant.
On 8/11/14 we paid to have a job opening advertised on the groovejob.com website.

When creating the posing we supplied information on the job, location, salary and minimum qualifications applicants would need as well as setting up a link to our application site.

When I went to the groovejob.com site to review our job posting, none of the information provided was used. The only information listed for the job is "Part Time valet parking positions available, Flexible scheduling. "

The link the site provides to potential applicants after the register on the site does not work.

In short, none of the information we paid to be advertised was used.

Desired Settlement
We are seeking a refund of the money we paid, $99, and wish for groovejob.com's deficient business practices to be noted.

Business Response
After receiving the clients complaint, I called him on two occasions and sent a follow up email. I left messages and got no response from him.

I explained to him in those messages that we did not post the job ad. Someone at his company used our automated system to post the job. But they did it incorrectly. The person who typed in the copy used an HTML code to create a page break. HTML does not work in the ad copy section of the set up system. As a result, any ad copy after the page break did not appear on the site for the first 15 days of their campaign run.

Once I was alerted to the problem, I removed the HTML from the ad copy. Now the ad is appearing correctly.

I explained to him that we cannot issue a refund because this was not our mistake or a technical error. But what we can do for him, as a courtesy, is extend his campaign for the 15 days that his ad did not appear properly.

According to our records the ad started on Aug 11th, so I added 15 days to the end of his run at no extra charge.

Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Internet - Web Hosting, Referral - Contractor, Internet Services, Information Bureaus, Auto & Truck Brokers

Additional Information

top
Business started: 10/23/1998
Business Management
Robert Brisco (CEO)
Contact Information
Farah Anwar Brian Fujimoto
Number of Employees

300

Business Category

Internet - Web Hosting, Referral - Contractor, Internet Services, Information Bureaus, Auto & Truck Brokers

Alternate Business Names
Autos.Com, CarsDirect.Com, groovejob.com, InstantCarLoan.Com, Loan.Com, Loanapp.com, Tenant Market.Com, Tenantmarket.com

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Internet Brands, Inc.

909 N Sepulveda Blvd Fl 11

El Segundo, CA 90245-2727

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 909 N Sepulveda Blvd Fl 11 

    El Segundo, CA 90245-2727(800) 692-2200
    (310) 280-4517

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the Counties of Los Angeles, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz, Monterey and San Benito. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Internet Brands, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (310) 280-4517
  • (888) 227-7347
  • (800) 431-2500
  • (310) 280-4000
  • (888) 269-2777
  • (888) 265-1110
  • (800) 601-8205
  • (800) 975-6759
X

Additional Web Addresses

  • www.loanapp.com
  • www.tenantmarket.com
  • www.loan.com
  • www.autos.com
  • www.carsdirect.com
  • www.instantcarloan.com
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Internet - Web Hosting

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.