BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 01/01/2008

Fayette Heating & Air

Phone: (859) 233-0424Fax: (859) 254-6926View Additional Phone Numbers817 Nandino Blvd., LexingtonKY 40511 Send email to Fayette Heating & Air

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


Fayette Heating & Air is available 24/7/365 to service your residential HVAC equipment with no overtime fees

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 01/01/2008

BBB has determined that Fayette Heating & Air meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service9
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 11

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Fayette Heating & Air

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 3 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (11)
09/15/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Failure to correct existing problem.
Five years ago Fayette Heating and Air did work for First Christian Church, Mt. Sterling. Since that time we have had a continuing leak that they have worked on, however the problem has never been solved. during recent months they now tell us that they will charge us to look at the situation again. This problem has not been solved from the beginning. We have asked for the problem to be corrected without charge. They will not return our phone calls now.

Desired Settlement
Correction of the leak without charge.

Business Response
We have contacted **** ****** and he has indicated to us that he has been in contact with another company that can fix this problem. We have asked him to provide us with a written estimate as we are willing to help cover this cost. We have not received the estimate to date.

Consumer Response
They did call us and requested that we get our current HVAC company to give us an estimate on fixing the problem and they would review the estimate. They did not commit fully to paying for the repair, just stated they would review it.

Final Business Response
We have received the estimate from Mr. ****** to have the repairs completed necessary to satisfy Mr. ******. Last week, we informed Mr. ****** that the estimate is acceptable and we would pay for the repairs per the estimate. We left him a voice mail yesterday to check on the status but we have not heard back.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
We are currently out of the states and will review and contact Fayette Heating and Air next week.

08/23/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Charged me for drain line on HVAC unit. Never cleared the drain line properly. Never found and fixed problem. Water damage continued in home.
On July 28, 2016 Fayette Heating and Air came to fix a problem with water leaking from the HVAC unit into the wall. They charges for "condensation line partially blocked causing water to back up and leak. Drain trap installed improperly from drain pan. Replaced needed drain line and flushed existing line." They never flushed the line! They charge me $315! had them back on July 30th, 2016 since they never fixed the problem. They tried to tell me that there is nothing they can due to fix the problem.

Another service confirmed the condensation line was never suctioned and unclogged! $315 for what? They didn't fix the problem and didn't do the service they charged me for!

The other service has been in contact with the HVAC manufacture and is continuing to troubleshoot the problem. They are not charging me extra and are not just giving up.

Desired Settlement
You charge me for a service that was not completed correctly. You did not fix my problem and the water damage to my house has increased. I want my money back for your shoddy work!

Business Response
We have refunded Mr. ********* $315 and we have offered additional help as he told us the issue is still not resolved by the other company he hired.
Mr. ********* declined our offer.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

10/23/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Failure to properly install a heat pump led to extremely high utility bills, also misleading information allowed for unachievable deadlines.
Our home is almost a year old and for the first nine months we experienced problem after problem with our heat pump unit and have spent the last few months trying to work with Fayette Heating and Air to resolve our issues. The first service call was about the unit continuously running. An installation technician was sent, instead of a service technician, who recharged the lines and then left without checking anything else. After a few weeks we placed another service call. We were told someone would be in touch with us shortly but heard nothing for a few days. After calling again we were told someone would call us within an hour which also did not happen. After about five days, someone finally gave us a date and time for a technician to come out. Once again installation technicians arrived and this time checked the thermostat programming along with the exterior unit. They determined the thermostat was incorrectly programmed and was heating in cooling mode and cooling in heating mode. The technician replaced the original thermostat and the heat pump ran successfully for approximately three weeks. Then we noticed the heat pump was unable to maintain the set temperature so a third service call was placed. Again we had the same issue of being told that someone would contact us shortly and again it took several days with multiple calls, even having my wife call and start a new service call before someone contacted us. This time a service technician arrived and told us that the TXV valve was bad and needed to be replaced. The technician also discovered the lines were not properly dried and there was a leak. Since it was the weekend by the time we were able to get someone to come out it took several days to get the part ordered and find a time to get it replaced. The heat pump has since worked well and our utility bills are now within a reasonable range. However, it is our belief that due to pure laziness and poor oversight the problems kept compounding one another and ultimately caused the failure of the valve. These problems cost us several hundred dollars extra in utility bills, time, and frustration that we should not have had to deal with. And the fact that we have to continuously track someone down to resolve this is unacceptable. At this point we took our concerns with how things were handle with Fayette Heating and Air themselves. We have tried to work this out with Fayette Heating and Air but when we called and talked to ***** in their quality assurance department he passed it up to the next level where the Service Manager ******* ***** only called to check to see how the service visit went but failed to ask about our concerns. After we had to make the effort to track someone down, it was finally passed to the Operations Manager ***** ******. It took several weeks before hearing from him and when we did he brushed off the fact that his employees failed to perform services correctly. Eventually ******* ***** called back to offer a one year membership to their Comfy Club, but we declined because it was not equivalent to the cost and inconvenience that we had to deal with. The last contact we received was August 27, 2015 when we declined their offer, and as for par we were told by ******* ***** that someone would be in touch with us. It has been a month and we have yet to hear anything. We would like this resolved as soon as possible.

