BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Central & Eastern Kentucky

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 02/01/1988

Courtesy Acura

Find a Location

(859) 272-89003701 Nicholasville Road, LexingtonKY 40503 Send email to Courtesy Acura

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 02/01/1988

BBB has determined that Courtesy Acura meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Courtesy Acura's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 19 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

18 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 7 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues7
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service10
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 18

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (18)BBB Closure Definitions
06/19/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper or inferior repair

Complaint: Took my car in for an oil change and was told power steering was leaking and they supposedly fixed it and Then it DID leak.
Took my car in for an oil change on good Friday and I drove from g-town to lex and did not have a problem and after they took it in they said that I had a major power steering leak that they had previously repaired that was still under warranty so they kept it that weekend and gave ma a car to drive. When I picked it up on Monday evening I drove back to work to finish my night and barely made it home (9 miles away)before the power steering was empty. The last time I had them fix the rack and pinion steering and picked it up when I got on the road I noticed there was road noise and they forgot to install boot correctly and they fixed it and I didn't even make it home and noticed there was something loose in the front and they said it was a loose steering column and when they fixed that then there was a vibration in the front and they tried to blame it on the brakes. I have owned this car since 2007 and I know this is NOT the brakes. When it comes to being stranded on the road at 2 am (I work late a lot)then I need to find someone that can actually fix it. These guys owe me $100 because I had to take it elsewhere.

Initial Business Response
We are sorry for the inconvenience on this matter. Please tell the customer to bring receipt in and we will cut her a check.

Sincerely,
** *****

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

04/21/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Service Complaint Issue

Complaint: Complaint about the service that was done to a car we wanted to buy and customer service at time of delivery.
I was not happy with the way the car looked at the time of delivery and I didn't want the car if this is the best they could do. Dealer manager said that he would just have the car towed to my house. I said I didn't want the car. He said that I should get a Lawyer.

Initial Business Response
*** talked to the customers today and everything is fine, case should be closed.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

04/01/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor a contract or agreement

Complaint: Not holding up to there end of the verbal contract
I went to the company on 3/15/14 to ask if I could trade in my car. And, one of the salesperson said yes. I left and came back with my fiancee ***** ********* ***** ****** which was the salesperson handling the transaction was trying to get us a bank loan. And, he did. He asked me what can I pay monthly. I told him 250.00 a month and that's it. But, the car I wanted we had to put down a down payment. My fiancee did. It was 500.00 dollars. So, the verbal agreement was 300.00 a month for 60 monthly payments. We started to signed and we asked is it for 60 months and the answer was Yes We, didn't know that we sign a contract for 72 months. So, the company is asking for more money. I went back on 3/17/14 and asked for my car back and ***** ****** told me it's gone. I did not sign the title over yet. I told them I did not agree with the terms of the contract because the whole transaction was a lie. And, they lied to Capital One the lender. I called Capital One and told them what happen and they said the company has to fix the contract. But, the company is unwilling to do the right thing. We stuck with a bad deal. ***** ****** called me 3/18/14 and told me that the contract was for 72 months. But, that's not what we wanted. So, he said we have to refinance and that would make the my payments go up. And, I told him that I'm not doing that at all. Plus, I have to come in a show proof of insurance. Which, he already have. The company was dishonesty,unfair, poor judgment and we been going back and forth with this situation since Monday 3/17/14. A, very unsatisfied customer.

Final Consumer Response
The company has done a better job a second time around. They fixed there mistakes today. So, I'm canceling my complaint for now. I might have problems with the company down the road.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

01/31/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Advertised product not available

Complaint: Have not received free $500.00 credit as promised on advertisement.
Purchased veh on 12-4-13. Posted advertisement stated "Fayette Mall. $500 Gift Card with the purchase of any Courtesy vehicle" Have not received gift card. It did not state on advertisement any exceptions. I feel I should have received gift card. I have sent them two e-mails as of this date with no response.

Initial Business Response
Mr. ******** this is in response to Case #90070543 ****** ***** on the $500 Gift Card matter. We are sending out $500 check X-XX-XX to ****** ***** to resolve this matter. Sorry for any inconvenience.

Sincerely,

** *****

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

09/17/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor service estimate or agreement

Complaint: Got charged 148.45 for oil chg; x2 for a total of 296.90 for 2 smartcars. 17.98 per qt oil x 8 (6.99 retail) 25.04 x2 for filters (retail 4.79)really?
I came to your service department on Tuesday July 3rd to get the 5 in 45 special that you had advertised. I had made the appointments (for 2 Smart Cars) on Friday June 28th so that you would have enough time to get the oil filters in stock.

At the time we dropped off the cars we were told that it might be 'an additional charge' for the oil filter since they were smaller than normal filters. Nothing was said as to how much extra.

