BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 01/01/2008

C and C Home Improvements

(859) 881-92573460 Union Mill Road, NicholasvilleKY 40356 Send email to C and C Home Improvements

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 01/01/2008

BBB has determined that C and C Home Improvements meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised C and C Home Improvements' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on C and C Home Improvements

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
12/02/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I am filing a complaint against C & C Home Improvements (BBB accredited and owned by ***** and ***** *******) for work done on my master bathroom at *** ****** ***** ********** ** XXXXX, between the months of April 2013 and December 2013.

In short, the grout is not evenly installed over all of the bathroom, and many of the tiles (large format) are not level which will cause uneven wear, in addition to throwing shadows on adjoining tiles.

The entire installation is noticeably uneven on both the walls and the floor.

Additionally, the shower pan does not slope at the industry standard of 1/4" per linear foot, which would be a total of a 1/2" drop for the two-linear-feet width of the shower to the edge of the wall drain.

C & C Home Improvements has been given opportunities to resolve this conflict, but they continue to deny that their work is substandard.

I have paid them in full for their work, because we had a good working relationship; however, I noted at the time of payment that there were issues that needed to be addressed before their work was completed.

It wasn't until after our original dispute that I discovered that the slope of the shower wasn't done to industry standards, and that's a major issue in a shower that really is a tiled "room" with no threshold to the rest of the bathroom.

Desired Settlement
My preference is for a refund for all of my money paid to them (almost all of it labor, as I paid separately for materials), as I no longer have the faith in their workmanship. I also should be reimbursed for the cost of my tile.

Please let me know if you have questions or if I should be offering more information.

I have written documentation and photographs to back up my complaint.

I also would appreciate a reply to this e-mail so that I know that it has been received in a general mailbox.

Business Response
We began bidding this project and working with this customer on **************** and started the remodel of the bathroom on ************. We completed the job on June 14, 2013 and were paid on *************.

Over the course of the bidding process multiple tens of hours were spent going over plans, meeting with the customer at his house, and discussing options with him via phone. We submitted 3 estimates before customer was satisfied with price and scope of work and gave us the job.

Upon commencement of the job the customer began making changes to the scope of work. We again spent multiplied hours with him both via phone and in person. He was less interested in conversing via email over the details of the job as he wanted to be interactive and personal. He met us most mornings at the job site to discuss the progress and to make changes.

Our early estimates included the framing of the bathroom. In order to save money the customer opted to do the majority of the framing himself. He was also responsible for the tear out. When we started the job the subfloor had been removed as the customer had discovered that the floor joists were substandard and he did not feel comfortable adding another in. We did not include installing new subfloor but just adding to what was there in order to build the floor up to its proper level. We began talking to the customer about the necessity of adding a layer of subfloor and raising the level of the floor to allow for the slope of the drain. He was very upset over there being any change in the floor height between the hallway and the bedroom and between the bedroom and the bathroom. He wanted no doorways or any encumbrances to the house being completely wheelchair accessible. We chose to slope the shower floor as much as possible while keeping his demand for as little floor change as possible. We also added an extra floor drain in the shower to allow for faster drainage of water. There is no code in Fayette County for the slope of a shower pan. There is an industry standard of 1/4" per foot but this is not a requirement but an industry standard. The requirement in Fayette County for plumbing slope on pipes for drainage is 1/8". We also extended the waterproofing liner partially out into the bathroom floor and partially up the walls outside the shower to allow for some water extending past the shower threshold.

The customer also chose to use 12 x 24 tiles for the floor. We strongly discouraged this as a large tile offers no grip against slippage when it is wet. This also concerned us in sloping the shower floor as the customer told us that he believes that he will be fully disabled and wheelchair bound in the future. We repeatedly shared our concerns but he insisted that we do it the way he wanted it. He refused to accept our input and opinion and now blames us for doing it the way he demanded.

