BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 11/16/1993

Frank Shoop Chevrolet-Buick-Chrysler-Jeep-Dodge

Find a Location

Phone: (502) 863-3727Fax: (502) 863-3927View Additional Phone Numbers1470 Cherry Blossom Way, GeorgetownKY 40324-8953 Send email to Frank Shoop Chevrolet-Buick-Chrysler-Jeep-Dodge

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 11/16/1993

BBB has determined that Frank Shoop Chevrolet-Buick-Chrysler-Jeep-Dodge meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Frank Shoop Chevrolet-Buick-Chrysler-Jeep-Dodge

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
05/21/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

This company provides false advertisement and lies.
I went to Frankshoop to purchase a 2004 ford diesel that I had seen on their website. When I got there I questioned why the tires in the picture they posted online were not the tires on the vehicle. They stated the owner took them. I called the previous owner and asked if he did. He did not. The sales rep refused to do anything about the completely bald tires they had replaced the other set of tires with. I then called mr. ***** to address the problem. He said he could get me a free alignment. I was satisfied with that until they scheduled me an appt. At s&s tire to get the alignment and the guy there told me the tires on the truck were not the right size for the truck. He said the tires Frankshoop had put on that truck could not even hold the weight of the truck and the passenger side was about ready to blow out. I had no choice but to buy another set of tires that day. I went to ***** at Frankshoop to address the situation and he said there's nothing he could do. All he said was if I wanted to I could come get my trade in back. Poor customer service if you ask me.

Desired Settlement
They need to pay for the purchase price of the tires I had to buy. The funny thing about all this is the day after I talked to ***** they mysteriously found the tires that came off the ford to begin with but by that time I had already had purchased the other tires. S&s told me if I had got pulled over police could impound my truck bc the size tires they had placed on the ford.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** *** (GSM)
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ************
It is my understanding that the tires were taken by the customer. We actually traded for another Ford 3/4 ton with better tires on that is why I offered to switch the tires from that truck, we are planning to take it to the auction and the tires wouldn't be that be of an issue... Mr ******* actually test drove the truck by himself off the lot to check it and never mentioned the tires at the time of sell.. He did call Mr. ***** and ask him for an alignment in order to buy the truck which Mr. ***** agreed to.. We are willing to provide Mr ******* with 500 dollars toward his tire purchase... Thank You ***** ***

03/11/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

I purchased a 2011 Chevy Traverse from Frank Shoop on 2/14/2014. Online the advertised mileage on the car was 40786. When I got to the office I noticed on the paperwork that there were 45400 miles on the car. That is the first issue. False advertising. When I returned home I noticed that the vehicle only had 6% oil life left. I know when you take a used vehicle in you put it through a reconditioning process and change the oil. There was no oil change sticker in the car and when I checked the oil it was black and grimy. Next issue is on 2/19/14 the check engine light came on and the service air bag light came on. On 2/20/14 I called the dealership and made them aware of this propblem. When i purchased the vehicle I asked my salesperson ***** ***** if I had any issues when i drive off that i had his word that he would have them corrected. Well I called ***** and I told him of the problem and he said that he would call me back. The next call i recieved was from the Sales manager ****** ******** He told me because I did not buy a warranty there was nothing they could do. I understant that i bought a used car but this is supposed to be a reputable dealership. I have owned this vehicle for only 4 days before I started having issues with the vehicle. I am requesting that they make it right by fixing my vehicle. If they are a reputable dealership and stand behind their product, they will make it right. I was told that this vehicle was lent out as a rental car to a local basketball coach.

Desired Settlement
I am requesting that they inspect the vehicle and fix the air bag vehicle. I am also requesting that they perform an oil change on the vehicle.

Business Response
We have contacted the customer and have a service appointment set up for February 25th at 10:30 am.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New & Used, Auto Dealers - Used Cars, Auto Dealers - New Cars

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 03/08/2005Business started: 07/01/1985
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

KY Motor Vehicle Commission
105 Sea Hero Road Suite #1
Frankfort, KY 40601
(502) 573-1000

BBB records show a license number of 1311105 for this company, issued by KY Motor Vehicle Commission.

Type: Dept of Motor Vehicles

Type of Entity


Incorporated: July 1985, KY

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Langdon Shoop (President)Mr. Kevin May (General Sales Manager)Ms. Stacey Mulligan (Accounts Payable)Ms. Ann Ritchie (Controller)Mr. Frank Shoop (Vice President)
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New & Used, Auto Dealers - Used Cars, Auto Dealers - New Cars

Hours of Operation
Mon: 07:00 AM to 07:00 PMTue: 07:00 AM to 07:00 PMWed: 07:00 AM to 07:00 PMThu: 07:00 AM to 07:00 PMFri: 07:00 AM to 07:00 PMSat: 08:30 AM to 06:00 PM
Alternate Business Names
Frank Shoop Inc.

Photos & Videos


1 Photo

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Frank Shoop Chevrolet-Buick-Chrysler-Jeep-Dodge

1470 Cherry Blossom Way

Georgetown, KY 40324-8953

To | From


2 Locations

  • 1470 Cherry Blossom Way 

    Georgetown, KY 40324-8953

  • PO Box 730 

    Georgetown, KY 40324

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Lexington. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Frank Shoop Chevrolet-Buick-Chrysler-Jeep-Dodge is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 775-1089

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - New & Used


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.