BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Sonic Electronix

(877) 289-7664View Additional Phone Numbers9631 Topanga Canyon Pl, ChatsworthCA 91311-4118

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


We have always striven to become the one-stop shop for consumers of electronics. When we claim we're "the X-Factor," we mean we will be your facilitator for the best prices without sacrificing quality or service!

BBB Accreditation

Sonic Electronix is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

49 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 12 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues9
Billing / Collection Issues1
Delivery Issues5
Guarantee / Warranty Issues6
Problems with Product / Service28
Total Closed Complaints 49

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Sonic Electronix

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 4 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (49)
07/25/2016Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

ebay auction listed items included and then seller tried to charge me for them.
ebay auction listed the radio came with wiring harness and install came with neither.
when i talked to them they wanted to charge me for them even though the auction clearly stated they were included and free.

Desired Settlement
i want them to send me the harness and kit

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: Steven Reputations
Contact Phone: *******************
Contact Email: **************************
Thank you for bringing this issue to our attention. Vehicle information needs to be provided at the time of purchase for us to be able to include the correct installation accessories. We do offer free installation accessories up to $30. Anything after $30 is subject to payment by the customer. Please contact us at ************ if you'd like to discuss anything further.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

06/27/2016Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

I bought a new item. It went bad just at the end of the seller's guaranty. The seller pushed me off to the manufacturer.
On Tuesday, Feb 16, 2016 I purchased the item (P9742B Single-DIN Bluetooth DVD Car Stereo Receiver w/7" Screen) (Item number XXXXXXXXXXXX) from eBay User ID www-sonicelectronix-com.
I paid $134.97 with PAYPAL on Feb 16, XXXX XX:XX PST.
The item was delivered new in box on Feb 25th 2016 and installed without issue shortly thereafter. The item worked for approximately two months. Upon its failure I contacted the seller as there was a 60 day guaranty. The seller instructed me to contact the manufacturer which I did. I created a user profile through the manufactures' web site:
I then created a support ticket.
Support ticket title: (#XXXXX X months old and defective).
Support ticket body: Installed easily and without issue. Worked well for a couple of months. One day the screen wouldn't turn on. After powering it off and on a few times it came on. Now, the unit powers on and the radio plays but the screen will not turn on. Power cycling makes no difference. I also tried disconnecting the car battery for a time with no results.
Within two hours of creating the support ticket I was inundated with random yet repeating spam emails at the rate of one every two minutes. This continued until I blocked each repeat email. I immediately made a complaint in their online user forum with no results except someone else complaining of the same thing.
Two weeks passed and I received no response to my RMA request. Upon logging into the support ticket I also saw no response at which time I sent a follow up message.
Follow up message: It has now been 2 weeks and I have yet to hear a reply. Please respond to my RMA request!
Two days later I received an email stating the support ticket was closed.
In summary, I bought a new item. It went bad just at the end of the seller's guaranty. The seller pushed me off to the manufacturer. The manufacturer responded by hammering me with spam and fully ignored my RMA request.

Desired Settlement
I would like to be refunded the $134.97 and they can have their junk electronics back (at their expense).

Business Response
We are sorry to hear about this situation. It appears this is an issue with Boss customer service, not with Sonic Electronix. You have requested a refund but it has been far out of our 60 day return period to accept the product for a refund. Our return period is still longer than the industry average. It is unfortunate that your unit is defective but we encourage you to continue to work with Boss Audio to resolve this issue. If you feel it to be necessary please open a BBB complaint with their organization. Thank you.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Sonic Electronix,

As a storefront for BOSS products including Planet Audio, this has been a needlessly horrible customer experience. I hope that you (Sonic) will encourage your product supplier (BOSS) to conduct better business in specific regard to RMA procedures as you continue to advertise guaranties and warranties for the products.

I am hesitantly willing to drop this complaint ONLY because Planet Audio (BOSS) has finally admitted to procedural errors on their part as well as the spam emails, and is seemingly trying to rectify the issues.


**** ******

03/31/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Sent broken product and expect us to pay for their mistakes
Received product 3-15-16 open box to find cracked cone on speaker. Asked to provide a shipping label because this is no way our fault they refuse to answer messages this is the second time we have had problems with this company.

Desired Settlement
Would like company to respond for a shipping label so we can send the item back.

Business Response

As you know, we gladly refunded you for the full amount of that order.

Please close this complaint as a resolution has already come to fruition.

