BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Central & Eastern Kentucky

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 05/01/2007

aProvenProduct.com

Find a Location

(877) 577-27722111 Capstone Drive, Suite 150, LexingtonKY 40511 Send email to aProvenProduct.comView Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 05/01/2007

BBB has determined that aProvenProduct.com meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised aProvenProduct.com's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 22 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

22 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 12 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues3
Billing / Collection Issues11
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service7
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 22

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on aProvenProduct.com

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (22)BBB Closure Definitions
09/01/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Unauthorized credit card charges

Complaint: I had no idea there was a monthly subscription charge going to be added if you made a purchase. they are billing my paypal account
saw unauthorized charges on my paypal from May, June and July for $14.95 and see there is a "billing agreement' contract number of******XXXYYXXXXXXU. i have no idea what this is. further, there is absolutely nothing to the "premier membership". I have never gotten anything so what they are actually providing I have no idea. I never knew there was a plan, in fact, on their WEBSITE it says they never bill for unwanted product, there is a bait and switch going on, I saw other complaints all over the internet and YOUR SITE that they do the same thing but say they "fully disclosed". I never spoke to anyone, ordered an online supplement, the end. It also says my "contract" began Dec 2013 but looks like they started billing May? I have no idea what this is. Cannot get through to them to cancel. Tried to cancel through Paypal but had to file a complaint. THESE PEOPLE ARE HIDING THAT INFORMATION SOMEWHERE IN THE ORDER PROCESS, I HAVE NO IDEA WHERE. AND FOR THAT MATTER, THERE IS ABSOLUTELY NOTHING I GAINED IN RETURN. ZERO. I HAVE NEVER HEARD OR HAD CONTACT WITH THESE PEOPLE SINCE THAT ORDER.

Initial Business Response
We offer all of our customers a chance to try our Elite membership as a free trial with their first online order. Details are provided prior to finalizing the order, as well as the membership being listed in the online cart. After the order is finalized, an email confirmation is sent with details of the order, which include the membership item, as well as an email confirmation with full details about the Elite membership. After the initial sign up, several notifications are sent to the customers reminding them of the membership and the great benefits that go with it, also providing a link to easily cancel this membership if they are no longer interested in it. We also provide customer service through our friendly Client Loyalty Specialists, either by phone or email. We are limited on the number of representatives on the phone, but we do the best we can to answer as many calls that come in. Unfortunately, we are not able to catch them all. All customers are responded to, either by email or return phone call. We attempt to reach out to all of our customers, multiple times, when in regards to their Elite membership. This in no way defines "deception". Upon a customer's first contact with us, if their desire is to cancel the membership, it is done without hassle and a refund is given without argument.

Ms ********* contacted us only by email. This email was received by us on 7/27/14 at 7:39pm EST. In her email, she requested we cancel her membership. A response was sent from us on 7/28/14 at 9:42am EST, confirming that her request had been fulfilled. Her membership was immediately cancelled at her request, the representative had even refunded the July's renewal fee for her even though a refund was not requested or required.

Ms *********'s issue had been resolved upon her first contact with us. It was assumed that all was met to her satisfaction when she did not reply back to our response.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

08/28/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In February I placed an online order with RagTagHealth in Lexington, KY. Since that time I have been billed $14.95 a month. I have no idea what the charge is for and I didn't authorize it. I have tried calling and emailing them through their web site several times to no avail. They never answer their phone and don't answer emails.

Initial Business Response
We offer a free trial on our exclusive membership, RagTagElite, with first time online orders. Every completed order and membership signup is followed up with an email confirmation containing more details. We also send a two week notice into the free trial, reminding the customer about the membership they had signed up for and the how much time was left in the free trial. 48 hours prior to the renewal on the membership, and before any charges, we send yet another reminder to the customer. Every month, prior to any renewal charges, we send a reminder.

We received an email from Ms ******** on 7/3/14 regarding her membership and request to cancel and refund it. We responded on 7/7/14 at 9:06am EST (reason for the delay in response was due to Ms ********'s email being sent to our spam folder. This was not found until 7/7/14). The response included an explanation of her membership and confirmation that it had been cancelled and refunded at her request.

