BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 10/01/2002

Central Equipment Company

Phone: (859) 253-2611Fax: (859) 231-0923791 Red Mile Road, LexingtonKY 40504 Send email to Central Equipment Company

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 10/01/2002

BBB has determined that Central Equipment Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Central Equipment Company's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Central Equipment Company

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (3)BBB Closure Definitions
06/26/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Mower purchased new at Central. Has been in for service many times in last 10 hours of use and still not working. Sitting in service last 3 weeks.
I purchased a new commercial grade diesel Exmark zero-turn mower from Central Equipment a few years ago and everything was perfect until last year. I intentionally bought more mower ($14K) than I needed to mow only my 3-4 acre yard...but I wanted something that would last a long time. Last year the mower started acting up, engine losing power, and it made at least 6 trips to Central over the summer. The end result was that I did not get to use the mower nearly all summer, horrible inconvenience to mow without it all summer, and when they finally did get the problem fixed at the end of the mowing season it ended up only being a fuel/filter problem ! It did work fine the 2-3 times I got to mow with it before putting up for the winter. However...after pulling it back out this spring and mowing just 2-3 more times, it started acting up again, almost identical symptoms as last year. With much anxiety, I took it back to Central and it has now been there for 3 weeks....so here we go again ! Just like last year..."we can't reproduce the problem"...but here is a list of things we want to fix that have nothing to do with the engine losing power ! I just could not take another summer mowing without a zero turn...so I told them over a week ago to flush the fuel system again and I would pay for that service regardless of whether it fixes the problem or not....and it will. Just called service again and there a some "big jobs" in front of me and it will be "later this week". Yeah right....I did not have to wait in any long lines when I was paying $14K for a commercial grade mower to mow only my own personal yard. The mower only has 200 hours on it now !....which even Central admits is very low hours to be having any problems out of it. Great service if you want to buy something....better just hope it never breaks down !

Desired Settlement
I just want my mower fixed. I completely understand having to wait your turn, but my mower has been in for service now at least 6 times in the last 10 hours of use and I should not have to go to the back of the line every time just because Central can't fix it right the first time ! Either fix it, or admit you can't fix it, and give me some other options so I can proceed to mow my yard without inconveniencing me all summer like you did last summer.

Business Response
First of all I would like to sincerely apologize to Mr. ********** for his experience with our service department. I also agree with him that a repetitive issue should go to the front of the line to be fixed immediately. He has since picked this mower up from its previous repair and its hopefully mowing as it should. I called and left a voicemail today to see what we could to do try to make the situation right as I agree with his complaint. We appreciate all of our customers, large and small and taking care of their equipment in a timely manner is one of our top priorities. I not sure how I can go about fixing the situation since again the mower has been repaired and back with Mr. **********, but will do everything in my power to try to take care of the situation to the best of my ability when I hear back from him.

05/17/2012Problems with Product / Service
03/20/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
bought a brand new chainsaw that was defects or a lemon.

bought a brand stihl ms 291 new chainsaw from central equipment
791 red mile. This saw cost $480 it was defective or a lemon. this saw is under warranty
central equipments owner told me i am to blame for running the saw with the brake on. this is not what happened. i ran the saw for 5-min or so
and returned it the following day.

2-weeks latter the owner called me and told me they wanted to replace my saw.

then the owner called me back 10-latter and said
(there were some crossed wires and they were not going to replace my saw. but wanted to fix it for the price of a new one.

Desired Settlement
i would like a replacement ms 291 stilh saw

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ***** GM
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ******@ecentralequipment.com
3-7-2014
***** *****
Central Equipment Company
XXX-XXX-XXXX