Thank you.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
This complaint has been resolved we thank sonic electronix and BBB for acting diligently on this matter.

04/02/2015Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

I bought the amp a Rockford fosgate p300x2 from sonicelectronix on 4/26/14 . sonic advertising one year warranty but will not honor it.
A short time after I purchased the amp the Rockford logo on the amp bacame discolored so I looked on sonicelectronix website and Rockford and did not see anything saying painting or cosmetic upgrade to my amp would void my warranty. But now that I need product warranty its a problem.

Desired Settlement
I would like a full refund .

Business Response
The amplifier you returned was only reported to be defective; it was not mentioned that you physically modified the chassis. So you're aware, that's considered abuse to the product which does normally void the warranty:

In this instance, I've reached out to my Warranty Team and they've notified Rockford Fosgate and they will accept your product for repair, under the one year warranty. Therefore, we'll be sending this out for servicing and will provide you with updates as they become available.

You're not eligible for a refund as you're outside of our return period, as well, physically modified items aren't permissible. We appreciate your patience and understanding.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Your warranty does not specifically say or define painting or cosmetic change as abuse. You advertised a one year warranty and will not stand behind it.. You twist definitions of terms as you wish. The link you attached here has no mention of a customer needing to mention any modified equipment, in my case the cosmetic modification did not damage the product... I have date stamped pictures of the amp in my car installed with the painted logo from last year working fine. Your lack of definition of your warranty ONLY sonicelectronix is to blame. I was lead to believe I could paint my amps logo after reading your warranty terms. Most car audio company's endorse being different. The warranty you advertised says YOU will repair or replace the product not an outside party.. This feels like I bought a product with a very misleading warranty almost like false advertising. I feel as though I should be sent a full refund or a new amp from sonic electronix.

Final Business Response
Our one year Sonic Electronix warranty mirrors that of the manufacturer's; a repair only coverage.

In normal cases (if you didn't physically alter the product), we would have just replaced the product for new with one in our existing inventory. Although because you tampered with it, we can no longer do so as the vendor would not take back that product. For this reason, we contacted Rockford (manufacturer) directly and they agreed to warranty the product for you. We're now sending it to them on your behalf.

We're honoring the warranty that's advertised on the product, despite the modifications the the chassis. We'll contact you once there's any update to communicate.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

03/12/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

We purchased a blue tooth radio with navigation for our car that is using illegal copy of the software. Need help from supplier/manufacturer
Device maker: Pyle Audio *****************************************
Device purchased from an online distributor,
Order #: XXXXXXXX Ordered On: 11/11/2014
Pyle Model: ******* $210.00
Software made by:
Since we installed it, the software on this unit is buggy and keeps crashing and one of the fix for the bug is to upgrade the software to he latest version as this version is VERY old. After I contacted the distributor and the manufacturer to find a way to upgrade the software, they have been pointing the fingers at each other and we are not getting anywhere. I finally contacted the software developer directly as some of the message suggest that they made the software. They responded with this text and I quote "We regret to inform you that the sent license is not valid.

You seem to have become victim of software piracy as this license is used by a lot of cracked software. It is illicit and we do not provide any support for it.

Important: it is NOT possible to legalise a cracked license as it is generated individually for each device. Also, you CANNOT replace the cracked software version, nor can you purchase the software for these devices only. We do not sell the navigation software for endusers as the software is only available pre-installed on devices supported at"

End Quote.

Now I know why they (distributor and the manufacturer) are not addressing the software issue I complained about from day 1. They are asking me to de-install the hardware (which is working just fine for all other features) and ship it back to them at my expense to have the software upgraded. As this hardware costs over $125 to have it installed, I don't see any reason why I should un-install the hardware go through the expense of having it re-install so they can upgrade the software. According to the support person at, I simply need to remove the SD card from the car radio, insert it in to the computer and upgrade the software, had it been a legally acquired software!!! I would like to ask both the distributor and/or manufacturer to either refund my money or give me credit towards another supported product that I can choose from their site. All of these companies have an US addresses on their website.

Thank you. **** *****, Pittstown, NJ.

Desired Settlement
Either give me the credit for the purchase amount and let me select another "supported product in the USA" or refund my money, total $222.

Business Response
Thank you sharing your experience.