Desired Settlement
Installation of programmable thermostat, extended labor warranty of one year, and either partial reimbursement for excessive utility bills or club membership of equal value of approximately $500.

Business Response
While we are sympathetic with what Mr. *********** has had to endure, the real issues here are a thermostat that was not set properly, which is his responsibility and parts failure that is the manufacturers responsibility. We repaired the part failure and there was no charge to Mr. ***********.
We offered Mr. *********** a one year membership into the Comfy Club at no charge to him because we felt badly for what was dealing with.
We feel that our generous offer of a Comfy Club membership ($120 value) and the free repairs is more that fair. Mr. ***********'s issue is with the manufacturers, not Fayette Heating & Air.
***** ******

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Despite their response it is obvious that Fayette Heating and Air is not sympathetic to what we've had to endure. Their attempt to blame myself is not only disappointing but extremely unprofessional. Maybe I was not clear in my initial complaint but as for the thermostat, it was not setting the temperature that was the issue. The issue was that when it was set to heat mode it was trying to cool the house, and when set to cool mode it heated the house. This was explained to us by the technician that replaced the original thermostat. I'm not sure how I can get the unit to do this by pushing some buttons, but I can assure Fayette Heating and Air I am capable of pushing the button until the unit reads Heat or Cool. As for repairing the parts failure at no charge to myself, although that seems generous, it is however what they were required to do. This was all warranty work. So unless I fail to understand what the warranty states about parts and labor, it was SUPPOSE to be done at no cost to myself, hence the Warranty. Now as for your "generous" offer of the Comfy Club Membership ($120 value), I fail to see the generosity after over 9 months of problems with our unit, countless days and nights in our brand new house of uncontrolled temperatures, and months of outrageous bills caused by a faulty unit, which I'll add have significantly dropped since the heat pump was finally fixed properly and since we haven't changed anything else leads one to believe the heat pump was the source. Your $120 Comfy Club comes no where close to the two & three hundred dollar bills we had for months. I also fail to see how this is a manufacturers problem since only small parts were replaced not the whole unit. If that is the case then I am skeptical that the repairs will hold. And maybe Fayette Heating and Air should find new products if they're going to blame them for their mistakes. At a minimum our thermostat should be replaced with a programmable thermostat since our housing contract states that is what we are suppose to have and Fayette Heating and Air was contracted to perform that work. If not then we can begin discussing a breech of contract with our builder. Despite Mr. ******'s skewed view of the facts our problem is not with the manufacturer or my ability to push buttons. It is with Fayette Heating and Air and their failure to acknowledge the poor work performed and even worse character in handling this issue. This is issue will not be resolved until an actual fair offer is made by Fayette Heating and Air.

