BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Edmunds.Com, Inc.

Find a Location

(310) 309-63851620 26th St Ste 400S, Santa MonicaCA 90404-4063http://www.edmunds.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Edmunds.Com, Inc. is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

This business has no rating at this time.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues4
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Edmunds.Com, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (6)
11/15/2013Advertising / Sales Issues
07/25/2016Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Went on website to find used vehicle. Found one and submitted petsonal info. Bought vehicle 5 days later. Promised $100 gas card. They denied it.
June 23rd I went in website to find a used vehicle. I found one I liked and entered in all my personal contact info to get the special "edmunds price". Received price and contacted the dealer. Ended up buying car on 6/28. On website they advertise $100 gas card if you purchase vehicle. Lat step in process per their terms and conditions was to send copy of sales contract which I did. Received email denying gas card because they said I never submitted my information to generate a lead. I followed instructions per their terms and conditions. The dealer also knew I found the vehicle on edmunds website. Every step in the process has been followed and the vehicle has been purchased.

Desired Settlement
Delivery of the promised $100 gas card for fulfilling the requirements for their offer.

Business Response
Hello, *******:

I left you a voicemail yesterday to talk through this with you, but I also wanted to respond on here to make sure that was taken care of.

First, let me say, I'm very sorry that you feel you've had such a poor experience with us. That is never our intention and certainly isn't what we enjoy hearing. I think there has just been a bit of confusion with the process, and I will go ahead and clarify that here.

It looks like you took the right steps to start the process for the gas card redemption. The one critical piece that was missing was clicking the green "Activate" button to essentially activate your perks.

We see that you did submit your personal info, as you stated, but there's a pretty clear disclaimer on the site that says "Your email and phone # will not be sent to the dealer until you review the offer and choose to activate it". Simply filling in your personal info doesn't start the process for redeeming your gas card, unfortunately. This is actually for your benefit. We certainly don't want to send your information along to a dealer if you're not ready to take that step. Once you DO send your info to the dealer (via the Activate button I mentioned above), only then will the perks and the offer price be available to you.

In all transparency, I'm sure you can understand how this works. We are a business a free resource to shoppers. We have relationships with dealers with the promise to send shoppers their way. This happens through the lead system: from our website to theirs. The whole perks program was designed to help generate leads for dealers but also to benefit shoppers like yourself.

In your case, I understand that you called the dealership to give them your information despite the call outs for your gas card/offer activation on our site. This is where the unfortunate mistake happened, and this is why you've been declined a gas card. As you know, a lead (through our site) had to have been fully submitted before the purchase of the vehicle.

The most important thing here is that you actually did get a vehicle, so I'd like to congratulate you on that! It's a big, and difficult, step.

As I stated, we care about your experience with us. Because of that, I'd like to honor the $100 gas card for you. After reviewing your case, I do see how, without knowing our full process, you may think that simply phoning the dealer would be sufficient enough. I do encourage you, going forward, to please read the fine print in situations like this to ensure you take the right steps. I don't want you to end up in something like this again.

I wanted to explain this to you by phone, and you are still welcome to reach out; however, at this point, you can work with Sydney (the agent) again as she is aware of my decision.

Thanks for using Edmunds.com!

Erika W****
Manager, Shopper Support

05/16/2016Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Cheating advertisement. Advertising unwed car special deals
For 200$ gas card. Reject the claim by hidden policy.
brought a xc60 on 03mar2016.2013 Volvo XC60
VIN: YV4902DZ3DXXXXXXX. Gas card claim was rejected. Customer service states it need to be claim within 15 business days. Still not sure where this 15 business day policy hidden.

Desired Settlement
Just need a reasonable explanation

Business Response
Good afternoon! I truly apologize for the delay in response here. Your case was just brought to my attention today. I wanted to write back immediately to address your valid concerns & feedback.

