BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 09/01/1974

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Our goal is customer service, which is second to none. Our friendly, professional staff members strive to provide an exceptional experience. Whether you are shopping for a new Toyota or pre-owned vehicle, we're ready to serve you.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 09/01/1974

BBB has determined that Green's Toyota of Lexington meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Green's Toyota of Lexington's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service6
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Green's Toyota of Lexington

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (7)
01/21/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My car has been on the waiting list for over 6 months.
My car has been on the waiting list for over 6 months to be fixed.

Desired Settlement
To fix my car

Business Response
We do apologize for this inconvenience you are experiencing. As of 12/30/2015 you are in position 7 on the waiting list. We are unable to perform the repairs due to availability of parts from Toyota at this time. As soon as the parts come available however you will be contacted to bring the vehicle in so we can begin the repair process. Their is nothing we can do here at Green's to speed this process up considering it is a Warranty Enhancement from Toyota that parts are not currently available or are on backorder. If you have any further questions regarding the process please feel free to contact me.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This issue has been continuing for several months.

Final Business Response
At this time no steps can be taken to speed the process up. At Green's we WANT to fix your car considering Toyota pays us to perform the repair. However, we are unable to perform the repair when no parts are available from Toyota. I'm sorry for any inconvenience this may cause you. Until the repair can be performed you are able to bring the vehicle in to the service department to have the oil level checked and topped off if necessary. You are on the call list to have the repair performed and when parts are available we will begin contacting customers to return for the repair.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

05/26/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On Feb 1st I PD 4500.00 cash plus a trade in 98 Toyota Camry for a 04 Honda Accord. 12 days later the transmission failed.
O 2/1/2016 I traded a 98 Camry in for an 04 Honda Accord. On 2/12 the transmission went down. I was advised by ton ******* sales rep to check transmission fluid it was empty.I PD 4500.00 in cash plus my car for this Honda. *** ******* and his manager ***** ****** offered to swap vehicles with similar value however they tried to trade with vehicles worth half of what I PD 6120.00. I have lost my job. I have spent 2536.22 in transmission repairs. I now have almost 10 thousand in a vehicle worth 6 thousand. Greens did nothing to help resolve this problem.

Desired Settlement
Greens Toyota knowingly an willingly sold me a vehicle that had transmission problems.when the vehicle was serviced they wld have noticed the fluid was empty. I would like a complete refund of all the service i have had done.I have a saved voicemail from tom the salesman saying he would replace my vehicle.

Business Response
We apologize you experienced this problem with the vehicle purchased at Green's. We can assure you Green's did not knowingly sell you a vehicle with an issue. The vehicle you purchased is strictly as is-no warranty. You are responsible for any repair cost. Green's assumes no responsibility for any repairs.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Before i purchased the honda it had been serviced. The oil was changed and trans fluid checked. When i received the vehicle the fluid was empty. Even i know that means a problem. Again i have a voicemail from the salesman who cleared with his manager to replace my vehicle.they no the did wrong. I have no job due to this issue. It will not stop here.

Final Business Response
We apologize you experienced this problem with the vehicle purchased at Green's. We can assure you Green's did not knowingly sell you a vehicle with an issue. The vehicle you purchased is strictly as is-no warranty. You are responsible for any repair cost. Green's assumes no responsibility for any repairs.

07/16/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased a 2014 Avalon from your dealership a few weeks after I took possession my pre-set's on my seat when out. 5 visits and still not fixed.
As I explained above I have not been able to get your service department to understand that my seat pre-sets are broken. I have been to your dealership 5 times and it has still not been fixed. I have a 40K car and the seats do not work. I am frustrated beyond belief. I want my seat replaced at this point as they continue to keep patching the issue and not repair it!

Desired Settlement
At this point I want my seat replaced as they can not seem to figure out what the issue is. I am tired of coming in to the dealership only to be talked to as if I am an idiot! This car is barely a year old and Your Customer service Manager does not know what the issue is so he keeps patching the problem, well it's not working and I want this fixed!

