BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 02/14/2008

Rick's Auto Sales, Inc.

Phone: (419) 673-1717Fax: (419) 673-1266

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints3

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
12/22/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Sold me a vehicle and never disclosed that it had problems or that it had been in several accidents.


2012 Hino 268 Flatbed
Purchase date was 12/11/15
Pick up date was 12/12/15
Problem date 12/12/15
Sales person Richard W*******
I gave $1,000 in a credit card and a cashier's check for $9,000 and have a loan for $42,000 with *********************

Desired Settlement
Either refund , replace or repair the vehicle that it won't be a liability for me in the future.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: Rick W******* Pres./Owner
Contact Phone: 419-673-1717
Contact Email: ***********************
This customer was very demanding and everything was rush rush. We, as well as the lender, bent over backwards to accommodate him. His loan approved at 4 pm Friday, he refused to buy the truck unless he could have it Saturday, we had truck at the airport for him Saturday at 1 pm (after his 10 am flight was cancelled and driver waited!) He visually and thoroughly inspected and operated the truck at the airport before taking ownership and had NO complaints or problems. And we knew of no problems with the truck, we had used it many times and we still do not know of any! None or any problems have ever been shown or proven to us, either by pictures or an estimate or a bill! ALL USED COMMERCIAL TRUCKS ARE SOLD AS IS, as was pointed out to him several times and as he signed for on all paperwork. He drove the truck 1300 miles back home and THEN and only then was there a problem. He had all day Saturday, all day Sunday to notify me or anyone here that there was ANY sort of problem, but no calls or complaints until 1300 miles and 2 days later,, then demanded money or come get your truck! He said he wanted some money back or we could come and pick up the truck! and directed the lender not to fund us. We have a very close relationship with the lender, TCF, and they nor us have ever dealt with such a customer! He complained of something being 'bent' but had no pics or estimates to repair. When and where anything got bent, if in fact it was?? is still to be shown or proven. After relentless conversations with him, I offered him a $2000 refund to try and resolve the issue and keep from paying $3500 to a trucking company to transport the truck back to me. After one week and the lender as well as myself trying to negotiate with this person, we decided to have a transport company pick up the truck and have it transported back to us in Ohio at which time I would make a 100% refund if the truck was returned in the same condition as when it left. After less than an hour and seeing that we had 'called his bluff', and were picking up the truck, he had his wife call and said he had changed his mind, they would in fact keep the truck if I would reduce the price $2000. So the lender and myself re-done all the paperwork, I reduced the price $2000 and the lender funded us. So it cost me $2000 just to deal with this person that in my opinion is a scam artist! I had the options of either $3500 to transport the truck back to Ohio from Miami, Florida or reduce the price $2,000. This person will NEVER do business with us again, which is by MY choice, not his! Over 180 commercial trucks sold this year alone, 21 years of integrity, honesty and very satisfied customers can't be tarnished by one scammer!

12/22/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
TO WHOM THIS MAY CONCERN, WE BOUGHT A **** ***** ******** BACK IN JULY 2013 , WE HAD TO PUT BREAKS ON THIS CAR RIGHT AFTER WE GOT IT, THEY WAS GOING TO CHARGE US AROUND 200.00 TO DO THAT , SO FAR IN AUG 2014 OUR TRANSMISSION WAS ACTING UP ,AND WE WANTED TO TRADE IT BACK IN ON SOMETHING ELSE THEY REFUSE US TRADE IN, SO WE HAD TO PUT IN CLOSE TO $4000.00 IN A NEW TRANSMISSION IN THIS CAR , A TIMING CHAIN, A WATER PUMP IN THIS CAR.THEY DID NOT WANT TO TAKE THE CAR BACK, AND WE PAID 17.000 FOR THIS CAR.PLUS PUTTING IN CLOSE TO $4000.00 IN THIS TRANSMISSION. I WENT OUT TO TALK TO *** ******** AND **** ******** ,THE GUY WHO OWNS THE PLACE ABOUT TRADING THIS CAR BACK IN ON A EVEN TRADE , **** FLAT OUT REFUSE TO SAID HE WOULD LOSE MONEY . WE HAVE LOST ALOT OF MONEY ON THIS CAR AND WE HAVE NOT HAD IT THIS LONG !THEY PUT THE TRANSMISSION IN AND TOLD US THAT GM MOTORS WOULD NOT PAY FOR IT . COME TO FIND OUT ** ****** OUT OF ******** WOULD HAD PAID FOR IT IF WE TOOK THE CAR TO A ** ********** WE WERE TOLD THAT THEY WOULD NOT . SO WE DID NOT GET TO TAKE A VACATION THIS YEAR . WE WERE SCARED TO TAKE THIS CAR OUT OF TOWN TOO FAR ,WITH ALL THE THINGS THAT WENT WRONG WITH IT .
Product_Or_Service: ****** TRANSMISSION
Order_Number: XXXXXXJT
Account_Number: XXXXX

