BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 09/01/2007

Bob Allen Chrysler Dodge Jeep Of Frankfort

Phone: (502) 695-0166Fax: (502) 695-8759925 Versailles Road, FrankfortKY 40601 Send email to Bob Allen Chrysler Dodge Jeep Of Frankfort

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 09/01/2007

BBB has determined that Bob Allen Chrysler Dodge Jeep Of Frankfort meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Bob Allen Chrysler Dodge Jeep Of Frankfort's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service4
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Bob Allen Chrysler Dodge Jeep Of Frankfort

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (5)
12/04/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

I bought the car in 2012. I got it appraised last week. The dealership told me the car has a branded/BuyBack/lemon title. I was never informed this.
When I came to talk about the car and the branded title the manager got ansy. And quickly offered me $8,000 for the car and to take it off my hand. Well I paid well over yd $17,00+ for the car, it is valued at -1,012 due to 6 BuyBack lemon branded title. When I went to the company they refused to give me a copy of my contract claiming they don't have it. I believe this is auto fraud and title washing. The car came from Florida and the Florida attorney General wanted nothing to do with this vehicle but Bob Allen insisted to sell it to me for $17,000+ not disclosing information about it being a lemon/BuyBack branded title. When I spoke to the manager he stated he was not aware of this title issue before I purchased the vehicle but also refused to give me a copy of my contract.

Desired Settlement
I am seeking my lawyer and will go for suing the company. Takin legal action under a title wash, fraud. Also under the Violation of the third debt collection act. I would settle for my money I paid into the car back and my car paid off and keep the car. My grandfather owns a business and buys cars from Bob Allen and he is not happy neither.

Business Response
First and foremost we apologize for the inconvenience of this issue. ******* ***** is not the purchaser of this vehicle , his grandfather purchased it from us. Also , we can not give a copy of the contract because we do not have it. His grandfather obtained financing from Commonwealth Credit Union at there annual off site sale. ********** grandfather can obtain copies of the contract where he obtained the contract, which is at the credit union. We simply do not have it. How ever we as a dealership want and need for our customers to be completely satisfied. We traded for this vehicle and because Florida has electronic titling we did not have a tangible title until we paid and ordered a paper title. ********** grandfather bought the vehicle before we had the actual paper title. The vehicle was traded to us and the customer that traded it in did not make us aware of any title issues, in fact they signed that it wasn't a branded title. So , with that said we didn't know there was an issue until Mr. ***** brought it to our attention. Since then we have been awaiting answers from Chrysler and still do not have all the answers.
Although we did not intentionally sell ********** grandfather a vehicle that had title issues we do feel like we need to try and make our customer happy. We will be happy to buy the vehicle for $8000.00 or to show that we are committed to our customers we will offer Mr. *****'s grandfather $1000.00 for the title inconvenience and he can keep the vehicle.

Thank You,

***** ****
Finance Director
Bob Allen Frankfort

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Evening Mr. *****

Speaking with **** on his behalf we are contacting Frankfort (*** ******* today. Our attorney has wrote a letter and we are looking into settling for more than just $1,000 or the $8,000 and take the car, I would be car-less. I would accept the $8,000 and keep the car or we can just continue with our attorney Mr. **** ***** and go to court.

Thank you for your response, but as of right now **** ***** is currently in contact with Frankfort Bob Allen (*** ******* and negotiating what we can do on behalf of this fraudlient/title mistake on Bob Allen's behalf. *** in an e-mail confronted me and told me that he had checked all purchase history before he bought the vehicle, which is stating he knew the Branded Title, I'm sure your company is a well organized company and is knowledgable to check all damanges, car-fax reports, former titles etc. before selling to the consumer.

Thank you once again but ********** is in contact with Frankfort Bob Allen right now as our Attorney is handling other things on the behalf of our situation.

-******* (On Behalf of **** ****** XXX-XXX-XXXX)

Final Consumer Response
I would like to thank Bob Allen Chrysler in Frankfort, *** ****** for taking care of this issue. They have been very helpful and kind and have helped resolve this issue.

05/20/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

issue with low beam headlights where wire harness melted, there is a recall # P08 but dodge will not repair since vehicle not included in recall.
I have a 2011 dodge charger and my headlights had started to flicker and then went out. I thought it was the bulb and when I pulled out the bulb the entire wire harness was melted. took car to bob Allen had to pay $100 just for them to look at it for 5 mins. they said yes there is a recall for this issue but sorry for your luck you car was not included so regardless that this is a manufacturers defect we will not repair under the recall. It will cost you $800 to repair the issue.

