BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 04/01/2009

Centerfire Systems

Phone: (859) 873-2352Fax: (859) 873-1842102 Fieldview Drive, VersaillesKY 40383 Send email to Centerfire Systems

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 04/01/2009

BBB has determined that Centerfire Systems meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Centerfire Systems' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues3
Billing / Collection Issues2
Problems with Product / Service3
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Centerfire Systems

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (8)BBB Closure Definitions
05/19/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On 4/18 I placed an order. I was charged and the items have not shipped. Company told me twice it shipped to find out today that it never shipped.
On 4/18/14, I placed an order with Centerfire Systems online for two rifle stocks. I provided my billing information and executed the purchase. A pending charge appeared on my card the next day and was approved on 4/22/14. I did not receive any shipping information from the company and called them on 4/24/14 in attempt to find a tracking number. At that time I was advised that the item was shipping out that day. I called back again today 4/29/14 again asking for a tracking number. I was advised that the item would be shipping today. I asked the representative ********* to clarify that because I was told that it had shipped last week. After a long hold I was advised that the order was never processed on their end and that they would attempt to process and ship my order without charging my card a second time. I wanted to assure myself of this and asked them to please fill my order. I am still waiting to be contacted by the company's person who is supposed to attempt to correct their wrongdoings. It is taking far to long to hear back from them. They have had the funding for over a week and did not begin to process the order. Furthermore they lied to me twice saying that the order was processed and in shipping. Their website shows that my order was confirmed on 4/18/14.

Desired Settlement
I would like a full refund of shipping charges and expedited shipping on my product.

Business Response
According to our records Mr ****'s order was delivered May 5th 2014 at 1 pm via UPS. The tracking number was
1ZXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX. Additionally, the CSR that help Mr. **** did refund his shipping charges. The credit was run through on May 1st 2014.

Thank you,

04/16/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Charged me with Confirm Order
The website will charge you without clicking submit on Confirm Order page , be the time you get to this page your order will be charged without telling the full price of what you are buying , no shipping. And the shipping will be billed to you bind 10 dollars on a 5 dollar item. I never submitted order , I just went through the process of check out to see shipping and they charge me with out submitting in Confirm Order page !! This website is a scam !! I called to cancel , they said they could not , to ship back to cancel !!!!!! This people are crooks !!!!!

Desired Settlement
I want my full money back !!!!

Business Response
Mr. **** placed an order on our web-site. He selected the items he wanted into the shopping cart. He proceeded through the secure process of entering his shipping and billing information for the items he wanted to purchase. A confirmation was sent to him when he finalized his order.
Sometime later Mr. **** e-mailed us that he did not place the order. We then responded that we can intercept the package via UPS and credit him back for the purchase. Here is a copy of that conversation.

Look at the date stamps.

From: Centerfire Systems mailto:****@centerfiresystems.com
Sent: Wednesday, April 02, XXXX X:XX PM
To: '*********@gmail.com'
Subject: RE: Order Confirmation (#XXXXXX)



I will cancel this order and have the package sent back to Centerfire Systems.



From: *********@gmail.com mailto:*********@gmail.com
Sent: Saturday, March 29, XXXX X:XX PM
To: Centerfire Systems, Inc.
Subject: Re: Order Confirmation (#XXXXXX)



I never submitted this order

Sent from my iPhone


On Mar 29, 2014, at 4:55 PM, "Centerfire Systems, Inc." <****@centerfiresystems.com> wrote:

Order Confirmation

Thank you for your order, ****** ****.

Your order number is: XXXXXX

Date of order: 3/29/XXXX X:XX PM

Our everyday prices reflect a 3% cash savings not available on credit or debit card orders.

Shipping Method: Actual shipping charges will be applied when your order is processed through Centerfire Systems. Click above to view chart.

Payment Method: Credit card payment
Ship To

****** ****

425 NE 30 st

APT 602

Miami, FL XXXXX

United States

Phone:(XXX) XXX - XXXX

Bill To

****** ****

425 NE 30 st

APT 602

Miami, FL XXXXX

United States

Phone:(XXX) XXX - XXXX


Please remove his entire complaint. It's unfounded...

Shane ***

03/17/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Misadvertised gun sold
I purchased a firearm from Centerfire systems. The advertisement states that the gun was in EXCELLENT condition, a condition that I assume is in line with the standards set forth by the NRA. The gun arrived and was in "good" condition, a grade 2 levels below the advertised grade. As this is a firearm, and it came from out of state, I am required to receive this gun via a licensed transferee, and in order to send it out of state it must be sent out via a licensed transferee. Each transaction costs me $30. As it will take $60 to view a gun, as a purchaser we rely upon the standards that the sellers represent. NRA standards are as follows:

* New - A gun given a grade of "new" looks just as it did when it left the factory and has never been sold at a retail store.
* Perfect - A "perfect" gun is literally as good as new, although it may have been sold in a retail store.
* Excellent An "excellent" rating means the gunappears to be in perfect condition but may have had minor use.
* Very Good - A "very good" firearm is perfect mechanically but may have minor cosmetic blemishes.
* GoodA rating of "good" indicates that the gun is in proper working condition but may show signs of wear.
* Fair - A "fair" firearm is also in safe working condition but may require some minor maintenance.

I communicated via email and was offered a even exchange for a gun in excellent condition. This transaction has already cost me $30 to process the gun it, it will now cost $30 to process out, and another $30 to again process in. I called and talked to ******* who put me in contact with ***** the owner who offered to issue a call tag to pick the gun up, refund $25 and return me a gun in excellent condition. I accepted and waited a week for the call tag to arrive. I then called Customer service today and talked to ******* again who said that they would issue a call tag to pick the gun up and send out a replacement.I later got an email that said that they would not honor the deal that **** had agreed to.

Desired Settlement
I ask to return and exchange the gun for a gun in the condition that was offered. In addition, I seek $60 for the ADDITIONAL licensed processing of a firearm as my state requires. ($30 to process out for return, $30 to process in when the gun arrives)

Business Response
Mr, *******,

We advertised the Glocks in Excellent condition because we have been receiving them with New Frames. Your Glock should of had a brown tag with a description of that Glock. It should say "New Frame" on the bottom of tag. I went through our current inventory of Glock 22 and even though the tag states "New Frame" they don't have new frames. I have corrected our web-site and will gladly refund your purchase plus the $30 transfer fee. I don't have a exchange to offer in Excellent condition.

Thank you and sorry for the problem,

***** ***

02/25/2013Problems with Product / Service
02/18/2013Advertising / Sales Issues
Page 1 of 2
06/18/2013Advertising / Sales Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Guns & Gunsmiths, Internet Shopping, Survival Products & Supplies

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 03/08/2005Business started: 01/01/1986
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael S. Coe (President)
Business Category

Guns & Gunsmiths, Internet Shopping, Survival Products & Supplies

Alternate Business Names
United Arms Corporation

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Centerfire Systems

102 Fieldview Drive

Versailles, KY 40383

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 102 Fieldview Drive 

    Versailles, KY 40383

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Lexington. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Centerfire Systems is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Guns & Gunsmiths

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.