Please note that we are not Pyle, and since we are not the manufacturer we are unable to speak to this not their internal operations. What we can confirm is that this model (regardless of being bought from us or another supplier) come equipped with a pre-installed version of naviextras. We can't speak to what discrepancy you presented; for further information we'd encourage you to reach out to Pyle directly (XXX-XXX-XXXX).

The item you ordered was from back in November of 2014, therefore you're beyond our 60 day return policy to exchange or receive a refund on the unit. If you're experiencing any defects, you're covered under the one year warranty but for upgrades or additions, that's entirely outside of our business.

We appreciate your understanding.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Only one part we disagree here is that it is outside 60 days since we have been trying to resolve this from day 1. Since we were not getting anywhere, I decided to reach out to BBB. I will follow up with BBB of Brooklyn, NY for Pyle Audio as they are located there. I wish BBB was one entity throughout the country.

**** *****, ********** NJ.

Page 1 of 3
10/25/2016Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Refusing an exchange of a defective item again....i paid for aproduct w/ a return policy and warrenty and r refusing all service to me
so after having about 8 total problems in the beginning with them now I'm at this point so they sent me the wrong product which exploded in my car and they refused to replace it block my phone number called me names told me I didn't know what I was doing it cetera finally I got their supplier on the phone and three way call them and they replaced my subwoofer because they sent me the incorrect one which would have been fraught then they sent me new products or stuff that I had replaced for defective items these new items have also been determined to be defective and now they are refusing to do an exchange with me whatsoever they are refusing all service to me and they have called me names hung up on me then put my phone number on a block list everything... This has gotten ridiculous and no matter how many times I try to solve the problem with them they refuse to do it so now I have an amplifier from them that is heating up in my car I have had a car shop go over my work twice I have also called their audio supplier and both determined that it's a defective amplifier and that Sonic Electronics should replace it due to it being defective Sonic Electronix is refusing to do any returns or any kind of service with me and are referring me to the people who made the actual amplifier in the beginning which is not how the warranty and exchange policy works I have a return policy that I got with an item I paid for if I'm not giving this policy it would make it false advertising and fraud all I want is working products that I paid for I spent over $1,000 with this company and have had nothing but problems I also had a product stolen because of them..I'd also like to be allowed to purchase items from them if I wish in the future it is not my fault that they made so many mistakes and are now taking it out on me this is ridiculous

Desired Settlement
I just want the same customer service that every other customer gets and I would like to be able to further shop on here if I wish I would like them to stop refusing service with me

