BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 02/01/2011

UPrinting.com (Headquarters)

(888) 888-42118000 Haskell Avenue, Van NuysCA 91406-1321

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 02/01/2011

BBB has determined that UPrinting.com meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised UPrinting.com's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 11 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Delivery Issues1
Problems with Product / Service10
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 11

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

6 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on UPrinting.com

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 5
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 6 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (11)
04/20/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The business cards I ordered were printed on wrong cardstock. Upon contacting, they refuse to replace them at no cost even though it's their fault.
I ordered business cards a few weeks ago and just received them in the mail. The cards I ordered were supposed to be 14pt cardstock. The cards I received feel paper thin like 10pt cardstock. I received a sample kit that showed how thick each cardstock should be and I shared that the cardstock which I received on my business cards is not 14pt. I believe they printed on the wrong cardstock since, for example, if a tape measurer measures 20 ft long, that measurement is standard across the board. 20 ft long does not change from company to company. The same is true with cardstock thickness. If it's 14pt cardstock, 14 pt cardstock is the same across the board. When I emailed them my complaint, they asked for pictures which I sent that day. They responded saying I would have to reorder the business cards and they would discount the order by 20%. I emailed them back saying that was unacceptable. Why should I have to pay for an entire new order when they printed on the wrong cardstock size? They emailed me back saying my sample kit was from 2014 and the paper sizes were now different in 2016. First, if they paper size changed like they said, why would they not inform the customers? Secondly, that is like saying if I ordered a 20ft tape measurer and it was only 16 ft long, that that is my fault. No, 20 ft is 20 ft across the board. Just like 14pt is 14pt across the board. The paperstock shouldn't change even if my sample kit is from 2014! And I don't understand how that would be my fault? I believe they printed on the wrong cardstock. They replied to my email saying they would increase the discount to 35%. At that point I told them this was not my fault and this was their fault and because of that, they should replace my order free of charge with the correct cardstock, or if the cardstock was really that different, with a thicker cardstock (even though I'm not sure how the cardstock could change in size like that.) I should not have to pay for something that is not my fault. Anytime someone orders something, they expect to get what they ordered. If they don't get what they order, the company realizes their mistake and fixes it for free. I'm not sure why this company thinks they don't have to do that.

Desired Settlement
I would like the cards replaced with the correct cardstock (or a thicker cardstock if 14 pt really feels like 10 pt) as well as a refund on my order. I feel the way I have been treated and having to come to BBB, after I have spent so much money with uprinting and they couldn't fix a problem that was their fault, I should receive a refund and have the cards replaced with the correct cardstock or a thicker cardstock (if indeed 14 pt feels like 10 pt)free of charge.

Business Response
To Whom It May Concern,

We reviewed the complaint from our customer. I reviewed the order and contacted the customer via email and voice message. After reviewing the order and the images our customer sent, we have issued a full refund per customer's desired resolution and we placed a new order to reprint the cards and we will ensure we print on 14pt cardstock.

I have notified our customer of our resolution.

thank you.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

03/02/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Wrong labels being printed due to miscommunication and poor customer service. Waited on the phone for long periods of time.
I ordered 2000 wine labels on Feb. 25 and upon viewing the proof which was incorrect looking, I approved the proof because a customer service representative assured me that the text was only moved and the size was unaltered. After approving the proof, I was able to see that the text was much smaller than my previous orders. The smaller text would not pass ***** inspection the Federal Government and the 2000 wine label that I have are not good. I have waited on the phone with customer service and have been put on hold for a very long time. I have a large wine event in a few days and have no labels for my bottles as of yet as well as no answer to when I will get them. This could potentially be thousands of dollars in loss of income if this company doesn't pull through.

Desired Settlement
A simple phone call with a simple solution to get me the labels in the remaining possible time.

Business Response
We have a left a message regarding the reprint of his labels. We informed him that the labels will ship tomorrow, March 3rd and he will have him on time for his wine event.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

08/19/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was told the other day you converted the file to CYMK, causing the color change from what I sent.
Job Order # XXXXXXXX

Order Placed
April 28, 2014

Item # XXXXXXX

Labels
Project Name: Untitled
Size: 4.75" x 3.75"
Paper: 4 mil. White Vinyl High Gloss (UV)
Printed Side: Front Only
Quantity: 500
Turnaround: 4 Business Days

Shipping: Home Delivery
**** ***********
**** ******** ***** **
************ ** XXXXX
Phone:(XXX) XXX-XXXX

Desired Settlement
I was told the other day you converted the file to CYMK, causing the color change from what I sent. Now your saying its a printer calibration issue/difference. This was my first time ordering from you guys and no one seems to have a meaningful solution. 20% off to reorder labels that are incorrect in color does not seem like a just way of compensation, when you can simply reprint the labels in the correct color.

