BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 07/01/2008

Toyota On Nicholasville

Find a Location

Phone: (859) 887-4200Fax: (859) 887-2976View Additional Phone Numbers2100 Lexington Rd, NicholasvilleKY 40356-9702 Send email to Toyota On NicholasvilleView Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 07/01/2008

BBB has determined that Toyota On Nicholasville meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Toyota On Nicholasville's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues3
Problems with Product / Service2
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Toyota On Nicholasville

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (5)
08/14/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
They sold me a car i signed paperwork and took car home then a week and a half later got a call from bank saying they cant approve loan i had to take car back very unprofessional
************** was salesman purchased car 7/18/15 problem date 7/29/15. He sold us car signed paperwork, was approved by bank then got a call from bank after a week and a half having the car saying they couldn't finalize loan because my husband switched jobs and wasn't making same income. Now we have to bring car back and get our car we traded in and they said we have to wait until they get it back because they have taken it to an auction. Before title was even transferred. ************** rushed us the whole time he tryed to sell us the car didnt explain anything, told us something then turned around and told us something else. Didnt give us copies of what we signed. Very unprofessional bad salesman. We bought a 2012 Toyota Camry for $22,000 and traded a 2002 Toyota sienna for $1500 he told me we didn't have to have a down payment on the phone but when we got there said we had to have $1000 down. Also ************** lied and told the bank my husband still had a job that he didn't have to make it look like we made more money. The bank told us that job was on application after we told bill he didn't work there anymore. It seems like bill was just trying to make money on us and did not treat us with respect and did not act professionally.

Desired Settlement
I just want this business to have to pay somehow for how they treated me and my family. I want people to know what they are getting into with this company and know how they treat people and to know they are unprofessional. ************** is a scam artist and I hope that other people don't have to go through what we have.

Business Response
Customer came in and purchased a vehicle, dealership obtain financing for customer with lender. The deal was approved by the lender but before funding the money to the dealership on behalf of the customer, lender did a verbal verification with the customer's employment and was told customer was no longer employed. Lender rescinded the deal and informed dealer, who now has to return customer's vehicle and obtain their vehicle back due to the lack of funding because customer left his employment for another job.

06/22/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I needed to buy a car.and i was missinforemed.
I needed a car. I spoke to Mr. **** ********* at Toyota, he told me that he could help. Within the next couple of weeks he asked me to come in and that he had some cars that i could look at that would be in my price range. So I went in with my boyfriend and we talked to ****. When **** asked me to come outside to look at cars he said that he only had one car that was in my price range.We proceded to walk to the car and it was a stick shift, I told him that I had not driven a stick in a long time and asked if he had anything else he said no. not in my price range. I had already told him in the begening that I had no money down. he said that would be ok the car was a no money down car.I did take the car for a test drive and I asked him was he sure that he had no other car that i could buy he said no, so since I really needed a car I said ok. When we went to do the paper work **** said that this was no money down but I would have to pay the tax and license, I thought that it would only be no more that 500.00 or so, but it ended up being 1468.00, I told **** that I did not have that amount, he said I'll give you 30 days.so I did sign the paperwork. After that while we were waiting to finish **** told me that I would receive a call from the people that I was getting the loan from and not to tell them that I had written a check for that amount, but to tell them that I paid cash, cause if they knew that I had written a check they would not let ne get the car, cause it would be to close for the carpayment to come out. So about three days had passed and I told **** that I would not have the money for the tax and licences, he said just wait the 30days and the people that would handle the check would work with me. I again told **** that I would not have the money and I wanted to bring the car back he said it was to late to do that, and said that the people would work with me. I thought I had no choice so i waited. The people did get in contact with me but they did not want to work with me at all, I told them what **** said and they said that was not there problem they wanted there money, and that i should not have written a check if i didnt have the money there in the first palce, i told i knew that but that **** told me to do that and sincethis was ****s thing that he started i thought he knew what he was talking about. Oh forgot to tell you (BBB) this program was started by **** ********* 20yrs ago, so this is why i trusted that he knew what he was doing even when he told me to write the check. so far i have given the company that has the check 800.00 and now owe them 668.00. but now they are harrasing me everyday for the money. I do want to pay the check off but right now i just dont have the money. I called channel 36 on your side and they told me to report this to BBB that this was not right. **** ********* knew that i had no money to cover the check but he still told me to write it anyway. I take the blame for this in part cause i should not have written it but sometimes you just dont think especially when you need something ASAP.

Desired Settlement
I need for this not to happen to anyone else. And also want **** to apologize for his part in this. Cause if it happened to me I know this has happened to someone else especially since **** sarted this progam 20 some years ago.
thank you for your time.