I am sorry that you feel you did not have a good experience using our Edmunds.com Used+ Perks program. It's designed to be an easy experience for all. Unfortunately, we do have to have expiration dates for getting your information back to us so there can be clear guidelines to the program.

Because your submission was sent to us more than 15 calendar days after your purchase was made, we were unable to approve the $200 gas card. If you had submitted within the timeframe, we would have been happy to send that to you. I wish that the outcome was different here, but this is a rebate style program, and you missed the deadline. This is not something that Edmunds can control. For your reference, I've included a timeline of the events that occurred in your case, according to our records:

Date you purchased the vehicle: 3/5/16
Date you tried to redeem your perks: 4/11/16

The email that you used to click through to try and redeem your gas card perk had a link to the terms & conditions that stated that you had 15 calendar days to try to redeem. I have included the link here (please note that that time frame has since been decreased to 7 days, so it will look a little different now): https://help.edmunds.com/hc/en-us/articles/XXXXXXXXX-Edmunds-Used-Special-Offers-Gas-Card-Warranty-

Please let me know if I'm missing information. I really appreciate you taking the time to write so we are able to clarify any misunderstandings.

Thanks again,

Erika Wells
Customer Experience Mgr

03/07/2016Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Edmunds-CARCHEX 30 Day Warranty was misrepresented and didn't cover car repair expense as promised.

I recently located a 2005 Nissan Sentra through Edmunds.com and purchased it on 1/9/2016 from Honda of Morgan Hill, CA. The Edmunds.com listing on the car showed a "Price Promise" including a "30-day Extended Warranty" and I bought the car largely because of this promise of a warranty. The car dealer pays Edmunds.com Inc. for their "Price Promise" package to enhance sales. Edmunds contracts with Carchex LLC. to provide and administer the warranty. Descriptions of the warranty given on the following Edmunds.com and Carchex.com web pages state that repairs to named mechanical systems are covered for 30 days and 1000 miles following purchase, apart from a $100 deducible. No further warranty conditions or limitations are mentioned.

1. ************************************************************************************
2. *************************************************************************
3. ******************************************************
4. **********************************************************

After the purchase and registration for the Extended Warranty (#CCEXXXXXX), I took the car to my local Santa Cruz Nissan dealership for an air bag recall (mentioned on a Carfax report) and was told the car also needed both front wheel bearings replaced. The dealership phoned the "Edmunds-Carchex Protection Plan and Roadside Assistance" claim number XXX-XXX-XXXX to pre-authorize the repair, leading to an eventual visit by the Carchex inspector who agreed that the repair was needed. Nevertheless, after a week of delays, on 1/19/2016 Carchex denied the claim. Their explanation was that the warranty did not cover pre-existing conditions! So I paid the $943 repair bill for the wheel bearings myself.

This exclusion does not appear on web sites such as those above describing the 'Price Promise' package. For example, the FAQ items on the fourth web site above include the question 'What is and isn't included in the warranty?". The answer doesn't mention pre-existing conditions. Another question "Is there a link to the exact details of the warranty?" also fails to inform about pre-existing conditions.

My email request to ************@carchex.com for a copy of the Edmunds-Carchex 30 day service contract was not answered. It's true that one can search the carchex.com website and locate the contract given the names of the contract provider (Royal Administration Services) and coverage (ultimate), but these identifiers are only available after the purchase and warranty activation. Exclusion of pre-existing conditions from warranty coverage was hidden from the car buyer prior to purchase. The warranty has been misrepresented to the car buyer.

I have expressed my complaint to Edmunds through their "Edmund live help" facility at <****@Edmunds.com> . Their most recent answer from representative********* was "We are looking into this and I will follow up with you when I have an update for you". That was over a week ago.

Desired Settlement
1. make clear the exclusion of preexisting conditions in the warranty descriptions provided on Edmunds and Carchex websites customers view prior to purchase and warranty activation. Train dealer salesmen to alert car customers.