Business Response
Please refer to our Terms regarding Color Accuracy

Uprinting.com will reproduce color from submitted print-ready files as closely as possible, but cannot exactly match color and density (as viewed in a 5000K light booth). Because of inherent limitations with the printing process, as well as neighboring image ink requirements, the accuracy of color reproduction is not guaranteed. By placing an order with Uprinting.com you agree to this limitation. We will try our best to match the gradient density of each color, but we accept no responsibility for color variations between submitted files and the final printed piece. Under no circumstances will a reprint be honored for color variations that have occurred during the printing process. We are not liable for color matching or ink density on screen proofs that you approve. Screen proofs will predict design layout, text accuracy, image proportion and placement, but not color or density. Application of UV coating may effect or change the appearance of the printed colors. We are not liable for the final color appearance of a UV coated product.

Please refer to are terms and conditions. The product had UV coating we can not guarantee color on those products. See the information on the bottom of our main web page.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I was direct with the resolution I'm for. This again says nothing about resolving my issue with uprinting. I have noted now three different answers as to why my product did not come out as it should have. That shows an inconsistency in the services you provide. However this is not my problem, just bad business practices on your side. I need either a refund or the product I ordered sent to me in correct color.

Final Business Response
We reached out to the customer and explained what happened with his order coming out as different in color. He was able to understand the reason and was thankful for us explaining things to him. He said that he will also contact BBB and close the complaint because we took care of him by coming up with an agreement of refunding his entire order of $136.92.

Overall, the customer was happy with us getting back to him and not leaving the case unresolved. He will be contacted in 3-5 business days for the refund.

Thanks,

****

06/13/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
HIGH-QUALITY ordered - BELOW HIGH QUALITY received with poor quality printing - poor quality cardstock.
We ordered 4 sets of 250 high-quality business cards and what we received was FAR LESS than high-quality.
The ink was smudged,our 2-color logo was 'off' and crooked on every single card and the quality of the card was below even good quality - SUBPAR!

We want every cent of our money back from this company - 100% refund! These cards were an embarrassment to our company - we would never think of handing even one of these cards to our customers.

Desired Settlement
We expect a 100% full refund of every penny we paid them which was a whopping $437.76!

Business Response
To Whom It May Concern,

Customer Service received a complain from our customer on May 13th, as well as the BBB complain. Our Customer Care team has addressed the problem and issued a full refund of $464.79 on May 15th.

I reached out to the customer as well to apologize for not meeting her printing needs and satisfaction with our product.
We were able to meet her desired resolution.

Thank you.

05/17/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
stickers printed in the wrong color
a file was sent that was the same as previous file except a few word was changed - the color of the sticker was exactly the same - file was sent along with note clearly specifying exact color (pentone code) to ensure no mistake.
The stickers received was visbily different in color - I contacted customer rep *** *** who asked me to email reference of the previous order which came out correct. I did that and never received an answer - this is an order which had been delay for two weeks with repeated errors - customer service is not effective with resolution.

Desired Settlement
reprint 4000 stickers with the correct color - per 1st time order.

note: I will not accept refund as a resolution - uPrinting must have the business ethics to ensure they offer the services that they describe otherwise they shouldnt be in business - if the color of the stickers is not correct - I will request another reprint - until color is correct. I dont want refund I just want to job done right.

Business Response
To Whom It May Concern,

We reached out to the customer and explained that we print in CMYK color mode and Pantone color printing is not standard. We invited the customer to come to our facility and provide samples so that we can try to color match the color values and offered a reprint.
the Customer was satisfied with this resolution.

Thank you.

09/01/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Received poorly made catalogs that fall apart. They were also mailed out to our customers.
Below is a brief description of our experience with the UPrinting company:


1- During proofing stage we were forced to remove two pages because we were told they would not fit. Then when we received the next proof, we noticed there were 2 blank pages. This disrupted our timeline to get our catalogs in time for the California Dental Association meeting in May.

