BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

AuraVie Skincare

Phone: (866) 216-9336

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

407 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 47 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues154
Billing / Collection Issues141
Delivery Issues7
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service104
Total Closed Complaints407

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (407)
09/08/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
$97.88 was charged to my bank account 10 days after I received the free products
I want my $97.88 back

Desired Settlement
I want my $97.88 back

08/18/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I did not order their skin care product I ask for free samples as advertised. I want my 50.99 applied back to my card or a reimbursement check.
Order number XXXXX merchandise returned for refund

Desired Settlement
Refund 50.99

Business Response
We would like to acknowledge receipt of this ********'s complaint and we appreciate that you have given us the opportunity to address this ********'s concerns. In order to assist the ******** in resolving her account we would like to take this opportunity to address the points that have been made in her complaint. We regret to inform this ******** that, nowhere on our website does it state a "Samples" as she suggest in her complaint. We strongly encourage our online customers to review the terms before finalizing their transaction. Our terms clearly explain that if the ******** chooses to keep the products beyond their trial period the ******** will be billed for the items in their possession, also explaining to cancel to avoid being enrolled in our recurring program. With reference to this ******** we regret, that she misunderstood the terms and conditions of our offer, we would like to clarify that our terms and conditions are placed in 3 separate locations on our trial website before the ********'s order can be completed. This ******** qualified for a RMA# and we have received the package back in our facility the appropriate credits have been issued transaction ID# XXXXXXXXXX validates the refund. At this time her account is considered resolved and closed. If the ******** has any questions we are more than willing to discuss that with her directly.

08/15/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Auravie Skincare site popped up stating free trial just pay shipping, nothing about the 98 dollars after 10 days on the shipment form or online
they will not refund my money after sending it back with a tracking number. They have their product back and wont refund my money

Desired Settlement
$98.00 plus shipping and handeling $6.00

Business Response
We would like to acknowledge receipt of this customer's complaint and we appreciate that you have given us the opportunity to address this customer's concerns. In order to assist the customer in resolving her account we would like to take this opportunity to address the points that have been made in her complaint. We regret to inform this customer that, nowhere on our website does it state a "Free Product" as she suggest in her complaint. We would like to confirm that our terms to our trial offer clearly explain that if the customer chooses to keep the products beyond their trial period the customer will be billed for the items in their possession. Our terms and conditions are located in 3 separate locations on our trial website before the customer's order can be completed and we are sorry to hear that our products did not work out for this specific customer. We feel this was a simple misunderstanding of our terms and because of this when the customer spoke to an agent on 06/03/2014; the agent reviewed the transactions and as request by customer stopped her membership. This customer also requested to return the most recent package and she was given the appropriate instructions please reference transaction ID # XXXXXXXXXX as verification of the appropriate credits refunded to the customer. At this time her account is considered resolved and closed. If the customer has any questions we are more than willing to discuss that with her directly.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have been refunded my money for the product. But I am not agreeing with what they had said about there advertising and the fact that no invoice or letter was sent with the product stating that would have to pay alost a $100 to keep the product. There are other complaints regarding this issue on the net about this company. As for what I want from this is that they do the right thing so the next person thinking they are getting something free to try knows that their will be a large charge if they keep it.

08/12/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Advertise free cosmetics, but they turn out to not be free.
AuraVie advertised free cosmetics. Pay S/H. I ordered on 3/21 or 3/22/14. Order id XXXXXXX.
Pd. S/H chg. by Card, last 4 digits ****. Got Pkg. 3/25/14. Still have-never used. Got 2nd pkg. 5/23. Never opened-returned 5/14 (Powder Springs P.O.) I knew i had not ordered anything. Then statement from Bank charged $97.88. I called Bank on Saturday and they told me it was a charge for a subscription.
The bank told me to call AuraVie and cancel on Monday, which I did. Today (6/9) I called AuraVie and they said I did not call in 10 days after 1st order and cancel. I did not know I had a subscription. I am doing this report because I do not want other OLD people to be suckered in like me. They agreed to return $50.00 I will have to pay $47.88 for nothing. I have returned the $97.88 package. I DO NOT FEEL I SHOULD HAVE TO PAY ANYTHING. i THINK i SHOULD GET 100% refund.

Desired Settlement
I am seeking $97.88, which is the total for the second (returned) package.