Business Response
I apologize on behalf of Green's Toyota. The last time your vehicle was here the Field Technicial Specialist from Toyota actually inspected your vehicle to find it operating as designed. The memory presets has a threshold in which once the seat position has moved past it the memory function no longer works. This was also tested in the same manner with a brand new Avalon still on the lot. The new Avalon performed in the same manner as yours. If you would like further information please contact me at the number provided.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
When I originally purchased the vehicle I was not told of any threshold limit on this vehicle, nor did the instruction manual list any such threshold limit. I will pursue other means of getting my vehicle properly fixed, I am sure your board members would not appreciate your customers being patronized in this way. all I am seeking is my vehicle be repaired to it's original functionality when I purchased it. I do accept your explanation. I want my seat replaced at this point.

Final Business Response
Unfortunately, replacing the seat will not resolve the concern you have with the seat presets. The issue has been determined to be a normal operation so it will occur on every seat that is installed in your vehicle. I would be more then happy to have you come to the dealership so we can hook the computer to your vehicle and show you the limits of the memory presets. At that time we can also show you the limits on another Avalon in comparison to yours. If you stay within those limits the memory presets will work, once you go past those limits is clears the memory. No repair has been done to the vehicle regarding the memory presets as indicated on your statements.

08/12/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On 06/24/14 car check engine light came on. Took to Advance Auto to have them check codes and it said 3 cylinders misfiring. On 06/25/14 car wouldn't start and had it towed to Greens. They diagnosed and replaced the VVTI value. They also said engine had jumped time and reset timing and reinstalled timing belt. Before I got the car home the check engine light came on, went right back to Greens. They said that a plug had fouled out and replaced it. Drove the car home and again before I got home the check engine light came on again. Took the car back to Greens on 06/26/2014 and spoke with *** ******* and they had a Master Tech look at it and the car spend another day at the dealer. They said they found debris in the control value and reset the codes. **** ******* also told me that the rear gear was out of alignment but that it was fixed. He said he and the tech drove the car and it was fixed. On 06/26/14 the check engine light came on and we noticed oil leaking in the driveway. It was the weekend and so we took it to Advanced to have them check the codes and it said VVT sensor/camshaft position sensor. On 06/30/14 took the car back to Greens and spoke with ****** ****** the service dept manager and explained situation and frustration. He said they would get to the bottom of it and would produce the original codes which they never have done. The car sat there all day and the called and said the camshaft was cracked and it would cost $3800. to fix. My husband went over there immediately and spoke to Mr. ****** and they tried to convince him that they did nothing wrong and agreed to reduce the labor and parts to $2500.00.My complaint is that when they took the timing belt off and the cover off and reset the rear gears they got them off position causing the engine damage. If that didn't cause it they should have diagnosed it when the car was initially took to them on the 6/25/14. They have been unwilling to produce any evidence that there was prior damage to engine before 06/25/14.

Desired Settlement
I am willing to pay the $720 in labor, but Greens should be responsible for the $1765 in parts. They broke the parts and should pay for the parts.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** *******
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ************@greenstoyotadirect.com
Per our records, we show that Mr. ***** came in on 6/25/14 repair order #XXXXXX with 102,352 miles. The customer concern was vehicle was idling rough, felt like it would stall out. Today the check engine light and VSC lights on and vehicle is not running, towed in. Our technician diagnosed the car and replaced the VVTI Oil Control Selenoid and noted engine jumped time after repair so he then reset timing and reinstalled timing belt. Cost of this repair was $383.49.

On 6/26/14 the customer returned, repair order XXXXXX with customer concern of check engine light coming back on after initial repair. Our technician found debris in the Control Valve and removed the debris, cleared codes and test drove vehicle to confirm light not reset. There was no cost for this repair.

On 6/30/14 the customer returned, repair order XXXXXX with customer concern of check engine light on, VSC light, BSC off lights also on. Our technician found that engine skipped time and camshaft seized up. The technician replaced bank1 head assembly, bank1 exhaust camshaft, bank1 intake camshaft, replaced head gasket set, replaced timing belt and drive belts and replace oil and oil filter. Cost to the customer for this job was $2657.70. The original quote for this job was approximately $3,800.00.