2 - To further disrupt our timeline our hard copy proofs were not delivered in the date that was promised.

3 - Our initial batch of catalogs finally came in and the print quality was way off. There was a cast of blue throughout the entire catalog. They admitted that the printing was done without regards of the hardcopy proof that we approved. So, they had to reprint everything delaying us once again.

3B - Also, this initial batch of catalogs we sent to us UPS NEXT DAY when we clearly specified to ship them ground. We made mention of it and told we would be credited the difference. Only to find that the next day, they sent us more of the unwanted catalogs to us via UPS NEXT DAY again!

4 - After receiving more proofs, we signed off on the adjustments made. Only to find that ALL of the catalogs we received fall apart when opened. We had to find out by multiple customers calling us to inform us that they received our mailing but the catalog pages are coming out with normal use. We confirmed their experience by testing multiple catalogs in house and found that they do fall apart with no effort when flipping through the pages.
Since then we have requested a refund of the print job since we have yet to receive a decent working catalog, however, we have been denied.

Sales Rep: *** *******
Job # XXXXXXXXX / XXXXXXXXX TOTAL: $22688.40 (PAID)
Payment Method: Credit Card

Desired Settlement
Refund

Business Response
To Whom it May Concern,

I would like to start by confirming that since we received this notification we have been in contact with the customer, ******* in an effort to find a resolution to his complaint.

The UPrinting team worked very closely with the customer to ensure that we produced and fulfilled the product they were requesting. Our team did contact the customer *******, there were issues with the customer files, for example the images were blurry and we have file specifications that all files must meet in order to print, and if the files do not meet the specs, we need to contact the customer to make them aware of the issues, these issues at time can cause delays because we need to wait to receive new images/files.

The initial batch of catalogs did print with a blue hue, which we refunded the customer $412 for the first 200 they received. The blue hue was an issue on press while printing, but we did correct this issue and reprinted the catalogs to fix the color, we were able to fix it.

The UPS account for shipping was shipped incorrectly, but we did ask the customer to provide the bill from UPS and we would issue a refund for the incorrect shipping method, bill.

Once we printed, fulfilled the mailing services and shipped the balance we notified the customer.
When the customer first contacted us regarding the catalogs being produced faulty, we asked the customer to provide samples, he sent us a few which seemed okay to us. We were then informed that he had about 2000 in his warehouse unused, which we would pick up and issue a refund. We have asked the customer for the faulty catalogs so that we can issue refunds, as per our T&C - we need receipt of the faulty product in order for us to review and issue a refund.
We have offered a full reprint or refund of the catalogs, however we need the faulty product in our facility to review.
We also seeded our name in the mailing, (we seed/include our name in all mailing we fulfill) and the catalog we received was okay, it did not fall apart when we got it out of the bag. Reason why we requested more samples.

As for the mailing services, we are not able to issue a refund and that includes the postage of $6,497 because we mailed these through the USPS. Customer agreed and is aware of this information.

As per my last email communication to the customer, we will schedule a FedEx call tag to pick up the bad catalogs and issue a refund. I am waiting to hear back from the customer, in hopes to agree to a resolution.

I have included our T&C: http://www.uprinting.com/Terms.html

Return & Refund Policy

At Uprinting.com, we strive to provide our Users with the best possible printing experience. If you are not 100% satisfied with your order for any reason, please contact our customer service department. Our representative will document your complaint and create a ticket for your reference.

100% Refund or reprint on any defective print orders
100% Free expedited reprint on any orders lost in transit
20% Refund for every business day that your order is printed late

All policies are subject to change without prior notification. Defective product refunds and reprints shall not exceed the amount paid by the User or $1,000.00 (whichever is less). Determination of defect is at the sole discretion of Digital Room, Inc. In most cases, Users will be requested to submit digital photos documenting the product defect and/or ship the defective products back to customer service. Free expedited reprint on any orders lost in transit is limited to orders less than or equal to $250. Turnaround and shipping for reprint orders will vary depending upon available production capacity and manager's discretion. Refunds issued for late turnaround will be limited to no more than $200 and calculated as 20% of print total (excluding tax, shipping, handing, and design services) for every business day (excluding weekends and holidays) that the order was late.

