BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 01/01/1970

Quality Electrical & Mechanical, Inc.

Phone: (419) 229-9781Fax: (419) 224-5280View Additional Phone Numbers1190 E. Kibby St., LimaOH 45804-1650

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 01/01/1970

BBB has determined that Quality Electrical & Mechanical, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Quality Electrical & Mechanical, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Quality Electrical & Mechanical, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
08/10/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Quality Mechinical Service damaged my contrete, grass and siding while performing warrenty work on the motor of my Generac standby generator.
Quality Mechanical Service (QMS) was contacted to complete warrenty work on an engine failure of a Generac home backup generator in January 2015. In the process of performing the work their service technician made the decision to use my children's snow sled to transport the old engine from the generator location to the service van. He proceeded to dump the used oil in my yard that killed a patch of grass and then placed the oil soaked sled back on my concrete coverd porch. 7 to 10 days went by until we noticed the oil in the sled had spilled onto the concrete and created a oil stain. I contaced QMS the next day to discuss the issue and sent them pictures of the mess. QMS sent their technician to clean the oil stain and in the process ruined to pieces of vinyl siding with the aggressive cleaing chemical. Over the next couple of months and many phone calls and text messages they periodically came to my house to try to clean up oil spot. After failing to clean oil stain to my satisfaction and the unwillingness to continue to correct the situation, I was asked by QMS to get quotes from professional concrete cleaning and resufacing companies. I then investing more of my personal time to contact companies to review the project and provide me quotes to correct the situation. I sent the quote to QMS and after a couple of days and follow up text the informed me that my claim was being turned over to their insurance company. Again a number of days went by and I was contacted by another contractor per request of the QMS insurance company. This 3rd party contrator came to my house for some apparent reason and looked at the stain. Three weeks have gone by and I have call the QMS insurance company multiple time and no one **** return my call. This issue has been going on for over 6 months and I am looking for resolution for the damage that QMS left at my house and their unwillingless to correct the situation in a timely manner.

Desired Settlement
I am looking for monetary reimbursement for the damages and time I have invested in trying to resolve this issue.

Business Response
The decision was made to use the sled due to the weather conditions at that time, weight of the engine, and the techs desire to preform the work. The QMS staff felt that they would be able to clean the stain to Mr.***** satisfaction due to the age/condition of the total porch area. Our insurance co states that they have contacted Mr.***** trying to remedy the situation and were denied. They state they **** try again. They have been informed now of the apparent siding damage also. There is no monetary re-imbursememt available as Mr.***** has never been billed or paid for any of this work.

07/28/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

I hired Quality Mechanical to fix 1008 W. Market Street, Lima, Ohio XXXXX, rental's bathroom faucets. My first contact with them was 3/18/13. ***** came out on 3/19/13 to assess the situation. I told him that we wanted antique parts to match the old ones. (This shower/tub has four handles to cover both the shower and the bathtub.) ***** said he would have to find and order those parts. Finally on 7/8/13, he returned to finish the job. Stating that he had to rebuild the parts. (I did request a part invoice which was never given to me), I didn't feel that the parts were worth $179 a piece. April 29, 2014 the tenant contacted my office and told us that one of the faucets had broken. Called Quality Mechanical and they sent someone out that day. When the guy showed up he told us that the whole thing need to be replaced and that it was all old. When I explained to him that it had been "fixed" last year he said well whoever did it didn't do it right. I laughed and said it was your business. He then fixed the faucet. On April 30, 2014, the renter again contacted us that on April 29th when she went to take a shower the same faucet that was "fixed broke right off again. I contacted the company once again and of course they came out and said that they needed to find the parts again. Of course, they billed us for their mistake, we will not pay. To this very day, the faucet has yet to be fixed.

Desired Settlement
We would like it fixed properly without anymore problems, ASAP. This tenant has been through too much with a botched job for over a year now. This is ridiculous. Also would like an itemized bill for the handles that they charged us $179 for. These parts are not very good quality and are made in Taiwan (really for that price).

