BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Day To Day Imports, Inc.

Phone: (213) 223-7567

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Delivery Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues2
Problems with Product / Service4
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Total Closed Complaints7

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (7)BBB Closure Definitions
03/17/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The Cover I purchased carried a Full 100% Lifetime Replacement Warranty. My cover needed replaced under this warranty.I contacted customer service and they agreed it was covered under the Replacement Warranty. However, they informed me there would be a $25 Shipping/Re-stocking fee. I explained that at the time I purchased the Cover, there was no disclosure to that fact. Nowhere did the ad say there would be a charge to replace under warranty.So...beware when purchasing from this company. Be sure ask the right questions. I got hosed by them. Their customer service is rude and no help. Personally. I would recommend going elsewhere.
Product_Or_Service: 6 Layer Automobile Car Cover
Order_Number: Ebay Item# XXXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement
Replace my Car Cover under the described Lifetime Warranty with no charge. No charge was disclosed in their online ad, I should not be required to pay anything.

Business Response
send me your order number name and address I will send you a free replacement.

Consumer Response
NATURE OF DISPUTE:In April of 2013,I opened BBB CASE# XXXXXXXX. Please refer to the above CASE# for the details of my complaint and issues regarding this business.On 4/16/2013, I received an email from the BBB stating that the Company had been contacted and they offered to settle my dispute with them.It stated that on April 11,2013 the business provided the following response: "Send me your order number,name and address I will send you a free replacement".I was asked if I accepted this response and I marked "YES"I attempted to contact them by telephone all day of the 16th of April. All I got was a recording that says"the number has been disconnected or no longer in service" This is the number I have for the business: X-XXX-XXX-XXXX.I wrote and mailed a letter to them on the 17th of April with all the information they requested in order to replace my cover. I asked them to contact me upon receipt of said letter. As of this writing,I have not received any response in any fashion from them. Furthermore,as of this writing.their telephone number continues to be non-functional. I want a personal contact from someone at the business.
Product_Or_Service: 6 Layer Automobile Car Cover
Order_Number: Ebay Item# XXXXXXXXX


DESIRED RESOLUTION::DesiredSettlementID: Replacement
Send me a full Car Cover Replacement under their 100% Full Warranty Replacement free of any further charges. ( See Complaint # XXXXXXXX as to why there should be no additional charges).


Final Business Response
Customer must pay for S/H in order to get a replacement cover as stated in our policy

03/17/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Ordered 2 items on 10-23-12. One item was received, one item, ******************* was not received. Called 01-07-14, 01-14-13, and 02-06-13. Each time they said the item would be shipped and they even gave me FedEx tracking numbers. Item never came . Called XX-XX-XX at which point they said that nothing can be done because the order in no longer in computer since the original date of order is over 90 days past. And, by the way, have a nice day.
Product_Or_Service: Car floor mats
Order_Number: XXXXXXXXX
Account_Number: Invoice Number XXXXX

Desired Settlement
Resolution Sought: Deliver item or refund $28.95. Item number is ********************

Business Response
Order has been reshipped customer still claims they never got package even though first order shows inventory deducted as well as order was shipped.

11/25/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Car cover with lifetime warranty lasts less then 30 days. Also had a 60 days 100% money back guarantee, not honored. Won't answer emails or phone.
Car cover with lifetime warranty lasts less then 30 days. Also had a 60 days 100% money back guarantee not honored. Won't answer emails or phone. Truck cover 3 layer. Item XXXXXXXXXXXX. Brought 4/12/13. Cover was bad by 5/10/13. Try to contact for over 3 weeks. Now won't. respond to phone or emails for refund.

Desired Settlement
Full Refund.

Business Response
If less than 30 days they are permitted to send the item back. Do they have a tracking number.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Have tried to get full refund within weeks of receiving. ITEM ONLY LASTS WEEKS BEFORE FALLING APART! Have Pictures! Item/tracking # XXXXXXXXXXXX/******XXXXXXXXXXXX and pictures were given in emails once I could get someone to respond.

