BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 12/01/1957

Pieratt's, Inc.

(859) 268-6000View Additional Phone Numbers110 Mount Tabor Rd, LexingtonKY 40517-4321 Send email to Pieratt's, Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 12/01/1957

BBB has determined that Pieratt's, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Pieratt's, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service6
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Pieratt's, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 3
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 3 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (8)
01/12/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Asked delivery men who were stacking my Electrolux dryer/washer it switch the doors. They said that I had to make another appt./service ticket.
Asked delivery men who were stacking my Electrolux dryer/washer To switch the doors. They said that I had to make another appt./service ticket. Asinine. Something that should take them 10 minutes although they'll tell you 45. Is now going cost me another day off work or two hours of wasted time waiting on them. Terrible customer service certainly not about customer satisfaction. This was the second time they had to come to my house. First time did not have feet for the washing machine. I have been a repeat customer but will no longer be. I hope my Lexington friends do not have the same experience. This is the first complaint with the Better Business Bureau. I am not one to complain but when you spend this kind of money you would expect that they could switch the doors at the time of delivery. I will have to say that my sales person was wonderful. That's all have a blessed day.

Desired Settlement
Change customer service /delivery policy.

Business Response
Our service department ordered feet for Ms.********.
The delivery department installed on Saturday, December 19th.
We are sending a service technician on Monday, December 28th to reverse the washer door.
Our service manager will be following up on Monday to make sure customer is satisfied.


Consumer Response
Pieratts sent someone out several days after BBB complaint. The doors were reversed without issue. Thanks for resolving my issue.

12/31/2015Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I had purchased a 5 year extended warranty on a Samsung Plasma TV. Pieratt's will not honor.
In March 2011 I purchased A 50" Samsung 3D plasma TV from Pieratts. Included in the price was a 5 year extended protection plan. About a year later a void showed up on the TV that could definitely be seen. Pieratt's agreed there was a problem and replaced the TV. On December 3, 2015 I called Pieratt's again with the same complaint on the TV that was the replacement. I called the salesman, ******* ******* and he put me in touch with ***** in the service department. At that time she said I had another year on the contract and she would send out a repairman. The repairman came to the house on December 7, 2015 and was the same gentleman who replaced the other TV. He said there was a problem. He stated that this was a similar problem and felt they would replace the unit rather than replace the panel because of the nature of the issue. He took some pictures, made some notes and said someone would call in a couple of days. On Tuesday, December 8, ***** called to say the contract was fulfilled the day the TV was replaced and they would not be replacing this one. I said I was not aware of this policy and was under the assumption the contract was in affect until the end of the contract term. She said I should have been offered to purchase an additional contract on the replacement, which I was not. I contacted ******* ****** and he said he would look into it the next day. On Wednesday, I finally called ******* at 12:33. I was told he was with a customer and he would return my call. He called back at 3:30 that afternoon with the same news. I restated my position that I paid for a 5 year contract, not one that expired if I had one issue with their product. He said he was going to see if there was something else that could be done, I was not sure what he had in mind, but I waited all day today to hear back from him. I feel Pierstts needs to fulfill their contracts.

Desired Settlement
I feel Pieratt's needs to replace the TV. In the future if replacing one TV fulfills the contract as they stated another should be offered to the customer, if that means the sales person has take a phone call to explain prior to installation.

Business Response
Pieratt's offers our customers the option of a 5 year Protection Plus program on many of our products which offers the customer additional protection against failure of the purchased product. Mr. ***** purchased this optional program when he purchased his Samsung Plasma from *******'s on March 18, 2011. The Protection Plus program is administered by Warrantech Corporation in Bedford, TX. Whenever a customer contacts Pieratt's with a need for service on a product covered by a Protection Plus plan, we send a technician to diagnose the problem and then contact Warrantech with the cost to repair any failings in the product. It is at the sole discretion of Warrantech to authorize repair or replacement, and to what degree the service will be covered by the Protection Plus plan. In Mr. *****'s case, the service call placed on November 5, 2012 resulted in Warrantech deciding to replace the customer's product with a new product of similar features, to which the customer agreed. The product was shipped directly from Warrantech to the customer - Pieratt's was not involved in the replacement, nor did Pieratt's handle the exchange in any way. Pieratt's did agree to go to the customer's home after the new product was shipped to the customer from Warrantech to hook up the new TV and remove the old TV from the customer's home.