2. reimburse me for the car repair bill.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: Erika Wells Cust Exp Mgr
Contact Phone: **********
Contact Email: *******************Good evening,

I am the Customer Experience Manager at Edmunds.com, and I wanted to personally respond to your complaint. I do apologize that you have had such a frustrating experience with one of our programs. That is never how it was intended to be. I can certainly relate to and understand everything you stated in your complaint. I am truly sorry for the delay in this response as I was taking the time to further investigate this matter, in hopes to provide accurate information throughout my response.

First and foremost, I wanted to touch on your desired outcomes. I am pleased to tell you that partly because of your case, Edmunds.com has contacted CARCHEX, and we are feverishly working to make the term "pre-existing" even more clear to the user. I do see your point there, and that is being handled. Additionally, you requested that we train dealer salesmen to alert customers of issues with the vehicle in question. I 100% agree with you about this, and a training plan has been put in place. Thank you for bringing all of this to our attention. Hopefully, now, we will provide a better experience for customers going forward.

Regarding the details of your denied claim:
We have been told by the dealership that your fully executed sales contract states that you purchased the vehicle "as is". According to our terms and conditions (fine print) on link #3 that you provided in your response, there are certain vehicles that are not covered by the CARCHEX warranty.

"...vehicles which cannot pass a legal safety inspection, e.g. has non-functioning brakes, etc., vehicles sold "as is"..."

It seems that your vehicle fell under the "as is" category. I hope this is something that the dealership explained to you. Regardless, I do understand how this may be confusing to someone who is just interested in purchasing a vehicle. Again, we will work hard to make this more clear for shoppers going forward.

I see in your notes to Lakeisha that you did hear the loud sound the front end was making during your test drive but that the dealership contributed it to something else. I am sorry that the dealership may have misled you here; however, I would always encourage you to find out for yourself before making such a large purchase. When following up with CARCHEX on this, I was told that you filed the claim 2 days and 57 miles after purchase. Unfortunately, according to CARCHEX, due to the long term nature of the problem, this would definitely be considered pre-existing from their perspective. I hope that makes sense to you.

The warranty program that we offer, in most cases, works very well and customers have given great feedback about it. I am truly sorry that your situation did not work like that. Again, I see how there was some confusion on your part, but I do also see the side of CARCHEX in denying the claim.

Lastly, I wanted to address the delay in communication from Lakeisha, one of my direct reports. Lakeisha is an excellent agent and truly felt bad that she let this one slip through the cracks. It is very unlike her. She simply missed it with the ticket load she had at the time. This is not an excuse, and because of the inconvenience this caused you, we would like to make this right and offer you something. I am going to have Lakeisha reach out via email to discuss what this will entail.

Your final desired outcome is to be reimbursed in full for your repairs. Unfortunately, because this is not something Edmunds.com could have controlled, we are unable to honor this request. However, again, we do plan to offer you something because of the communication breakdown. We want to own that and compensate you for what we did have control over.

Thank you so much again for your patience. Again, I do apologize for everything you have been through during this process. I can't imagine how frustrating it was/is to feel you were misled by a dealer when purchasing what you thought to be a perfectly good vehicle. Although that was not the fault of Edmunds.com, we still want to make things right with you -- however that may be. Again, Lakeisha will be reaching out for next steps.

We truly do care about our customers and want you to have an awesome experience with the products we offer. I hope our efforts to make improvements show that.

Sincerely,

Erika Wells
Manager, Customer Experience

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I appreciate Erica Wells thoughtful response (submitted to BBB 02/09/2016, sent to me 02/15/2016) to my complaint (Case # ******) against Edmunds.com. I have heard nothing more concerning next steps from Lakeisha or Ms. Wells of Edmunds.com. The 10 day deadline approaches, so I must answer based on the present state of a possibly ongoing complaint.

My complaint is that the used car 30 Day/1000 Mile Extended Warranty has been misrepresented by Edmunds, giving the impression that mechanical problems that become evident after purchase will be covered.

