BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/01/2010

The Medical Institute of Kentucky

Find a Location

Phone: (859) 368-0575Fax: (859) 368-05812720 Old Rosebud Rd Ste 230, LexingtonKY 40509-8006 Send email to The Medical Institute of Kentucky

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/01/2010

BBB has determined that The Medical Institute of Kentucky meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised The Medical Institute of Kentucky's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on The Medical Institute of Kentucky

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
05/26/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Incomplete training and requirement of materials that were not used.
Three of the classes were cancelled due to instructor being absent, they were not made up at a later date which conflicted with the requirements of NHA to become certified. When the instructor was asked about make up days she avoided the question. We were required to have a binder (cost of $10), a lab coat (cost $50), a watch with a second hand ($30), and a name badge ($7, never received and when asked about a refund was told I would get it later but I never did) - None of these items were ever used. We were never taught how to perform venipuncture using a butterfly and the instructor stated she hated using them. I feel that was a big issue because most of the jobs I am finding require the use of butterflies (the elderly). We were given homework each night but it was never checked, yet I received 100% for it. I was given a study guide to prepare for the NHA exam and there were things on there that were never discussed in class and was not in the books. I had to google the answers. I commented to the instructor when she gave me the study guide that some of the items were never discussed in class and she commented "thats why I'm giving you the study guide". A resume was required and I turned one in but never got any feedback on it. It would have been nice to know if I could somehow improve it. Class time was spent in the lab with the instructor at her desk on Facebook (I went to her desk several times to ask questions and saw Facebook on her computer). I certainly don't feel like I got my moneys worth and do not feel prepared to start performing venipunctures or EKG's. I am continuing my education on my own from home to ensure that I can give quality care to any patients I may encounter.

Desired Settlement
This school is not run professionally or adequately. There are up to 98,000 unnecessary medical deaths in the US each year. I think a lot of this stems from poor education and instruction. I want to see this school run better and produce qualified professionals who are prepared to work in the medical field. I am asking for a full refund because I am basically self-taught. Most of my grades came from learning on my own through google and various medical web sites and friends already in the medical field.

Business Response
The complainant filed this complaint on 4/2/14, she came in to the school on 4/3/14 for an exit interview and voiced her complaints to us for the first time. She was immediately introduced to the new instructor and scheduled additional skills lab time to practice on the skills she felt uncomfortable with. She came in on 4/8/14 with a family member to practice skills. She also spoke with the supervisor with a desire to take additional courses our school offers if she can get the financial end of it worked out. We feel this issue has already been resolved she just entered the complaint prematurely.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This issue has not been resolved. I debated on taking another class because there was a new instructor and after working with her on a skill I felt she was more qualified than the old instructor. This does not resolve my original complaint. I still feel I did not get what I paid for and had to find answers for the class on my own while the instructor played on Facebook. I had to come back to practice some skills with the new instructor because I did not receive any help during the time I was in class. That doesn't make up for all the lack of help, unprofessionalism, and money spent on items that said they were required but never used. My money was not well spent and I feel cheated.

Final Business Response
TMIKY has offered an audit, the graduate has refused the offer. TMIKY stands by it's final response on 4/21/2014.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I should not have to drive all over town returning items that were "required" of me but were never used. This school placed requirements on me that I upheld but they didn't hold up their end of the deal. I am still out money and now time in order to go back to get the education that should have been delivered the first time. Not acceptable of a "reputable" company.

09/10/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Schools - Business & Vocational

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 12/22/2008Business started: 01/01/2008
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

KY State Board For Proprietary Education
P.O. Box 456
Frankfort, KY40602
(502) 564-3296

BBB records show a license number of R-0285 for this company, issued by KY State Board For Proprietary Education.

Type: unknown

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jeremy Meade (Co-Owner)Customer Contact: Mrs. Jeni Meade (Director of Educatio)Mr. Greg Goins (Co-Owner)
Business Category

Schools - Business & Vocational

Products & Services

Short term post-secondary medical training

Alternate Business Names
#1 Top School, LLC

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for The Medical Institute of Kentucky

2720 Old Rosebud Rd Ste 230

Lexington, KY 40509-8006

To | From

LocationsX

3 Locations

  • 944 Fields Drive 

    Bowling Green, KY 42104

  • 2720 Old Rosebud Rd Ste 230 

    Lexington, KY 40509-8006

  • 215 South Hurstbourne Pkwy 

    Louisville, KY 40222

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Lexington. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*The Medical Institute of Kentucky is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Schools - Business & Vocational

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.