BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Parkway Motorcars Valencia, Inc.

Phone: (661) 253-4441Fax: (661) 284-1161View Additional Phone Numbers24075 Magic Mountain Pkwy, ValenciaCA 91355-0950http://www.goparkway.comView Additional Web Addresses

! There is an alert for this business !

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Parkway Motorcars Valencia, Inc. is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Parkway Motorcars Valencia, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Failure to have a required competency license.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues4
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service4
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Parkway Motorcars Valencia, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (9)
03/05/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Vehicle advertised at a certain price. When I arrived that price was not honored.
On Jan 12, 2015 Parkway Cadillac advertised a vehicle for $26,995. The stock number was XXXXXX.
I contacted dealership. Spoke with ***** in sales.
I wanted to buy said vehicle with no additional options. He said yes of course, the $26,995 was the price.
So, I drove the 3 hr drive to Valencia.

Upon arrival several hours later after a 3 hr drive from my home in San Diego, I purchased the vehicle. However in the finance office, while I was signing the paperwork, I was told that there were two options "installed".
1-"Finishing Touch"
And
2- "Theft Code".

I asked of those items were included in the price of the car ($26,995 advertised price). I was told "yes".

I said I didn't want ANY "optional" equipment. I was told I didn't have a choice that they were already installed. I asked **** and ***, both in finance, to look up the word "OPTIONAL" or "OPTION".

The dealer knew I had driven all the way from San Diego, so they had me already invested in the day.

After the fact, I called and left a message for my salesman ***** to look into this. I received a call back from *****, (the voicemail is still on my phone from the salesman *****). Salesman ***** says on my voicemail (which I still have saved), "the TheftCode is already installed on the car, and the FinishingTouch is installed when the vehicle came on the lot, and they are already figured into the cost of the car".

Therefore, their advertised price of $26,995 wasn't accurate. I was not allowed to purchase the vehicle at their advertised price. And again, I had driven from San Diego and they knew that. They knew they were forcing me to pay extra for these two items, or not buy the car.

This tactic is unfair and I felt forced to pay the extra or go home empty handed having spent the day driving there and back from home.

Their advertisement was fraudulent. And I want my $695+$695 returned to me.
Thank you.

Desired Settlement
On Jan 12, 2015 Parkway Cadillac advertised a vehicle for $26,995.
I contacted dealership. Spoke with ***** in sales.
I wanted to buy said vehicle with no additional options. He said yes of course, the $26,995 was the price.
So, I drove the 3 hr drive to Valencia.

Upon arrival several hours later after a 3 hr drive from my home in San Diego, I purchased the vehicle. However in the finance office, while I was signing the paperwork, I was told that there were two options "installed".
1-"Finishing Touch"
And
2- "Theft Code".

I asked of those items were included in the price of the car ($26,995 advertised price). I was told "yes".

I said I didn't want ANY "optional" equipment. I was told I didn't have a choice that they were already installed. I asked **** and ***, both in finance, to look up the word "OPTIONAL" or "OPTION".

The dealer knew I had driven all the way from San Diego, so they had me already invested in the day.

After the fact, I called and left a message for my salesman ***** to look into this. I received a call back from *****, (the voicemail is still on my phone from the salesman *****). Salesman ***** says on my voicemail (which I still have saved), "the TheftCode is already installed on the car, and the FinishingTouch is installed when the vehicle came on the lot, and they are already figured into the cost of the car".

Therefore, their advertised price of $26,995 wasn't accurate. I was not allowed to purchase the vehicle at their advertised price. And again, I had driven from San Diego and they knew that. They knew they were forcing me to pay extra for these two items, or not buy the car.

This tactic is unfair and I felt forced to pay the extra or go home empty handed having spent the day driving there and back from home.

Their advertisement was fraudulent. And I want my $695+$695 returned to me.
Thank you.

Business Response
We did honor the price that he came up for. He purchased items in Finance and never even called the Finance Manager or the Sales Manager to say he didn't want these items.
The only way we knew he was upset is when we received this complaint. WE have happily refunded him this money but all he needed to do is call us. We all wouldnt have had to go through this process..

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This dealership is full of lies. But, I am lucky I will no longer have to deal with them.
They stated that I didn't contact the dealership, when in fact I did, on several occasions actually. As a matter of fact, I still have the return call and message from the dealership, stating that they weren't going to honor my request for a refund. I think I'll hang on to this voicemail. In addition, I also have my phone records having called the dealership several times, getting the COMPLETE run-around,
In fact, my phone records show the long calls (with timers) of each call to the dealership. This is not an honest dealership.
However, thanks to the BBB and the investigations department of the DMV. This dealership had no intent to make this right without the forceful hand of the BBB and the DMV.
Thank you and yes they immediately complied with my refund demand upon receipt of the formal complaints.
We are now done with this transaction thank you very much.

