BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 10/01/1991

Air Control Heating & Air Conditioning of Lexington, Inc.

Phone: (859) 253-1734Fax: (859) 253-0365997 Floyd Drive Suite 100, LexingtonKY 40505 Send email to Air Control Heating & Air Conditioning of Lexington, Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 10/01/1991

BBB has determined that Air Control Heating & Air Conditioning of Lexington, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Air Control Heating & Air Conditioning of Lexington, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
09/07/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Air Control was contacted because my furnace was not working correctly. I have had nothing but problems since the first repair man visited my house.
Air Control first sent someone to my house on 6-9-15 because my air was not working correctly. My outside unit was checked and was found to be fully charged. My furnace was then checked by mechanic and I was told a drain line (PVC) was off of slope to drain water from unit. Drain line was re ran. On 6-18-15 I had another mechanic come out because my air was completely out. This mechanic found the outside a/c unit was out of charge and a leak was found in the indoor coil. A new coil was ordered. Upon this visit the mechanic told me the first guy that come out should not have re ran the drain line the way he did. I was told that he even let the first mechanic know that he thought he knew what he was doing, and that he never should have done that. First mechanic removed a p-trap which is necessary, and also broke a threaded piece that comes from a pan inside furnace that connects to pvc that is ran to a drain pipe. From 6-18-15 to 6-23-15 my house was without any air conditioning. Temperatures got up to 84 degrees inside my home. My wife and 2 year old daughter were forced to stay with my in-laws. I had to purchase a box fan and sleep downstairs in my house because of my dogs. On 6-23-15 my coil was replaced, a new drain line was ran, and my air was working fine. On 6-25-15 I could hear water pouring inside of my furnace. I checked the new drain pipe to see of it was allowing water to drain from the furnace and found that it was broke at the threaded part again. I called Air Control and the mechanic that replaced the coil on 6-23-15 returned to my home. He looked at the drain pipe and asked me how it got broke because he didn't do it. I told him that it had only be installed for 2 days, and that he was the only person to touch it. The mechanic silicone to try to reconnect the broken part of the drain pipe. He asked if I was ok leaving it like this if it allowed water to drain and I informed him that I would like it fixed properly since it was something he had just installed 2 days prior. I have called 2 times since 6-25-15 asking about the new part and I am told it has not arrived yet. On 7-2-15 I called and explained that water was not draining from my furnace and that there was a few inches of water collecting in the bottom of the unit. I had to remove a screen from the inside of my house to access the bottom of the furnace so I could collect water with a cup and bucket. I also informed Air Control that water was now slowly draining into my garage floor (furnace is located in a small closet inside of garage). It is currently 7/6/15 and I have not heard anything from Air Control.
I received a bill for $99.00 from the 6-9-15 visit. After my unit went out, and I was told by the second mechanic that the first guy never should have done the work that he did, I felt like I shouldn't have to pay for his screw up. They said they would drop the bill to $58, but I still don't think I should pay for a service that was wrongly done.
I also received a bill from the 6-23-15 visit for $645.50. $255 was labor and $390.50 was parts. After discussion, Air Control said they would drop some of the parts cost and make the bill $465.50. I feel like I am being charged for the first mechanics screw up. My unit went from being fully charged on 6-9-15 with just a drain issue to empty with a leak and needing to be replaced on 6-18-15. I do not think that I should have to pay for Air Controls mechanics doing faulty work.

Desired Settlement
All I want is for my furnace and air to be working properly. This problem has been going on for almost a month. I also feel that Air Control should be responsible and fix their mechanic's work without charge to me. My home was built in May 2013, I should not be having these kind of problems with a 2 year old home.

Business Response
We sent a tech out on 6/9/15 and he adjusted the drain line and said the charge was okay. we went back on 6/18/15 and found that the unit was void of refrigerant and determined the indoor coil had a leak, we quoted the customer $465.00 to replace the coil, the coil is no charge as it was under warranty but not the labor and refrigerant and vacuum etc. the customer agreed to the charges. we returned and replaced the coil, evacuated the system and charged the unit with new R410a refrigerant. we were called back on 6/25/15 for a water leak; our tech must have accidentally broken the fitting when installing it, we ordered a new pan from Trane but they shipped the wrong pan twice. when they finally sent the right one we went and installed it. we did not charge the customer for the repair/replacement of the pan.