Final Business Response
Today we offered Mr. *********** $250.00 to settle this matter and he accepted. I will process the check request today and he should receive the check within two weeks.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

02/12/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

COMPLAINT: Regarding treatment by Fayette Heating and Air. I have copies of the different visits by the employees of subject company, but they are not plain enough to make copies to send to you. If it is necessary, I will attempt to get readable copies for you.
The problems started on 9-16-14 when the technician from F/Htg & Air said a contact was bad and was replaced at a cost of $135. That evidently did not correct the problem so on 9-20-14 a callback was made and coil was thawed out and freon added at a cost of $49.
Each time a technician came he said a different problem had occurred. However, each time I would tell them that the unit was not heating properly and was putting out cold air. Finally, they said the coils in the attic needed replacing because of leaks. This was repaired on 10-17-14 at a cost of $957.92. Then on 12-4-14, a leak was discovered on a copper line and the tech said he soldered it. He also replaced eight pounds of the freon (or the new product) and this was at a cost of $594 that I put on a credit card. I intended to dispute this amount since I felt like these problems should have been noted before all these expenses. Atthis time I contacted BBB and was told to contact Mr. ****** at Fayette Htg and Air. He did resolve this charge and it was credited to my credit card. The next problem was on 12-20-14 and was to replace a motor and a fan blade at a cost of $665. So the refund I got did not last for long until I had a larger charge.
Fayette Heating and Air have a written ad on their trucks and on TV that if they do not correct the problem the first time, it will be corrected free. I feel they have just added problems to my unit that could have been discovered the first time and corrected and I should not have been charged these enormous fees. I am 82 years old and have no one to see if they did the repairs they said they did. They do "bad mouth" ****** ******* since they had worked on my unit several years ago.
At one time we had ***** to check our units, mine and my sister's next door. They were always very reasonable and did not over charge when they did the routine maintenance twice a year. In fact, they repaired my sister's unit when another company said it couldn't be repaired and it has worked perfectly for the past six years.
The reason we did not renew our contract with Sears was we knew they were moving and we did not know if they would have local repair technicians. I have since been told they could have taken care of our needs.
I also called the H2/0 Maestro plumbing to stop a leak at my kitchen sink. He "repaired" it at a cost of $47 and it never stopped leaking. I did not recall them.
I had been a member of "The Comfy Club" which they encourage you to join. But since I plan on moving to another location, I asked if my membership would transfer. It would not transfer to the county where I plan to locate and they would not tell me they would refund my payment if I moved before the year was up. I feel belonging to this club makes you feel obligated to call them when you might, otherwise, call someone else for your services.

Desired Settlement
If you can help me in any way to try to resolve all the expenses I have incurred, it will be greatly appreciated.

Business Response
I have spoken with Ms. ********* and she has agreed to a refund of $360 to settle her complaint. We also agreed that she will find another HVAC and Plumbing company to service her needs.

10/31/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

The heatpump checkup for one system was incomplete and wrong for another. Based on checkup, repairs were completed that would be delayed or averted.
Summary of complaint:
1.An analysis of three heatpump systems was requested and paid for. The analysis for one system was incomplete (leak source not found) and for another system was incorrect (system had a badly leaking evaporator coil)
2.Due to incorrect analysis, repairs were conducted that would been delayed until a full repair and replacement costs were determined. Based on these cost estimates the repairs would have been averted.

History of complaint:
On September 18, 2014, I had Fayette Heating and Air conduct a checkup on the three heatpumps in my home at 106 Sea Otter Cir, Midway, Kentucky. I informed the repairman of the location of the heatpumps and that the Heatpump for the north side of the main floor seemed to be working (Air Handler 2), and that the heatpump on the south side of the main floor seemed not to be working (Air Handler3). Heatpump 1 is for the upstairs and Heatpumps 2/3 are for main level and basement. The repairman's analysis was "System 1 - Found evap coil rusted and leaking. Capacitor on H/P slightly out of range. Added 2 lbs of R-22. System 2 - Evap coil leaking. System totally void of charge. Will have CA give $ and will get $ on new evap coil. System 3 - Capacitor on H/P reading very low, replaced 60/5. Added 2 lbs of R22. Confirmed operations on systems #1 & #3."

I asked the repairman if he was sure the heatpump on the northside was not working and the southside was working (2 lbs low) and that the systems were not crossed or something else, due to my own observations of the systems performance within the house. He assured me that he had traced the equipment and the diagnosis was correct.
Based on the information provided, we had downstairs one system that was void of R-22 and had a leaking evaporator coil and one system that only needed a starter capacitor and 2 lbs of R22. Therefore, we proceeded in fixing one system and waited on the other.
Unfortunately, the systems were crossed. H/P 2 was connected to Air handler 3 and H/P 3 was connected to Air handler 2 by the original installer 8 years ago. The result was repairs(2 lbs R22 and new capacitor) were completed a system with a very badly leaking evaporator coil and a system was left with an undefined massive leak (no leak testing was conducted on any system). Also the confirmation on the systems working was conducted incorrectly.