Business Response
We stand behind any product we sell and try our very best to correct any mistake we make. In this situation we sent a wrong subwoofer to ***, and still took it back and corrected the mistake after he had physically damaged it. This was after a lot of vulgar comments that he had made to everyone on the service team, before *** had even mentioned that we sent him the wrong product. Something that would easily have been taken care of without so much harassment from the customer, and therefore forcing us to block his number and refuse service to prevent any further verbal abuse to our agents.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
actually u the staff called me anmes and told me i was a rookie that didnt know how to install a car stereo and kept going on n on about how they r certified etc but the staff member couldnt even tell me what ohms ment! what a joke....anyways the first problem was that every item i orderd on their website said "in stock" when i purchased them...they were not in stock and my order would end up on my doorstep when i was on vacation hours away and would get stolen...this happened with the subwoofer box but ill get to that in a i called sonic and explained that i only orderd the stuff i did when i did bcuz itd get to me on time according to theur websites shipping they expedited my shipping to 3 day shiñping so my stuff wouldnt end up on my doorstep while i wasnt home...then the order came by ups in a 64 pound box that was sevearly damaged...i was completely suprised that a huge electronics company would ship fragile electronics in such a heavy box with no stuffing/packaging...also the subwoofer box was missing from the order! turns put the box wound up on my doorstep when i wasnt home cuz i was on vacation and some1 stole i called sonic to complain about the packaging as well as the missin items...i explained that due to packing issues the item may have been damaged upon delivery but i wouldnt know till i installed them...they sent another sub box and didnt care much about their shipping like to note that every package i recieved throught ups from sonic was sevearly i installed the equipment after having to borrow a box from my buddy bcuz mine was missing...after installing the system of which my friends and i have reciently installed the same exact stereo in 3 other cars in the same month...come to find out that my amplifier is heating up and also was the subwoofer...i checked all my work several times and even took my car to a car audio shop where they checked all my work and everything was after playing the sub (@ 2ohms which brings the amplifier power down to half with my gain turned 1/3 of the way up) it didnt sound right after a few mins so i pulled over and popped my trunk, the subwoofer blew a hole threw the middle of the sub outward and u couñd see 4 or 5 other spots where the pressure was giving way in the cone due to how hot the sub was getting.... i called sonic and they replaced my amplifier but refused to replace my subwoofer bcuz it had physical damage to it...damage that was caused by a faulty amplifier that sent a direct voltage vurrent to the subwoofer which resulted in it melting the cone (words straight from re audios staffs mouth!) thus was also what the car audio shop and i had already determined but instead of sonic replacing the damaged equipment, they proceeded to tell me that im a rookie and a novice at installing car stereos and idk what im doin etc so after being called several names and them looking for every way to get out of paying for my sub i was blocked from having my number call them i calmed down and started going over my order and that when i realized that they sent me the wrong product....againt sonic tried to hang up a few times so i stayed persistant and finally got the sentence out of my mouth b4 they hung up that they sent me the wrong product and if they didnt fix it i was going to sue for false advertizing, fraud and something for 2 days they keñt me on the sude lines telling me that they were trying to contact re audio to make sure that the sub they sent me was actually the sub they sent me! ..ur flippin stickers r all over the product....anyways i called in 2 days later after being fed up at how i spend over $1000 bux with these people and this **** is all i get on the phone with sonic and they keep saying they r waiting for an email so i called re audio on 3 way calling when sonic put me on hold and guess what...they answered right away and all of a sudden the staffs whole dameanor changed and they replaced my sub but only after they refused to several times even though the equipment they sent me was faulty and they admitted it by agreeing to replace the amp! so it made no getting the new equipment and installing it turns out that the amp is still bad and the subs glue around the cone on the flex rubber came undone on half the sub and they arnt covering anymore returns eventhough its still within the 30 day return policy limit! re audio had to replace it for me and even reconed the voicecoil cuz it was burnt from the sub....the only reason sonic replaced my sub the second time was bcuz i threatened theur business with re audio by the stink i was making!...u pay over 1200 hundred bux to a company that sent u faulty stuff and doesnt want to make u happy or fix their mistakes then theyre not an "A" status company...customer service aint hard and there should never b this many problems with any company ever...after all this ...of which ive left alot out ...they r refusing any and all service with me! sonic electronix is a horrible company with workers that dont care about u or the money u spend and they will degrade u if u have any problems with them

Final Business Response
We are willing and would like to provide you any service that you are entitled to but have not received. However, our right as a merchant is to refuse any future business with you due to unpleasant business relations. I personally would like to assist you with any services that you are entitled to but please understand we will not be doing business with you under any circumstances.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
funny because the damage to the sub only occured bcuz u guys sent me the wrong product which was only half the power of the one i actually r u saying u trued to rip me off? cuz it wasnt due to my usage that it got damaged it was due to ur employees lack of attention while filling an order...mayb u guys should get new packing staff as well bcuz every package and i mean EVERY SINGLE PACKAGE U SENT THROUGH UPS...WAS DAMAGED! also when u send me the wrong product which was rated at 750rms and it gets hooked up to an amp that puts out over 2400rms...its gunna blow! common sense so dont blame me for ur mistake again! so when i call u up and tell u that u sent me the wrong product and ur staff calls me a rookie and a novice (which is extremely rude) of course ima get irritated and say something rude back...excuse me for ur lack of proper customer service!.....ON TOP OF THAT TO RESPOND TO UR REFUSAL OF SERVICE TO ANYONE...UR RIGHT UNLESS U ALREADY ACCEPTED THEIR MONEY FOR SERVICES AND PRODUCTS....SINCE U TOOK MY MONEY AND GUARENTEED ME THINGS THAT MEANS WE NOW HAV A LEGAL CONTRACT UNLESS U WANT TO COMMIT FRAUD AS WELL AS FALSE ADVERTIZING....WHICH THIS IS....WHEN U ACCEPT SOMEONES MONEY FOR SOMETHING...U NEED TO GIVE THEM THAT EXACTLY OR GIVE THEM THEIR MONEY BACK...FRAUD AND FALSE ADVERTIZING...WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE EVER...ONLY PART I COULD HAVE MESSED UP ON WAS THE GROUND AND GUESS WHAT...DID A VOLTAGE DROP TEST ON MY GROUND AND IT WAS PERFECT AND THE SHOP CHECKED MY WORK 3 TIMES...U GUYS R AT FAULT ALL AROUND