Final Consumer Response

10/24/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was wrongly charged $385 for a rental because Chevy made the mistake of telling me to keep the car until I heard further & never contacted me back.
Let me say that ***** in service was my only bright spot in this ENTIRE situation. My 2 year old Chevy Cruze broke down on me YET AGAIN while I was driving to Disneyland and I was towed to Parkway. The repairs that were made were minimal and they expected me to drop everything and run back to LA (at the time I was 7.5 hours away) to pick up the car. Because of work I was unable to drive to pick up the car until 11 days later. I was told to get an authorization from Chevy corporate to authorize a rental vehicle for those extra days as they were unable to do that. Multiple calls within those 11 days and many emails later, I never was informed that the Field manager was contacted and denied my request to get the rental covered. I was continually told by Chevy corporate that I would have someone contact me within 24-48 hours but that never happened. When I showed up to get my car I was told I would be responsible for $385 worth of the rental agreement. Audra the service manager was rude and condescending, and flat out lied to several inquires from managers when she told them she called to tell me to return the rental car or I would be responsible for those days.

I feel like I did my due diligence in trying to pursue information on the issue but kept being told to wait back for a phone call. It is completely unacceptable to me that a huge corporation such as Chevy would put a $385 rental charge back on their customer when obvious mistakes were made by their employees. So far no acceptable option has been provided to me to resolve the issue. Audra, the service manager at Parkway has told several people that she called me and told me I would be responsible for the rental car. THIS IS NOT THE CASE. She only informed me that normally the rental cars are not covered for longer then 24 hours, however she would need an authorization number to approve the remaining days. I never spoke with her after that call. To top everything off, the shifting hesitation issues are worse then ever. It is now happening in lower gears and on deceleration of the vehicle. I am very disappointed in this experience with Parkway as well as Chevy as a corporation. This is the worst customer experience I have ever had, and I am sad to say I and my family members will never purchase another Chevy vehicle again. My dream truck is a Chevy truck and was planning on making that purchase in the next two years. Needless to say, Chevy has lost my business and all those who have watched me go through this terrible experience with this car.

Desired Settlement
$385

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** *****
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ******@goparkway.net
We have been doing everything we can to assist her in her Rental car bill. Her policy only covers 3 days of use and she had her rental for 13 days. We are not GM or the Rental agency but we will do everything we can do to assist in this Matter.

Our owner has already been in contact with this customer and has even been assisting in her request from General Motors.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I am working with the owner on this matter

05/27/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On April 18th, 2014 my wife and I went to the Parkway Volkswagen dealership on Magic Mountain Pkwy in Valencia, CA to purchase a used 2012 Jetta TDI sedan. We are happy with the car but are appalled by the level of customer service and lack of integrity that this dealership holds. ***** ****** (our salesman) informed us that the vehicle was certified pre-owned. ****** **** (finance manager) failed to give us an option contract which we specifically asked for and offered us a lower rate only if we purchased the extended warranty from him. Two days later my wife's sister who is a finance manager for another dealership looked over the contract and informed us it was NOT an option contract and asked where the paperwork stating the car was certified was. We did not know that there was paperwork specifically stating that so we did not know to ask for that. When we brought a check in from our own credit union and to pick up the certified paperwork I was informed by **** (sales manager) that the car was NOT certified and that unless it was in the contract there is nothing that they will do. He asked for a couple of days to speak to ***** but never got back to us about the issue. When we went to get the spare key programed (which ***** said was covered since the car was certified) the service manager had to get approval from General Manager ** ***** since it was not on the due bill. Speaking to the general manger about the service we experienced he expressed his displeasure with the finance managers sales ethics but informed us that the salesman (*****) could say whatever he wanted but unless we had in it contract there was nothing the dealership will do. Overall the customer service was abysmal and will never purchase another car from this dealership and will discourage all others from doing so.
Product_Or_Service: Volkswagen
Order_Number: XXXXX

Desired Settlement
We request that the dealership pays for the extended warranty that we had to purchase from our credit union.

03/06/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I called in and arranged my appt 3 days prior, I was not told that the services I needed were not provided on the weekends. They instead charged me $145 just to reiterate to me the complaints I setup service for. I feel misled and robbed by Parkway Motors - because of that I will not be coming back. I just moved to the area and I am looking for a place to keep my car up but I think it's in my best interest to go back to Boulevard GMC in the South Bay because I feel like I can trust them. When I want something done on a Saturday that is not offered they will let me know so I don't waste my time and money unlike Parkway that charged me $145 for a bad car wash (which is what it amounted to). They let me come in, drop off my car, discuss the 4 items that I wanted worked on then called me during the day to say "yep, those items do need work but we can't do them today so you can come pick up your car".