The issue is not that the term "pre-existing" needs to be made more clear to the user, as Ms. Wells suggests. The problem is that the term never even appears on the available Edmunds and Carchex descriptions of the warranty. Only after purchasing the car can the buyer read the Royal Administration Services warranty and find the 22 categories the warranty excludes (the 13th is pre-existing conditions).

Edmunds should not depend on the car salesman to know or report warranty limitations. The auto dealer does not offer the warranty, Edmunds does. It's true that vehicles sold "as-is" are excluded in fine print on a Carchex website, so the warranty shouldn't have been offered on this car -- and no one caught that.

If Edmunds.com and Carchex change their website descriptions to warn buyers of important limitations of the Extended Warranty, that will satisfy the first 'Customer Desired Resolution' item of my complaint.

Had I known the warranty exclusions, I might have gotten an independent check on the car as Ms. Wells suggests and/or might not have bought the car. My purchase of the car was strongly influenced by Edmunds.com inadequate and misleading description of the warranty coverage. So I feel my second 'Customer Desired Resolution' request, that the repair cost be covered, should be honored.




Final Business Response
Thank you very much for your thoughtful response. I am disappointed to find out that my agent, Lakeisha, has not responded to you on this. I am incredibly sorry. This is not typical for our department at all, and I am going to be addressing this with her again.

I have sent you an email directly and mentioned that I am now taking on your case myself, which is not something I usually do. I want to make sure we can get things settled for you quickly and easily.

I completely agree with you about your concern regarding pre-existing conditions. As I mentioned in my previous note, I have been investigating this, and we are close to a solution with CARCHEX to make sure it's clear to shoppers prior to purchase. I apologize this was not the experience you received. But, I am thankful for shoppers (like yourself) who are willing to write in about things like this so that we, know about, and can make the appropriate, and necessary, changes. The Used+ perks are a fairly new venture for us, and we are still working out the kinks.

I, too, agree that if this vehicle was flagged "as-is" then the warranty shouldn't have been offered at the time of shopping on the vehicle. This is also something we are working on. You have my word there.

I just wanted to note one thing: I feel for you in this situation. I really do. However, I cannot stress to you enough: if you hear a noise or see any issue with a vehicle during a test drive, this is something that should be looked in to prior to purchase, for your own sake. I hate that this experience has happened for you, and I do believe that this part of it was a separate issue that should have been handled prior to purchase since it was "known", regardless of any warranty coverage. I would hope that you were not basing your purchase of this vehicle on the warranty coverages alone. If this "issue" had been fine until after the 30 day warranty expired, you would have been responsible for paying for the repair at that point as well. I really don't want that to ever happen to you.

Again, please do email me back with a phone # I can reach you at, and I will do so as soon as I can. I want to see what I can do for you and talk through possible solutions.

Thank you very much for your time and patience,

***** *****
Manager, Customer Experience

02/09/2016Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
$200 gas card with purchase of vehicle.
Information has been validated card hasn't arrived
in over 2 months.
I purchased a 2011 nissan sentra with Volkswagen of Downtown Los Angeles on 11/22/2015. I was told about a $200 gas card with Edmunds.com I sent info to Edmunds.com
at first they said contract didn't match my name, then that date didn't show. Finally the validated my claim for the $200 gas card.They allege having sent out my gas card on 1/05/2016. I was told to wait 10-14 business days for it to arrive I did. now they are saying they it must have been lost in the United States Postal Service. ( which I believe is very reliable). and they are saying it will be another 2 weeks for a card to be sent out. And I guess from when it is sent out I will have to wait another 10-14 business days for it to arrive. I don't see why it should take so many days to get to my house In Inglewood, CA. I mean it is not coming from China. So I believe it is false advertising.

Desired Settlement
$200 gift card

Business Response
Dear Consumer:

Edmunds.com deeply apologizes for the frustration you have experienced regarding the UsedPlus Gas Card Perks Program. This is never the intention of the program, and I am personally bothered that you have had to wait so long for your gas card! You are right in that it is both unacceptable and unnecessary.