Business Response
We would like to acknowledge receipt of this customer's complaint and we appreciate that you have given us the opportunity to address this customer's concerns. In order to assist the customer in resolving her account we would like to take this opportunity to address the points that have been made in her complaint. We regret to inform this customer that, nowhere on our website does it state a "Free Product" as she suggest in her complaint.
We would like to confirm that our terms to our trial offer clearly explain that if the customer chooses to keep the products beyond their trial period the customer will be billed for the items in their possession.
Our terms and conditions are located in 3 separate locations on our trial website before the customer's order can be completed and we are sorry to hear that our products did not work out for this specific customer.
We feel this was a simple misunderstanding of our terms and because of this when the customer spoke to an agent on 06/09/2014, the agent had to make an exception to our policies as well as an exception to what had been agreed upon when the order was originally placed. This customer agreed to the exception approved to her account and we can confirm that the appropriate credit was refunded to her account. At this time her account is considered resolved and closed. If the customer has any questions we are more than willing to discuss that with her directly. We encourage her to contact our Executive Resolutions Department and we will be happy to re-evaluate her account for further assistance.

06/13/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
A free trial appeared on the internet and I agreed for them to charge $4.95 for processing. To my surprise they have charged me $97.88 twice. Not free
A free trial appeared on the internet sometime in February 2014. I agreed for them to charge $4.95 for processing. I received a package from them at the end of Feb. or early March. I saw that they charged my Credit Card for $4.95, the amount I agreed to pay. I though was the end of the story, right! No! Today, 4/3/2014 I received another package. I opened it to see if there was a bill inside. There was a bill for $97.88. I immediately called to the telephone # on the bill. I explained to the lady on the other side my situation and she told me that that was the second time they charge my account for that amount, $97.88. I explained to her that I agreed for them to only charged my account $4.95 only. Just for the delivery. She explained to me that I agree to a 10 days trail and if I do not contact them and during that period they will continue sending me the product and charging my Credit Card Account. Sincerely, I do not remember agreeing to those terms. She agreed to reimburse 85% of the latest charges but could not do anything about the first charges of $97.88. So, I am going to lose over a $100.00 for something I thought at the beginning was going to be "FREE". Except for the $4.95 delivery cost. In addition, there was NO bill inside the first package, only propaganda for their products, that's why I though it was free.

Desired Settlement
I would like to recover the entire amount of money this company charged to my Credit Card Account, since they did not disclose what charges they would charge me when I agree to pay for the cost of the delivery only, $4.95. Again, there was NO bill statement inside the first package, only propaganda.

Page 1 of 9
07/14/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I signed up for a free trial and had to pay shipping only. They charged for the product and I need to return but they won't take it back and won't cr
Signed up for free trial on 3/16/14. Did not see anything about having to pay for the product. Do not want to pay the charge, tried to return it after using the products twice thinking it was free, and they won't let me do that. They don't even have a street address so I can just return it on my own. According to the internet reports this is a known scam. I am a cancer patient as well as a senior and this is very upsetting practice and should not be allowed. I hope someone shuts them down due to unethical business practice.

Desired Settlement
Credit of 97.88 to my credit card and cancellation of any and all future shipments.

07/14/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Claims that the product is free but not. In addition product burns and reddens my face and requires me to pay for refund.
Product was listed as free only had to pay postage. Product was shipped on 3/12/2014. Order #XXXXXXX. I used the product for less than 10 days and it continuelly burned and redden my face. I stopped using. After 10 days they billed me for this "free" Product. I called and they told me that this "free" Product was only a 10 day trial. When I described my issue with their product they told me that to be refunded fo this "free" Product I would have to return it and pay shipping costs. WhenI wwent online to find a phone number for AuraVie, I found a whole website dedicated to the fraud's committed by this company.

Desired Settlement
I am seeking them to refund my shipping costs and what they billed me for the product.

07/14/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I paid $1.02 for shipping and handling of a free sample product from this company. I never received the product. Then about a month later I discovered this company took $97.88 from my checking account that I did not authorize nor did I order any other products from this company. I called several times no one answered it put me directly on hold and I would stay on hold for 30 minutes or more each time. I sent several e-mails with no response from the company. I just want my money returned.
This company owes me a refund in amount of $98.90 for products I never received.

