BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

BMW of Monrovia

Phone: (626) 358-4269

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service5
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints8

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (8)
08/07/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was sold a Certified Pre-Owned vehicle with items that were not in certifiable working order.
In November of 2011, I purchased a CPO 2008 BMW X3 that I originally saw online from this dealership. At the time of purchase, my husband and I inquired about rear cup holders and was told by the salesman *** ****** that it did not have rear cup holders or a spare tire. We asked if the vehicle would operate well in cold temperatures since we would be living in Montana. *** informed us that it would and that the fluids were rated for. Old temps. We were also told that the vehicle went through rigorous testing and everything was certified to be in working order and the vehicle was under warranty until 50,000 miles. It had 40,502 miles at the time of purchase. In December of 2011, my husband, my 6 year old son and myself drove the vehicle to Montana where my husband is currently stationed. Within a few weeks of our arrival, it had started to snow and temperatures dropped. We noticed at that time that the rear passenger seat heater was not working properly. We made plans to take the vehicle to Camp BMW in Spokane, WA to have the seat heaters checked out during spring break in April of 2012 before the warranty expired. In April of 2012, Camp BMW looked at the seat heater and determined that the rear seat heater on the passenger side was not plugged in. They connected the wires and determined that the light was operable. They also notified me that all CPO vehicles had a 6 year, 100,000 mile warranty from the in service date. In the summer of 2013, my son turned 8 and no longer required the use of a booster seat. In the winter of 2013 when the weather got cold, we again attempted to use the rear passenger seat heater and while the light would turn on, the seat would not get warm and when he leaned back the light would go off. We took the vehicle back to Camp BMW in March of 2014 and again inquired about the inoperable seat heaters. I also informed the service advisor that I saw online that this vehicle is supposed to have rear cup holders but we were told it didn't have any and when we pull down the arm rest there is a button but nothing happens when we push it. Camp BMW notified us that it did have rear cup holders but that the spring is broke and would need to be replaced. We were also told that while the light on both sides on the rear seats do turn on, the heating element is bad and would need to be replaced. At the time of this discovery, the warranty had already expired. I attempted to contact BMW of Monrovia evaluate these two items should have been fixed before the vehicle was certified. After leaving 2 messages over the course of 2 weeks, I finally spoke to **** who listened to my issues and said someone would call me back. I haven't heard for them since.

Desired Settlement
I would like BMW of Monrovia to pay for the repair of 1) the broken rear cup holder and 2) the rear seat heating element. I would accept payment directly to me or to Camp BMW who will be completing the repairs.

Business Response
BMW of monrovia takes pride in all CPO vehicles we sell.When **** ****** put in this concern we reviewed all our records and requested CAMP BMW to supply us theirs. on 09/27/11, we performed reconditioning and CPO process, which includes the verification and operation of all electronic and mechanical components. upon review of CAMP BMW's records on 04/06/12, the recorded concerns the customer had performed some warranty work and the only complaint the customer had was "that she wants the rear seat detailed." work was performed from CAMP BMW with no other notations or upsells regarding the operation of the seat heaters. According to CAMP BMW the first time the customer had a complaint regarding the seat heaters was on 03/22/14, 2 years after her first visit. Description of work performed from CAMP BMW was they cleaned the seat heaters. due to all records, facts, and time frame, BMW of Monrovia cannot be held responsible for the operation of rear seat heaters especially when the first concern at any dealership was 2 1/2 years after the sale. anything could have happened within the time frame.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have records from CAMP BMW from April of 2012 (5 months after I purchased the vehicle) stating that I came in to complain about the rear seats not working so my first complaint was not 2 years after purchase. This also does not address the broken rear cup holder.

Final Business Response
the records that CAMP BMW has sent us show that there was no concern of in-opt rear seat heaters on 04/06/12. on this date, some warranty work was performed and the only complaint the customer had was (she wants the rear seat detailed), these were the exact words supplied by CAMP BMW. on 03/22/14 the concern of the seat heaters were brought up to CAMP BMW that they turn on then off, and the description of the work performed was that they cleaned seat heaters. in regards to the cup holders, the repair orders we obtained from CAMP BMW show no concerns. if **** ****** has any records that show otherwise please supply them to us so we can address them. thank you!

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
On May 9, 2014, I contacted ***** ******* of Camp BMW regarding Monrovia's assertion that their records show no complaints about the rear seat heaters prior to this year. ***** informed me that all records were sent showing my initial complaints in 2012. He had ******* ****** of Lithia Camp BMW email to ** ****** and myself a copy of the records that show my initial complaint regarding the seat heaters not working back in April of 2012. I will be forwarding my own copies of all complaints via postal mail to BMW of Monrovia today and highlighting the proof of complaints. As far as the rear cup holder, we were told they didn't exist by The salesman *** and had no reason to inquire about them not working until we realized that the center console actually did have them bit that we couldn't get to them.