On 2/11/2014 **** ***** purchased a new Stihl MS291 chainsaw from Central Equipment. We always request to start and test run all equipment before it leaves to ensure its running correctly. Mr. ***** insisted that we did not start and test run the saw. On 2/19/2014 Mr. ***** brought the saw in with pieces broke off around the clutch area. After initial pictures were sent to Stihl, they saw evidence of the blade brake clutch being on while the saw was being ran. They sell hundreds of thousands of chainsaws in North America so it's a common occurrence for people that aren't used to running the chainsaw correctly. (Compare to driving your car with the parking brake on. At some point something is going to break.) Initially our Stihl rep said it was not a warranty item but that he would look at it during our open house which was yesterday March 6th when he was in town. Also one of Stihl's top service techs was with him.
Because it was a new saw, and because of Stihls history of going above and beyond on customer service, we hoped that that Stihl would approve some sort of assistance in fixing the saw for Mr. ***** as a customer service. Stihl does things all the time they don't have too, but to keep customers happy, Central Equipment does the same.
Mr. ***** came in and talked to me (***** *****) on Thursday February 27th about his unhappiness in the situation. After he acknowledged that he wouldn't let us test start the saw, and talked about Stihls non warranty findings, we talked about The Stihl rep and Stihl service tech being at our open house and them looking at his equipment and hopefully going above and beyond like they had in the past for us. We discussed that all Stihl dealers in this area buy from the same distributor, so if he would have purchased this saw anywhere else, that the procedures for repairing something not covered by warranty would be the same at every Stihl dealership. We shook hands and he agreed to come back to the Open House on March 6th and talk directly to Stihl rep and service tech.
On Saturday March 1st, Mr. ***** called and talked to *** *****. Mr. ***** was extremely unhappy and was demanding a new saw that day. When told he would have to wait until Thursday, Mr. ***** told *** to "shove that chainsaw up your ***" and that he was going to spread the word about what a horrible dealership we were.
On March 6th I called and left a voicemail Mr. ***** to let him know the Stihl reps were at the dealership and we hoped he could come in to discuss the saw.
Mr. ***** called in later and talked to *** *****. *** let Mr. ***** know that Stihl agreed to fix the chainsaw yet Mr. ***** was not happy with that and wanted a new one. Mr. ***** said that we should get an attorney and hung up the phone.
5 minutes after that phone call our Stihl representative, *** ******* called Mr. *****'s phone number and his wife answered, him not wanting to talk to us. After *** explained what had happened, his wife seemed to be on board with us fixing the saw, again explaining it was like driving a car with the parking brake on. The phone call ended with her saying they would be in touch with us.
This morning, March 7th I received the email that there was a complaint from us from the Better Business Bureau. As I worked on this response through the day, I received phone call from Mr. ***** at 2:30PM and discussed the situation with him. I told him again that Stihl said the saw was not a warranty item, but they would pay to fix it at no cost to him as a way of extending an olive branch. I also said I did not appreciate him cursing at *** ***** and that he would have to pick up another chain saw he has had here for over 11 months that he wanted repaired. The saw that has been here for 11 months had also had a burned blade break clutch like the saw in question. He agreed and said he would call the Better Business Bureau and remove his complaint and was sorry for his short temper.
While we are sorry that Mr. *****'s saw broke, we have done everything in power to fix a saw that was damaged by Mr. *****. Stihl has agreed to fix the damaged saw at no cost to Mr. ***** as long as he picks up his other repaired saw and also lets us demonstrate proper chain saw usage so this doesn't occur again. If you need anything further, please give me a call.


***** *****
General Manager
Central Equipment Company
791 Red Mile Rd. Lexington KY. XXXXX
Phone XXX-XXX-XXXX EXT 2215 Fax XXX-XXX-XXXX
www.centralequipmentky.com


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This response if full of LIES and I do not accept whatsoever!

Final Business Response
Other than fixing saw, which has already been done, we are not authorized by Stihl to do anything further. Stihl paid for the parts and Central Equipment paid for the labor. Again, both parties paid to extend the olive branch for a saw that was damaged by the customer going above and beyond any expectation of a business.

Central Equipment will do nothing more for Mr. ***** than what it has. The saw is ready for pick up as well as the saw he left here for over 11 months that was damaged the same way and with a bill associated with it. If both saws are not picked up in 30 days, we will send a certified letter for pick up. If within 30 days at that point they are not picked up, we will sell both units to recoup our loses.

Again, Central Equipment has gone above and beyond on fixing a saw that was not a warranty item and will do nothing further.