After the service was done we were told then that there would also be an additional charge for the oil since it needed to be a synthetic 0W-40 used.

I was shocked to discover that the 'additional' charge came to a total of 148.45... for each vehicle. A total of 296.90 for two OIL CHANGES. We were charged 25.06 for each oil filter times 2, and 17.96 for each quart of oil... times 8 qts. I checked the cost of the oil... same brand, manufacturer and weight at O'Reilly's... 6.99 qt. Filter 4.79 for same filter.

You would have had to use an oil filter and 5 qts oil for a regular car; yet ended up charging us an astronomically ridiculous total out the door. How can you justify this? I am contacting the BBB and reporting this poor service bait and switch; and will do my best to make sure that no one else gets taken advatage of in the manner that you have done.

If this is an example of how you do buisness, I can see why you are able to build on... by bilking the public. There is absolutely no way you can justify these charges.

Invoice no
PNCSXXXXXX and PNCSXXXXXX; paid w debit card reluctantly

Business' Initial Response
Here is our response to the case. Our 5 in 45 starts at $45.00 depending on Oil and filters. However we are willing to make a exception on this and will refund $200 to customer. $100 for each vehicle.

** *****

Consumer's Final Response
As of this date we still have yet to receive a refund as agreed upon.

Business' Final Response
We have resolved this issue, customer has been paid in full.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

Page 1 of 3
07/23/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Advertisement did not disclose all conditions required to take advantage of an offer

Complaint: *** ***** advertises on his weekly TV show, buy a car from Courtesy and receive a new Honda lawnmower. No exclusions and no exceptions are mentioned.
I purchased a used car on May 14, 2014 from salesperson ****** *****. After I agreed to a purchase price, I asked about receiving the lawnmower. I was told, I could not get the lawnmower because of the sales price of the car. He said the price of the lawnmower was used to reduce the price of the car. I did not see any logic in his answer since there wasn't a price listed on the car. On May 28 I spoke with **** *****, sales manager and he told me the same thing. I told him, that was false advertising. There are no exceptions given on the TV show. It's buy a used a car, get a new Honda lawnmower.

Initial Business Response
The company states the customer declined the promotions, specifically the free lawn mower and provided supporting documentation.

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I do not know what the sheet of paper represent. All I see are figures scratched over. I do not see anything about forfeiting the promotion. I do see the word lawnmower scratched out. What does this represent? How does this explain false advertising? If you're going to have a "giveaway", any exceptions or exclusions should be mentioned in the advertisement. This is NOT acceptable.

Final Business Response
We stand behind our decision, she signed off on a we owe that we owe Mrs. ***** nothing, nothing due. She was never promised a lawn mower and understood that when she left the dealership. Sorry for the inconvenience.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I haven't heard any explanation for the false advertising. The TV show is still advertising "buy any car and get a free lawnmower". This TV show should not be allowed to air these lies over the airways. I am not satisfied and I will take this matter further with other Federal and State agencies.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that while the company addressed the complaint issues, the complainant was dissatisfied and the matter was outside BBB Rules of Arbitration.

11/08/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor refund, exchange or credit policies

Complaint: Finance Manager refused to refund $1000.00. after I decided I wasn't going to go through with the deal.
I was very highly pressured to trade a Vehicle.was led to believe that I would receive a good Interest rate.In which I had told the salesman up front that I would have to have.I was trading a 1997 Dodge to a 2010 Toyota Camry.he told me the car would be transferred and licensed.I also was paying an additional $1000.00 down.I also told him that the price of the car would have to come down quite a bit If I were going to trade.They were allowing me $2000.00 for my vehicle The price of the Camry was at $18.999.00. which I considered to high.So he kept running back and forward to his manager.and they were supposed to lower the price.so after that was settled I was taken to the finance manager.Note: that I had already bought full covered Ins. on the Camry.So I asked him what kind of Int. rate I would be paying on the amt. to be financed.I was ignored, He just talked about other stuff.And after I had signed all the paperwork.He comes at me with another Ins. He tried to force it on me..he called it a GAP coverage.. I told him I didn't it because I had already bought full coverage. He tried 20-30 Min's to force me to buy this Add. Ins. coverage literally forcing it down my throat. so I got upset and told him in a loud voice I was not going to buy it because I did not see the need for it.He kept on and I got even more upset.. so I hit the desk with my fist and told him no way I wasn't going to buy it.so then he got very angry. and started being rude.Then he finally presented the financing paper.and after I looked it over. they had added approx:$1450.00
for license and transfer.also an Interest rate which I had not been quoted all the way through.(Even though I had told them several time's would have to be reasonable.) At.12.900. I told him no I wasn't going to pay that high rate. so he finally got it down to 11.something%. I told him it was still to high and that he deal was off.When I asked for a refund of the $1000.00 He firmly refused it. telling me his bank was closed.and that he couldn't. I told him my CC..Co. was open 24-7 and I wanted a refund now.He flat refused to do so.And when he did, I got so mad that I drew my fist on him. He told me he would call the Police to escort me out, And I told him go ahead.. and to call the FBI. if he wanted to.He then called the salesman back over. there. were two of them.The nice one left. and the one that had insulted me earlier,Come up to be with an attitude. I told him to get out of my face. And he acted as if I had done something wrong.making insulting comment's. and I drew my fist on him.as I was trying to leave. they kept on both making nasty remarks about how stupid I was.and poking fun about me being from Clay Co. So I walked back to the desk picked the contract papers up (My copies)and ripped them to shreds. and I told them I knew the Law's.( In other word's don't bother to tell me I was bound to the deal by singing everything except the finance agreement.) then the fin. mgr.got his copy of papers and ripped them up. as I about to exit the Bldg. the salesman got in front of me still making rude remark's. so I drew my fist on him also, by this time I was pretty much off my rocker.he threatened me with calling the police also.and I told him the same thing that I had told the finance mgr.to go ahead. and to call the FBI if he wanted.So the Mgr.yelled to him let her go back clay Co. because that was the way people from there was.so I looked him in the eye and told him the mgr.to go to ****.and told the salesman to go out in front of me because I didn't trust him behind my back..He opened the door and held it open for me to go out first.so I got my family and things back in my van, from the car.And they had already placed a sticker on the windshield I took it off and asked for my keys.and with a very rude way was given back my key's. I feel these people thought I was an easy target because of my age.65,A woman,And being from clay co. Was stupid.In the end,I wasn't stupid as they thought.