Contacts with company:
August 2014 (before request for service), I met by chance the owner *** **** ******* in Lexington in front of ************ ***** in ************ shopping. When I saw his Fayette HA shirt, I inquired about their service concerning heatpump checkups. He explained the service process and personally assured me that I would be satisfied with their service.
September 27, 2014 - After discovering the crossed systems by turning on the A/C and then tracing cooling lines, I contacted the weekend service personnel and explain the situation. I was told someone would get back to me Monday.
September 29, 2014 - I was contacted by the sales person (*** ***** concerning a proposal to replace the two heatpumps with one unit. During the conversation I explained the service situation. The sales person indicated that the company policy was for a full refund if I was dissatisfied with service and that he would have someone in service call me.
September 29, 2014 - Someone named ******** called and I explained the situation. She indicated someone would be back to me the next day.
October 1, 2014 - Called and asked for ********. She explained that the Service Manager was out and that someone would get back to me Monday October 6.
October 8, 2014 - Called twice and left message with service manager.

Desired Settlement
Full refund as per their advertised policy - $565

Business Response
We have issued a refund to Mr. **** and we have placed him and his address as DO NOT SERVICE.
I have reviewed Mr. ****'s claims with the staff that have had contact with him and their version does not match his.

We performed repairs for Mr. **** to the correct units and the repairs were approved in advance. Our technician was the one that informed Mr. **** that his indoor units were not attached to the appropriate outdoor equipment. My Service Manager DID speak with Mr. ****. Mr. **** informed our Comfort Advisor that he wanted us to lay out his job, that he had no intention of having us do the work and that he was going to shop it to the lowest bidder.
We stand behind our service guarantee of "100% Satisfaction guaranteed or it's FREE" unconditionally.

Page 1 of 2
03/11/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

I was charged $475 for a repair on my HVAC unit but the unit was not fixed and a refund was denied.
On 9/26/15 a technician from Fayette Heating & Air came to my rental property at ***************** to investigate a later leak coming from the HVAC unit. Upon inspection I was told that the problem was a faulty condensate pump. I agreed to pay $475 for a replacement. The next day the tenant texted me and told me the unit was still leaking. FH&A came back out a second time and said the condensate pump had come "unscrewed" from the wall. The leak continued; however, and a third visit was made and this time I was told that the condensate drain pipe was clogged and the unit was dirty and I should have the unit cleaned at a cost of nearly $900. By this time, I had lost faith in their judgement and declined the service. I was told that the unit was in good working order despite needing cleaned. On 11/3/2015 I was told by the tenant that the unit was still leaking. I called a different HVAC company how made a service call. The only issue with the unit, according to the technician at Stewart, was a clog in the drain pan. He stated that the water was not even reaching the condensate pump but overflowing onto the floor from the pan. The also stated that the unit was not dirty and did not need cleaned. I have had no issues with the units since Stewart Air cleared the drain pan. FH&A did not solve the problem with my HVAC unit. They charged me $475 to replace a condensate pump when I didn't even need one and then tried to convince me that I had another very expensive problem in an effort to cover up their own incompetence and line their pockets with my money.

Desired Settlement
Full refund.