We also discussed repeatedly that 12 x 24 tiles are excessively difficult to install seamlessly (especially when they are being laid with a 1/16" grout joint and laid so that all of the joints line up in every direction - i.e. across the floor and up the walls) and that they do not bend to fit the contours of an old house. We told him that even very slight differences in substructure can cause tiles to be unlevel. We told him we would do our best to make the tiles line up and look good. We worked diligently (a week over the timeframe allotted which we were not compensated for) in selecting tiles, setting them and redoing them multiple times to make them as perfect as possible due to the inconsistencies in the house structure. We had to build up mortar behind a large portion of tiles to allow them to sit as evenly as possible. The customer left dozens of post it notes each night on tiles that he was unhappy with. On several occasions he removed tile that had been installed that day and left us to redo the work the next day.

The job was never finished as far as the customer was concerned. Each and every time we were finished he asked for something else to be done before final payment was made. We finally made a stand and said that payment was due now. The customer conceded but was not happy about it and he again asked for 2 more tiles to be replaced and 2 small grout joints to be touched up. We ordered additional tile to replace the 2 in question. After discussion with our tile rep we decided that it was not a good idea to install additional grout (customer had put toothpaste on the grout joints (that discolored the grout) at one point and we were concerned about what else he might have done to the tile and grout). We did not feel that trying to remove grout out of 1/16" joints was prudent and that it would probably cause damage to the surrounding tiles and possibly the underlayment. We also felt that installing new grout over the old grout would possibly cause it to flake in the future. We replaced the 2 tiles in question and a third damaged by his electrician (but one he claimed was falling off the wall and due to our workmanship). When we left the customer understood our concern regarding the grout and was happy with the job.

In early January we received a letter from the customer documenting numerous new issues that he had with the bathroom and demanding $1900. We responded to his letter with a detailed answer to each of his statements.

The customers complaints have escalated from 2 tiles and 2 grout areas to a complaint about numerous tiles, numerous grout areas, insulation (that was never discussed), framing (he chose to do the majority himself), sealing of the tile (that we were neither instructed to nor paid to do), curing of the grout, clean up of the tear out that he was responsible for, blocking in the walls (that he added to the scope of work after the drywall was completed), to now everything in the bathroom is unacceptable.

This customer was extremely unhappy with how timely we completed his remodel. He wanted to drag the job out and make changes along the way. We informed him regularly of the progress and what would be happening next. The customer scheduled with us to begin the remodel but was unprepared to have the bathroom work started and completed and is now upset that he didn't have more time to make changes. He has been working on his home for at least 18 months. He begins a project and makes change after change. We believe that he has buyer's remorse over the bathroom and is blaming us for it.

The bathroom is beautiful and the customer was thrilled with the bathroom when we finished. He repeatedly called it his Sanctuary Spa and was thrilled to have shown it to friends already. He has obsessed over the minor inconsistencies that are inherent with the remodeling process and has allowed himself to believe that the bathroom is a horrendous mess. He has had at least one other flooring installer look at the finished bathroom and tell him that it could be improved upon. This other installer was not privy to the condition of the bathroom framing prior to the beginning the job, nor of the tremendous amount of time and effort that we put into making the bathroom the beautiful space that it has been transformed into.

We have been members of the BBB since 2008 and we have a flawless record with them. We have hundreds of customers that we have worked with for almost 16 years and while there have been hiccups along the way we have worked diligently to make each customer happy and leave them with a beautiful new space in their home.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This response is filled with inaccuracies and false accusations not to mention a fair share of character assassination.

I have documentation that will refute almost every detail they have provided, and I will present it when required in order to move this process to the next phase.

Thank you.



Industry Comparison| Chart

Home Improvements, Construction & Remodeling Services, Patio & Deck Builders, Painting - Decorative, Painting Contractors, Buildings Remodeling - Commercial , Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 03/08/2005Business started: 08/08/1998
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Cindy G Hopkins (Member)Mr. Christopher Hopkins (Member)
Business Category

Home Improvements, Construction & Remodeling Services, Patio & Deck Builders, Painting - Decorative, Painting Contractors, Buildings Remodeling - Commercial , Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling

Alternate Business Names
C&C Home Improvements, LLC

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for C and C Home Improvements

3460 Union Mill Road

Nicholasville, KY 40356

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 3460 Union Mill Road 

    Nicholasville, KY 40356

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Lexington. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*C and C Home Improvements is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Home Improvements

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.