Desired Settlement
I understand they have to charge for the work they did perform (which was putting die in my oil and a car wash) so I would be happy with either a partial refund or a more indepth look at my car. They didn't offer any other information about my car other than what I told them. They did no further inspection and for that price I feel they should.

Business Response
We are sorry for the delay in responding. We see that one of the wishes for us to re-inspect the vehicle and go through the findings so the customer is happy. ********* is the parts and service director and he will be here when the customer would like to make an appointment to get this done at their convenience.

04/07/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
*** See Attachments***

Business Response
Mrs. *****,

I'm sorry that you had a bad experience. It is my understanding that you came in to trade your vehicle and towards the end you retracted from that because you told us you'd give the car to your son. When I did your paperwork I explained all the figures to you. After the approval came in I tried several times to have you come back and further assist you but you wouldn't come in. When I didn't get a response we had no choice but to send it in to get funded from Ally financial. The only thing pending is the down payment you put a stop payment on. Please call me so we can make payment arrangements.

09/23/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Advertising used by Parkway motors is extremely ambiguous and it leaves consumers widely susceptible to bate and switch tactics.
On May 5th, 2014 I went to Parkway Volkswagen for an oil change after finding a coupon on www.parkwayvolkswagen.net advertising a volkswagen Synthetic oil change for $49.95 after a $20 mail in rebate. When I arrived, I showed the coupon to **** in service and he told me that it did not apply to my vehicle, a 2011 Volkswagen jetta 2.5, and that I had to pay the regular price, $89.99 plus $19.99 if I wanted the tire rotation.

The coupon clearly states that "pricing applies to most models" but it does not state which models or which vehicles are excluded, leaving the customer open to a bate and switch tactic. My vehicle is relatively small, compare to an SUV or the CC and it still did not qualify for the coupon. Therefore, it raises the issue of which models do qualify. Since a small car did not qualify, it seems that most models will not qualify or it's up to the person in service to decide which models qualify and which do not.

In addition, the advertising states that oil change is $49.95 after a $20 mail in rebate but the rebate from Castrol states that it's $20 off your next oil change. The advertising leads a customer to believe that they will be getting a $20 refund for the oil change, which is not the case.

In the end, since they did the oil change and the tire rotation for about $110.00, I was able to use a $20 discount on services over $100 that I found online.
**** also gave me the rebate but he told me that it was probably not going to work because I had used the $20 off coupon already.

Desired Settlement
As a settlement, I want Parkway Volkswagen to honor their advertising or to change the wording on their website to clearly state which models qualify for the $49.95 (after a $20 mail in rebate) and to clearly state that the $20 mail in rebate is actually $20 off a future oil change.

Business Response
The customer visited our Hyundai facility on May 5th and requested to utilize an expired coupon from the prior month. She was advised that the coupon was no longer valid. The advisor, however, did offer the most current discount which was $20.00 off the daily rate.Additionally the customer was provided with the mail-in Castro Oil Change coupon for $20.00. She was informed the rebate is qualified by Castrol, and since the repair order already has a $20.00 discount they may not honor. Our recommendation, however, was to mail it in and see what happens. Manufacturer coupons will normally state "pricing applies to most models" or "some models do not apply" or will limit the amount of oil to a "specific quantity" and/or not include synthetic oil does or does not apply. All disclaimers are prominently displayed on the specific coupon.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I do not accept the response from the business for the following reasons:

1). I did not visit a Hyundai facility, I visited a VOLKSWAGEN facility (please read my original complaint)

2). The coupon I presented when I visited the VOLKSWAGEN facility was NOT EXPIRED. I still have a copy of the original coupon which shows that the coupon was valid the day I visited the VOLKSWAGEN facility.

3). I am not a "she", I am a "he".

Clearly you did not take the time to investigate my complaint and only looked for false allegations to justify your bate and switch tactics.
PLEASE TAKE THE TIME TO INVESTIGATE AND YOU WILL SEE THAT YOUR BUSINESS WAS CLEARLY AT FAULT.