Desired Settlement
REFUND

07/08/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was on line and asked to take a survey to receive a FREE GIFT for taking the survey. I only had to pay for the shipping charges which was $2.95 so I agreed and took the survey. I paid the shipping charges with my credit card and then a few weeks later I received my FREE GIFT. This was 3/9/2014 After 3/28/2014 they sent out another package with the same items in it that I received for my FREE GIFT - BUT they used my credit card to pay for the package - WITHOUT my knowledge - for the amount of $97.88!!! I received this package 3/29/2014 and saw they charged me! I called the X-XXX-XXX-XXXX C.S. Dept. and when I gave them my phone number they HUNG UP!!! I did this several times to no avail!!! Then I called the Van Nuys, Ca. Phone number (XXX-XXX-XXXX) on 3/29/2014 and left a detailed message and they never called me back! This is totally frustrating since they would not answer the phone and didn't call back! I just want them to send me a RETURN LABEL so I can return this AND CREDIT MY CHARGE $97.88 when they receive it back....
Product_Or_Service: Auravie Renew, Revive, Replenish RISK FREE TRIAL
Order_Number: XXXXXXX

Desired Settlement
I want them to send me a return label to send this merchandise back (WHICH I NEVER ORDERED) and send me a complete refund of $97.88 which was never authorized by me to use my credit card. I just want what is due me. Thanking you in advance for your help I am, **** **** ********.

Business Response
We appreciate that you have given us the opportunity to address this customer's concerns. We sincerely regret that the customer feels that she had a bad experience with our Risk Free Trial program. We would like to clarify that, nowhere on our website does it state we are giving "Free Gift" as this customer is declaring in her complaint. To ensure our customers understand the offer terms they are located in 3 separate locations on our website they clearly explain the length of time the customer has to try the product also explaining to cancel to avoid being billed and be enrolled in our recurring program. At this time her account is considered resolved and closed. If the customer has any additional questions we encourage her to contact our Executive Resolutions Department and we will be happy to re-evaluate her account for further assistance.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
My name is ****** ******** and am responding on behalf of my Mother, **** ********. My Mother is insisting that the on-line offer clearly stated Free Gift and did not indicate in any way that it was a Trial Program that would enroll her in a monthly receipt of product that she would be charged $97.88 for after using the initial "gift" from them after a set period of time! In actuality the Free Gift offer did not even state what type of gift it was...she simply got "sucked in" to their marketing ploy of "free" (which we have strongly recommended she NEVER do again).

A month later she received th additional product in the mail and her credit card was charged. If we didn't put an immediate stop to it...this product receipt and charges would have continued!!

My Mother has now returned the unused product to Auravie and they are assuring us that her credit card will be reimbursed the full amount after processing in their system. This was after numerous phone calls during which they first were only going to reimburse her a partial amount. They finally agreed to the full amount and when the product was returned they told me they couldn't reimburse her the full amount because it didn't get back to them within the 30-day trial period!! Unacceptable...it was sent Certified Mail to them in plenty of time and, if we hadn't called, it would still be sitting in their Mailroom waiting for the return to be processed.

As of yesterday, and being placed on hold more times than I can remember, they said that they would credit her charge $48.94 becasue they are only in receipt of her returned product...the additional $48.94 will be credited AFTER they fully process the return. Yesterday they were still trying to pull that she wouldn't receive the full $97.88 credit in the end!!

I insisted that she had to receive the FULL $97.88 and would accept nothing less. Also told them that they truly have a "racket" going and it is so sad to see how they are confusing the elderly with their horrible marketing ploy!! It is really a disgrace!!

So, are we satisfied...not quite! Their business practice and ethic is awful. At this point, just want to see my Mom's credit card fully credited. Until then, this should not be considered closed.

Thank you for your attention to this matter and looking into the Auravie company and how they do business. My opinion, they should be shut down completely (after my Mom receives her credits)!! Appreciated!

07/01/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Back in July 2013 I received a package of skincare products, immediatelyupon opening it I knew it was not something I ordered so I returned it the next day. I was in and out of the hospital for three different surgeries last fall so I didn't notice I did not get credit till I went over my statements in January. My husband called and they said I left a number off my return so they didn't give me my refund, and they didn't notify me they wanted something else I returned the items exactly with the papers it came with so I don't know what else they required. I would not pursue this if it wasn't such a large amount $97.88 to be exact, I live on social security so it means a lot to me. Any help you can give me would be greatly appreciated.Sincerely,******* ** ******
Product_Or_Service: Skincare Products I did not order
Order_Number: XXXXXXX packing list
Account_Number: ?

