BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 10/01/1986

Dearden's Furniture

(213) 362-9600View Additional Phone Numbers700 S Main St, Los AngelesCA 90014-2013

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers home furnishings, electronics, appliances, jewelry and fragrances. This company also provides travel agency services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 10/01/1986

BBB has determined that Dearden's Furniture meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Dearden's Furniture's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Dearden's Furniture

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (5)BBB Closure Definitions
08/09/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have purchased 3 pieces of furniture from deardens, aswell as their product protection plan. Less than 2 weeks into he purchase the drawers came apart. I placed a service call to have them inspected and serviced. I am now going onto 35+ days without 2 drawers they have taken for repair. I have made couple of phone calls and spoke with **** ****** Manager of Service. His response was the drawers were shipped to the Manufacturer for replacement. I don't believe that I should have to wait so long to get them replaced,I paid for a service that I am not benefiting from. I would like for you guys to hopefully be able to help with this matter. My deardens acct.# XXXXXXX. I spoke with the assistant store manager today 7/29/2013, but was not fully assured she will take care of this matter.
Product_Or_Service: 2/21/2013
Order_Number: XXXXXXXX
Account_Number: LXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement
I would like to get what I paid for replaced. If possible some kind of credit for not having full use of a product I am paying for.

Business Response
Both chests were replaced with new ones for Mr ****** on August 5, 2013, even before we were made aware of the BBB complaint.
Initially we tried to have the drawers repaired though the manufacturer and and then internally. The repair took to long and the repair was not up to *******'s standards so we decided exchange both dressers in their entirety.
We sincerely apologize to Mr. ****** for the amount of time it took, but we did want to make sure the problem was resolved properly and to his complete satisfaction.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I am partially satisfied with the length of time it took to solve this matter. Only when I advised Mr. ****** (service manager) that I was going to file a complaint with the BBB, is when he said that he will replace the items with new ones. I do not understand why he couldn't do this weeks ago. I would like some kind of discount or credit taken off my purchase.

05/18/2015Guarantee / Warranty Issues
05/11/2015Problems with Product / Service
04/06/2015Billing / Collection Issues
09/24/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Bad customer service, inappropriate behaviour, not able to handle a business matter proffesionaly.
I purchased a notebook tablet on 8/8/13 at *******'s at **** *** **** *** I was told by Mrs. ****** ****** that I had 30 days to return the item.And on 9 /11/13 I went to the store and spoke to a lady by the name of****** she told me to return the next day and she would exchange the tablet for something else. And the next day when I arrived I spoke to a gentleman in the ship/receiving I explained to him what happened and he said I need to speak with a suprvisor. I did speak to a supervisor by the name of ****** ****** I explained to her what I was told the day before by ***** and she said that she could do nothing, but I explained to her what I was promised by ***** the day before. After that she was laughing at me and she said I understand and I said no you do not why do you say that? I told her I felt she was laughing at my situation. So I exited the store and I called the store and Mr******** ******** answered so I asked for the customer services number to file a complaint and he asked me if I was the gentleman with the tablet issue, I said that was not his concern and he said I need to know for what you want it? He then asked me for my ID number in order to provide me with a number and I told him you know you are wrong, If I want customer services number you have no right to ask for my ID number. And he said he could not provide me with the number. So I let him know I was going to report this to customer service and he laughed and said it's good it does not matter and continued laughing.I understand if they would have just said sorry we are unable to exchange he product for something else, but it was really the way the whole situation was handled by these unprofessional sales and management *********** ********* ****** ******* ****** and ****** Torres. I hope someone resolves this matter. Soon! I am stuck with a product that does not function adequately.When the product was sold to me I was told it made wonders I need it for office work something this tablet does not offer. And charger does not charge well tablet does not work well and I am now stuck paying for something defective. ***** had promised I told her I needed a laptop she said I will get it exchanged no matter what bring it in tommorow so I did and nothing was resolved.

Desired Settlement
I want to exchange for a laptop I know I have to pay a different

Business Response
Our service manager spoke with Mr. ********** yesterday. Even though there is nothing wrong with the tablet except that it does not perform functions Mr. ********** wants, and our return policy is 14 days, we offered Mr. ********** to take the tablet back and give him a full refund. Mr. ********** was pleased and said he would buy a television laptop instead.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Appliances - Major - Dealers, Travel Agencies & Bureaus, Jewelers - Retail, Electronic Equipment & Supplies - Dealers, Electric Equipment & Supplies - Retail, Cosmetics & Perfumes - Retail, Audio-Visual Equipment - Dealers, Appliances - Small - Dealers, Furniture - Retail

Additional Information

top
Business started: 01/01/1909
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

BBB records show a license number of 13388 for this company. The expiration date of this license is 02/29/2016.

Type: Bureau of Electronic & Appliance-Electric/App.

Check License Status: http://www2.dca.ca.gov/pls/wllpub/WLLQRYNA$LCEV2.QueryView?P LICENSE NUMBER=13388&P LTE ID=698

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

BBB records show a license number of 3643 for this company. The expiration date of this license is 08/31/2015.

Type: Bureau of Home Furnishings-Furn/Bed Retailer

Check License Status: http://www2.dca.ca.gov/pls/wllpub/WLLQRYNA$LCEV2.QueryView?P LICENSE NUMBER=3643&P LTE ID=871

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

BBB records show a license number of 2036371 for this company. The expiration date of this license is 03/31/2016.

Type: Office of Attorney General /Seller of Travel

Check License Status: https://webapps.doj.ca.gov/sotas/sellerSearch.action?2036371

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: November 1959, CA

Business Management
Principal: Mr. Ronny Bensimon (CEO)
Number of Employees

475

Business Category

Appliances - Major - Dealers, Travel Agencies & Bureaus, Jewelers - Retail, Electronic Equipment & Supplies - Dealers, Electric Equipment & Supplies - Retail, Cosmetics & Perfumes - Retail, Audio-Visual Equipment - Dealers, Appliances - Small - Dealers, Furniture - Retail

Alternate Business Names
Dearden's, Viajes Dearden's

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Dearden's Furniture has received 4.70 out of 5 stars based on 1 Customer Review and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Dearden's Furniture

700 S Main St

Los Angeles, CA 90014-2013

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 700 S Main St 

    Los Angeles, CA 90014-2013

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the Counties of Los Angeles, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz, Monterey and San Benito. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Dearden's Furniture is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (626) 401-2800
  • (818) 779-1199
  • (909) 247-2390
  • (323) 867-1199
  • (323) 588-1238
  • (562) 942-7177
  • (714) 560-1199
  • (909) 942-4590
  • (213) 362-9600
  • (213) 891-0629
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Appliances - Major - Dealers

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.