BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 12/17/1991

Nitza's

Phone: (419) 227-3877Fax: (419) 227-8438300 N Main St, LimaOH 45801-4435

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 12/17/1991

BBB has determined that Nitza's meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Nitza's' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Nitza's

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
10/01/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Services were not properly given and customers were called liars and were told to take business elsewhere.
My Daughter Jessica Briggs took her wedding dress, slip and bra to get altered. When she went in to drop it off. She was not given an estimate for the dress nor was she told that the bra and slip would cost extra.She also was told that they(Nitza's could not seam the dress when done because"their steamer was not that good". She was not given any type for write up for services to be done. Just a claim tag that said "One dress". When my daughter went to pick it up the dress on Aug 23rd and an older clerk (who was not the seamstress just handed my daughter the dress and said her you go. My daughter asked the clerk if she should try the dress on to make sure it was altered correctly. At that time the clerk yelled down to the seamstress if she should try the dress on. She yelled back no its ok. My daughter paid her bill which was $189.00 and left. When she got the dress home the straps were not removed as agreed upon and the bra/slip were not fixed and they still had all the pins in them. ******* called them right back and they told her to bring in the dress and they would fix it and then proceeded to tell her that the bra and slip were not included into the price that she had already paid. That would be all extra. After ******* called me over the weekend and told me what had happened I told her I would call on Monday Aug 26th. I called to inquire about the situtation and right off the get go *** started calling my daughter a liar. I had asked her why she did not finish the job. She said that she forgot about it and that if we brought the dress back she would fix it. I then asked her why there was not any kind of write up or estimate of services. She said they do not do that. I then asked her why she never wanted to check the dress when my daughter was there to make sure the work was done correctly. She proceeded to call my daughter a liar again! *** told us to bring in the dress today Aug 26th by noon she was having a tooth pulled. We took it in and again in the conversation she proceeded to call my daughter a liar again. Then she refused to fix the bra and slip. Told us to take our business elsewhere. We took it across the street they offered to fix the bra and slip and to also are going to fix the dress itself because it was not done correctly. I have worked in customer service for many years. I would never think of treat a customer in that manner. Well they lost my business and will tell others to never do business there. I will not be called a liar nor will I stand by and let someone else call my daughter one!

Desired Settlement
I feel the work that was done was not worth $189.00 and what was done has to be fixed by another business. I feel that some kind of refund should be given for the fact that the entire job was not finished and for the treatment that my daughter was given!

