BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

BMW of Monrovia

Find a Location

(626) 358-4269View Additional Phone Numbers1425 South Mountain Avenue, MonroviaCA 91016http://www.bmwofmonrovia.comView Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

BMW of Monrovia is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

This business has no rating at this time.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on BMW of Monrovia

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (3)BBB Closure Definitions
06/02/2014Problems with Product / Service
08/07/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was sold a Certified Pre-Owned vehicle with items that were not in certifiable working order.
In November of 2011, I purchased a CPO 2008 BMW X3 that I originally saw online from this dealership. At the time of purchase, my husband and I inquired about rear cup holders and was told by the salesman *** ****** that it did not have rear cup holders or a spare tire. We asked if the vehicle would operate well in cold temperatures since we would be living in Montana. *** informed us that it would and that the fluids were rated for. Old temps. We were also told that the vehicle went through rigorous testing and everything was certified to be in working order and the vehicle was under warranty until 50,000 miles. It had 40,502 miles at the time of purchase. In December of 2011, my husband, my 6 year old son and myself drove the vehicle to Montana where my husband is currently stationed. Within a few weeks of our arrival, it had started to snow and temperatures dropped. We noticed at that time that the rear passenger seat heater was not working properly. We made plans to take the vehicle to Camp BMW in Spokane, WA to have the seat heaters checked out during spring break in April of 2012 before the warranty expired. In April of 2012, Camp BMW looked at the seat heater and determined that the rear seat heater on the passenger side was not plugged in. They connected the wires and determined that the light was operable. They also notified me that all CPO vehicles had a 6 year, 100,000 mile warranty from the in service date. In the summer of 2013, my son turned 8 and no longer required the use of a booster seat. In the winter of 2013 when the weather got cold, we again attempted to use the rear passenger seat heater and while the light would turn on, the seat would not get warm and when he leaned back the light would go off. We took the vehicle back to Camp BMW in March of 2014 and again inquired about the inoperable seat heaters. I also informed the service advisor that I saw online that this vehicle is supposed to have rear cup holders but we were told it didn't have any and when we pull down the arm rest there is a button but nothing happens when we push it. Camp BMW notified us that it did have rear cup holders but that the spring is broke and would need to be replaced. We were also told that while the light on both sides on the rear seats do turn on, the heating element is bad and would need to be replaced. At the time of this discovery, the warranty had already expired. I attempted to contact BMW of Monrovia evaluate these two items should have been fixed before the vehicle was certified. After leaving 2 messages over the course of 2 weeks, I finally spoke to **** who listened to my issues and said someone would call me back. I haven't heard for them since.

Desired Settlement
I would like BMW of Monrovia to pay for the repair of 1) the broken rear cup holder and 2) the rear seat heating element. I would accept payment directly to me or to Camp BMW who will be completing the repairs.

Business Response
BMW of monrovia takes pride in all CPO vehicles we sell.When **** ****** put in this concern we reviewed all our records and requested CAMP BMW to supply us theirs. on 09/27/11, we performed reconditioning and CPO process, which includes the verification and operation of all electronic and mechanical components. upon review of CAMP BMW's records on 04/06/12, the recorded concerns the customer had performed some warranty work and the only complaint the customer had was "that she wants the rear seat detailed." work was performed from CAMP BMW with no other notations or upsells regarding the operation of the seat heaters. According to CAMP BMW the first time the customer had a complaint regarding the seat heaters was on 03/22/14, 2 years after her first visit. Description of work performed from CAMP BMW was they cleaned the seat heaters. due to all records, facts, and time frame, BMW of Monrovia cannot be held responsible for the operation of rear seat heaters especially when the first concern at any dealership was 2 1/2 years after the sale. anything could have happened within the time frame.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have records from CAMP BMW from April of 2012 (5 months after I purchased the vehicle) stating that I came in to complain about the rear seats not working so my first complaint was not 2 years after purchase. This also does not address the broken rear cup holder.

Final Business Response
the records that CAMP BMW has sent us show that there was no concern of in-opt rear seat heaters on 04/06/12. on this date, some warranty work was performed and the only complaint the customer had was (she wants the rear seat detailed), these were the exact words supplied by CAMP BMW. on 03/22/14 the concern of the seat heaters were brought up to CAMP BMW that they turn on then off, and the description of the work performed was that they cleaned seat heaters. in regards to the cup holders, the repair orders we obtained from CAMP BMW show no concerns. if **** ****** has any records that show otherwise please supply them to us so we can address them. thank you!

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
On May 9, 2014, I contacted ***** ******* of Camp BMW regarding Monrovia's assertion that their records show no complaints about the rear seat heaters prior to this year. ***** informed me that all records were sent showing my initial complaints in 2012. He had ******* ****** of Lithia Camp BMW email to ** ****** and myself a copy of the records that show my initial complaint regarding the seat heaters not working back in April of 2012. I will be forwarding my own copies of all complaints via postal mail to BMW of Monrovia today and highlighting the proof of complaints. As far as the rear cup holder, we were told they didn't exist by The salesman *** and had no reason to inquire about them not working until we realized that the center console actually did have them bit that we couldn't get to them.

10/20/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Additional Information

top
Business started: 12/11/1990
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Number of Employees

1

Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Alternate Business Names
BMW Mini Of Monrovia, Mini of Monrovia, SAI Minrovia B, Inc.
Industry Tips
Buying a New Car
Dont Fall Victim to Enticing Auctions Ads for Cars!
Purchasing a Car Online
Spot Delivery Complaints are on the Rise
VIN Cloning Swindles Luxury Car Buyers

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for BMW of Monrovia

1425 South Mountain Avenue

Monrovia, CA 91016

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 1425 South Mountain Avenue 

    Monrovia, CA 91016

  • 1451 South Mountain Avenue 

    Monrovia, CA 91016

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the Counties of Los Angeles, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz, Monterey and San Benito. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*BMW of Monrovia is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (877) 269-9618
  • (877) 269-9620
  • (877) 269-9621
  • (800) 655-4269
  • (877) 278-0090
X

Additional Web Addresses

  • http://www.assaelmini.com
  • http://www.miniofmonrovia.com
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.