BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Central & Eastern Kentucky

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 02/01/2005

Ken Towery's Auto Care Center

Phone: (859) 278-0516Fax: (502) 499-1579View Additional Phone Numbers2587 Nicholasville Rd, LexingtonKY 40503-3357 Send email to Ken Towery's Auto Care Center

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 02/01/2005

BBB has determined that Ken Towery's Auto Care Center meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Ken Towery's Auto Care Center's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service5
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 7

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (7)BBB Closure Definitions
06/19/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor service under the terms of warranties

Complaint: Will not honor a lifetime wheel alignment guarantee.
On Saturday, April 19, 2014, I asked for an alignment of my vehicle. I told them that I had a lifetime alignment guarantee that I had purchased. The counter service person was not aware of any lifetime alignment guarantee. He was a fairly new employee. He went to the shop and spoke with someone and came back and said that they do not offer a lifetime alignment guarantee. I responded by saying I not asking you to offer a guarantee, just to honor the guarantee that I had purchased for my Pontiac grand prix when Towery Saunders, now Ken Towery. He said that they are under new ownership and that they would not honor the guarantee.

I have been doing business with Ken Towery/Towers/Saunders since 1987 (27 years). I express this to the service person but still no change to their position. In my view, this is no way to keep a longtime customer, continuing to be a long time client.

Initial Business Response
This customer has been contacted and will be coming in for the lifetime alignment. We will honor the request.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

10/15/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Service Complaint Issue

Complaint: Mechanics drove our vehicle to pick up the parts they were going to place on our vehicle without our permission.
On 9/7/2013 my husband took our 2009 Dodge Journey in to the Ken Towery shop located on 3110 Todds Rd, Lexington, KY. Everything was fine until my husband found when everything was done that they drove our car all the way to the Dodge dealership to pick up the part they needed to service our car. My husband asked why they would do that without talking to him and they said they do it all the time. I'm sorry but that is unacceptable. They won't do work to your car without getting your consent but they CAN drive it without getting your consent. Frankly this isn't smart on the owners part because what if they get an accident they are not authorized drivers on our insurance, didn't have our permission and does their insurance cover any damages that could have happened from an accident. I'm not talking about anybody's driving skills but accidents happen all the time or god forbid they get pulled over by the police randomly. Apparently there's no regulation for this in Kentucky so this is best I could come up with on how to resolve this issue since the owner allows this to happen regularly and if he doesn't know about it you can make him aware. Again overall service was impressive but this is important detail that I think needs to be addressed they should not be able to drive someone's car anywhere without their consent whether in writing (preferably) or verbally. The manager of this location listed on our receipt is ******* ******* and the technician that worked on our car is ** **** with the ID XXXXXX-X.10 (if that makes any since). If you have any questions we can be reached at the e-mail and phone number provided. Thank you in advance.

Initial Business Response
The company indicated that it attempted to contact the customer and has not received a return call as of yet.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

06/25/2012Advertising / Sales Issues
05/08/2012Problems with Product / Service
02/09/2012Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Repair & Service, Tire Dealers

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 03/08/2005Business started: 01/01/1975
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Brian Peck (Store Manager)Customer Contact: Mr. Kris Towery (Area Manager)Mr. Dave Church (Vice President)Mr. Greg Jones
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service, Tire Dealers

Alternate Business Names
Firestone #4, Firestone-Towery & Saunders, Ken Towery's Auto Care Centers Corporate Offi, Towery & Saunders Auto Care Centers #4, Towery & Saunders Firestone, Inc.
Industry Tips
The Hail Season is Here

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Ken Towery's Auto Care Center

2587 Nicholasville Rd

Lexington, KY 40503-3357

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 2587 Nicholasville Rd 

    Lexington, KY 40503-3357

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Lexington. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Ken Towery's Auto Care Center is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (859) 278-0518
  • (502) 499-9599
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Auto Repair & Service

The Hail Season is Here
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.