Initial Business Response
We are very sorry for the experience that Mrs. ***** had at our dealership. We are not a high pressure dealership and we apologize for her experience with finance. The 1,000.00 was refunded back to Mrs. *****.

Sincerely,

** *****

Consumer Response
The plain and simple truth is that everything in their response is simply lies.

They did not refund the $1000.00. I called my CC Co. and told them of my experience, and stopped the transaction. I have proof of that. They are extremely high pressured, and dishonest. and undermining. Also the Finance Mgr. did on two different occasions. Make (poke) fun at me being from, Clay Co. Ky. They are not sorry for what they did to me. He first said his bank was closed. When I asked for the refund. and When I demanded he do it through my cc co. because they were 24-7. He said I am not to refund the $1000.00! My husband was with me as an eye witness to what happened. I think they should have to pay me for 4 hrs of my time they wasted me. And extra to the emotional state they drove me to. I was so angry and nervous when I finally left their parking lot I couldn't think straight our lives were in danger, with one having to drive in that terrible state of mind. My husband cannot drive anymore, because of a severe stroke over 16 years ago.

They lied to me over the 4 hour ordeal, every time I mentioned the finance rate, that he the finance manager would get me a low rate. And when it was presented it was a total different story. As God is my witness this, what I stated on the original complaint. And in this 2nd is the whole real story of course they aren't going to admit their guilt. I'm sorry I'm late getting this back to you.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined the company made a reasonable offer to resolve the issues, but the consumer did not accept the offer.

05/09/2013Advertising / Sales Issues
11/26/2012Advertising / Sales Issues
11/01/2012Advertising / Sales Issues
Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New & Used, Auto Dealers - Used Cars, Auto Dealers - New Cars

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 03/08/2005Business started: 01/01/1987
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

KY Motor Vehicle Commission
105 Sea Hero Road Suite #1
Frankfort, KY40601
(502) 573-1000

BBB records show a license number of 271311034 for this company, issued by KY Motor Vehicle Commission.

Type: Dept of Motor Vehicles

Contact Information
Principal: Mr Ed Hogan (F&I Director) Barbara Cooley (AP/AR Manager)Mr Mike Edmondson (General Sales Manager)Mr. Dan Glass (Executive VP)Mr John Hogge (Custom Finance)Ms. Tammy Justice (Corporate Office Manager)Mr Burton Legear (Parts & Service Manager)Mr John Tewell (Used Car Manager)Mr Trae Tewell (Custom Finance)
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New & Used, Auto Dealers - Used Cars, Auto Dealers - New Cars

Alternate Business Names
Courtesy on Wheels, Courtesy Pontiac-Acura
Industry Tips
Buying a New Car
Buying a Used Car
Dont Get Soaked Buying a Flood-damaged Vehicle
Dont Fall Victim to Enticing Auctions Ads for Cars!
Purchasing a Car Online
Spot Delivery Complaints are on the Rise
Know the Facts About Used Car Fraud Before You Buy
VIN Cloning Swindles Luxury Car Buyers

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Courtesy Acura

3701 Nicholasville Road

Lexington, KY 40503

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Lexington. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Courtesy Acura is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00-5.99
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.