After ****** ******* the service manager, spoke with the customer he spoke with the technicians and found that we had misdiagnosed the first repair. After reviewing the repair orders and further discussion with the technicians, Mr. ****** offered to drop the cost of the job down to $2657. Mr. ****** felt that what the customer paid for the first repair $383.49 needed to be taken off, as well as something to compensate the customer for the times the had to return. This total discount was approximately $1,140.00.

When Mr. ****** met with Mr. ***** to discuss the concern, Mr. ***** did authorize Green's Toyota to make the final repairs.

At this point Green's Toyota of Lexington feels that we have offered a fair resolution to the customer and we have no further obligation to Mr. ***** regarding this issue.

07/02/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Purchased vehicle due to other vehicle almost killing me and they did not want to fix. Was maintenancing vehicle and now I have $1,000 or more damage
This is the 2nd complaint concerning Toyota about the 2nd vehicle I have received from them. This truck I have has NEVER been maintenance it is an 2006 Toyota Highlander and I go to change my spark plugs in the truck...Well I actually did not but my husband did as he is a Certified Automotive Mechanic and he has changed all my spark plugs in EVERY vehicle I have ever had. When changing one plug it took 30minutes when we got ONE plug out we noticed these plugs still have JAPAN written on them indicating that NO one NOT even the darn car lot we got it from which is Toyota has maintenance this truck. So the plugs are seized in the head and will not come out and when removing the 2nd plug the spark plug thread breaks off! So now I have been to about 6 or 7 mechanics and shops driving another vehicle around because I can NO longer drive the Highlander and have not been for a week now and everyone wants to charge around $1,000 to fix this and drill it out. This doesn't make any since WHATSOEVER that I have had this vehicle for approx 4months and already have a high bill to pay and have ZERO money to pay it because I am the only one working and and my husband is not employed and Toyota is just dirty for ALL the trouble they have caused me and my family financially. No there is no extended warranty on the truck and am fully aware but if the darn SPARK PLUGS HAVE JAPAN STILL ON THEM I THINK TOYOTA IS LIABLE FOR HAVING TO FIX THIS ISSUE. I have NEVER had more trouble with a car until I went to Toyota whom I just got out of bankruptcy last year and was afraid of car payments because I wanted to build my credit and they **** on my face and say the heck with me. ALSO when you take the plugs out they don't even have a point on them just bald as ever and black as ever I could have probable caught on fire or it would have caused other issues. The wholes have even expanded where the plugs go in and looks like the new plugs will NOT even fit in the head. THIS IS INSANE AND TOYOTA MUST BE STOPPED.

Desired Settlement
Toyota should hold up there responsibility with this issue and fix this issue at there lot at no cost to me because when they received the truck in there possession they should have maintenance it like any one in their bright minds would have. I am NOT going to go back and forth with this issue about who is responsible because we ALL know that they get there parts from JAPAN and if JAPAN spark plugs are still in that vehicle 8yrs later or more then we have a problem.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** *******
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ************@greenstoyotadirect.com
Mrs. ***** purchased the Higlander in November 2013 after there was a problem with her deal with a Camry. Here bank asked us to back out the deal and put her in another car, which we did. Mrs. ***** is now complaining about spark plugs breaking on her Highlander. Green's Toyota is not responsible for any repairs to this vehicle. According to Toyota's guidelines these spark plugs are due to be changed at 120,00 miles. The vehicle was purchased as a used car with approximately 110,000 mile with no warranty. *****'s Toyota did a used car inspection on the vehicle and sold it to Mrs. *****. About 5 months later she is complaining about the spark plugs. I have pulled Mrs. *****'s purchase agreement and service history on the vehicle. The previous customer did have some service work done on the vehicle here and we have record of that. Mrs. ***** does not agree with our response and feels she is not being treated fairly. I told her we were willing to arbitrate with the BBB but she states she wants us to fix the vehicle. She spoke with the used car manager "Barry Taylor" after stating she wanted to speak with my manager. She started yelling at Mr. Taylor and he ended the conversation with her. At this point Green's Toyota will be willing to arbitrate with the BBB but we are stating we have no further obligation to Mrs. *****.