Final Business Response
The customer visited our VW facility not our Hyundai facility. The coupon brought in by the customer was for a $69.95 Oil Change, non-inclusive of synthetic oil, with a $20.00 rebate. The 2011 Jetta 2.5 Engine, does in fact take synthetic oil. Since the vehicle did not qualify we gave the customer the daily price of $89.99 less a $20.00 Goodwill Rebate and also a $20.00 Mail-In-Rebate from ********** Oil good towards the next oil change. The customer also requested a tire rotation for $20.00 which was performed.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
They got the dealership correct this time.
However, the coupon that I took and presented to the service writer clearly stated "VW synthetic oil change". Please explain how that indicates that the coupon was not inclusive on synthetic oil changes? I explained this the first time I submitted the complaint. If you focus a little bit more on customer's complaints and instead of looking for excuses to justify your bate and switch tactics, you might have responded to this complaint correctly the first time around.

In addition, I did not receive a $20 "good will" coupon, I received $20 off because I found another coupon for $20 off any service over $100.00. This was also explained in the initial complaint. I would appreciate if you stop lying and get to the bottom of the problem.

I still have a copy of the coupon and will scan it upon request but PLEASE read the initial complaint before responding again, it really doesn't help you, and VW, look professional.

09/08/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Unsatisfactory customer service, sales practices and processing procedures of payments.
On July 6, 2014 I purchased a New, black 2013 HyundaiGenesis. Under the direction of the employees of the dealership (Kevin and Diego) I was asked write a post dated check for August 20, 2014 for $1,000 for my down payment. The check was processed on July 8, 2014. I contacted the dealership. They told me to return to the dealership to recieve a check for $1000, plus $105 for the overage charges. I drove 88 miles to recieve a check for $1000. The check for $105 had been overlooked. They promised they would have a check mailed on Monday, July 14, 2014. I did not receive the check and repeatedly called the dealership to resolve the issue. It was not until August 7, 2014 that I was able to pick up a check for $105. Yet, since there was a delay in receiving the promised funds, I have accrued more overdraft charges and late fees.

Desired Settlement
A sincere apology, all of my money returned and every member of the dealership to recieve customer service skills training.

Business Response
This complaint is not from the customer but rather from the daughter. The customer is completely satisfied with the way Parkway addressed the situation. The check represented a deferred payment identified on the contract.

05/19/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I went into the dealership for a lube & oil job and tire rotation, was told that the cost will be 39.95 I was charged 60.50. This is a rip off
Problem date was 4/11/2014 Method of payment was a personal check.

Desired Settlement
I would like to warn other customers of their shoddy practice of lying about their pricing. For me the damage has been done. I don't want other customers to get ripped off by this dealership.

Business Response
Mr. ***** came in to the dealership and requested an oil change at $39.95. He later asked to also have his tires rotated and he approved and signed a new quote for $60.00. The total bill was $60.50 including tax. We did not rip the customer off nor did we lie to him. He requested services, we quoted him a price, which he signed and approved, and we performed those services as promised at the quoted price.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The quote that I received was for 39.95 for a tire rotation and lube & oil which I have been paying for some time now.They threw in a charge of 25.00 dollars for some part that they never asked me for my permission to install (if ever there was a part,I don't know what part would be part of a lube & oil & tire rotation.

Final Business Response
There are only two charges on the repair order. One for the oil change and one for the tire rotation. All services were explained to the customer and all prices approved by the customer. There were no additional parts included in this service.

10/16/2013Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Repairing - Foreign, Auto Repair & Service

Additional Information

top
Business started: 03/22/1991
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

As of July 15, 2015 the BBB is unable to determine that this company has an active Occupational licensed with the California Department of Motor Vehicles, though this type of business would be required to have such a license.

Business Management
Principal: Mr. Bob Bakshi
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Linda A. Norris (HR Manager)Mr. Steve Keefe (COO)
Number of Employees

1

Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Repairing - Foreign, Auto Repair & Service

Alternate Business Names
Parkway Buick, Parkway Cadillac, Parkway GMC, Parkway Hyundai, Parkway Infiniti, Parkway Volkswagon

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Parkway Motorcars Valencia, Inc. has received 1.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 Customer Review and a BBB Rating of F.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Parkway Motorcars Valencia, Inc.

24075 Magic Mountain Pkwy

Valencia, CA 91355-0950

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 24075 Magic Mountain Pkwy 

    Valencia, CA 91355-0950

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the Counties of Los Angeles, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz, Monterey and San Benito. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Parkway Motorcars Valencia, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (866) 819-6006
  • (661) 414-3025
  • (888) 470-7176
X

Additional Web Addresses

  • http://www.goparkway.net
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - New Cars

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

As of July 15, 2015 the BBB is unable to determine that this company has an active Occupational licensed with the California Department of Motor Vehicles, though this type of business would be required to have such a license.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.