Business Response
DEALER CUSTOMER RELATIONS CHECK INTO ISSUE. DISCOVERED THERE WAS MISUNDERSTAND IN THE COMMUNICATION BETWEEN THE SALES PERSON AND THE CUSTOMER. CRM APOLOGIZED FOR THE ISSUES. CRM AND CUST GOT ON LINE WITH THE COLLECTION AGENT AND CRM INFORM THEM THAT AS A GOODWILL JESTER DUE TO THE MISCOMMUNICATION THAT SHE WOULD SEND CUST THE MONEY TO PAY THE FINAL AMOUNT OF THE CHECK THAT DID NOT CLEAR CUSTOMER'S ACCOUNT. CRM TO SEND THE CHECK TO CUSTOMER ON JUNE 9, 2015. CUSTOMER THANKED CRM FOR THE ASSISTANCE.

03/26/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My car was serviced, came back to me out of alignment, toyota on Nicholasville will not fix it.
I took my car for its first service since purchase, which is free to all those who buy a car from the dealership. At the end of my service my service man and I took the car around the lot to show me how to use the four wheel drive properly because I had some problems with it. He drove. Immediately after I left the car was pulling to the left which it wasnt doing before I took it in. Since I have had issues in the past with the service department I called the manager of the service department. He assured me they would fix it and give me a free tank of gas for my time spent bringing it back. I dropped it off six days after the original service. It was at the dealership for 3-4 hours. I received a call from the service department that said my shocks had a crack and they desperatly needed to be repaired and that the shocks were the reason the cars alignment was off. I told them to not do anything to the car and I would be back to get it in 45-60 minutes. I arrived with my mother and we were shown the car. The service man told us that now the springs were compressed and not cracked and that it was causing the alignment to be off. I know that shocks do not affect alignment. The service man went to talk to the director of service and left us waiting for quite some time. We made it clear that we did not believe what they were telling us . We also asked why the shocks were not an issue at the original service. No clear answer was ever given. The director came out and offered no apologies or solutions to the problem and said that I must have hit something to break my shocks in the six days between me bringing it in. We went on to say how disappointed I was with being treated this way after buying two cars in cash and bringing them there for all services for four years. I said I would like to leave since they gave us no answers or solution and my car had not gotten the full tank of gas I was promised. I filed a complaint with Toyota corporate offices yesterday and today I received a call from the service manager. I expressed how I felt they were conducting business very poorly and how my mother and myself feel like we had been lied to. He went on to continue to tell me the shocks were why my alignments off and that I must have broken them between my visits. He offered no ways in fixing the problem and didn't even answer my question about the promised tank of gas that was never given to me. I informed him I was very upset and disappointed. I called toyota corporate immediately after for a second time and was informed that they could not help me in matter of service if the dealership did not want to cooperate. I called back the manager and told him all I wanted was to have my car aligned properly and that I would be contacting the BBB and telling facebook what kind of service I received.

Desired Settlement
All I want if for my car to be aligned straight like it was before I took it in for the tire rotation and service.

Business Response
Ms. ****** brought the vehicle in on 3/2/2015 after having the a oil change and tire rotation complaining of pulling to the left. Upon inspection of the vehicle dealer noted that shocks and CV Boots on the vehicle were blown, vehicle was leaning and grease was rolling out of the area. The vehicle has ran over something to cause this condition. We inform Ms. ****** of the issue and that it would be her responsibility to repair the vehicle. Dealer drove this vehicle after the oil change and the vehicle was not in the shape that it is currently end

08/12/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
charged me more than advertised price for vehicle purchased
I purchased a 2012 Toyota Yaris vin JTDBT4K30CLXXXXXX from dealership on June 16 2014.I purchased the vehicle for a retail of $13,333.Sold me a vehicle they had listed for $12,555 on their website. Charged me $778 more than what they had vehicle advertised for. I have copies of the website listing of the vehicle I purchased the same day I bought it.

Desired Settlement
refund or im turning it over to my lawyer and attorney general and will request more than just the difference if I have to go to that extent of trouble to deal with this

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ******* *******
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ********@TONSS.COM
Sales person didn't check the website price before selling the vehicle. Dealership sent Mr. ******* a refund of $778.00 on July 25th after receiving Mr. *******'s letter on July 25th. Mr. ******* cashed the check and it cleared our account on July 29th.

