BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 09/01/2009

Dings, Dents N' Details

(859) 327-34642253 Nicholasville Rd., LexingtonKY 40503 Send email to Dings, Dents N' Details

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 09/01/2009

BBB has determined that Dings, Dents N' Details meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Dings, Dents N' Details' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Dings, Dents N' Details

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
03/02/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My car has scratches all over the hood, trunk, and top that were not there when I dropped my car off and they did not fix the dent that I took it for
ON XX-X-XXXX I dropped my car for a dent removal
and detail. They kept my car for 3 days which I thought was odd. I noticed all the scratches on my trunk later and upon looking further They were on my hood and top of the car too Called them and my friend took it over to them and they said take it to the body shop I did body shop said it looked like someone used a brillo pad on it Called them on XX-XX-XXXX and they gave me their insurance info all the while they will not admit wrong doing

Desired Settlement
They want 1700 dollars to paint the hood, trunk, and top of car, also a rental car and the dent fixed they were supposed to fix in the first place

Business Response
The company contacted the BBB and indicated the claim has been resolved.

Final Consumer Response
We are in the process of working with their insurance company but we still have not resolved the issue completely. Will update as I am updated by their insurance company.

12/19/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Car not clean. Battery was disconnected after second attempt to clean car. Forgot to install floor mats
We took or Volvo XC90 to DDD for an interior detail job. The car was not clean so it was returned for a redo. They didn't vacuum the carpet before steam cleaning. The employee confirmed that the car wasn't clean. When my wife returned for the redo the loaner car she was promised was not there and she was asked to wait for a few hours so they could clean another car for her to borrow. She instead rescheduled for the next day. I picked the car up and noticed the digital clock had been reset. This is done by disconnecting the battery. They also forgot to install the floor mats. I checked the battery and noticed all of the battery bracket bolts were loose. Upon re-installing the battery I noticed the clock was reset just like when I picked it up the second time.There is also a check engine light that wasn't on before the cleaning. I think they were upset they had to re-clean the car and sabotaged it. The employees were very rude when I picked up the car the second time. The car is still dirty and I don't believe the service we paid for was given. The check engine light may be a coincidence, but I have never seen this light and why was the clock reset?

Desired Settlement
A refund of the 119.00 and 20.00 tip.

Business Response
The company indicated that it made every reasonable effort to satisfy the customer. As a gesture of goodwill, the company sent a refund check ($139.00) to the BBB to be forwarded to the customer. The check will be sent to the customer via certified mail.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Detailing, Auto Body Repair & Painting, Auto Paintless Dent Repair, Paintless Dent Repair

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 09/23/2009Business started: 10/01/1990
Contact Information
Principal: Mr Ken Hounshell (Owner)
Business Category

Auto Detailing, Auto Body Repair & Painting, Auto Paintless Dent Repair, Paintless Dent Repair

Alternate Business Names
Dings Dents and Details, Dings Dents N Details, Dings N' Dents

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Dings, Dents N' Details

2253 Nicholasville Rd.

Lexington, KY 40503

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 2253 Nicholasville Rd. 

    Lexington, KY 40503

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Lexington. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Dings, Dents N' Details is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Auto Detailing

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.