BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

South Bay BMW/Mini

(310) 939-7300View Additional Phone Numbers18800 Hawthorne Blvd., TorranceCA 90504http://www.southbaybmw.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

South Bay BMW/Mini is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

This business has no rating at this time.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service6
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on South Bay BMW/Mini

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (8)BBB Closure Definitions
10/27/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Unauthorized charge of $2550 when I specifically asked if there was any charges related and was told me, and signed a zero balance invoice.
I purchased a brand new Mini Cooper from South Bay, which was finally repurchased back by their head office under CA lemon law; I have been going back and forth with the dealership a handful of times because they couldn't figure out what's wrong with the vehicle and every time I picked up the vehicle it was never completely fixed. The very last time, they emailed to notify me that the vehicle was ready once again, and asked me to return the loaner at my earliest convenience, without a specific date. During which time, I was out of town and only I had the key to the loaner. As soon as I got back, which was also the same day that Mini USA agreed to go forward with the purchase, I returned the loaner vehicle that evening. Given their poor reputation, A) I brought a friend with me as witness, when I returned the vehicle I asked them if the car was fixed, and was told that it was good to go, then only to realize the next day that the backseat was also broken. B) I spoke to the service manager and the loaner car dept, and was assured that there were no charges related to the loaner vehicle, thus, they provided me with the zero balance invoice to sign, and crossed out the section with possible fees related to the loaner. C) The vehicle in date was 4 days before the due date (both were typed up by the dealership) D) I never authorized and definitely did not sign a credit card receipt for the $2550 charge, especially after they told me the balance was zero. E) Their bad business ethnics and lack of moral should not be tolerated, and I do not want others to go through what I have went through and still am dealing with.

Desired Settlement
I would like for the dealership to honor the zero balance invoice that they provided me, their words when they said that there were no charges, and stop trying to charge my credit card. By charging $2550 of authorized amount onto my credit card, my credit report shows that my credit card has been maxed out, it's negatively impacting my credit score and affecting my ability to get better interest rate on home/auto loan.

Business Response
Dear ******** ****,
We regret that your recent experience at our dealership was unsatisfactory. We reviewed our records and corrected the billing. Our Mobility Manager left you a voicmail regarding the credit. Please do not hesitate to contact me if you have any questions at XXX-XXX-XXXX or **** ********** our Mobility Manager at XXX-XXX-XXXX.

Thank you,

***** *********

11/17/2014Problems with Product / Service
05/26/2014Problems with Product / Service
04/18/2014Problems with Product / Service
10/25/2013Advertising / Sales Issues
Page 1 of 2
10/16/2014Problems with Product / Service
12/16/2013Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Additional Information

top
Business started: 05/01/2000
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Type of Entity

Partnership

Contact Information
Principal: Mark Brodkin (Director)Customer Contact: Tammy Hernandez
Number of Employees

200

Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Alternate Business Names
South Bay BMW
Industry Tips
Buying a New Car
Dont Fall Victim to Enticing Auctions Ads for Cars!
Purchasing a Car Online
Spot Delivery Complaints are on the Rise
VIN Cloning Swindles Luxury Car Buyers

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for South Bay BMW/Mini

18800 Hawthorne Blvd.

Torrance, CA 90504

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 18800 Hawthorne Blvd. 

    Torrance, CA 90504

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the Counties of Los Angeles, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz, Monterey and San Benito. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*South Bay BMW/Mini is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (866) 232-5167
  • (310) 939-7322
  • (310) 939-7305
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.