BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 04/01/2010

AVA Construction

(408) 387-0999SunnyvaleCA 94087

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 04/01/2010

BBB has determined that AVA Construction meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for AVA Construction include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on AVA Construction

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
03/02/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
GREEN POINT Contract starts 8/2013 for new SFR construction, the house is completed, but the GREEN POINT is still not done 1/2015. AVA Construction is supposed to taking care the GREEN POINT application for our new single family construction in Palo Alto. It's extremely hard to get hold of them and make any appointment. Even after appointment, they promise to do work, but never deliver. We have to call them many times, but progress is SUPPER slow. 1/9/2013 - First Contract date and payment date 1/24/103 - 2nd payment 5/5/2013 - Full payment After many attempts, we prepare all the documents; finally we can make an appointment with him on 7/23/2014
7/23/3014 - Submitted all documents to him, even prepare the GREEN POINT documents he is supposed to prepare. He (the owner, ****** *********) says this is the most complete file he had ever received, and promised to submit the GREEN POINT agency within next week. Again nothing happens, no status update. 9/5/2014 - We got our final permit on the house construction, but this GREEN POINT has no progress!! Called, texted, emailed many times, nothing happens. 1/12/XXXX - X years late, still don't know where it is.

Desired Settlement
Finish the job!

Business Response
Hi
I had 2 different work for them. The first 2 payments which she is referring to was for making the Green point check list, Cal green and Title 24 which I did them and even I changed them few times base on their request and I didn't charge them for that. You can see those invoices attached. Then the city asked them to hire someone to verify them and register them to BIG. The third invoice is for that. I charged them $1,500 for the verifications and $450 for registration to BIG. The verifications is done and they didn't do every thing base on my list. That was fairly closed and I signed their plans. They took their final inspection with my verification so I did my job. I went there 3 times for inspection and the last time when I went there to verify the amount of lawn I find out again that one does not comply with my list. I can't register something which is not correct. There is some items that needs to be change like the faucets. I am ready to return the $450 which I charged them for registration. I attached a copy of the 3rd invoice as well.
******

Industry Comparison| Chart

Contractors - General

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 03/31/2010Business started: 03/12/2008
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

BBB records show a license number of 1007023 for this company. The expiration date of this license is 09/30/2017.

Type: Contractor's License Board

Check License Status: https://www2.cslb.ca.gov/OnlineServices/CheckLicenseII/LicenseDetail.aspx?LicNum= 1007023

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: April 2010, CA

Contact Information
Principal: Sam Sanie (Office Manager)
Number of Employees

15

Business Category

Contractors - General

Products & Services

This company specializes in kitchen and residential remodeling.

Alternate Business Names
A V A Construction, L & A Custom Homes Inc

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for AVA Construction

Sunnyvale, CA 94087

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the Counties of Los Angeles, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz, Monterey and San Benito. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*AVA Construction is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Contractors - General

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.