Direct mail services including printing, mailing services, list services and design services are not subject to the foregoing return policies. Refunds or reprint on direct mail orders will be evaluated on a case-by-case basis and any refund/reprint shall be determined by Digital Room, Inc. in its sole discretion. Postage is no longer refundable once the mail piece has been dropped off to the post office.



Thank you,
**** ********

05/08/2015Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Overcharging delivery costs by 300%
Uprinting charges me more than a company delivering a 60 lb box from Canada for a 1.5 lbs box???? The shipping costs for 250 2x2 labels going out in the same box is $58??? The fedex website quotes $10 for that delivery. When called, the company offered to lower the shipping to $30. That makes no sense. What is the other $20 for? You cant charge people "delivery costs" when that money is not being allotted to shipping. Its just being pocketed. Unethical.

Desired Settlement
Refund of excess shipping charges and honest s&h charges going forward.

Business Response
At UPrinting we offer shipping services for all of our products and each product has applicable shipping and handling fees with a minimum fee from FedEx, UPS or any of our shipping providers for each package shipped out.

All of the products in this specific order that will ship/shipped out meet the minimum from FedEx fees which we are entitled to pay. As far as our handling fees, that accounts for our supplies and labor. The FedEx rates provided to the consumer from the FedEx website is only shipping transit rates, supplies are not included.

We ship out the products as they are fulfilled, we do not hold the items in the order until the entire order is complete, that is why each package incurs a minimum fee for shipping and handling.

The shipping and handling fees are provide before the order is placed, paid for and fulfilled. The UPrinting team is working on combined shipping for all of the products/items in the order once they are all fulfilled as long as the customer agrees to wait until the last item is fulfilled, the order is going to the same address with the same shipping method.

We strive to provide the best rates to our customers and if there are issues we work with our customers to achieve a win win solution for all.

12/15/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Defective printing of multiple orders. No response to request for refund.
I placed multiple orders for "booklet" 8pp product. After looking at all items, found many to be defective, not in alignment, missing inserts (pages). I contacted the company. Since September 30, I have received no reply, except to ask why I waited from July to September to point this out. I get orders of 6 and 12 booklets at a time. It was only after I started noticing many many defective booklets that I decided to go through them all. I am asking only for a refund of the booklets that are defective.

Desired Settlement
I am requesting a refund of only the per booklet *****. I picked up the orders, so no shipping was involved. For the items I kept, I have paid. Please. Please help me. I feel I am being very fair, and can not get a response from this company. The amount due would be $ 598 or $0.90 x 665 defective booklets.
I do NOT want a reprint with a company like this.

Business Response
There have been several attempts to contact the customer after the issue has been brought to our attention. Admittedly, there was a miscommunication along the way.

However as a resolution, and the customer has already been informed of this, we are refunding a total of $601.14 per customer's request which corresponds to per booklet's *****.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
UPrinting was not making attempts to contact me, their response is incorrect. I was always the person attempting to contact them.

I will approve the resolution once the refund is received, because this is a company that does NOT do what they say they will. While I appreciate the fact that they are honoring their own written and published Guarantee, I will wait to accept this issue as completed once the refund is actually received.

Thank you, BBB, for your part in this resolution. I know for a FACT I never would have been reimbursed for defective product had you not been my advocate in this situation.

I will accept the response from the business after the credits have been posted back to my payment card.


Final Business Response
Our Accounting Department already issued credit memo last November 26. It should reflect to the customer's credit card account anytime this week.

Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Image & Graphics Printing, Legal Printing, Tickets & Coupons - Printers & Suppliers, Screen Printing

Additional Information

top
Business started: 10/01/1997
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: October 1997, CA

Business Management
Principal: Joyce S Price (Product Development)
Contact Information
Adam Berger (CEO) Rosa Martinez (Online Reputation Management)
Number of Employees

169

Business Category

Image & Graphics Printing, Legal Printing, Tickets & Coupons - Printers & Suppliers, Screen Printing

Products & Services

The company offers on-demand offset, digital and large format printing, services for businesses, graphic design professionals and consumers.

Alternate Business Names
Digital Room, Inc.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

UPrinting.com has received 4.8 out of 5 stars based on 6 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for UPrinting.com

8000 Haskell Avenue

Van Nuys, CA 91406-1321

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 8000 Haskell Avenue 

    Van Nuys, CA 91406-1321(888) 888-4211

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the Counties of Los Angeles, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz, Monterey and San Benito. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*UPrinting.com is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Image & Graphics Printing

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.