There were no followup emails from Ms ********, and no voice messages to show that she had attempted to call us. Unfortunately, we are not able to catch every call that comes in, though we do answer as many as we can. This is why we offer the option to leave a voice message. If Ms ******** had left us a voice message, it would have been returned with a followup phone call.

This issue was resolved on 7/7/14 upon her initial request.

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have not received any emails from this company since the conformation of my order. If I had received emails monthly prior to renewal charges I would have cancelled after I received the first one.
I hope it has been completely resolved and I will see no further charges on my card.
Thank you

Final Business Response
Notifications of the membership were sent, as well as a reply from us to her email inquiry and request to cancel. There are time stamps on the emails and proof of them having been sent. We regret Ms ******** did not receive them, however, this does not mean they were not sent, or multiple attempts were not made.

As it was explained previously, our email reply to her inquiry and request to cancel her membership was sent on 7/7/14 at 9:06am EST. This response included an explanation of her membership, and confirmation that her membership had been cancelled and the charges refunded.

Once again, this matter had been resolved upon her first, and only, request on 7/7/14.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

08/18/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Unauthorized credit card charges

Complaint: They keep billing my MasterCard every n=month for no purchases
Have been billing $14.95 every month for many months & no purchases by me. FRAUD.

Initial Business Response
We offer a free trial on our exclusive membership, RagTagElite, with first time online orders. Every completed order and membership signup is followed up with an email confirmation containing more details. We also send a two week notice into the free trial, reminding the customer about the membership they had signed up for and the how much time was left in the free trial. 48 hours prior to the renewal on the membership, and before any charges, we send yet another reminder to the customer. Every month, prior to any renewal charges, we send a reminder.

All of these reminders were send to Mr. ******. Mr. ****** never once contacted us regarding his membership and his dissatisfaction with it and wish to cancel. We were completely unaware that he was not interested in the membership. Had he contacted us, at anytime via email or phone (both of wich we are available to be reached at), we would have gladly cancelled and refunded his membership.

As it is now, we have cancelled his membership and processed a refund for the fees. This issue has been resolved, though not by direct contact to us from Mr. ******, but through this case file in the BBB.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

08/11/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Unauthorized credit card charges

Complaint: purchased bottle of vitamins in October 2013. Did not sign up for any subscription/membership. Have been charged $14.95 monthly since then.

Charge appears as APP-Approved.com. Just noticed charges in June 2014. Tried to contact company via phone and email numerous times for 3 days. No response at all. I have sent my credit card company a letter to dispute these charges and also send copies to this company, including original emails received from them in October 2013 confirm my one time order for their product.Order# was APPA-XXXXXXX dtd 10/17/13. Paid via US Airways MasterCard.

Initial Business Response
We offer a free trial on our exclusive membership, RagTagElite, with first time online orders. Every completed order and membership signup is followed up with an email confirmation containing more details. We also send a two week notice into the free trial, reminding the customer about the membership they had signed up for and the how much time was left in the free trial. 48 hours prior to the renewal on the membership, and before any charges, we send yet another reminder to the customer. Every month, prior to any renewal charges, we send a reminder.

On 6/24/14, we received an email from Ms ******** with questions regarding the membership fee of $14.95. An email response was sent to her on 6/24/14 at 9:50am EST with details about her membership.

On 6/25/14, she sent another email requesting we cancel this membership. Her membership was cancelled and the latest renewal fee was refunded at that time. An email response of this was sent on 6/25/14 at 9:44am EST.

Following these emails we received three voice messages from Ms ******** regarding her membership and the charges. Several attempts were made to contact Ms ******** by phone, however, neither attempt was met with an answer and her phone line did not offer a way to leave a message. On 6/27/14, as we had tried multiple times to reach Ms ******** via phone and failed, we attempted yet another email to her to inform her that her membership had been cancelled and June's renewal fee was refunded.

On 6/30/14 we received a letter from Ms ******** about her membership and requesting it cancelled. At this time, the other renewal fees that had applied were then refunded as well. Another attempt was made to reach out to Ms ********, which failed.