Business Response


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
There is nothing that is confusing about poor customer service. My Daughter ******* **** chose to go to Nitza's and I paid for the services(I gave my daughter the money to have this done) therefore I have a say in what had happened and services received! ******* felt she did not need me to be with her at the time of the first appointment (I now wish I had been there since we both are continued to be called liars) that is why I was not present at the that time.
Yes ******* went to Nitza's at the beginnning of August. She did not "think" she wanted the straps removed she "wanted" them removed. She did not like them from the time she tried the dress on (If this would have been written on a work order *** would have remembered this and not forgot to remove them)and if the dress was properly altered there would have been no need for ******* to be tugging at her dress so she would not have to have kept them! Yes she was given a "standard" ticket and yes I requested to see the other end of it because I wanted to see what was written down as to the services being done. The only thing written on it was gown, slip and bra.(Once again if there was a work order written up the straps would have been removed like requested and the bra and slip would have gotten done)The customer should not have to ask what the price is (Again if a work order was wriiten up then the price would have been written on it along with what was to be done and then the customer would have known that each item had a seperate price and that the price would be approx due to the removal and replacment of beading)this is called CUSTOMER SERVICE! If doing this for 30yrs then *** would know she needs to write up an order for services being done and the price it is evident that she cannot always remember everything(I would not want to rely on my memory). This not only helps the business protect itself and lets the customer know exactly what is going to be done and the approx price. I have never heard of any business that provides a service not doing this!
I never said "threw" I said the older clerk handed my Daughter her dress. If *** was using an intercom system there would have been no need for her to answer so that both could hear, the intercom would have been sufficient enough. Once again ******* did not feel that anyone needed to go with her to pick up her dress. ******* was at the courthouse across the street getting her marriage license and thought she could save herself a trip. ******* did not feel she needed to call me to take off work to go pick up the dress.
I do not know anyone that can snap a bra with that many hooks by themself and again that is what the staff at Nitza's is there for it is called CUSTOMER SERVICE! ******* did not need to have her shoes she had flats to wear so there was no need for shoes to be there. If *** would have took the time needed to have ******* try it on that day *** would have known that she forgot to finish the job that she was hired to do and ALL of this would have been avoided! If *** "normally does not work on these items"(bra and slip)then why would you offer to do them?
I learned of all this over the weekend of the 24th. ******* said that she was uncomfortable dealing with *** so I told ******* that I would call her on Monday morning the 26th. I did call and asked for the seamstress and *** got on the phone. Once I said who I was and why I was calling *** became defensive and starting saying everything that I was saying was a lie and that ******* was not telling the truth. At that point I became upset and yes I raised my voice as did ***! I was told by *** that she had to go to the dentist at noon so if we wanted anything done we had to get there before then. Once she said that I hung up abruptly and got my daughter ******* on the phone and told her we had to get there by noon. I took off work so that I could be there. When we walked in *** started with a nasty attitude right off the bat. She asked what we wanted fixed I told her that we wanted the straps removed as requested from the beginning and that the bra and slip be finish those were not even started. I then questioned her on why she does not have customers try on something that has been altered by her to make sure that it is properly altered.(especailly something of this size and work needed). I was told she does not do that and I replied I have never heard of any seamstress sending someone home and have them check to make sure their gown was done correctly. (Once again if she had done this in the first place she would have noticed she did not complete her job and everything would have been avoided) I then asked to see the write up work order and was shown the item described above. I then asked where the pricing was listed in the store or on some kind of hand out. I was told it was not their policy. After being ask several times exactly what we wanted done I was starting to get frustrated again! We wanted done what was supposed to be done when the job was taken on in the beginning of August. At that point *** put her hand on *******'s arm and talked down to her like she was a child. *** talked to ******* like a child "now tell your Mother the truth" she did tell me the truth and I was seeing it with my own eyes. This really frustrated me! ******* is a 27yr old lady and has no reason to lie! If it was *** and her Daughter standing there two weeks before her daughters wedding and they were being treated the way we were *** would have been just as upset as we were!
While *** was helping ******* get in her dress ******* poked her finger on one of the pins that was still in the bra. I expressed my concern that she was going to get blood on her dress and asked for a tissue and *** snapped at me and said that ******* would not get blood on it Well guess what she did! After I asked to pay for the bra and slip so I could go back to work that is when we were asked to take our business elsewhere she (***) was not interested in finishing what she was hired to do. At that point I no longer wanted them to have my business so I was more than welcome to take it elsewhere. At that point *** asked Jessica if everything was ok she said yes and that she just wanted to get out of there.
We took *******'s gown, bra and slip straight across the street to Tailor's on Main. We explained to the four seamtress's in there our situation. They were more than welcome to help *******. They finished the bra and slip plus they
redid the bustel the correct way to flatter ******* in her gown. They even opened the seam and removed the straps the correct way not just cutting them off at the edge of the dress. The wonderful staff worked on getting the blood out of *******'s gown and steamed it. All for a fraction of what I paid to just have her gown hemmed.
No I am not "mad at the world" I am a very happy person! What I do not like is being called a liar or watching my children being treated rudely and called a lair. So this is why I went to the BBB. I was a paying customer and was not statisfied with the treatment and the services renered by Nitza's. I know that Nitza's will not reimburse any monies and thats fine. I will tell people to never shop there or use their alteration services. I will always reccomend the business across the street.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Womens Apparel - Retail, Alterations - Clothing

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 01/01/1991Business started: 01/01/1988New Owner Date: 05/15/1995
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: May 1995, OH

Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Karen Barrington (Owner)Customer Contact: Ms. Elizabeth Leis (Owner)
Number of Employees

5

Business Category

Womens Apparel - Retail, Alterations - Clothing

Products & Services

This company offers womens retail clothing, alterations, and tailoring.

Alternate Business Names
Karen & Liz Inc.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Nitza's

300 N Main St

Lima, OH 45801-4435

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 300 N Main St 

    Lima, OH 45801-4435(419) 227-3877

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Northwest and West Central Ohio and Southeast Michigan. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Nitza's is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews in Northwest Ohio and Southeast Michigan on 7/1/2012, in West Central Ohio on 1/1/2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Womens Apparel - Retail

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.