06/02/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased a Certified Used vehicle in Oct. 2013, which it a lemon. I can never get in touch with a manager as no one will call me back.
I purchased a certified pre owned XXXX XXXi. Within a day of driving the vehicle off the lot, the engine service soon light came on and the engine stalled and the engine was shaking. I took the vehicle back to the dealership to give them the opportunity to fix the vehicle. I was promised when I returned the buttons to my drive would be replaced because they didn't work and I was promised when I drove off the lot that when if I brought the vehicle back for service they would replace the buttons. I brought the vehicle in to have the buttons replaced and find out why the engine service soon light came on. I picked up the vehicle a week and a half later. As soon as I drove it off the lot the engine service soon light came on within 20 minutes of getting the vehicle back. I called BMW Monrovia and was asked to bring the vehicle right back for service. A week later I picked up the vehicle and there was white paint on the bumper. I informed the staff and they took my vehicle to be detailed. I then called BMW North America and was told all they could do was apologize and recommend I go to another dealership to have the vehicle serviced. I then went to another dealership because I was having the same issue with my vehicle. I picked up the vehicle when the service was done. I thought the issue was resolved. I was told by that dealer to take the vehicle back to the original dealer. I did and was told to speak with **** ******* after I asked to speak to the general manager of BMW Monrovia. I left countless messages and my call was never returned. I then drove to go see Mr. ****** and he said he would get me a newer vehicle and took pictures of my vehicle for appraisal. He said he would call me back and never did. I just called again for him my car is still doing the same thing. I shouldn't be stuck with a lemon. BMW North America will not help me and neither will BMW Monrovia.

Desired Settlement
32,000 or new vehicle

Business Response
here at BMW of Monrovia, we thorougly check our vehicles to exceed BMW CPO standards. we have acknowledged that this vehicle had a check engine light on after sale and we did all necessary repairs. the second time the client came in was months later with the concern of check engine light but there was no check engine light and records show that there were no check engine lights stored in the computer, therefore we could not verify the concern due to the fact there were no issues present.
in regards to the value of the vehicle, she was supplied with that number and we attempted to do a deal and due to the negative equity we could not pull a deal together. according to all our records, the vehicle is in optimal condition and the client can feel free to bring in the vehicle if she has any issues for us to diagnose. if client believes the vehicle is a lemon she can contact the manufacturer, which she did, and the manufactureer deemed it not to be a lemon. due to the fact the vehicle does not have verifiable recurring issues, BMW NA cannot assist on any goodwill or repurchase of this vehicle.
again we reach out to the client to come in to the dealership for any concerns so we can address them and supply her with the proper service needs she may have. please contact the used car manage for furthur assistance.

06/20/2016Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Dealer has not sent title past 30 days of purchase.
I purchased this vehicle on January 8, 2016 from BMW of Monrovia. I paid the full asking price for the vehicle and I have the receipts of proof of purchase from the dealership. However as of May 20th, I have yet to receive the title to this vehicle which is prohibiting me from properly registering the vehicle in my name. I have contacted the dealership on several occasions and spoken with the department that conducts the registration process for DMV transfers and requests for car titles. I have been told each time that they have submitted the proper paperwork and that they are just waiting for the DMV to send the title. It has been five months, which is past the 30 day time that they have to provide the title to the seller. I feel that I have reached a dead end with the dealer and that they have no intentions of sending the title to me. I am filing this complaint to try to reach a resolution to this problem.

Desired Settlement
I am asking that the BBB contact this business in an effort to assist me with this business to fulfill their legal obligation to provide the purchaser with the title within 30 days.

05/23/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Dealer sold me a vehicle that was previously involved in a car accident that sustained more than $5,000 in damages and failed to disclose to me.
I came to this dealer and purchased a 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee on 02/10/2015. Carfax did not show any accident history. After purchasing the vehicle, almost immediately I started having mechanical problems 5 months later I found out through my auto insurance that my Jeep was involved in a previous accident that resulted in front end and side damages of about or around $7,500! I had the vehicle inspected by 2 different body shops and they both informed me that any dealer would have noticed that this Jeep has had previous damages and repairs. The paint doesn't even match! I called the dealer and spoke to ***, finance manager, **** and the service manager who neither were able to help! This accident was not disclosed to me. I wouldn't have purchased this vehicle at the price that I did. I have left messages for **** to discuss this matter and I have NOT received any responses.

