BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/01/2003

Bennett's Carpets, Inc.

Phone: (270) 866-6930Fax: (270) 866-6200View Additional Phone Numbers149 Steve Drive, Russell SpringsKY 42642 Send email to Bennett's Carpets, Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/01/2003

BBB has determined that Bennett's Carpets, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Bennett's Carpets, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Bennett's Carpets, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
04/23/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I bought laminate flooring with a 25 yr warranty. It is defective but company keeps putting me off and doesn't honor the warranty.
In March 2012, I bought laminate flooring from salesman, **** ******, at Bennett's Carpet in Russell Springs, which had a 25 yr warranty. I noticed immediately a couple of scratches and called this salesman regarding the scratches. He said he would send someone to replace it. He never did and I have learned he is no longer with this company. I let the scratches go but several months ago, I started noticing several boards seemed to be "buckling" on the edges with what appeared to be water damage. However this is in my living room and bedroom and there is no place for water to leak out. They sent a salesman to take pictures and I never heard from him until I called again a few weeks later. After calling numerous times, I was told they would send a sales rep for the product, to check it out. He missed his first scheduled time but came a couple of weeks later (approximately 3-4 weeks ago). He looked at the floor and said that was not water damage and said he didn't know what caused it and when I said perhaps it was defective flooring, he told me it was not defective flooring--that this flooring had put down in thousands of homes and then hinted that he couldn't see the damage to the floors. After he did his walk through, the salesman from Bennett's said he would talk to the owner and get back with me in the next couple of days. I haven't heard from him until I called again and spoke to another salesman. He promised to get a message to this man (*******). ******* called me approximately a week later and told me the salesman would be sending me a letter regarding my floor and then they would decide what to do about it. This was two weeks ago and I still haven't heard from the rep for the flooring or from Bennett's. I regretfully say, that I did not keep my receipt but the cost was approximately $1100-1200 for the flooring and to get it installed. While the men who laid my floor did not do it during normal working hours, they did it on a weekend which saved me money and gave them a side job to complete (they were employed by Bennett's Carpets). When I called Bennett's with my first complaint, they looked it up on their computer and they do have the information regarding my flooring. I paid the company and the men with a check. It is not my desire to cause problems for anyone but I feel like they are not honoring the warranty on my flooring. I have called repeatedly and most times never got a call back and when they did, it was to tell me they would talk to someone. Please help me. I paid a lot of money (to me) and expect it to be free of defects. Thank you. ***** ******

Desired Settlement
All I am asking for is for my laminate flooring to be replaced. I don't want this particular flooring again, because I don't trust it to be free of defects. Nothing was done to cause this damage to my floors. It is a beautiful floor but it shouldn't be buckling as it is when its only been down for year and few months. I just ask for it to be replaced. Thank you.

Business Response
The company is waiting for an assessment from the manufacturer in order to determine how to best proceed with a resolution for the customer. The company expects to have a more detailed response shortly.

Consumer Response
The customer indicated that she has not heard anything further from the company at this point. She requests that the company move forward with her desired resolution.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Carpet & Rug Dealers - New, Floor Materials - Retail, Ceiling Materials, Tile - Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers, Drywall Contractors

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 03/08/2005Business started: 01/01/1976
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John Bennett (Treasurer)Customer Contact: Ms. Alisa King (Corporate Secretary)Ms Rena Bennett (Vice President)Mr. Ivan Bennett (President)Mr. Dave Feeback (COO)Ms. Charity Willard (Administrative Assistant)
Business Category

Carpet & Rug Dealers - New, Floor Materials - Retail, Ceiling Materials, Tile - Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers, Drywall Contractors

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Bennett's Carpets, Inc.

149 Steve Drive

Russell Springs, KY 42642

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 149 Steve Drive 

    Russell Springs, KY 42642

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Lexington. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Bennett's Carpets, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 471-2417
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Carpet & Rug Dealers - New

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.