***** *****
Central Equipment Company

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I would like to clarify that I did not purchase the new MS291 chainsaw, my wife did. My wife opened her own account with Central Equipment and purchased the chainsaw along with several other items. The only reason we did not have your employee "start and test run" the saw was because we had our small child with us that day and did not want any smell of Gas or oils in the vehicle. The employee ensured us that this would in NO way effect our warranties on the equipment.
In response to your comment "people that aren't used to running the chainsaw correctly (Compare to driving your car with the parking brake on. At some point something is going to break.)" I have ran chainsaws throughout my entire life, and this specific saw I ran for less than 10 minutes if at that before the saw started to malfunction, at which point I turned it off and brought it into the Central Equipment where we had purchased the saw. A cars parking brake at some point going to break are you kidding me, that is in no way a good example to try and compare to a chainsaw that was obviously defected being that it only had ran a few minutes ever!
Initially my wife called central equipment to ask about the status of the new saw that had been dropped of by me for inspection by your mechanic. She talked for quite some time with a lady who works in your repair department. She told my wife about the upcoming Sthil event and that she wanted to have them look at the saw, but that it would take 10 days. She also went on to tell my wife about how in the not so distant past this same exact thing has happened with these new MS291 chainsaw models in which the "blade brake clutch stays on for several minutes after the saw is still running, giving it enough time to actually melt the engine". She told my wife in her opinion she didn't feel comfortable with the situation, that we had paid a lot of money for the saw, just purchased it, and needed it and that she was going to have them look at the saw and see if it can be replaced.
The day that you called and talked to me over the phone you had initially stated that you were "having Stihl replace the saw with a brand new saw", that I would be able to "come pick up my new saw". You also mentioned that you would like to know what my plans were with picking up the saw I had dropped off earlier in the year to have looked at and get an estimate on fixing. I was ecstatic being just told you were honoring my warranty and replacing the recently purchased saw with a brand-new one, I acknowledged that the other saw's account needed attention. Not even 10 minutes after talking to you, you called back and told me "that you must have had some wires crossed and that Stihl was not going to replace the saw", when hearing this, my heart sank, I was very displeased!
I wanted a brand new saw not a broken saw that has been repaired. That is when you told me, "you weren't going to just eat the cost of my saw that I damaged and that I can shove it up my a**, and that if I didn't like it I could hire an attorney" and you hung up on me.
A few minutes later the phone rings, my wife answered and spoke with *** and he told her that the cost to fix the saw may out weigh the price of the saw and that if so I would have to pay to have it fixed. My wife was never "on board with fixing the saw" and never told them to repair it, she said she would talk with me and get back in touch with them.
Now that I am under the impression that you are not going to replace my saw with a brand new one like you had previously stated when calling and talking to me over the phone.
I want to pick up my wife's brand new saw that has now been fixed. But I do not feel I should be bullied into picking up the saw that I had in repair just to be able to do so. I never agreed to this arrangement. I want to have my wife's chain saw in my possession at no further cost to me on arrival. After this has occurred and only then will we discuss arrangements on full payment for the older saw's repairs.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Lawn & Garden Equipment & Supplies, Tractor Equipment & Parts, Farm Equipment, Lawn Mowers

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 03/08/2005Business started: 06/30/1972
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jason Huber (General Manager)Mr. Paul L. Huber (President)Mr. Joseph M. Huber (Secretary/Treasurer) Dale Kunz (Parts Manager)
Business Category

Lawn & Garden Equipment & Supplies, Tractor Equipment & Parts, Farm Equipment, Lawn Mowers

Hours of Operation
Mon: 07:30 AM to 05:00 PMTue: 07:30 AM to 05:00 PMWed: 07:30 AM to 05:00 PMThu: 07:30 AM to 05:00 PMFri: 07:30 AM to 05:00 PMSat: 07:30 AM to 12:00 PM

Photos & Videos

Photographs

Select a thumbnail below to view the full-size image.

5 Photos

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Central Equipment Company

791 Red Mile Road

Lexington, KY 40504

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Lexington. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Central Equipment Company is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Lawn & Garden Equipment & Supplies

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.