03/21/2016Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Received incorrect parts for installation.
I placed an order with this company, included in that order were parts necessary for installation. There website matched incorrect parts to my vehicle which resulted in the parts not fitting my car. Spoke with customer service and they informed me that they could not ship a new part unless I paid $75. It was there mistake and I feel they should be held responsiblie

Desired Settlement
I will acquire the part from another retailer I wish that my money be refunded for the purchase price since the parts were incorrectly shipped to me due to their website data being inaccurate.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: Anthony - Rep Coordinator
Contact Phone: X-XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: **********
There are rare occasions such as this where the incorrect installation accessories are loaded. While we do offer standard installation accessories for free, some cars require premium items that can cost as much as $300. If your car requires a premium installation item, we will rebate it, but we can not always cover the full cost.

Per your desired resolution, we will gladly issue you a full refund for the purchased price if the items are returned. We offer a hassle-free 60-day return policy that will result in Store Credit or a Refund; per the buyers choice. In addition, we will gladly provide you with a prepaid shipping label in order to return your items at no cost to you.

Thank you.

03/01/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

the company did not issue a refund in total saying it was used..i returned the product the same afternoon it was received in new condition...
order #XXXXXXXX, i ordered the headphone Grado SR325e that was shipped to me by UPS 1ZWFXXXXXXXXXXXXXX and received the afternoon of monday Feb 1,2016...i tried them on and they were very uncomfortable and didnt even listen to music, i called up Sonic Electronix and told the customer service rep the situation and that i wished to return them, he issued a return authorization number and charged me $7+ for the pre-printed return label, i then put the Grado back in the box, secured it and on that same afternoon went to the UPS drop off location and shipped them back, monday Feb 1,2016 with the tracking number 1Z13RVXXXXXXXXXXXX. Sonic Electronix received the Grado headphones back in Louisville, KY on thursday Feb 4, saturday, Feb 6, 2016, i received a refund on my account for $211.50, i paid $235 for the Grado. i called up customer service and was informed that they received the product in used condition and that was the reason for the deduction in the refund....i told the rep and then a supervisor that i tried the Grado on, they were uncomfortable, called up for the RA number, paid for the return label and went right to the UPS shipping depot and sent them back...after receiving the headphones on the afternoon of Feb 1st, i then shipped them back on Feb 1st within a couple of hours....never listened to any music cause i couldnt tolerate wearing them and therefore they were totally unused..i had returned two headphones to them previously without a problem for the same reason and i personally believe that they didnt like that i returned a third and therefore refused to refund in total...some companies like list on their sites that if more than a certain number of their products are returned they will charge a restocking fee..if Sonic Electronix didnt like that i was returning a third headphone cause i didnt like them, the proper thing to do would have been to tell me that they would charge a restocking fee and not issue a full and complete refund...this they did not do...on their site they say that they can charge a restocking fee or refuse a return for any item not in like new tell me that the Grado headphones were returned in used condition when i did not use them and returned them the same afternoon as the UPS tracking numbers will show is totally ludicrous....i believe that i am entitled to and due a total and complete refund of the headphones..Sonic Electronix should review how their customer service deals with this type of situation and better inform customers exactly what their policy is in reference to how many times they can return products..To lie to me and not issue a total refund because they didnt like my numerous returns is extremely poor customer service and customer relations...I want and expect the balance of my refund for the return of the Grado headphones that were shipped back in new condition...****** **********

Desired Settlement
the resolution i am seeking is an additional refund of $23.50 for the Grado headphones, order #XXXXXXXX, that i returned the same afternoon i received them in new condition....