08/04/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased 2 car covers from "the car cover.com" for my classic cars a little over a year ago. I purchased their deluxe 5-layer diamond cover (10-year warrantee) for my car and a 2-layer cover (3-year warrantee) for my truck. The deluxe one has been bleeding a sticky black substance on every sharp edge of my car for the past month or two and seems to be getting worse. The substance seems to wash off with a little elbow grease but I am worried about the long term effects and if it will damage my paint. The one on my truck is starting to tear at the seams.I first called about 3-weeks ago and spoke to someone who said that I needed to take pictures and then e-mail them to them and then they would contact me. I did that and after about 24 hours I called them and was told that I would need to talk to a manager but that he was out and was given his voice mail. I left a message explaining my dellima and asked him to call me. After another week i still had not recieved a call so I called them again and was told again that the manager was not in and sent to voice mail again. Again I left a message and explained that I had previously left a message and again asked him to call me. Still no return calls as of today so I began calling them at about 9:30. I spoke to one lady who said the manager was not in yet but should be in in about 30-min and she would have him call me but if i did not hear from him by 1:00 to call back. Around 2:30 I called and was placed on hold for over 20-min and called them back only to be told that the manager was assisting another person but would call me and verified the wrong number (probably another dissatisfied customer). I corrected the person and was assured that the manager would call me back today. At 5:00 I called again and was placed on hold for over 20 min and when I got frustrated and called back no one answered. They close at 5:30 so I am sure that they knew it was me and opted not to answer it.
Product_Or_Service: 03/03/2012 and feb 2012
Order_Number: XXXXXXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement
I would like either replacement car covers or a complete refund if this is the quality of their product.The 5-layer car cover had an Id. #**************** 2-layer car cover had an id. # *********-1Thanks for your help

Business Response
Please send me the order number I will send you a replacement cover free of charge.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This place is such a fraud, I purchased my first cover from them at the Pomona Car Show and Swap Meet and was told that if there was ever a problem I could simply bring it back to the car show and they would exchange it on the spot. I asked the guy for a sales receipt and was told that he was out but all I had to do was keep the car cover ID that was sewed on it and they would know and replace it. I then ordered the 5-layer car cover for my other car because I wanted a better car cover to protect it. When the 2-layer car cover started falling apart I took it with me to the car show expecting to get a replacement and the very same person who sold it to me told me that I had to call the shop Monday thru Friday as there was nothing they could do. So here I am stuck walking around a car show with a wadded up car cover.

Luckily, I placed the order for the five layer over the phone so I received an Order Number for that one and have left that order number on their voice mail as well as via e-mail. This is the car cover that is leaving a black substance all over every sharp edge of my car that I am worried will damage the paint. My first call to them asked me to e-mail them some pictures which I did along with my order number and I was told that they would review the pictures and get back to me. After a day went by I called them to see what the status was and was told that I would have to pay for the postage as well as $25.00 for each cover. When I purchased both covers I was told that there would not be any charges if the covers went bad and I could even swap them out at the Pomona Car Show which is every approximately 2-months. That was when I asked for a manager and was told that he was not in but that he would call me back. That lead to many more phone calls over the next two to three weeks and every time I was told that the manager was not in but would return my call. This place is run by a bunch of thieves and should not be allowed to be in business.

To resolve this matter I would like to have replacement covers with the following part numbers:

2-Layer: ***********
5-Layer: *************

As I said earlier, they do not provide sales receipts or invoice numbers for car covers purchased at the swap meets and that is probably why they are requesting it. I do however have the order number for the 5-layer cover that was purchased on March 3, 2012 (that was previously e-mailed to them with pictures) and that is order number XXXXXXXXXXXX. If this company is truly a reputable company then it would know that they sell many car covers at the Pomona Car show and Swap meet and that they never give out order numbers and would honor the warrantee that they state when you purchase car covers from them and not play games.


Final Business Response
Customer needs to provided proof of damage.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
When I purchased both car covers I was told by your salesman that I would get a free replacement during the warrantee period, I was told that I could simply bring it to the Pomona Car Show and they would exchange it or call your office for a free replacement. I tried taking it to the Pomona car show as directed and was told I would have to call the office and that a new one would be sent out. As stated in my previous messages that is where the run around began and could never talk to anyone who would help. Even though I left my phone number 5-6 times and your employees told me repeatedly that I would receive a phone call back I never received one and that why I finally had to resort to the BBB.
As far as the 2-layer car cover not having a warrantee, take a look at your web site at the following address:
*******************************************On there it shows that the 2-layer car cover has a 3-year warrantee. Are we now also in the internet fraud game too?
As I have said I would like both of my car covers replaced, they are the following covers:
5-Layer *************
2-Layer ***********
I would like those delivered to my office free of charge as I was informed by your salesmen.
Thanks

05/12/2014Problems with Product / Service
11/14/2014Problems with Product / Service
07/25/2014Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Parts & Supplies - New, Engines - Supplies, Equipment & Parts, Auto Service - Specialty Parts

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.