Business Response
Company will call the consumer and make arrangements for any needed repairs.

03/22/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Quality Mechanical did not honor their written contract to completely install a generator at our residence.
We entered into a contract for the company to install a generator at our residence on 10/30/12. At this time, I made an initial payment of $4000 to the sales rep. The contract stated we were to have a propane tank set with a regulator before installation. We did so on 11/27/12. Two employees of the company came out and partially installed the generator on 12/28/12. They then told us they did not bring equipment to run the gas line to the generator and they would have to talk to their supervisor. Nothing was said about running a gas line from the tank to the generator when we signed the contract and nothing was written in the contract stating we were to run a gas line to a nonexistent generator. The next day I received a call saying this was not part of the agreement. I disagreed, but was told that we would have to have a gas line run before installation could be completed. We owe $3300 when the installation is complete. We have not located anyone to trench and install the gas line at this time and yet the company has billed us for the remaining balance of the service which has not been completed. We also feel that we should have been made aware that running the gas line to the generator was our responsibility before signing the contract.

Desired Settlement
We would like the installation completed and the generator running before we pay the balance of what we owe. If the company will not run the gas line to the generator, which I was told by the service men they have the ability to do, I would expect that expense to be subtracted from the balance owed when I hire someone else. If the company does not want to finish the job, they can forfeit the $3300 payment I owe and I will find someone else to finish installation.

Business' Initial Response
Co called. Co would like to take care of this. They have called the consumer 3 times and the consumer has not returned their calls. They will continue trying to reach the consumer to make arrangements.

Consumer's Final Response
Generator still not completely installed. They made us sign an agreement to pay an additional $600. We felt like we pretty much had no choice if we wanted it running. We definitely are not satisfied with the service they have provided or more accurately not provided. We signed the initial agreement in October of 2012 and as of February 2013 the issue is still not resolved. We would not recommend this company to anyone looking to install a generator.

Business' Final Response
Not sure why last comments on Feb 25th, as we finished install on Feb. 20th and the consumer paid in full. Also, as to the time frame of Oct to Feb. Unfortunately Generac fell way behind in production due to weather storms across the country and it was taking several weeks to get product. This is something we have no control over and then of course the discrepency in the job attributed to the time frame. Quality Mechanical Services does apologize for the apparent confusion and misundersnding in the process of this generator installation and does appeciate the opportunity to complete the job and hopes the consumer does enjoy the future operation of their generator.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Heating & Air Conditioning, Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair, Air Conditioning Repair, Ventilating Contractors, Plumbers, Heating Contractors, Electricians, Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 01/01/1970Business started: 01/01/1945New Owner Date: 08/29/1997
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

BBB records show a license number of 17432 for this company. The expiration date of this license is 03/31/2016.

Type of Entity


Incorporated: August 1997, OH

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Robert L. Hare, Jr. (Pres./Gen. Mgr.)Mr. Mike Erman (Vice Pres.)Mr. Bob Hare (Owner)Mr. William J. Mullen Ms. April Mullen (Secretary/Treas)
Number of Employees


Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning, Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair, Air Conditioning Repair, Ventilating Contractors, Plumbers, Heating Contractors, Electricians, Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

Products & Services

This company offers heating and air conditioning installation, plumbing, and electrical service.

Alternate Business Names
Quality Mechanical Services

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Quality Electrical & Mechanical, Inc.

1190 E. Kibby St.

Lima, OH 45804-1650

To | From


1 Locations

  • 1190 E. Kibby St. 

    Lima, OH 45804-1650(419) 229-9781
    (419) 294-3591

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Northwest and West Central Ohio and Southeast Michigan. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Quality Electrical & Mechanical, Inc. is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Phone Numbers

  • (419) 294-3591

Additional Fax Numbers

  • (419) 294-5322

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews in Northwest Ohio and Southeast Michigan on 7/1/2012, in West Central Ohio on 1/1/2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.


Industry Tips for Heating & Air Conditioning


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.