Desired Settlement
WE WOULD LIKE FOR HIM TO GIVE US BACK THE MONEY ON THE TRANSMISSION.AND WE WOULD LIKE FOR HIM TO A EVERY CAR AND TRUCK THAT HE HAS OUT THERE TO HAVE A CAR FAX DONE ON THE DAY THAT PEOPLE ARE LOOKING FOR A CAR OR TRUCK BEFORE THEY BUY AND DRIVE IT OFF THE LOT.

Business Response
In reference to the above complaint, I will be more than glad to respond. We have been in business for over 20 years and although these types of complaints are most very rare and close to non-existent, we are more than glad to respond. We have tried numerous times to satisfy Mr. ****** and it is apparent that he can not nor will not be satisfied. I will attach and enclose documentation for all findings.
Mr. ****** purchased the said vehicle ********** on 7/17/2013. Mr. ****** was explained in full that the vehicle had remaining time left on the factory warranty, the manufacturer's warranty from *** as we had verified it through the ** dealer. A copy of the buyer's guide states such in writing and Mr. ****** was given a copy of the buyer's guide and signed this original that is in our file. The salesman also went through the Autocheck report with the customer at the time of purchase. One reason this is done is to confirm the in-service date, or the date the factory warranty starts. A copy of the original Autocheck report (dated 1/16/13) remains in our file as well. It clearly shows the vehicle warranty start date was 12/10/08 and therefore it would end on 12/10/13. We had been a Carfax dealer for many years, since Carfax started (first dealer in ****** County), but switched to Autocheck as we get the same information and Autocheck is much cheaper. Also enclosed is a copy of our warranty which is 30 days or 3000 miles, 50/50, if for any reason the manufacturer would not cover a warrantied part. It clearly states in print as well what it does and does not cover. As it clearly reads .... BRAKES ARE NOT COVERED IF Mr. ****** had brakes put on his vehicle, it was not done here, as there is no record of such. IF Mr. ****** took his vehicle elsewhere for the brakes I am sure he spent more than we would have charged, because any customer that purchases a vehicle here gets a discount on labor and parts. But even IF he DID put brakes on the vehicle, that was NOT a warrantied part as he well knew and he had signed documentation stating such. Normal wear and tear on any vehicle, new or used" brakes DO wear! Our 'brake specials' are $89.95 per axle, the cheapest in Hardin and all surrounding counties, so when he states we were going to charge him $200, that is probably close to correct for ALL brakes. But it certainly was NOT right after he got it!
Apparently Mr. ****** was satisfied, as he returned to us a couple months later and purchased another vehicle on 9/18/13. Again, another reason that I and every employee here has tried to satisfy Mr. ******, as he is a local customer that has given us his business and we in return value that and had hoped to maintain that business relationship. A copy of that bill of sale is enclosed also.
Mr. ****** then returned ONE YEAR later!, (and a copy of that bill is enclosed as well), with a transmission problem. We called and verified through ******* ** in ******** our parts vendor, that the vehicle did NOT have any remaining warranty and that GM would NOT in fact cover the transmission under any circumstance. The warranty expired in December of the previous year, 8 months
prior and we were told and assured there was no way ** would cover it. We told Mr. ****** this and we also gave him an estimate and quote to repair the vehicle with either a used transmission for a lot less money but only a 30-day warranty or a new ****** transmission with a 3 year warranty. He chose the latter. During this same time, the salesman, *** ******** spoke with Mr. ****** and told him to just trade the vehicle in BEFORE he spent money on it. *** had talked to me and explained to Mr. ****** that we would trade it back in, we would put the used transmission in it and the take it to an auction. AT NO TIME has Mr. ****** EVER been told we would not take his vehicle back in trade. BUT! Mr. ****** wanted the same amount trade in for the vehicle as he had paid for it over a year before! And we can not do that nor is any other dealer going to do that. We would be glad to trade it in at it's current value and discount another vehicle to him since he had purchased 2 vehicles prior and was having problems. He decided not to trade it in on his own, not by our likings! He then proceeded to go to his credit union and borrow the money for the transmission repair and told our service department to proceed.
THEN!!! A few weeks later, he came back in and again, wanted to trade the vehicle in,,, after we had already explained that once he spent the $3X-XXXX on a NEW transmission that he was only digging a deeper hole and would make matters only worse as far as value vs. balance owed. *** (salesman) contacted the credit union and the credit union said there was no way he could trade the vehicle in with the balance owed on it versus the value! Exactly what we had told him BEFORE he had the transmission replaced!