Desired Settlement
I did not order this so I would like my money back please,$97.88.thank you

Business Response
Thank you for taking time to contact Auravie Skincare to explain the issues that have occurred recently. We regret any inconvenience you have experienced, and we regret there was a misunderstanding to our Risk Free Trial. As per the terms and conditions that were accepted by this customer at the time of purchase her account was billed for the products. At no point did we intend to mislead or misrepresent our trial offer and we regret any inconvenience the customer has experienced. In an effort to resolve this customer's account we had to make an exception to our policies as well as an exception to what had been agreed upon when the order was originally placed. Because we felt this was a simple misunderstanding of the terms and conditions of our trial offer, which she had agreed to; a partial credit was offered but was declined. At this time her account is considered resolved and closed but will contact this customer for further assistance.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I did order a trial size product from this company, nowhere did I agree to being sent full size products (more than the original product I ordered). I sent it back as soon as I received it.
On contacting the company at a later date for a refund they claimed they didn't receive sufficient information to send a refund. I returned the product in the original container w/ the information that came with it. They offered a partial refund which I refused because I felt I
should have received a full refund. I repeat I did not order any future products just the sample
product to try. Since they sent it unsolicited and I immediately returned it in the original box with all paperwork involved I don't understand how they can refuse me a full refund even at this late date. What do they mean, they didn't have the correct information to mail me a refund, it was all with the returned products.
Sincerely,
******* ** ******

Page 1 of 11
08/26/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
For visiting a web site for the Scranton Public Library I was given a thank you gift of a free trial of AuraVie skin care products for the cost of shipping. I saw no other info on this free trial ad of any additional responsibilities on my part. I took the offer giving them my credit card to pay for the postage. I received the sample with info. about the products and a bill for the shipping charges. A few days later I left the country for a winter stay in Mx. for 5 mo's. When I returned I found two additional boxes of products with bills in them for $97.88 each. When I called the company I was told I had been charged for 5 months of product at $97.88 per month because I was supposed to call and cancel after 10 days if I did not like the original sample. When I said I was never given that info. I was told it had been on the web site where I had given my credit card info to pay for the shipping fee. I did not see that. On checking the internet I found 35 complaints of the same thing happening to other people. There was no offer by the company to let me send back what I had received or explanation as to why I never received a shipment after my original "free sample" until May 9th when I had also been charged for March and April. I never recognized the company name on my credit card either until Jun. I think they used a different name for billing.
Product_Or_Service: AuraVie Skincare
Order_Number: XXXXXXX and XXXXXXX

Desired Settlement
I think this company should be punished and I think they should return to me,$489.40.

Business Response
We would like to acknowledge receipt of this customer's complaint and we appreciate that you have given us the opportunity to address this customer's concerns. In order to assist the customer in resolving her account we would like to take this opportunity to address the points that have been made in her complaint. We regret to inform this customer that, nowhere on our website does it state a "Samples" as she suggest in her complaint. We would like to confirm that our terms to our trial offer clearly explain that if the customer chooses to keep the products beyond their trial period the customer will be billed for the items in their possession. Our terms and conditions are located in 3 separate locations on our trial website before the customer's order can be completed and we are sorry to hear that our products did not work out for this specific customer. We feel this was a simple misunderstanding of our terms and because of this when the customer spoke to an agent on 06/23/2014; the agent reviewed the transactions and as request by customer stopped her membership. This customer did not express she wanted to return her most recent shipment back for a refund. At this time her account is considered resolved and closed. If the customer has any questions we are more than willing to discuss that with her directly.

08/18/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
THEY have been charging on a card that doesnt even belong to me! This was a "SAMPLE" promotion! SCAM! AN "No" its not because I didnt read something!
IT started in March. the time I saw it on my statement I thought it was my car insurance since the description was nearly identical! I saw the offer in an email that was sent to me from Samples.com I had to fill out my name and address and they would let me try their skincare. Since I have asthma I wanted to sample it for perfumes. When I got it it was full of perfume! So I emailed them through their site! No answer. Little did I know that they were charging nearly $100 for that "sample" as the "trial period" of 5 or 10 days lapsed. Then at the end of April they charged me another $97.88 for one for "that month" that was never delivered. Then I just received another one two days ago and that is when I realized that all of this money had been taken from me? No! My sister! She gave me permission to charge the $3.02 for the "Sample shipment".....They have been using her card with NO PRIOR APPROVAL ever since! I sent numerous emails to them on their site and NO responses. They are not going to say that I did not read something or didn't understand something because I have the invoice right here and it says nothing. All I gave them was my name and address and the card number for the shipping and it said nothing else! What a SCAM!!!! This is alot of money and I have not been able to work for 4 years. I have no income! Are they kidding me? I have filled out all of the formal VISA Fraudulent Transaction forms. After doing that I spoke with the bank and they said I needed to return the 2 shipments of product and I did that today. Once they receive that they must refund the money. I called them to tell them that I returned their product and they said That is not an approved return. It is disgraceful that this is allowed to happen in the USA.