01/10/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On August 31, 2013 , around (8:45 AM, we left our home in Parkersburg, West Virginia, for an appointment with this man for a deal we made with him, on the phone, a week ahead of this time. During our travel , we ran into all kinds of construction problems, such as reduced speed, wrong placement directions by sign, and to top that off, several intervals with bad thunderstorms. , that made it impossible for anyone to be on time. The delays cost us a good bit of time. Our appointment was for l:00 PM, but we didn't get there until after 3:00 PM.. We tried to ex¬plain , and these certain people said they would tell him. After about two hours , this man says he is finishing up with some people and will
be with us shortly. We said fine. After another thirty minutes, this man said it would be a little bit longer , as this woman he was dealing with was asking a bunch of questions. Well , I knew then something was wrong. After almost Three hours of waiting, he comes out with this attitude saying, "THIS IS WHY WE MAKE APPOINTMENTS." We tried to explain to him what happened , but that wasn't being heard. All he could do was show temperament towards us , and walk around us as if we were in a Police torture room. He kept saying you are let for our appointment . Then he raved on that "this is why we make appointments." We have never been to Kentucky before in our lives , much less never left our home for a vacation , nor anything. But to be treated as school kids late for school, is out of context. Then he started on the credit report, of which we had already discussed across the phone, and had everything cleared and se1 The deal was ready, and all we had to do was to sign papers. Well , he decided to go further with his rampage. He then said , I see you purchased a Bed , and then said ,"Are you going to let it go back in order to get this Truck?" Of course we said NO to his question. Then he says ,"You are going to have to get rid of the BED to get this truck. **** you can't afford a $34500 dollar a month car payment , let a lone a truck payment." He said all this in a angry mode. My wife was in tears , and I was so hot under the collar , that I told him to take his truck and shove it up his ***. As we started to leave , he asked if we needed any directions to get back on the road to home. I said I found my way there , and I'll find my way back without your help. I was so angry , when I left , that I felt dizzy at times while driving. This man was insane. He was trying to provoke a fight. Instead , I kept enough pride as a MAN, and left. Twenty years ago I would have beat him senseless. I really think that his superiors don't know what he is doing to customers that he
wants to just pick on , because they are down on their luck so to speak. This man needs to be dealt with.

I think that when he saw I had a medical condition that had caused me to have paralization , and to have to walk with crutches , he apparently decided to take his play anger attitude out on us. Handicapped or not , if I ever meet this guy again in this world , I will deal with him severely. But for now , I am ready to just take him to court for Verbal and Mental Abuse plus Violations of my Constitutional Rights. He does not need to be in the position he is in with attitude such as this. To mistreat people with hatred all because they are handicapped , and be¬cause he wants to and can get by-with it, while **** backs him up. Apparently **** is afraid of losing his job, if that is what you call it.

Desired Settlement
Because compensation for my expenses down there, and compensation for the verbal and mental abuse given to us by this man. I have contacted the Lawyer here , and his secretary says he doesn't endorse anyone in this field of any nature. I will wait thirty days before taking any action against this man and the company. I repeat , I will wait thirty days only, before taking LEGAL ACTION against this situation.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ******* *******
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *******@ix.netcom.com
The Dealership only employs one special finance person, therefore he makes appointments to ensure that the customers are not waiting. We are sorry Mr. **** did not make it in time for his appointment and Mr. Henderson was working another appointment when they came, and therefore they had to wait. Regarding the Mr. Henderson cussing Mr. ****, Mr. Henderson has worked at this dealership for 12 years and has never said a cuss word to anyone, fellow employee or customer. No one at our dealership has ever heard Mr. Henderson cuss in any situation. As far as his deal, Mr. Henderson does not stipulate what the customer must do in a special finance deal, the lender does. Mr. Henderson just relays the information to the customer as to what the lender will and will not allow. The lender made the choice that Mr. **** would not receive a loan due to his budget with his current furniture payment and a car loan for over $30,000 (which is the vehicle loan plus the lending institutions fees. Therefore, Mr. **** decided to keep his furniture loan, not Mr. Henderson. As Mr. Henderson has to follow the lenders directions.

Final Consumer Response

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New & Used

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 03/08/2005Business started: 01/01/1991
Contact Information
Principal: Mr Garrett David Conley (General Manager)Mr. Tim Finnell Mr. David Hostetter (CFO)Ms. Cynthia Hundley (HR Director)Mr. Lance Royalty (General Sales Manager)
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New & Used

Alternate Business Names
S & M Used Cars, S and M Automotive, LLC, Toyota on Nicholasville Fresh Start, Toyota on Nicholasville Superstore, Toyota on Nicholasville Used Cars

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Toyota On Nicholasville

2100 Lexington Rd

Nicholasville, KY 40356-9702

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 2100 Lexington Rd 

    Nicholasville, KY 40356-9702

  • 2112 Lexington Rd 

    Nicholasville, KY 40356-9702

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Lexington. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Toyota On Nicholasville is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (859) 885-4498
  • (800) 262-8410

Additional Fax Numbers

  • (859) 885-0249
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - New & Used

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.