BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Dr. Harold Katz, LLC

(323) 993-83205802 Willoughby Ave, Los AngelesCA 90038-3012http://www.therabreath.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Dr. Harold Katz, LLC is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Dr. Harold Katz, LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Problems with Product / Service1
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Dr. Harold Katz, LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
02/01/2016Advertising / Sales Issues
12/02/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
They recently had a sale where customers had the opportunity to purchase tens in bulk but the ones they chipped to me are almost expired.
I absolutely love therabreath products however the last batch of product that I purchased contained products that are almost expired. What is the point in purchasing items in bulk on sale wen they expired in 4 months. When i contacted their customer service I was kindly informed that side the expiration date has not passed **** i received good product. That is not the case at all. They obviously have product sitting on the shelves in a warehouse that they try to get rid of in a sale. The more popular products I purchased do not expired until 2016 or 2017 so why should I be happy with almost expired product that I purchased in bulk. Buying therabreath on sale is obviously pointless!!!!!!!!!!!! They also told me that if i was not happy with the product since it would expire soon i would be responsible for mailing it back. I spoke to different representatives. the 2 names I remember are Amy and Jasmine. I paid via a credit card.

Order date: 5/29/2014 Order number: XXXXXX
Order date: 6/13/2014 Order number: XXXXXX
Order date: 6/13/2014 Order number: XXXXXX
Order date: 6/13/2014 Order number: XXXXXX
Order date: 6/13/2014 Order number: XXXXXX

Desired Settlement
I like the product I just don't want almost expired product as I purchased the items in bulk. So I want them replaced and I want them to reimburse me for the return shipping.

Business Response
The items she purchased were not expired and still well within their expiration date, which is why we shipped them. Once ******* received the shipment and expressed frustration with the dates, we told her we would be happy to take them back as a return for a full refund, or an exchange with if she didn't want to keep them just like any product. We even offered to include an extra free product to help cover the cost of return shipping (which is not something we usually do), but that did not make her happy. We have not heard from her since.

12/02/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On 16 sep 14, I received an email from Therabreath offering $10.00 off any purchase greater than $25.00. There were no conditions listed.
On 16 Sep 14, I received an email from Therabreath offering $10.00 off any purchase greater than $25.00. There were no conditions listed. On 18 Sep 14, I ordered $154.00 worth of product. When I attempted to apply my $10.00 off offer, it was denied. Three phones calls to the company yielded no satisfactory results. At that time I was informed that the $10.00 coupon could not be used due to the discount I was already receiving. Again, There were no condidtions listed on the offer. Here is part of the offer: "Order $25 or more and save $10 right now. Plus, we'll throw in a free bonus!

Use the following code when you check out and get a $10 DISCOUNT on any purchase of $25 or more. Reorder whatever you are running short on and save $10 right off the top."

Customer Serive personnel were of no assistance.

Desired Settlement
Even though it is only $10.00, I would like the company refund me $10.00. I consider their advertisement as to the offer very misleading.

Business Response
It is our general policy not to allow consumers to combine multiple discounts or offers on the same order for obvious reasons. However the communication that *** received was missing this disclaimer. The initial problem arose because our CSR's are trained to not allow multiple discounts per order. However once we realized that disclaimer was inadvertently missing that piece of information from the communication he received, we understood his position, and on September 29th, we refunded him his $10.00, plus an additional $10.00 to help cover his time for the confusion.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Clinics

Additional Information

top
Business started: 05/16/1996
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: January 2002, CA

Business Management
Principal: Dr. Harold Katz (Founder/CEO)
Contact Information
Mark Fiala (VP Operations)
Number of Employees

16

Business Category

Clinics

Alternate Business Names
California Breath Clinic, The California Breath Clinics, TheraBreath

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Dr. Harold Katz, LLC

5802 Willoughby Ave

Los Angeles, CA 90038-3012

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 5802 Willoughby Ave 

    Los Angeles, CA 90038-3012

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the Counties of Los Angeles, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz, Monterey and San Benito. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Dr. Harold Katz, LLC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Clinics

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.