Desired Settlement
I would like an apology for their unprofessional business practices and customer service. The worst part is that they were unwilling to try to work it out.
A refund is inevitable.
Thank you for always providing me with the forum to voice issues so that the public is aware of what to avoid.

Business Response
We would like to acknowledge receipt of this customer's complaint and we appreciate that you have given us the opportunity to address this customer's concerns. In order to assist the customer in resolving her account we would like to take this opportunity to address the points that have been made in her complaint. We regret to inform this customer that, nowhere on our website does it state a "Samples" as she suggest in her complaint.
We would like to confirm that our terms to our trial offer clearly explain that if the customer chooses to keep the products beyond their trial period the customer will be billed for the items in their possession.
Our terms and conditions are located in 3 separate locations on our trial website before the customer's order can be completed and we are sorry to hear that our products did not work out for this specific customer.
We feel this was a simple misunderstanding of our terms and because of this when the customer spoke to a supervisor on 06/03/2014, the supervisor had to make an exception to our policies as well as an exception to what had been agreed upon when the order was originally placed.
This customer agreed to the exception approved to her account and we can confirm that the appropriate credit was refunded to her account. At this time her account is considered resolved and closed. If the customer has any questions we are more than willing to discuss that with her directly. We encourage her to contact our Executive Resolutions Department and we will be happy to re-evaluate her account for further assistance.

08/14/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Misrepresentative advertising practices led to $97.88 credit card charge.
I signed up for a trial sample of Auravie through Amazon.com. I read the entire agreement and I do not recall seeing any information regarding recurring charges. Nonetheless, my credit card was charged $97.88 since my membership was not cancelled before a certain date. Again, I do not recall seeing any information about charges aside from the product shipping fee.

Auravie processed a $44.00 refund on my behalf and assured me that no further charges would be applied to my credit card. Nonetheless, I would like to be refunded the entire amount of $97.88 since the company's advertising practices are improper or, at the very least, poorly presented.

Desired Settlement
Full refund of $97.88 ($53.88 since a partial refund of $44.00 has been applied). This does not include the shipping and handling fee that I agreed to when ordering the product sample.

Business Response
Thank you for taking time to contact Auravie Skincare to explain the issues that have occurred recently. We regret any inconvenience you have experienced, and we regret there was a misunderstanding to our Risk Free Trial. As per the terms and conditions that were accepted by this customer at the time of purchase her account was billed for the products. At no point did we intend to mislead or misrepresent our trial offer and we regret any inconvenience the customer has experienced. In an effort to resolve this customer's account we had to make an exception to our policies as well as an exception to what had been agreed upon when the order was originally placed. Because we felt this was a simple misunderstanding of the terms and conditions of our trial offer, which he had agreed to; a partial credit was offered. At this time her account is considered resolved and closed. If the customer has any questions we are more than willing to discuss that with him directly.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I still believe that Auravie Skincare's practices were misrepresentative. At no time was I aware that I would be entering into a trial period with a recurring billing cycle by receiving the products. The merchant is offering no additional compensation. Therefore, I do not consider their resolution satisfactory.