Business Response
As you stated, our return policy states that items returned in "like-new" condition will not face any restocking fees or penalties. This is true as you have seen with your first two returns. If this most recent purchase had been returned in the same condition as it was received you would have received the full refund amount of $235.00. Unfortunately, when processing your return your item was NOT found to be in "like-new condition" due to the retail packaging being "marked and damaged". In most cases, this would void your return (and warranty) entirely and would result in no refund being issued. Due to us being courteous and placing our customers first, we decided to accept the return and only issue a small 10% restocking fee for this item. If you have any more questions regarding this please contact us directly at 1-877-289-7664 EXT 2625.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I find the response from Sonic Electronix to my complaint totally unacceptable....On the phone i was told that the Grado headphones were not in "like new" condition because they were used....Since I had stated that I tried them on, found them to be very uncomfortable, put them back in the box without listening to music and called Sonic for a return authorization number and dropped them off at a UPS drop off location within a couple of hours in the same afternoon after being received, they now state that it was the retail packaging that was marked and damaged....this is really ludicrous and childish...they go on to say that in most cases this would void the return entirely and result in no refund being issued....the next sentence is almost laughable if this situation wasnt serious to me...they say "due to us being courteous and placing our customers first, we decided to accept the return and only issue a small 10% restocking fee for this item"...Considering that they state that i sent back the retail packaging marked and damaged, why would they want to be courteous to me and only issue a small 10% restocking fee..if i was the owner of a business and someone returned an item with the packaging totally marked and damaged and couldnt resell it, there is no way that i would be courteous and issue any refund at all...I would like to state without hesitation that i do not believe anything Sonic Electronix is saying and that they are not being truthful...I repeat what i stated in my first response that they didnt like that i returned a third headphone for a refund and therefore decided to do a partial refund without any damage being done to the headphone or packaging...The only acceptable resolution to this conflict is a total refund for the unused new condition of the headphone and retail packaging that i returned to them the same afternoon that i had received the item...For them to have fabricated this scenario is outrageous and extremely poor customer relations...****** **********

Final Business Response
We been in business for over 15 years and have proven to be the leader in car audio while maintaining a reliable and ethical base. To re-iterate our last message, we did receive your return with the retail package being marked and damaged. As we knew your original request was for a refund and While your warranty would normally be void, we decided to side with you as a valued customer. Due to this, we accepted the return and issued you a full refund minus a small 10% restocking fee. This restocking fee is clearly stated in our policy and is the norm for items returned in not like-new condition. While this may not be a satisfactory resolution for you this is the best we can do as your item was returned damaged and would normally have resulted in a non-refundable scenario.

02/22/2016Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Product did not include all parts that were advertised.
The stereo was suppose to come with a dash kit, which was included in the price. When I got to the the installer they said that there was no dash kit and would had to charge me $35.00 for it. Sonic is saying I never responded to their email, which I clearly did within an hour after they sent it to me (see below). Now they are sending me a return label. The stereo has already been installed it would be impossible to return it and they know that. The stereo was a christmas present so the box was not opened until the installer opened it the day after Christmas at which time we noticed that the dash kit was not included. I have requested to be reimbursed for the $35.00 cost.
Here is verification that I responded to their email ( have a copy of the actual email):

Re: Please provide vehicle information (make, model, and year) for
accessories Order
*** *** ****** <*************>
Sonic Electronix
Re: Please provide vehicle information (make, model, and year) for accessories Order
Ok, I just added the information in the "notes" 2007
Toyota Tundra Standard
cab 2
Thank you.
Sonic Electronix
Sent: Nov 10, XXXX XX:XX AM
To: *** *** ******
Subject: Please provide vehicle information (make, model, and year) for accessories Order
Dear *** *** ******,
Thank you for your quick payment however, you did not provide your vehicle information (make, model, and
year) with your payment in the notes section. Please send this information within 24 hours so we can
attempt to include a kit and harness with your package. We cannot guarantee that we will be able to include
the accessories because the car information was not included with the payment however, please send it so
we may make every attempt to include them.
If we have shipped your order without the accessories, we can still ship the accessories at a later time, but
there is an additional charge of $5-$10 for shipping them as a separate package (depending on weight and
zip code).
Thank you for your business!
Customer Support

Desired Settlement
reimbursement of the cost I paid for the dash kit $35.00

Business Response
OUr company, via the ebay interface, cannot guarantee the parts to be included if they're not properly referenced with the purchase. In this case, we did NOT have that information tagged in the notes section. Unfortunately your email wasn't received despite your claim; what address did you send it to?

Nonetheless, we're happy to help post-sale to resolve the situation as we expressed. Normally we try to get you those parts after the fact, but since you already acquired those parts elsewhere, our company out of good faith tried alternatively making it up to you.

We offered a full Store Credit for the price you paid retail for those parts, $35, or a $20 partial refund if you preferred money back to the original form of payment. The value of those pieces within our store are far less than what you paid, however we still extended these fair amounts to you.