Desired Settlement
For dodge to repair the issue free of charge for it to be covered under the warranty as this is a safety issue. There are aware of the problem and know that this is a recall issue and they should fix the issue at hand.

Business Response

*** ******

03/27/2013Problems with Product / Service
01/09/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

I have had several issues with my car since buying it new. they have repaired most but one they have seen failures several times and replaced several.
first complaint was documented as 11/20/2012 until present. plus there have been 3 to 4 times they did not record the complaints. on paper I have 10 times I have had it in for repair. they repaired several problems but a couple have been worked on several times without being repaired. a couple have been taken lightly and they did not even do paperwork. my main problem has been worked on several times without repair. after they could not repair it they just say it is working as designed. purchase date is 6/28/2012. model vin number is 1c3cdzag9cnXXXXXX. I have ask them to replace the car with the equal or better car or truck I would be happy with or a total refund my money and trade plus any extras I have put on. they would not. offered to let me trade it in as a used car so it would cost me much more money in the trade.

Desired Settlement
I have ask for another car or truck of the equal or better and/or a total refund plus extras I have put on the car.

Business Response
Unfortunatley we are unable to satisfy this customer. We have on multiple occassions tried to put him at ease. The very first problem that occured was THE CUSTOMER had a AFTERMARKET remote start installed on his vehicle. We had NOTHING to do with that. Once installed the customer started experiencing issues with his AC/HEAT unit. It simply caused an electrical mess. Once the customer had the remote-start removed, the problem STOPPED!!! Now since then the customer has brought it in on several occassions stating: The air doesn't come out of each vent equally. We've tried numorous times to explain that the air comes from one place and if you have all the vents open that the vents closest to the fan may dispurse more airflow. It is basic physics. However, because we want our customers to be completly satisfied we brought in TWO different MANUFACTURERS representitives to formally inspect the vehicle, and the ENTIRE vehicle is working in it's proper spec.
Now, Since this is obviously not sufficent to our customer we have tried on 2 seperate occassions to trade him out of the vehicle, and he refused both times.
My impression is this customer traded in a truck when he bought said car, and he has wished he still had a truck.
In conclusion to this matter I would like to do what the BBB process is designed to do and meet this customer somewhere on middle ground.
1. He has never moved from wanting a full refund. By the way that would be from Chrysler not the Dealer, just like when your iphone goes bad you don't go to Walmart where you bought it, you go to apple. HE HAS A FULL WARRANTY , but there is nothing wrong with the car.
2. We will offer him A DISCOUNTED price on any vehicle of his choosing. We have tried this twice and he won't move at all.

Because he refuses to comply with the BBB resolution process I ask to either close this matter or give the customer one last chance to MEET ON MIDDLE GROUND.


***** ****
Bob Allen CDJ of Frankfort Inc.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Dodge had me have the remote start removed. This did not fix any problems. It was a plug-n-play app. so nothing on the car was altered. The problems did not stop when the remote start was taken off. If anything I started having more problems. The airflow still isn't correct. Sometimes the dash vents do not work at all, other times they work less than they should, and other times they work as what seems correct. Depends which direction you have turned the control knob. This past weekend it was very cold and I turned it on floor and dash vents. Floor was working but there was ZERO coming out of the dash vents. A while back Dodge had me take the car to the dealership in Shelbyville, Ky. On the way when I was on I-64 the dash vents would not work using the air conditioning so I did not bother the controls and showed them when I got there. They just went on did their tests and said they found nothing. I also told them I had a safety issue. That the auto door locks do lock when you get the speed up to 15 m.p.h. but sometimes it is 35-40 m.p.h. before they lock. I have grand children and do not like that happening. I don't think they made a note of this issue. As far as Dodge saying with all the vents open the air flow will stronger at the vents closet to the fan. I understand how they work. But they should work every time you have them on and not just most times. When they had the repensatives look at the car I waited there until they arrived in order to show them how the controls worked sometimes and not sometimes. But ******* (service manager) said I was not allowed to speak to them. So he showed them how he wanted to the way it works. Yes I did trade in a truck. I liked this car very well until I started having all these problems with it.Yes the problems have made me wish I had not traded at Dodge or maybe went to a different dealership. But yes if you buy something bad at wal mart you take it back to get refund or replacement. I think Bob Allen Dodge should deal with Dodge about getting something done about this. Yes I have tried to trade with them since to get something else but as they stated "at a discounted price". That is just not true. First time they wanted several thousand dollars plus my car for a new car of around same sticker price as mine. I was NOT offered a discounted price on anything. Second time I tried to get a lease on a truck and when I was told about a $150.00 lease payment I was going to do it bet as they do when the sales person went to talk to the manager (***) they came back with a payment of over $200.00 lease payment. I would settle for a good middle of the road deal with them on another vehicle from either Bob Allen Dodge or Dodge Company. As far as Dodge trying to make it good they offered me 1 payment paid if that would make me ok with everything. Also, when I bought the car I bought an extended full warranty and had the purchase price added into my payments. When I talked with Dodge last time they show no record of this. If they would offer me a pretty good deal on something different I would be willing as long as it would be something I would be satisfied with driving. They seem to be telling you one thing and doing another. I just want a vehicle I would be happy with. Maybe the dealership could work with Dodge and get something worked out that I could be happy with.

