BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 11/12/2009

Silver & Gold, Inc.

Phone: (888) 319-8166

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Delivery Issues3
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints6

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (6)
11/05/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Delay in delivery of goods after having full payment in hand.
I ordered from this company and paid a deposit with my cc, then sent the balance in a check. The check cleared my bank on 8/25/15 and shipment was set for 9/2/2015. When I did not get shipping confirmation, I called and was told it would take 5 full business days to get the goods shipped after the check cleared. When I did not get that notification as promised, I called back and was given yet another date, then when it was not shipped by that date, I called back and was given the run around about when it would be shipped. I think they sold out of the goods but kept my money and now they are waiting on them getting some more in so that they can deliver. I fear that they might be taking my money. After 3 phone calls to them, still no satisfaction and I still do not have confidence in them sending my silver to me. My order number is XXXXX. It has now been 23 days since my check cleared the bank, and still no notice that they have been shipped. I need to know what regulatory authority I can report this to as well.

Desired Settlement
I just want what I paid for, and I want to know it is being shipped now.

Business Response
Issue with customer is resolved.
We did speak to the customer, and pushed to get the product shipped to him. We have not heard from the customer since he received his order.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

08/18/2015Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
G&S never delivered an order that I paid for.

I placed an order on June 23,15 by credit card.
G&S inform me only on June 30th,15 that they got my check and it takes up to 5 days to clear it.
In my profile they notice to expect my shipping on July 7,15. After 5 days I asked them by email about the shipping date, they responded on July 6-Your check will clear by middle of this week. So your order will be expected to ship about 4-5 business days after your check clears our bank hold.
According to their reply they delay a shipment from July 7 to July 14 what was ok.
But they did NOT shipped it!! I contact again and again their customer service.
On July 20th reply was- It takes 2 weeks for the item to be shipped from when the payment cleared. So you should receive a tracking number this week.
It looks like they are cheating... Why?
On July 20,15 My replied was- I bought it almost a month ago!
You charge my credit card immediately.
You advertise a fast shipping, but till now NO news about my order.
ONE month late no news, whats going on?
Please, I want all my money back!

I've been waiting more than a week from their last promiss!
By now July 29,15 no shipping, no tracking number, nothing!
Dear G&S, I've been patiently wait more than a MONTH!
I want ALL MY MONEY BACK(100%)!!!
Please stop cheating and refund all my money ASAP
I want my money this month!

Desired Settlement
Dear G&S, I've been patiently wait more than a MONTH!
I want ALL MY MONEY BACK(100%)!!!
Please stop cheating and refund all my money ASAP
I want my money this month!

Final Consumer Response

02/23/2015Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Company never delivered precious metals that I paid for.
I placed 3 orders with this company: order #XXXXX, #XXXXX, and #XXXXX. These 3 orders were paid for 100% in full many weeks ago, and the precious metals were supposed to have shipped to me several weeks ago as well. However, this company has NOT shipped the precious metals to me. I have repeatedly emailed and called their customer service, and they have not responded.

Desired Settlement
I either want my precious metals shipped to me immediately, or I want a full 100% refund immediately.

Business Response
All three (3) orders have been delivered to the customer. All three (3) order had a payment method of Personal Check which, as stated in our User Agreement, have a five (5) Business Day hold. Order #XXXXX delivered via FedEx 2/10/2015. Order #XXXXX delivered via USPS 2/20/15. Order #XXXXX delivered via FedEx 2/11/2015.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Thank you. I have now received all 3 orders, but please note that the orders were held for much longer than the 5 business days that the goldsilver.com user agreement states.

02/10/2016Problems with Product / Service
06/28/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I bought Silver Eagles from GoldSilver.com in
July, 2015. I have been trying to dispose of them
since December, 2016 unsuccesfully.
I purchased a box of Silver Eagles from GoldSilver.com in July 2015 and chose storage
in Salt Lake City, offered in the process. In mid December 2016 I tried to ship it
to a third party, but was unable to make anything happen.
You deal with GoldSilver.com through an automated response system.
You make a request and get a number and various instructions (forms to
fill out, sign, and return) - Did that. Later I thought it might be
easier to ship the item to myself. Finally I tried to sell the item back.
I was instructed to send a "government ID". (passport, drivers licence)

I want to conclude my business with goldsilver.com in any way they prefer:
A check for the current value of the account or the item in storage.

I do not want to send them any more personal documents. They had no interest
in those things when I opened the account and they accepted my check.

There are no tax implications and Silver Eagles are available from
the US Mint.

Desired Settlement
I want to conclude my business with goldsilver.com in any way they prefer:

A check for the current value of the account or the item in storage.

Business Response
COMPLAINT # XXXXXX

This customer contacted us a dozen or so times, but each time refused to comply with regulations that require us to get a government photo ID to verify the identity of a customer making a request prior to distributing cash or metals. This both protects the customer from fraud, which often comes in the form of hacked email accounts or spoofed email addresses requesting distributions, as well as complies with OFAC, Know Your Customer, and Anti-Money Laundering related regulations. We are absolutely happy to either send him his metals or perform the originally requested sellback, if he provides the required documentation. The requirement is outlined in the storage agreement that he consented to when he made the purchase. The customer may contact us in response to any of his tickets or as a new ticket, and we will happily complete the process with him.



Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I opened the account in July 2015, bought an item
and paid with a personal check. I'm identified.
The account can be closed without anyone being
"spoofed".

There is an automatic response system and work orders.
If something isn't right it's thrown out.

Currently the problem is a drivers license or passport.
No passport * how about a drivers license number?

Whatever is needed should be collected in the first
place.

This can go on and on as it has over the past months
just to close the account.

Final Business Response
The customer did request we transfer the metals out of storage on 12/21/15. I sent him the forms to sign on 12/29/15 with a request for a government issued I.D. We got an email back without the signed forms so we requested they be sent again. On January 6th I requested the forms with an I.D again. I closed his request on 1/25 and refunded the shipping fees since he asked my coworker to sell the items instead on 1/11.
On Feb. 3rd I requested the sellback documents with I.D. We received the forms on 2/10 but with no I.D.
It is policy for us to have a government issued I.D to do anything with metals in storage for the security of customers.

We are more than happy to sell the metals and send funds but do require an I.D.


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
A drivers license is not needed for gold or
silver coin transactions anywhere however I
am supplying the drivers license number.

07/11/2016Delivery Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Gold, Silver & Platinum Dealers

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.