Business Response
We responded to a condensate leak call on 9/19/2015. Tech found condensate pump was non-operational and needed to be replaced. Tech could not reach Customer, who lives in Columbus Ohio area.
On 9/26/2015, customer agreed to replace condensate pump at the price of
$475.00 ($89 service fee plus straight forward pricing on the repair).
On 9/29/2015, we were called back out for same issue. Tech found that screws had come undone resulting in pump becoming un-level. Tech fixed issue and at that time he advised customer that both the blower and the coil were dirty and they both need to be clean to work efficiently. Customer declined repairs.
On 11/11/2015, 6 weeks later, the customer called back for same issue. Per tech, the dirt and filth off the blower and coil had clogged the condensate drain line. The tech attempted to reach customer but was unsuccessful and left message.
On 11/24/2015, after having several conversations with the customer, he sent me an email with a receipt from a competitor who verified customer had same issues. All competitor did was clear drain line.
On 12/8/2015, I advised customer that we would not refund his $475 because when we installed the new condensate pump, it worked for another 6 weeks until more debris clogged it again. I reminded customer that he refused to do the necessary maintenance suggested by our tech to fix problem.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Fayette Heating & Air is not being truthful. The coil and fan is not dirty. They do not need to be cleaned and this was confirmed by a reputable HVAC company. If it needed cleaned and that was the source of the problem, why didn't they say that at the initial inspection which I paid $89 for? Would they let me burn out another condensate pump if that caused the original one to fail? Fayette Heating and Air misdiagnosed the original problem and then doubled down trying to convince me that I needed services when I didn't. They assumed that since I was out of town that I would not question it. I have had zero problems since it was repaired by the other company.

05/08/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Lack of after the sale service and product not as claimed by business. Unresponsive to issues and product costing more when supposed to save us money
We bought a brand new and bigger unit to replace and an old one. We paid amount in full and expected a smooth transition but it was far from that. In the first months after installation problems arose, they checked unit in attic and found faulty installation as the lead to the unit was improperly supported/installed and ripped away from unit which meant we paid to heat the outside air! Once fixed we thought it was smooth sailing again, but come to find out instead of the money saving, energy efficient unit we were sold (bait and switch sales tactic?)we found our energy bills had more than doubled and our average carbon output was five-times higher than the average estimated by our electric company. Come to find out the next tech said the original installers did not check an old wiring harness/box for unit and that was causing an issue. So they replaced, and we kept the wires etc on file with our paperwork from sale (still have to this day with everything on file!). SO summer again seemed to go back to normal and bills went back down because we could turn unit off and enjoy open windows to breeze the house. However, once again... During the colder months the unit again ran inefficiently and bills more than doubled again. Now, I know during colder months bills increase etc, however not from and average winter bill around $240ish (yes, checked my account usage through KU) to over $500 monthly with a "energy efficient" unit! So I send copies of spreadsheets from my electric company to my salesperson and company as to show the average rate as compared to the exorbitant increase we now see. regardless of warmth/cold the unit has continuously run in auxiliary heat mode, which we were told is normal, but it has been on constant running and the unit never cuts off as we can clearly hear the vents blowing non-stop... I'm no pro but know when something is wrong. A tech comes out again and said unit reads fine, but the installers should have looked at layout of house and duct work etc as with a bigger unit some changes should have been made. SO he went back and finally a supervising tech/installer came with what he called his "go-to" crew and they found only one lead to the unit where it should be split to multiple, I believe they went to three. So we have noticed a significant difference in the air/heat flow, but again... Auxiliary heat continues, even as we sit in the 50 degree range outside, and unit does not cut off. We contact our electric/energy provider and come to find again our next payment is $530!!! So the lead/head tech is supposed to come back again to assess the issues, but at this point it is beyond frustrating and ridiculous and literally burning our finances. I am a teacher and my wife is an occupational therapist, however we had a newborn and she is not getting a check for the short term... So we are already tight and then this continues to plague us. All we want is for the issue/product to be fixed or replaced if necessary, but more so we feel a refund of the wasted energy cost should be provided as well as we may as well just burn our own cash for heat. I don't want any more than what the difference would be between our yearly average cost and the crazy overage we have experienced due to the ineffective service and product. We paid over $8k for the unit up front, and have wasted thousands extra to pay for their various mishaps etc. I recommend to research other companies and be wary of Fayette Heating and Air unless they can make some changes and truly do the right thing and address their customers needs appropriately and effectively. I will openly note... The techs, and most involved, on an individual level are extremely nice people and have made various efforts to help and assist, however the company as a whole entity has failed and shown its shortcomings in dealing with customers after the sale.

Desired Settlement
I seek no more than the average difference in energy costs during the peak months where the bill was more than doubled during the winter months (as shown in the spreadsheets I emailed as I wanted to be sure we had accurate numbers to compare, and not just my opinion/word but the energy company records to back it all up) to recoup the wasted money that could go toward supporting my family etc.I simply ask a company to do the right thing for its customers, and at this point I have yet to witness from this business. I have contacted the KY Attorney General office as well to ensure consumer protection as well as to ensure the right thing is done even if Fayette Heating/Air does not want to do themselves. If there is not an agreeable resolution sadly the next step will be the civil litigation/Tort litigation and will have them not only recoup my costs, but cover my lawyer and unfortunately perhaps get a little bit of their money for the time and trouble. I do not wish this whatsoever, but if it escalates I meet confrontation head on until some resolution comes around.