Ms ********'s request had been resolved upon her first request to us on 6/24-25/14. An additional courtesy was offered with the added refunds given to her, which were processed on 7/23/14. Every attempt we made to reach out to Ms ******** had apparently failed, however, we did try multiple times over the course of several weeks.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

06/06/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Unauthorized credit card charges

Complaint: I ordered product from this company on 09/06/13 for $89.67 and I received this product, Black Label Krill Oil. However, beginning from October 2013 ..
However, beginning from October 2013 this company continues to charge me for $14.95. This was not authorized and I never received any products from this company after September 2013. I paid monthly charge $14.95 for 8 months, total $119.50. I tried to call them but phone number XXX-XXX-XXXX never answered.

Initial Business Response
Mr *****'s first attempt to contact us was received on 5/12/14 in the form of an email. We did respond to the email, explaining that the $14.95 is the monthly renewal fee for the RagTagElite membership. This is something offered with first time online purchases as a free 30 day trial. All the details are given up front, as well as the plan being listed in the online cart prior to finalizing the order. We also send several email notifications regarding the membership, one is sent with the order confirmation, one is sent 2 weeks into the free 30 day trial, and another 48 hours before the renewal. After that the customer received an email reminder 48 hours before every renewal date. They also received a monthly newsletter that gave basic details about the membership.

We notified this customer several times in multiple different ways about his membership with us. However, his first contact and inquiry into his membership wasn't until 5/12/14, 8 months into his subscription. When we received his email expressing dissatisfaction with the membership fees, his membership was cancelled and the fees were refunded. All of the fees were refunded on 5/14/14. No hassle, no trouble, no questions.

This issue had been resolved upon the first request of the customer.

We do the best we can to answer every call that comes in, however, as with all companies, we are not able to catch them all. Every inquiry is responded to. As this issue was resolved via email.

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I requested full refund of $119.50 but they promised to refund only $14.95 for last month payment of false membership. Initial online order for product was just for $89.67, and it was fine. However, they continued to charge for monthly "membership" my credit card $14.95 for 8 months until recently I discovered this dirty business. My schedule is very busy and I missed this charges from Rag Tag Health, LLC.

Final Business Response
As we stated in our previous reply, everything was explained up front to Mr. *****. We attempted to reach out to Mr. ***** several times in multiple different ways regarding his membership. There is nothing illegal, or "dirty", that was done in regards to dealing with Mr. *****. We are within our full right to keep the fees that were previously charged. However, as we also explained in our previous reply and directly to Mr. ***** in an email sent to him on 5/22/14 at 8:12AM EST, all the renewal fees that had applied to Mr. ***** were fully refunded. Thy were refunded on 5/14/14 at 9:40AM when he'd first requested his membership cancelled and refunded. We have no interest in charging our customers for something they don't want, and as is quite obvious in this situation we have no trouble refunding charges for services that were unwanted. This matter with Mr. ***** had been resolved upon his first request.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

Page 1 of 5

Industry Comparison| Chart

Internet Marketing Services, Vitamins & Food Supplements, Product Development & Marketing

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 05/24/2007Business started: 02/16/2004
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr Joseph Smith (Managing Member)
Business Category

Internet Marketing Services, Vitamins & Food Supplements, Product Development & Marketing

Products & Services

aProvenProduct.com offers vitamins and other health products for sale.

Hours of Operation
Mon: 09:00 AM to 06:00 PMTue: 09:00 AM to 06:00 PMWed: 09:00 AM to 06:00 PMThu: 09:00 AM to 06:00 PMFri: 09:00 AM to 06:00 PMSat: 09:00 AM to 06:00 PM
Refund and Exchange Policy

60-Day No Questions Asked.

Alternate Business Names
A Proven Product, aProvenProduct.com, JJ Smith Group, LLC, JJ Smith Marketing, LLC, Rag Tag Health, LLC, RagTagHealth.com
Industry Tips
Advertising Online - Before You Start, Get to Know the Ground Rules
Counterfeit Coupons Offer No Savings
Keep Those Customers Coming Back!
Protect Your Business From Product Counterfeiting

Photos & Videos

Photographs

Select a thumbnail below to view the full-size image.

4 Photos

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for aProvenProduct.com

2111 Capstone Drive

Lexington, KY 40511

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 2111 Capstone Drive 

    Lexington, KY 40511

  • 2111 Capstone Drive
    Suite 150 

    Lexington, KY 40511

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Lexington. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*aProvenProduct.com is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.