03/27/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have a vehicle engine failure with warranty on vehicle they will not repair . They also towed vehicle to blue grass towing. Which was 400.
The people in the car department refuse repair vehicle do to a radiator replaced by one of Toyota reference. They priced very high over 4000 to repair to find engine online 1200 which was under warranty! They also said we give you trade in which i was willing to work with even though I owe around 14,000 on I was told they give me 6500 on trade in this vehicle is 2012 and has not been drive-able for spring of 2013. As a consumer I was not helped at all advice no one to buy a scion Xbox from greens Toyota

Desired Settlement
Tow bills and engine replacement

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** *******
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ************@greenstoyotadirect.com
Mr. ****** brought his vehicle to Green's Toyota Service on 12/30/13 after it was repaired due to an accident. Our technicians found an aftermarket radiator had been installed and caused the engine to overheat. We recommended replacing the engine. On 4/26/13 and 7/2/13 Mr. ****** had taken the vehicle to Toyota South. They discovered the radator was damaged and recommended replacing the engine but the customer declined. Accidents/aftemarket part repairs are not covered under Toyota's warranty. ****** ********* was working with Mr. ****** to trade in his vehicle but Mr. ****** would not return to finish the deal. We spoke with and sent several emails to Mr. ****** informing him that if he did not pick up his vehicle we would have it towed from our lot. Mr. ****** did come pick up his vehicle so we had his vehicle towed from our lot. At this point, *****'s Toyota feels we have no further obligation to Mr. ******. We have copies of Mr. Littles national service history and email between Mr. ****** and Greens Toyota, if needed for review.

Consumer Response
In reference to there reply I did not take vehicle there I had a employee send vehicle to them on 4 /26 Toyota south looked at vehicle due to accident they sent me to **** repair shop this was what Toyota advised not my fault! they were ask by me mr ****** to contact my employee ***** hart he called over and over trying to get ****** ********* email him what he proposed I also spoke to him he refused to send a quote. I ask him to wait until I paid other scion I had off if purchase it but instead he chose to tow it off and caused me to pay 400. You may not fell you are obligated to me at all but you lost a very loyal customer that purchase many vehicle from your dealership and I was treated worst I ever had if I ever buy another Toyota I'll put a sticker on it don't buy from you ! I spoke to ***** she said she did not do this I can forward our conversation if you like she ask me to quit emailing her! Also I am a man of integrity If I never drive this one yr old vehicle with a warranty that you refused I will pay the debt in fact It has not been used since 4/13 I'm still making payment I do want you it send me my 400 back and if they would waited two more days I would not have spent 27,000 with dodge.

Final Business Response
Mr. ****** was informed that his repairs were not covered under warranty due to accident and aftermarket part used on his vehicle. We also notified him that his car needed to be removed or it would be towed. After the dead line for him getting his car passed we had it towed. Once again Greens feels we have no further obligation to Mr. ****** in this situation

Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New & Used, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Body Repair & Painting, Auto Parts & Supplies - New, Auto Dealers - Used Cars, Auto Dealers - New Cars

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 03/08/2005Business started: 01/01/1968
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Alicia Kinzer (Warranty Administrator)Mr. Mike Ayres (General Manager)Mr. Curtis Green (President)
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New & Used, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Body Repair & Painting, Auto Parts & Supplies - New, Auto Dealers - Used Cars, Auto Dealers - New Cars

Products & Services

This company sells and services new and used vehicles.

Hours of Operation
Mon: 09:00 AM to 08:00 PMTue: 09:00 AM to 08:00 PMWed: 09:00 AM to 08:00 PMThu: 09:00 AM to 08:00 PMFri: 09:00 AM to 08:00 PMSat: 09:00 AM to 08:00 PM
Service Area

Central Kentucky

Alternate Business Names
Green's Body Shop, Green's Toyota, Inc., Curtis Green and Clay Green, Inc.

Photos & Videos

Photographs

Select a thumbnail below to view the full-size image.

5 Photos

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Green's Toyota of Lexington

630 East New Circle Road

Lexington, KY 40505

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 630 East New Circle Road 

    Lexington, KY 40505(859) 422-7349

  • PO Box 55628 

    Lexington, KY 40555

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Lexington. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Green's Toyota of Lexington is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (859) 422-7349

Additional Fax Numbers

  • (859) 233-9622
X

Additional Web Addresses

X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - New & Used

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.