To further clarify: initially, there was no date on your uploaded sales contract, so the system flagged your case as incomplete. Additionally, the name submitted in the lead seemed to be different than what was listed on the sales contract, so again you got flagged because the names were not matching. It looks like it was just a glitch because it read your last name as Real vs ********. I am sure you can understand that we have to do our due diligence to ensure you qualify for the gift card. After verifying both of these things, we did a manual override to get your gift card processed by our 3rd party vendor and confirmed it was, in fact, sent out to you. Once it goes to our 3rd party, we have no control over timeframes and when the cards get sent out. I know this is not the ideal experience, but it's part of the current process.

Lastly, we do have the correct address on file for you, and so does the 3rd party vendor. I am not sure why it did not get to you. It is sent in a plain, white envelope (with no markings), so we have seen people throw it away on accident. I am not sure if this was the case, but it's a possibility I wanted to mention.

I can assure you that this is not a scam. It has worked for thousands of people. Unfortunately, we just ran in to a few hiccups with your case. For that, I am truly sorry. I can absolutely see your frustration with Edmunds. We deeply care about you and that you are satisfied. One of the Sr Customer Experience agents on my team is staying on top of your case and following up to ensure you receive the card as fast as possible. You have been more than patient. We just ask for a little more as we try and get this sorted out.

If you should need to speak with me directly, please call the Live Help line again (855.782.4711) between the hours of 8am-5pm PST, and ask for Erika Wells. They will take a message, and I will return your call as quickly as I possibly can. You are a priority to us, and we are excited to hear when you get your gift card very soon, we hope!

Thank you very much!

Erika Wells
Customer Experience Manager

10/17/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Bad privacy practices, unwanted calls.
I did a search for a car and if you inquire about a specific car, you have to give them contact info including email and phone. Following, I've been getting spam phone calls from this number XXX-XXX-XXXX which is not a dealer number related to the car search. I believe they sell or release personal info to third parties without consent. If you do a search of the number on google, various websites reports similar experiences by users being harassed by unwanted calls. It's unethical.

Desired Settlement
If I can be taken off their phone list that would suffice. I'm not sure that is possible because it seems like a third party is involved. I don't want any more calls related to this.

Business Response
From the account provided, it appears that this Edmunds.com visitor voluntarily provided his/her phone number to one or more dealerships through our Web site. Edmunds.com visitors are encouraged to do this, via a variety of forms on our sites and our apps, in order to get more information about specific vehicles for sale at dealerships in their general vicinity. Typically, a dealership, once provided with a phone number in this manner, then calls that number to discuss the car for sale in more detail.

The source of the calls that this visitor claims to have received (from XXX-XXX-XXXX) seems to be a third-party call center that a dealership has contracted to carry out this work. We would recommend that the visitor, if no longer interested in talking to a dealership, request the call center to remove his/her number from their contact system.

In sum, we have not sold or otherwise released this visitor's personal information to anyone other than the dealer(s) this visitor authorized.

For more information about Edmunds.com's policies and practices regarding personally identifiable information, please see our Privacy Statement at *****************************************

Industry Comparison| Chart

Business Processing Optimization

Additional Information

top
Business started: 07/01/1988
Contact Information
Principal: Avi Steinlauf
Number of Employees

351

Business Category

Business Processing Optimization

Alternate Business Names
Edmund Publication Corp.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Edmunds.Com, Inc.

1620 26th St Ste 400S

Santa Monica, CA 90404-4063

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 1620 26th St Ste 400S 

    Santa Monica, CA 90404-4063

  • 2401 Colorado Avenue Suite 250 

    Santa Monica, CA 90404-3551

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the Counties of Los Angeles, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz, Monterey and San Benito. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Edmunds.Com, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Business Processing Optimization

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.