08/14/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Requested a refund of a charge I thought was a gift for doing a survey. AuraVie is only offering a conditional/partial refund not the full refund.
2/6/14-took survey and chose AuraVie. Paid the s/h in the amounts of $1.02 and $1.93 and charged to my debit card. Rec'd the product. Order #XXXXXXX. 2/6/14: Received confirmation info about my order- NO mention of terms and conditions. 2/6/14: Rec'd another email that product was shipped. Again, no mention/no link to the terms and conditions. Unknown to me and conveniently for the AuraVie, the terms and conditions outlined the conditions of the 10-day risk-free trial and that if product not returned in 10 days, I would be placed on automated shipping list. These very important statements were not reiterated in the summary email nor in the package when I got the products. I thought my account was stolen, when I saw a charge for $97.88 against my account on 2/24 or 2/25. I notified my bank to let them know and filed a dispute. I tried to contact AuraVie first by email: letting them know that I was surprised by the charge; that I didn't order nor want the product; that I wanted a refund. Instead of addressing me, I got the "canned" email this time referring to the terms and conditions (a link) which I did not receive when they confirmed my order. I tried calling: AuraVie has an automated voice system that directs you to options to 2 products. There is an option to also cancel which I did. I wanted to talk to a representative. When I went through the options again, I got the automated: "This order has already been cancelled and then the call ended (2/27/14). On the 28th I called, on hold for 10 minutes, hung up. Email from AuraVie that they tried calling me (my Caller ID did not have their number and there was no message to call). I responded that I didn't get a message and that I just wanted my money refunded. 3/11/14-Finally got through the phone. The AuraVie customer svs rep had all the information: that the terms and conditions (which was just a link) were on the page when I entered my account no. to pay for the s/h; that that's the info they would give my bank once they received my dispute claim, and I would, therefore, lose my claim. The rep told me they had my IP address; that all the info was on the AuraVie website; that they could offer me a partial refund because I didn't return the product by the 30th day (crucial info that should be included). However, there was a condition that I would only get the refund if I sent a no-dispute email: that I would not submit a dispute claim against them. All this just seemed so convenient for them to bait consumers and then make it frustrating to get a refund. Yes, I was stupid! I contend that I should be more diligent about reading all terms and conditions, but I didn't go to this company's website by choice. I was under the impression I was getting a "free" product by taking the survey. I just want my dispute settled and my money returned. They should not be rewarded (getting my money, even partially) by using their sneaky tactics to make money in their business nor should they be able to prey on unsuspecting consumers. Thank you.

Desired Settlement
I would like a full refund of $97.88. I would like their offer and conditions of the offer fully and plainly visible when other consumers are ordering the product; not a link. I

Business Response
We would like to thank you for your correspondence on this matter. We strongly encourage our online customers to review the terms before finalizing their transaction. Our terms clearly explain that if the customer chooses to keep the products beyond their trial period the customer will be billed for the items in their possession, also explaining to cancel to avoid being enrolled in our recurring program. .At no point did we intend to mislead or misrepresent our trial offer and we regret any inconvenience the customer has experienced. When the customer spoke to the customer service representative the customer stated she would peruse this in another way and declined our offers at which point the customer disconnected the call. We have noted this customer's account of any exceptions we are willing to honor her but this account is considered resolved and closed. . If the customer has any questions in regards to her account we are more than willing to discuss that with him directly. We encourage him to contact our Executive Resolutions Department to further assistance.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Not sure how strongly emphasis added AuraVie encourages customers to review the terms embedded in a link when the more important terms such as the 10-day (versus 30-day) period to return the product if the customer is not satisfied, and an automatic renewal at the end of the 30-day period should be clearly on the webpage. As I indicated, I was being offered a "free gift" after completing a survey and only paying S/H. As to their offer to refund 40% of the total if I sent an email indicating that I would not dispute the charge was unacceptable to me. I understood that emailing that no-dispute statement was a prerequisite to receiving the refund. Again, unacceptable. As to their notations to my account, they challenged my bank's inquiry (as was promised by the CSR) and my account was again charged. However, I did rebut the claim, and my bank has reversed the charge. Hoping this has been closed and resolved as they state. Thank you for this opportunity to state my case. My concern is for those unsuspecting seniors who don't realize the conditions they are signing up for. The conditions should be enclosed with the shipped product (my shipment contained only the product). Thank you, again.

Final Business Response


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Only because their customer service has been less than desirable. For the record, I did appeal my banking institution's decision to reverse the credit, and they responded favorably to my appeal. Additionally, I hung up because I was frustrated by Aura Vie's offer to refund only 40% of my purchase price with the condition that I would not dispute my purchase, and it would only be given to me if I emailed my request with this stipulation. So, I am satisfied with my bank's action to refund my money. I am not satisfied with Aura Vie's rebuttal, but it is what it is. Caveat emptor.

08/11/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
ordered from TV ad for a trial order of skincare...started receiving monthly, I would return them BUT they continued charging my credit card 97.88

I ordered the trial for AuraVie...they sent me 2 shipments which I returned unopened and wrote "return to sender..did not order this" they have stopped sending me the products but refuse to credit my credit card the 2 payments of $97.88. They want to charge me the restocking fee...i did not order the product so why should i be charged a restocking fee?????

