BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Geno's Formal Affair

Find a Location

Phone: (859) 276-1461Fax: (859) 276-2061380 Southland Dr, LexingtonKY 40503-1825 Send email to Geno's Formal Affairhttp://www.gfatux.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Geno's Formal Affair is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Geno's Formal Affair's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Geno's Formal Affair

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
04/03/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Minor age daughter bullied into buying dress she told salesgirl was too small, told coupon was expired when it was not, & not told of all sales final.
My daughter, a minor, went to Geno's Southland drive on Monday March 2nd. She was bullied into buying a dress that was too small even though she told the sales girl it was too small and asked her to order a bigger size. She also mentioned that she had a coupon for $10 off every $100 spent but had left it at home and asked if they would hold the dres for 10 minutes. She was told "those expired yesterday". When she got home she discovered it was in fact good through March 15th (the store did agree the next day to honor this coupon but this is all part of the bullying to rush the sale)Then when she got it home my mom and I couldn't get it zipped and noticed that over 1/2 the rhinestones were gone. We took it back first thing the next morning and they said they have a no return policy - which she was not told about - but that she could trade the dress for store credit. They kept the dress but didn't give her a store merchandise card or anything. A few hours later the manager called her cell phone during the school day. She's a student . . . that's why she's going to prom! She left the store crying and has been upset all day! She doesn't even want to go to prom now! This has ruined the whole experience for her. I have since heard of multiple other horror stories of issues with this store that I wish we had known of before...hopefully I we can save someone else this misery.

Desired Settlement
Refund of my daughter's $518.

Business Response
Re: Case #XXXXXXXX': **** (******) *******
The letter dated March 16, 2015 is the only notification Geno's Formal Affair, Inc., has received on case #XXXXXXXX. Without any notification from the Better Business Bureau, Mrs. ******* was contacted on March 12, 2015, at 3:18p.nx EST by the company owner, **** *********, in an attempt to resolve this issue. Mrs. ******* told the owner he would have to contact her daughter, ******, to discuss any issue concerning her dress purchase. Mrs. ******* gave the owner ******'s phone number to contact her. On the same day, eleven minutes after talking to Mrs. *******, the owner called ******. She didn't answer and -voicemail couldn't be left because her phone kept ringing without a prompt to leave a message. Several attempts were made to contact ****** with no success.
Mrs; ******* accompanied her daughter, who is a minor, throughout the entire sale process. Geno's Formal Affair, Inc. doesn't bully customers or use high pressure sales tactics. Our 42 year reputation speaks for itself.
The sales staff did say the coupon had expired, but when they realized it was a mistake they honored the coupon offer. Mrs. ******* was with her daughter during this entire sales transaction. Her daughter loved the dress and was ecstatic that she fit into a size 6. This is evidenced by text messages she sent to friends that she found her prom dress. In the text messages (which we can produce if necessary), she expressed how she loved the dress and was so excited that she could wear a size 6 dress. In the store, Mrs. ******* and her daughter were completely satisfied with the dress selection and how good the dress fit.
Geno's Formal Affair, Inc. has a "no return policy" on prom dresses. This policy is not unusual in the prom dress industry. The policy is clearly posted on our video screens and printed on the receipt. The sales team also explains this policy to our customers. We ask the customer to examine the dress to make sure there are no imperfections. Our staff also looks for imperfections. Customers are asked if they're sure this is the dress they want to purchase because Geno's Formal Affair, Inc. has a no return policy once the dress is purchased and leaves our store. This customer, Mrs. ******* and her daughter ******, were completely satisfied with the dress purchase. The dress fit and there were no imperfections.
We don't know what happened to the dress after it left our store. If half of the beads were missing, we would've repaired the dress. This dress has a side zipper and side zippers require two people to zip the dress. Mrs. ******* was there and observed every step in this transaction. She never said a word to our staff about any imperfections, fitting problems and our staff supposedly bullying her minor daughter. She was with her daughter the entire time. If the dress had imperfections, didn't fit and her daughter was bullied by our stuff then why wasn't this brought to our attention at the time of purchase instead of waiting until she left the store? Customer service is very important to us and these are serious complaints that would've been detected right at the time of the sale and could have been resolved right at the time of service. However, all these complaints didn't come about till after the dress left our store.
When she contacted our manager about returning the dress and demanding a full refund, the manager explained the no return policy. Mrs. ******* was not pleased with the policy and literally spoke to every company manager. Our store manager decided to give Mrs. ******* and her daughter a special accommodation. Against company policy, the manager told Mrs. ******* that she could return the dress and get an in store credit. This meant she could pick any dress in our inventory of equal value. She returned the dress, no in store credit document was necessary since our entire management team was aware of this situation. Mrs. ******* and her daughter never came back to our store to make another selection. When the owner called on March 12, 2015, the purpose was to help Mrs. ******* and her daughter to find another dress of equal value. Mrs. ******* would not discuss the in store credit and her daughter would not answer our calls.
We still have their dress and they still have their in store credit. There is still an excellent selection of dresses in her size. We would be delighted to help them make another selection with their in store credit.

Sincerely,
**** *********, President
Gino's Formal Affair, Inc.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Formal Wear, Wedding Supplies & Services

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 03/08/2005Business started: 01/01/1971
Contact Information
Principal: Mr Gino Guarnieri (President)Customer Contact: Ms. Carrie Thomas (District Manager)
Business Category

Formal Wear, Wedding Supplies & Services

Alternate Business Names
Geno's Formal Wear

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Geno's Formal Affair

380 Southland Dr

Lexington, KY 40503-1825

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 2016 Mercer Road 

    Lexington, KY 40511

  • 380 Southland Dr 

    Lexington, KY 40503-1825(859) 276-1461
    Fax: (859) 276-2061

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Lexington. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Geno's Formal Affair is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Formal Wear

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.