11/05/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

On Saturday,X-XX-XX at Commonwealth Credit Union there're was a sale involving multi car dealerships. We found a 2014 Dodge Journey
at the Bob Allen site. The salesman,***** ************* how good the price was at 19,983. After driving the car we decided we wanted to purchase it. We were told the price was incorrect, that someone put the wrong tag in the window.We spoke to a manager and he said the general manager said he could sale it at his price. The tag did say 14 Journey.

Desired Settlement
We want to purchase the car at the ticket price that was in the window of 19983.00.

Business Response
This was an unfortunate situation. At this particular event Commonwealth Credit Union invites it's members to a one day sale. We as dealers bring vehicles to their location and for convenience we all are together in one large field. All the dealers use a "hang tag" to price the individual vehicles. Written on the "Hang Tags" were the STOCK Numbers of the vehicles and the "Selling Price". In this particular situation, Stock #F8864's "hang tag" was located in the wrong vehicle.The Stock# to that vehicle is #F8862 All the vehicles were unlocked that day so one of two things happened: 1. We accidentally put the wrong "hang tag" in that vehicle, but that's why the Stock numbers are on the tag. or 2. Because all the vehicles were unlocked someone else could have switched them without our knowledge. At either case that's why we are required to put the stock numbers on the tags as well. Unfortunately the vehicle that this customer was wanting to buy (Stock# F8862)is $27,290.00. I tried to explain this to the customer and I even offered to show him the vehicle the "Hang Tag" belonged to, and he refused. They were both NEW DODGE Journey's. I also offered the customer a Special discounted price on the car he wanted to purchase and he refused. As a Dealer who wants nothing but the best customer service for it's customers, we will still offer this customer the one day Commonwealth Cred. Union SALE Price.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Due to the response of this complaint taking so long I have had to buy a vehicle elsewhere. I will not refer anyone to purchase a vehicle from Bob Allen, not only because of the price switch but also because of the way the gentleman was who we spoke to about the price issue ( not our salesman).

Final Business Response
Generally, resolving a complaint requires both parties to move from their current position to a middle ground. In your response, please state your position and if possible indicate what steps can be taken by both parties to resolve this matter.
Following these fundamental guidelines requested by The BBB we will do our part to try and resolve this matter. The price of said vehicle is $27290.00 and the Customer's Offer is $19983.00 we will go beyond meeting in the middle (AS REQUESTED BY THE BBB) which would be $23636.00 and offer the vehicle at $23,000.00. Also said vehicle STK#F8862 has since been purchased, so Bob Allen will have one just like it sent to the dealership especially for this customer at NO ADDITIONAL COST.(approx. value 500.00) We hope this proves that Bob Allen CDJ of Frankfort will go above and beyond to try to make each and every customer happy.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New & Used

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 09/26/2007Business started: 04/01/2007
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jim Hughey (General Manager)Mr Bob Allen (President)Mr. Wendal Brown (Service Manager)
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New & Used

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Bob Allen Chrysler Dodge Jeep Of Frankfort

925 Versailles Road

Frankfort, KY 40601

To | From


1 Locations

  • 925 Versailles Road 

    Frankfort, KY 40601

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Lexington. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Bob Allen Chrysler Dodge Jeep Of Frankfort is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - New & Used


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.