We are willing to waive the initial service call of $99.00 that we reduced to $58.00 but in saying that a refrigerant leak can happen at anytime just like a battery, "you can start your car and drive the the store come back out and the battery is dead." so it is possible that the unit was full of charge on the first visit.

We are at Trane's mercy when it comes to parts shipped to us from them and are sorry for the inconvenience it caused the customer.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
First off, I was not quoted a charge before the coil was replaced. I was given a bill after the fact. The owner is ignoring the fact that a different technician in his own words told me that the first tech should never have done what he did with the drain line, and that he didn't know what he was doing. He even made sure to tell me that he informed the first technician when he saw him. There is no coincidence that after my furnace was touched by an Air Control technician for the first time since it was installed 2 years prior, that my unit formed a leak and lost all refrigerant in a little over a week. No person in their right mind would accept that. Your technician did work on my unit, which apparently wasn't right, and shortly after my whole unit needs replaced? The coil is covered with a door that is screwed on. It was perfectly fine and untouched for 2 years until your tech came for the drainage issue.
You honestly cannot compare a car battery dying to my coil leaking. Car batteries are expected to last a few years. If a coil needs to be replaced every few years, then something is wrong.
I understand the ordering issue with the drain pan and do not fault Air Control for that. However, I do stand by what I said in my first claim that I believe that Air Control, because of their technicians, is responsible for my coil needing replaced. The only way that I will be satisfied and move on from this situation is if they accept what has happened and deal with it within their company. The Air Control technicians are clearly not on the same page as to what should and should not be done to a furnace, and that should be addressed by the owner. I would also appreciate it if the next response would be submitted in the time given, and not 3 weeks late like this recent response.

Final Business Response
We understand whole heatedly that this should not happen to a unit that is only a few years old. we do not manufacture the unit Trane does, we give a one year labor allowance that is the industry standard, the tech did not cause the coil to leak, the customer misunderstood the analogy of the car battery, I was not comparing his col to the batteries life cycle only that it could be working one day and fail the next like any mechanical devise. We strive to do what is right or make it right; If we didn't quote the repairs before making them we are in the wrong and apologize for that. we will not invoice the customer for the work done and would accept payment only for the first invoice that was sent for the initial service call. I assume the unit is operational at this time.

thank you.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I would like to get this situation solved, therefore I agree to those terms. I will send a check for the initial service of $99. I appreciate your cooperation.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Heating & Air Conditioning, Heating Equipment, Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair, Duct Cleaning, Air Conditioning Systems - Cleaning, Air Conditioning Repair, Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial, Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential, Heating Contractors, Heat Pumps, Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 03/08/2005Business started: 08/01/1971
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

KY Department of Housing, Building & Inspection - Division of HVAC
Department of Housing, Buildings & Construction 101 Sea Hero Road Suite 100
Frankfort, KY 40601
(502) 573-0395

BBB records show a license number of HM01106 for this company, issued by KY Department of Housing, Building & Inspection - Division of HVAC.

Type: unknown

Business Management
Principal: Mr. Herbie McGaughey (CEO)Mrs Angie McGaughey (Office Mamager)
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning, Heating Equipment, Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair, Duct Cleaning, Air Conditioning Systems - Cleaning, Air Conditioning Repair, Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial, Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential, Heating Contractors, Heat Pumps, Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

Alternate Business Names
Air Control Company

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Air Control Heating & Air Conditioning of Lexington, Inc.

997 Floyd Drive Suite 100

Lexington, KY 40505

To | From


1 Locations

  • 997 Floyd Drive Suite 100 

    Lexington, KY 40505

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Lexington. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Air Control Heating & Air Conditioning of Lexington, Inc. is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Email Addresses


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


Industry Tips for Heating & Air Conditioning


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.