BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Huber Construction

Phone: (859) 368-2664

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

12 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Delivery Issues3
Problems with Product / Service9
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints12

Additional Complaint Information

This company has a pattern of complaints alleging taking money for work, yet not completing the job. BBB has attempted to contact the company regarding this pattern of complaints, however the company has failed to respond to BBB.

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (12)
08/14/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Huber Construction failed to complete work contracted in late February. It is now nearly June (May 29th), and our driveway has been unusable for 3 mos
Huber Construction was contracted on Feb.28th to rebuild/reconstruct concrete and brick retaining walls and driveway. Stated in writing that work would be completed before Easter. Numerous overcharges for unnecessary work that was not completed anyway. Driveway has been unusable for three months now. Promises to show up and complete work by specific dates, but never arrives. Failure to return recent phone calls. All completed work has been done by a sub-contractor. Huber never even showed up to supervise sub-contracted work. Huber demanded payments totalling over 12,000.00 including two overcharges for a retaining wall footer that was never laid, and replacement of entire rear patio which was not needed. Work in the amount of no more than 2,000.00 (according to sub-contractor) has been completed.

Desired Settlement
As only 2,000.00 work has been completed in a very untimely manner, we seek the return of 9,000.00 from the remainder of the monies paid to Huber Construction.

Final Consumer Response
re: Complaint XXX-XXXXXXXX-XXXXXXXX-XX-XXX
Dear Mr *****
The contracted work with Huber Construction has been adequately completed, therefore, you may cancel our complaint against Huber Construction as of 7/4/14. Thank you very much for your timely assistance in this matter!
Yours: ***** ********* (for ********* *********)

12/23/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Paid 4991 of 5k for services He was not licensed to do, did improperly, and illegally hooked up, never finished and constantly delayed during process.
3-1-2014 contract for $4,100 to do the following:
1-Saw cut 80' of cuts,
2- remove concrete,
3- install a grinder pump (I purchased), install drain pipes and toilet flange for 1 sink, 1 toilet, and 1 shower drain (rough in only),
4-repair and install finish concrete to grade,
5- install the drain vent to the basement.
3/14 (Saturday) you charged us an additional $891 to rent a bigger jackhammer and claimed "no charges are needed after this...will be complete by end of day Monday."
Paid $891 as well as payments amounting to $1000 (in "draws") to continue work to that point.
You did write into the contract that 'client responsible for permits' however you indicated those would only need to be purchased after your section was completed so they (permit office) would simply "check the drains are functioning, nothing more than that".
After months of reschedules (3 weeks of this was admittedly waiting on my warranty return due to a broken pipe found after you permanently set the grinder pump in concrete), I attempted to gather the necessary permits and found out:
1) You were not licensed to do work of ANY kind after December 30th 2013,
2) Since I'm not a master plumber I was not even able to acquire the permits,
Assured everything was "code" and you could have your plumber "do the check on it" or I could get one and the "$300" Actually $100 still owed to 'connect the lines and check it'. Promised would still finish the job and your license would be ready by first week in June. Not officially licensed again until 7-10-14 according to the LFUCG office.
Sewage leak from your 'vent' pipes and days unable to use our full baths before you could fix. You have exposed us to radon for 8 months (our house has a Radon mitigation pipe and system), my wife is now 8 months pregnant, and we have a 1.5 year old as well.
You claimed to be in the Better Business Bureau, licensed. Always paid on time despite little progress on project. Master plumber said ALL was illegal.
1) You used 1.5" PVC pipe for the vent when 2 inch PVC is code.
2) You rigged it over and around the top joint of a sewage pipe, not an actual 'vent'; both are illegal.
3) The joint you re-glued was still not secure and slid back off again when touched.
4) You used high-pressure water fittings for some of the drain (very expensive and not code)
5) The hole for the sewage ejector was not made large enough to tie in the pipes you had laid out.
Estimated $3,000 to fix the vent, fix the existing drain situation, and setup the drain properly with necessary permits. I removed all vent Pipes and capped off the hole in sewer line, and labor to afford fixing the drain. I've spent $79.26 in parts to finish the drain, and $1088 in labor costs. I am not asking you to cover the cost of the permits, however the $100 I still owe you did not nearly cover the cost to finish the drain. It will cost an estimated $1200-1500 to properly finish the vent (again with me buying the materials and helping with labor).
Of the 2 contracts totaling $4,991.00, I've paid $4,891. (3-1: $3000; 3-7: $500; 3-8: $300; 3-12: $200; 3-15: 891.10). I also have all of our text conversations and correspondence. I agree to pay you for the work you've done: Jackhammering, some debris removal, some usable plumbing supplies you purchased (most were glued in and incorrect). However, to finish your project and fix the issues you made will cost over $2700 alone. A fair estimate for items 1 and 2 (of 5) that you worked on would be no more than $2,500 dollars. Also does not reflect item 2 was not fully completed; there is still over 300 pounds extra gravel/concrete debris to be hauled out. Been advised not to have you back for fear it will not be done properly and cause damage to the pipes which are now set in gravel.
Requesting refund $2400 for work not completed and 5 major issues you did illegally. Takes into account the last $100 we owe you upon "completion of your contract".