Desired Settlement
I would like the dealership to refund me the difference from what the car is worth with an accident history versus the price they sold it to me for (kbb).

03/23/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I recently returned my car at the end of a three year lease and the company is trying to charge me for excessive damages.
My lease was up on the 6th of February 2015 and my leasing agent arranged for my old car to be returned and my new car to be delivered. There was no indication from my observation of the car, nor any of the photos I took (and have) of the cars condition, nor from the observation of my leasing agent who has been dealing with this company for years, nor the person who retrieved the car that there was any issue with the condition it was being returned in.

The car had no accidents, no body damage, no frame damage and no damage to the interior.

There was minor scratches all which fall under normal wear and tear. The company is alleging $2750 worth of excessive damages. $2100 on the exterior, $600 for excessive wear and tear on the tires, $124 in damages to the interior

There was also a light bulb on (a maintencance light) which they wanted to charge $250 to replace.

The total (including taxes) $3351.17.

The car had only $14,000 miles. It was never driven more than 250 miles from home and was never involved in a collision.

There are no photographs provided of the damage they saw to the vehicle.

I have tried to get an accounting of the specified damages from the dealer. They no longer appraise the car at the dealership but Mini Financial.

They refuse to communicate what is specified as excessive damages. They refused to provide either my leasing agent or myself access to a manager. They refused to let me sell the car to a third party (such as a private party or carmax) which would have netted me between $17000-$18000.

They are now just adament that they want me to pay this ubiquitous amount without cause.

I did not agree to pay this amount prior to them taking the car back and I want assistance in mediating the situation fairly.

Desired Settlement
I believe my lease provided me with normal wear and tear which minor scratches and a light bulb would be covered under. I also think that the value of the car is higher due to the excessively low mileage.

If I am not able to reduce the number they want included in my lease then I would like the option to sell it and pay off the final lease number specified in my lease agreement in lieu of payment.

01/26/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased a new vehicle in august of 2014 I was offered in interest of about 5 % when signed the purchase contract I was told that if I choose a maintenance plan free of charge my interest would drop I saw an amount of over $2000 I asked about the fee and JImmy the finance person said no no fee its free. When I found it was a lie and did get charged I wrote a letter to mini and Bmw ceos and the dealership they accepted it was true and offered to buy it back and tried to sell me a more expensive one I declined I told them I wanted the free warranted like they had said I sent another letter and had me go in with an offer to sign a waiver of liability Ari the finance person had 4 sheets but only handed me 2 sheets to sign. when I declined because he did not want to give me copies of the letter so I can over it with a lawyer He said that I could not prove that they had lied to me and that Jimmy was trying to help me and I do not know how to reciprocate with gratitude. Ari also told me I was recorded at the time of purchase this was never disclosed to me before I went in to sign the documents they were recording me with out telling me basically they invaded my privacy. I have proof of all this. I told them I don't want any more money than what they overcharged me for that's it but I will not sign a waiver of all liability and that's what he was trying to do cheat me again I took copies of those letters with my phone. He clearly said they video recorded me at time of purchase he can clearly see the video and be honest and honor what they had said with out trying to cheat me again.
Product_Or_Service: 2014 mini cooper countryman
Account_Number: XXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement
I want them to honor their word pay me back my money. I am willing to sign a document that clearly states that it is for a refund of a warranty I was charged for. I am not signing a document for a waiver all liabilities now or in the future I want to see all the documents they want me to sign and not a partial documents. I am willing to submit to the BBB all the proof I have and the two documents I was requested to sign documents that are not honest and clearly to the benefit of Mini.

10/20/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
BMW of Monrovia will not let me cancel my extended maintenance warranty on my 2011 BMW X5 35d. It was purchased on 11/9/10 and this warranty will not start till 11/9/14. California Civil code 1794.41 allows me to cancel this at anytime for the prorated amount of the duration of the warranty.During my two visits to BMW of Monrovia first on 9/6/14 I spoke with the receptionist who asked the finance department if I was able to cancel. They said yes and had me fill out the form BMW Ultimate Protection Program Cancellation Form. Once complete I asked what would happen next. They stated on Monday, ******* from the business office would contact me. On 9/8/14 I received no call and I followed up myself. ******* stated that she never received my cancellation form so I went back to BMW of Monrovia to complete another form. Once there ******* stated that I was now NOT allowed to cancel my extended maintenance warranty.I would like the BBB to assist me in canceling the extended maintenance warranty. Any assistance you can provide would be most appreciated.
Product_Or_Service: extended maintanance
Account_Number: deal XXXXX

Desired Settlement
Refund or the $2650 paid for the extended maintenance warranty.

Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.