Then Mr. ****** returned on 11/4/14 for a check engine light and also complaining of transmission not shifting correctly. The vehicle was driven numerous times, hooked up to a ** Tech 2 scan tool and NO codes or NO slippage was ever detected nor any in history. We could not get the vehicle to duplicate the problem while here. That seemed to upset him, but as I explained to him later on, the transmission has a 3 year warranty and we would be more than glad to replace it IF THERE WAS SOMETHING WRONG, as ****** would be paying us the labor and not cost him a dime. The check engine light (bill enclosed), was timing chain, tensioner, several things needed. He paid the diagnosis bill and told the servie writer he would like to talk to me in person. I was out of the office, but when I returned, Mr. ****** did call and I asked him to come in, sit down and let's try to get this problem remedied.
I explained to him that if he wanted the car fixed I would have the estimate to repair adjusted to bare cost, parts and labor" absolutely at cost and that was as fair as I knew to be. He then stated to me he had taken the car elsewhere, to ******** ****** in ****** for the repair. His 'story' was that ******** seemed to think they could get ** to cover the repair. My response to him was #1, I did not believe that would happen, #2 if in fact ** did not cover it my offer still stood to repair at cost and #3 in my opinion he was being given a sales pitch, a ** story as I had never seen ** cover anything out of warranty by over a year. But if in fact he DID get I covered, that would be great! And I hoped that they DID in fact cover it for him. We have never heard back from Mr. ****** in regards as to if ** did or did not cover the repair, and it's none of my business.
Also during this conversation he complained that we could not find anything wrong with the transmission. I explained that factory ** scan tools don't lie, and if we can not provide proof to jasper that there was a problem, there was no way they would just simply send him a new transmission and simply pay us the labor to install it. He said the car would 'roll backwards' sometimes when on a hill while in gear!! As I told him, I have driven hundreds and hundreds of cars that do that, nothing abnormal! But I can not get you a new transmission just because you want one!
Next part of the conversation was his family missed a vacation this past summer, scared to drive the car!! I asked if he had ever considered joining *** or any auto club, as they would get the car home if a problem and they could also rent a car if that serious of a matter arose. But to miss a vacation and blame it on this vehicle scenario is ludicrous! It is ok to put thousands of miles on the car driving it locally" but
it won't make it thousands of miles in one trip or in each direction?? With that said, as I explained also" you just spent thousands on the car,,, it was running and operating fine, so why would the 'fear' of breaking down draw out to such an extreme rationale?? He then asked AGAIN if I would take the car in on trade. I told him CLEARLY we would be more than glad to take the vehicle in on trade. He said "well, *** wouldn't take it in on trade before I fixed it", so at that point I called *** in the office to join the conversation and to get the story straight while both parties were face to face as I knew what the previous scenario consisted of! Mr. ****** apparently though he would shift blame off on the salesman and it back-fired because *** clearly told the entire story right in front of Mr. ****** and then apparently his mind and memory was a little more clear??
So with that part of the story over he again asked if we would take it in on trade and again I replied more than happy to! But Mr. ****** insisted he be given back the FULL AMOUNT of what he had paid for the vehicle a year and a half ago!!!. I responded that I would be more than glad to take it in on trade, AT IT'S CURRENT VALUE, certainly not what he paid for it a year and a half earlier, as I would be as fair as I could be, but I certainly was not going to lose thousands of dollars to satisfy him.
So, my conclusion is that Mr. ****** is one of those customers that is not nor can not be satisfied, one of those customers that buys a car but thinks it is somebody else's responsibility to maintain and service it for him?? At some point and time, especially after a year to year and a half, does Mr. ****** really truly believe somebody else, the selling dealer, should be responsible for HIS vehicle? That HE bought? With a 30 DAY warranty, not an 18 month warranty?? Does he really believe that GM should pay for his repairs after it is out of warranty? If they did, more power to him and glad to see it got done! Some people have a hard time coming to the realization I guess, that 'I OWN THIS CAR, IT IS MY RESPONSIBILITY FROM HERE ON TO MAINTAIN IT', AND NOBODY OWES ME ANYTHING OR NOBODY IS RESPONSIBLE FOR MY BILLS EXCEPT ME!'

If any further information is needed, feel free to contact me toll free at XXX-XXX-XXXX.

Thank you,
**** ********, Pres. / Owner


05/06/2014Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - Used Cars, Recreational Vehicles - Equipment, Parts, Supplies

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.