Desired Settlement
You came to us claiming to be in the Better Business Bureau, licensed, and of the highest quality, and integrity. We were very patient with all of the delays and excuses you offered (sick workers, trailer hit in Winchester, court, helping stranded motorist, flat tire (multiple occasions), truck bed liner issue at dealership, the ***** **** the TC sidewalk job taking extra time and energy). We always paid you on time and trusted you to treat us fairly as you explained key issues and the need for payment despite little progress toward final completion of the project.\r\nI had a master plumber, ***** ***** ****** ********* come to assess the situation, in which he found that nothing was done to code or properly.
1) You used 1.5" PVC pipe for the vent when 2 inch PVC is code.
2) You rigged it over and around the top joint of a sewage pipe, not an actual 'vent'; both are illegal.
3) The joint you re-glued was still not secure and slid back off again when touched.
4) You used high-pressure water fittings for some of the drain (very expensive and not code)
5) The hole for the sewage ejector was not made large enough to tie in the pipes you had laid out.
***** estimated over $3,000 to fix the vent, fix the existing drain situation, and setup the drain properly with necessary permits. I, personally, had to remove all of your vent Pipes and cap off the hole in my sewer line, as well as assist in labor so we could afford to begin fixing the drain. I've spent $79.26 in parts to finish the drain, and $1088 in labor costs. I am not asking you to cover the cost of the permits, however the $100 I still owe you did not nearly cover the cost to finish the drain. It will cost an estimated $1200-1500 to properly finish the vent (again with me buying the materials and helping with labor).
Going over your 2 contracts totaling $4,991.00, we've paid you $4,891. (3-1: $3000; 3-7: $500; 3-8: $300; 3-12: $200; 3-15: 891.10). We also have all of our text conversations and correspondence.\r\nI agree to pay you for the work you've done: Jackhammering, debris removal, some usable plumbing supplies you purchased (most were glued in and incorrect). However, to finish your project and fix the issues you made will cost us well over $2700 alone. A fair estimate for items 1 and 2 (of 5) that you completed would be no more than $2,500 dollars. This also does not reflect that item 2 was not fully completed; there is still over 200 pounds of extra gravel and concrete debris that will need to be hauled out of my basement. We do not know how much it will cost to finish concreting the floor back, but plan on finding another company to take over this step as we have been advised not to have you back for fear it will not be done properly and cause damage to the pipes which are now set in gravel.
For all of these reasons I am requesting that you refund us $2400 for work you have not completed and the 5 major issues you did illegally/not to code. This takes into account the last $100 we owe you upon "completion of your contract". If we have not heard from you AND received a settlement for your unfulfilled contract item s, by 8-31-2014 we will be contacting an attorney, the Plumbing Inspectors' office in Frankfort, and the Better Business Bureau to move forward. I have attempted to call you and discuss all of this information, your voicemail is full, the other phone is disconnected, and your website and email appears to be down.

08/27/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The contract was for a patio to be poured and he failed to do so, I gave him a $600 deposit and now am unable to contact him.
I hired him to pour a decorative patio in my back yard, He came to my house 3 different times to make sure that the job was clearly understood. I have a contract with him and gave a $600 deposit to begin the work. The check has been cashed but no work has been done. He will not answer his phone and I cannot leave any messages because his voicemail is full.

Desired Settlement
I want to get my deposit back for work not done and no ability to contact him. Phone not being answered and voice mail full.

08/14/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Huber Construction has failed to preform work in a timely manner.
I signed a contract with Huber Construction on 4/28/14 to replace my concrete driveway and sidewalk. I paid a deposit by check of $7,000.00 with $2125.00 due on completion. As of this date (7/8/14) the job has not been completed. The demo work was finally done over two weeks ago leaving me without access to the garage and difficult access to my front door. Mr ***** has made various excuses during this entire time and has failed to return my most recent phone calls.

On the contract this is listed as Job # XXXXXXXXXXXX-X

Desired Settlement
Refund of the entire $7,000.00 deposit for gross breach of contract.

08/14/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
contracted to redo concrete driveway. Did not show up when he said he would, will not return calls, texts. worked briefly on the job then stopped
contract 6-10 with deposit
work to be done 6-15 with 2 weeks window for weather, etc
mult phone calls with without a return call
fabricated stories about his being in car wreck, bobcat/trailer stolen, car broke down, lost wallet, all within the space of 2 weeks.
started work yesterday, after asking for more money, then hasn't shown up today.
phone says "customer not available"

Desired Settlement
I would like the job completed as per contract within the next week. By contract, should have been done by 6-29-14
or a full refund

07/31/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Signed contract on June 23, 2014 and gave Mr. Huber a check for $18,184.25. We called him to cancel the contract on June 24, our money not returned.
Signed contract for concrete and water drainage system on June 23, 2014. We gave him a check for $18,184.25 (check # 1586) on a total contract priced at $27,868.50 He was to return following morning with a detailed outline of work he committed and drop off his initial supplies. He did not return and after learning more about him on the internet, my wife called him about the detailed list, he said he would be right over. He never showed up so she called him again and spoke with him around 2:00 PM on June 24 to cancel the contract. He said he would return our money instead he cashed the check and it cleared our credit union on the morning of June 25.

After various attempts via email, phone and text messages we have not seen him even though he promises he is coming. Bottom line he has $18,184.25 of our money, has done no work at all. The complaints on the internet all the reflect the same scenario; he takes your money and runs.

On Friday, June 27 we shipped a package with this complaint to the State Attorney General's Office. We have also notified Home Advisor an online service that connected us with Huber Construction. They told us he would be removed from their list of vendors.

Desired Settlement
Since no work was done and he is totally unresponsive we would like the full amount of $18,184.25 returned. He committed fraud in representing his business and is unlicensed in Fayette and Woodford County where we live. We do not believe he has insurance on his employees as he indicated he did.

I will admit we did not do our homework that allowed us to get in this mess. We want to help in any way to get people like ***** ***** behind bars because he is nothing more than a common thief.

Page 1 of 3

Industry Comparison| Chart

Concrete Contractors, Concrete Blocks & Shapes, Remodeling Services, Foundation Contractors, Demolition Contractors, Contractors - General

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.