The offer still stands, but we're not able to extend anything further beyond these amounts (store credit vs. refund). Thank you for your understanding.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
They are lying. They emailed me a request for the information and not only did I respond to their email within hours of the request but I added the information to the "notes" section on ebay, which are still there. I have a copy of my email response. Besides, they verbally acknowledged receipt of my email and admitted that they over looked it. No, I will not accept their offer and feel that is there responsibly to reimburse me what I was out of pocket as a result. They did not full fill their obligation under the sales contact to include the dash kit. That was part of the purchase price and because they neglected to include it, I believe they should pay the full amount of my out of pocket expenses $35.00 as a result. Offering me $20.00 is very poor customer service. I offered to provided them with a copy of my receipt showing that I was charged $35.00 for a new dash kit by the installer.

Final Business Response
Our company made good faith effort to resolve this matter, and somehow the notification for the consumer's second reply was overlooked.

We are happy to cover the customer with our previously mentioned resolution.

Thank you.

02/12/2016Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

Package was not delivered on the date promised by the company at the time of checkout.
I paved an order on on the evening of 1/13/16. I selected 2-day shipping which had a delivery date of 1/15 at the time of checkout. When I got the tracking numbed for the package, it showed the delivery date of 1/18. I contacted Sonic via email to request that the shipping bed upgraded to next day or that the shipping charges of $27 be refunded. They continued to reply with statements that implied they did their part and their was nothing that could be done. I continued to reiterate that I paid for a shipping service that specifically stated the delivery date of 1/15. I paid $27 for 2-Day shipping for this reason. I wanted the package to be delivered by the weekend. They misrepresented the delivery date and revise to take responsibility for this and make it right.

Desired Settlement
I want my shipping charges refunded.

Business Response
We'd be happy to reiterate the terms of use with the UPS 2-day shipping service you selected.

The courier factors business days, which are counted as Monday-Friday of a regular workweek. This excludes, meaning doesn't count, the weekend (both Saturday and Sunday) as well as national holidays. Furthermore if acts of nature arise, those are obviously beyond the couriers control, but a moot point here in this situation, just a hypothetical though.

Thus, when you place an order on 10/13 at 10:22PM, we shipped the order the following business day on 10/14 via UPS #1ZWFXXXXXXXXXXXXXX. It was with the 2-day Air, and shipping out Thursday was delivered Monday, two business days later.

The courier did exactly what was asked based upon the delivery option you selected. We appreciate your communication and understanding.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
As I stated before, the issue is the delivery date that was shown at the time the order was placed. It specifically said 1/15 as the delivery date. I paid for 2 day shipping to get it by the weekend. I don't care what your terms are for 2 day shipping. The fact is I expected it on the 15th as stated at the time of the order.

If it was not going to be delivered on the 15th, why did your site provide me with this date? Also, get your information straight, I did not order it on 10/13, it was 1/13.

I want my shipping charges in the amount of $27 refunded.

Final Business Response
The shipping charge is non-refundable as the service was once again utilized.

What we stated prior was in-fact correct; when looking at normal fulfillment, the Monday delivery is correct. In actuality, your package could have been delivered on Friday had it not been for the inclement weather (so that's actually not a moot point).

Acts of Nature or uncontrollable, but nevertheless your goods did arrive within two business days.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I'm done. The long term affect of this poor service experience will coast you far more than $27.

Your company and your "service" is a joke.

Page 1 of 8

Industry Comparison| Chart

Audio-Visual Equipment - Dealers, Electronic Instruments, Electronic Equipment & Supplies - Dealers, Electric Equipment & Supplies - Retail

Additional Information

Business started: 09/01/1999
Type of Entity


Incorporated: December 2005, CA

Business Management
Principal: Nathaniel Victor (President/CEO)
Number of Employees


Business Category

Audio-Visual Equipment - Dealers, Electronic Instruments, Electronic Equipment & Supplies - Dealers, Electric Equipment & Supplies - Retail

Products & Services

Car Electronics, Headphones, Home Audio, Portables and more!

Refund and Exchange Policy

Service Area

This business's service area is worldwide.

Alternate Business Names
Sonic Electronix, Inc

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Sonic Electronix has received 3.8 out of 5 stars based on 4 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Sonic Electronix

9631 Topanga Canyon Pl

Chatsworth, CA 91311-4118

To | From


1 Locations

  • 9631 Topanga Canyon Pl 

    Chatsworth, CA 91311-4118(877) 289-7664

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the Counties of Los Angeles, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz, Monterey and San Benito. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Sonic Electronix is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Phone Numbers

  • (661) 257-9993
  • (661) 295-3629

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


Industry Tips for Audio-Visual Equipment - Dealers


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.