Desired Settlement
I want my $195.76 credited to my credit card or a check. Those TV ads with famous actor/actresses are all a scam and should be stopped!!!

Business Response
We appreciate that you have given us the opportunity to address this customer's concerns. Now, in order for us to properly address the statements made in the letter that have been forwarded to the BBB, we will need to start by explaining that our terms and conditions are located in 3 separate locations on our trial website before the customer's order can be completed. The terms to our trial offer clearly explain that if the customer chooses to keep the products beyond their trial period the customer will be billed for the items in their possession. The customers stated in her compliant she ordered through a TV ad, but we do not advertise through that avenue and can only assume she has mistaken our product with another company. After further research and also after listening to the last conversation the customer had with one of our customer service representatives on 7/21/2014, it is clear there was a misunderstanding to the terms and conditions of our trial offer and for that reason the agent offered the best possible resolution for her account, but the offer was declined. In order for us to resolve the customer's account we had to make quite a few exceptions to our policies as well as an exception to what had been agreed upon when the order was originally placed. We wish there was more we could to for the customer but at this time her account is considered resolve and closed. We would like to point out that we have noted this customer's account of any exceptions we are willing to honor her and we encourage her to notify us of what course of action to take on her account. The customer has our contact information and can take any request through email as well.

Page 1 of 42
08/15/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
paid 4.95 for "free trial" when I realized they now have my acct# and want to withdraw $95.00 monthly I wanted to cancel, had to pay 37.50 to cancel.
After paying $37.50 to cancel they then told me if I do not also return the products they will charge me 95.00. So, I now have to pay for shipping it back to them and hope they do not scam me for more money now that they have my acct #. Being a senior citizen, I am on a limited income, so much so I have to live with my daughter.

Desired Settlement
It is ridiculous to charge someone to cancel your $95.00 a month program. I would like a refund of the cancellation fee. If someone does not think your product is worth $95.00 a month it is not good business practices to charge them a fee plus threaten to take out $95.00 from their account if they do not return the product, so now shipping back will cost me money too!

08/11/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Misleading trial offer on auravietrialkit.com, patrons never asked to agree to terms & conditions which then auto enroll to $97.88/month subscription
Purchase Date: June 10, 2014, Order#: XXXXX, Payment Amount: $2.95, Payment Method: Credit Card. On 6/27/14 at approximately 8am I noticed a pending payment for $97.88 on my Chase credit card from AuraVie. I then called AuraVie and spoke with telephone representative ******* *************** ID: ******) in which he notified me about the 10 day trial period that would automatically enroll you in a monthly subscription of their products unless cancelled before the trial period end date. I go back to the site and see that it does state that in fine print at the bottom, but nowhere does it tell you that by processing the order you agree to the terms and conditions of the trial period and subscription enrollment. I tell him I was not satisfied with the product and ask to return it for a full refund, he tells me that is not possible that "the best he could do is provide me with a partial refund of $36". Rejecting his partial refund he then proceeded to cancel my subscription (cancellation ID#: XXXXX). I then ask to speak to his supervisor, he tells me she is not available and that there was nothing more she could do. I request to speak to his supervisor again, making my intentions clear that I am willing to wait for her to become available. Within a matter of seconds his lead supervisor *************** (Employee ID: ******) comes on the line. I tell her their business practices are questionable and deceiving. I request for a refund again, reassuring them that I used the product once and couldn't stand the smell therefore discontinued use of the product had I know I had to cancel a subscription I would have done it that first day. She insists the best they can do is refund me $59. I remind her that their practices were unethical and that a single notice in fine print is not fair business practices. I also tell her that the email confirmation never mentioned that such subscription would take place after a 10 day trial period. She continues to tell me that there is nothing that can be done. I closed our conversation by letting her kow I would not settle for a partial refund and would investigate the issue and file necessary complaints. After ending the conversation I went online and found that this was a scam, they prey on individuals through coupon sites - promising a free trial without mention of the terms and conditions then charge them the $97.88 repeatedly even after cancellation request were made. After reading this I called to confirm the employee information they provided me, the first woman who answered the call I believe to have been *************** (Employee ID: ******* - voice sounded identical to hers, I asked to speak with ******** and she hung up on me. I called again a woman by the name of **** answered the call, this time I asked her in a friendly manner if she could confirm some information for me. I proceeded to ask her if ******** worked there and if so what her title was. After some hesitation **** confirmed her title as a supervisor. It was around this time I began to hear my voice echoing in the background so I asked **** if I was on speaker and she said yes, I asked her why I was on speaker and she would not reply. Wanting to insure that the cancellation was in place I gave her my last name and zip code so she could find my account, once she found it she was hesitant to directly say the account was cancelled - she would instead say that I would no longer be billed until I insisted she say it directly, after a few minutes of this and her going over payments (information I did not request nor mention) I finally got her to explicitly state my account was cancelled. At this point the call was terminated and I will be disputing the charges with my credit card. They are preying on individuals and using bad business practices in the process, something needs to be done.