Business Response
We have reached an agreement with Mr. ******* in the amount of $1,000 to settle this dispute.
Please change the status of this complaint to closed.

05/08/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

What they state on website about COMFY CLUB membership is false.
Two plus years ago I joined the COMFY CLUB. I got my service more timely. I noticed last summer when I called to get regular service that it took over a month to get an appointment. I complained last summer. Nothing changed. Today I call to book a time for my servicing of my units before summer and was told first appoint on a Saturday was May 16th. When I complained and stated I was a comfy club member I was move dup to May 9th. Website states, "As a member of the Comfy Club" you'll go to the front of the line when you call..." So I guess if this is true they will not be doing business until May 9th. A bit of bait and switch in my eyes. I was so frustrated that I canceled my membership. Money wasted and lost. Should not be allowed to do business in this manner. Something has changed with this program in the past year...not for the good. Shame on the President of the Company.

Desired Settlement
Be made to change website to better reflect the true services and not mislead in advertisement. Comf CLub manager agree with me about the scheduling but said she has no control over it.

Business Response
In response to Mr. *********'s concerns, we are not misleading in our literature regarding the Comfy Club and we will not be changing any of our promotional pieces. Mr. ********* is confusing two different membership benefits.
Mr. ********* is referring to scheduling his System Inspection. Typically, the lead time when scheduling this visit will be somewhere between 2 and 6 weeks depending on the time of year. This is acceptable to our members as it not an "Emergency" need.
The "Go to the Front of the Line" benefit is for members that are in need of a "Service" call. This can be anything from the equipment not working to hearing a strange noise when the equipment is running and everything in between.
Had Mr. ********* called with a non-functioning system, we would have met the 2 to 4 hour response time we publish on our literature.
At Mr. *********'s request, we terminated his membership. We wish him well.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Heating & Air Conditioning, Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair, Electric Equipment - Service & Repair, Duct Cleaning, Air Conditioning Systems - Cleaning, Air Conditioning Repair, Heating Contractors, Electricians, Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 03/08/2005Business started: 04/01/1971
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

KY Department of Housing, Building & Inspection - Division of HVAC
Department of Housing, Buildings & Construction 101 Sea Hero Road Suite 100
Frankfort, KY 40601
(502) 573-0395

BBB records show a license number of HM00109 for this company, issued by KY Department of Housing, Building & Inspection - Division of HVAC.

Type: State Construction Lic.

Type of Entity


Incorporated: March 1971, KY

Business Management

Mr. Bret Melrose, President of Fayette Heating & Air is also the President of H20 Maestro. A separate BBB Business Review can be found for H20 Maestro by clicking here:

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Bret Melrose (President)Customer Contact: Mr. Chuck Cowing (Chief Operating Officer)Mr. Kevin Morris (Service Manager)Mr. Bill Tolliver
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning, Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair, Electric Equipment - Service & Repair, Duct Cleaning, Air Conditioning Systems - Cleaning, Air Conditioning Repair, Heating Contractors, Electricians, Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

Products & Services

Air Conditioning & Heating, Repair & Replacement, Equipment upgrades & New Construction, Indoor Air Quality, Filtration, Ventilation & Duct Cleaning, Humidification, Germicidal UV lights, Geothermal & Electrical Services.

Refund and Exchange Policy

We guarantee the products we supply will reach the comfort level they were designed for.

Alternate Business Names
Fayette Heating & Air Conditioning Inc, Fayette Heating and Air

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Fayette Heating & Air

817 Nandino Blvd.

Lexington, KY 40511

To | From


1 Locations

  • 817 Nandino Blvd. 

    Lexington, KY 40511(859) 219-1880

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Lexington. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Fayette Heating & Air is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Phone Numbers

  • (859) 219-1880

Additional Email Addresses


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


Industry Tips for Heating & Air Conditioning


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.