Desired Settlement
I want a full refund, will return products at my own expense.

06/20/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Sales presentation did not disclose complete pricing information.
As I was browsing on the Internet, an advertisement from AuraVie.com popped up saying that AuraVie.com. was offering free trial samples for their products. I ordered the sample and paid $4.95 for the shipping. However, I was charged $97.88 on March 28, 2014 for the sample and another $97.88 on April 14, 2014 for the free sample and was not sent another package. I dispute the two charges because I only authorized AuraVie.com to charge $7.95 on my credit card for the shipping cost for their free trial sample. AuraVie.com does not have my authorization to charge my credit card for $97.88 on April 14, 2014

I dispute the charges of 97.88 for the following reasons:

1.AuraVie.com advertises for free sample trials and then contradicts the ad by adding conditions that the order will be charged $97.88. If a trial is free, it should not be charged in any way. If a trial has conditions imposed upon it, it is not free. AuraVie.com is deceitful by leading customers to believe that the sample trial is free while it is not.

2.Since there are conditions imposed to the sample trial, AuraVie.com should place their ad with clear indication sample trial with conditions. It is unethical for AuraVie.com to hide charge in their ad.

3.AuraVie.com claims that the condition is listed on the order page. However, the condition is in small black print and placed down the bottom of the page while their ad uses large font size and catching red font color emphasizing 0 charge for the trial sample. The ad is placed on the eye level in the page. AuraVie.com is fraudulent in leading customers to see their ad for a sample trial with 0 charge while making imposed conditions as obscure as possible.

4.AuraVie.com is running a scam and ripping off customers. There are numerous websites dedicated to document and quantify this fraud. The complaints are coming in at an exponential rate. Hundreds of customers have filed their complaints against AuraVie.com.

There are hundreds of complaints against AuraVie.com on www.scambook.com. Customers have also filed complaints on www.ripoff.com (hundreds of complaints) and www.amazon.com).

Based on the above reasons, I dispute the charge made by AuraVie.com. AuraVie.com is misleading customers on purpose. AuraVie.com is deceitful, unethical, and fraudulent. I should not pay for their scam. - See more at: http://www.bbb.org/sanjose/business-reviews/internet-shopping/auravie-skincare-in-van-nuys-ca-XXXXXXXXX/complaints#breakdown

Desired Settlement
I expect to be credited $ 97.88 plus an overdraft fee os $25.00 as the unauthorized transaction caused my checking account to go into the negative.

Please contact me at XXX-XXX-XXXX or *******@cvcky.org.

Thank you.

05/12/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was offered a free product for S& H of $4.95. I was billed $1.93 followed by an unauthorized charge for $97.88.
I did not searched the site before ordering & found nothing to indicate future charges. The sales rep was very belligerent & bullying. She repeatedly gave incorrect information & indicated that if I disputed the charge with my credit card co, they would just send their T & C to them & that would be that. The site that the rep says I ordered from seelauravie.com is not to be found. I think that the co may be setting up & taking down sites or rerouting potential customers to other sites. The rep also said that I placed the order at 5:27am EST. I have not been up at that hour in over 14 years except for 2X in preparation for a trips some time ago.

Desired Settlement
$97.88 refund

05/06/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The AuraVie Co. I don't remember giving them my credit card information. later I received a package with 3 small bottles. They had billed my card $97
AuraVie had sent me a "free" package of 3 small skin care item. I don't remember giving them my credit card No. About 1 month later they sent me a same package, and stole $97.88 from my credit card. I tried to call them. Reached #1 person (recorded). was told to press #2 contact. No one answered after waiting over 10 minutes. I canceled my credit card number and paid$9.95 to return the package.

Desired Settlement
Return $97.88 plus $9.95 postage

Page 1 of 20

Industry Comparison| Chart

Internet Shopping, Cosmetic Sales by Internet

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.