Per the Terms & Conditions of the Protection Plus program purchased by Mr. *****, under the "Limit of Liability", the program states:
"For any single claim, the limit of liability under this Service Contract is the lesser of the cost of (1) authorized repair, (2) replacement of the original covered Product with a new or refurbished product of like kind and quality, not necessarily same brand, that is of comparable performance, or (3) reimbursement to You for authorized repairs or replacement of the original Product.

Technological advances may result in a replacement Product with a lower selling price than Your original Product. No refunds will be made based on any cost difference associated with a replacement Product. If we do replace Your Product, this Service Contract will be considered fulfilled and all its obligations satisfied."

Based on the above terms & conditions, the customer's 5 year Protection Plus program was satisfactorily completed as stated. *******'s policy on our 5 year Protection Plus plan is to offer only with new purchases, so products replaced under warranty - either the Manufacturer's warranty or the Protection Plus plan - are not eligible for a new 5 year Protection Plus plan. Subsequently, Mr. ***** was not offered a new 5 year Protection Plus plan on the replacement product shipped to him by Warrantech.

At *******'s we make every effort to accommodate our customers by providing a great, knowledgeable sales team to assist customers in making educated buying decisions and the region's best service technicians to diagnose and repair issues when they arise. Unfortunately, we cannot control the quality of a manufacturer's products (in this case the best-selling TV manufacturer in the world) or the decisions of warranty holders as to what they authorize for repair or replacement (in this case full replacement). However, Mr. ***** did receive the warranty coverage that he paid for when he purchased his TV in March of 2011 and we believe all obligations on the part of *******'s and our partners has been fulfilled in this case.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The TV was not purchased from the insurance company, I purchased it from *******'s. The extended warranty was purchased from *******"s. I contacted *******'s when the problem arose and never had any contact with the insurance company. They should stand behind their products or at least explain better to the consumer what it is they are paying for. I was told I purchased a 5 year extended warranty not 5 years or the end of the drive whichever came first. I was told by the tech I was getting a new TV not a refurbished one. I purchased a new TV and should have gotten a new one when the first one went out. I have had 2 Samsung plasma TV's, both having the same problem in a 4 1/2 year period. *******'s should have been aware of the problems with Samsung's plasma TV's and made the consumer aware. Consumer Reports is now issuing statements concerning plasma and it is hard to believe the manufacturer and distributors were not aware years ago. According to CR, plasma TV's are hard to find now. Samsung may be the largest TV manufacturer in the world now, but with this quality they will not be for long. To spend $1000 on a TV that only last 2 years and get a replacement that last another 2 years and the manufacturer and distributor does not care is a direct reflection on both.

Final Business Response
Mr. *****, as you stated, you did indeed purchase both your TV and your Protection Plus plan from *******'s. After it was determined that your TV would be replaced under the Protection Plus program warranty, you requested a specific TV that *******'s no longer stocked or had access to. As a result, the plan administrator, Warrantech, purchased the specific model Samsung Plasma that you requested and shipped this TV to your house. As *******'s did not provide this TV to you, I cannot be certain if this TV was a new model or a refurbished model as suggested in your response.

*******'s Protection Plus plan does provide a 5 year extended warranty, however it provides this warranty exclusively on the item purchased. Your Protection Plus plan is linked to the unique serial number of the Samsung TV you purchased, and covers that serial number exclusively. Once the TV you purchased from *******'s was replaced, the 5 year warranty was considered fulfilled and obligations satisfied; subsequent TVs and new serial numbers cannot be covered by the same Protection Plus plan.

However hard we try, *******'s cannot control the quality of the products being manufactured by companies such as Samsung - we can only rely on the good reputation and build practices of our manufacturer partners when it comes to the quality of the products we pass ***** to our customers. Samsung is considered one of the top 3 manufacturers in the world and they have achieved that reputation on the quality of the products they produce. Plasma has indeed been phased out by manufacturers and the technology is no longer available from the top HDTV manufacturers. In 2012, *******'s was aware of this shift in technology, and for this reason your sales associate suggested you replace the original Samsung plasma with a comparable LED HDTV under your Protection Plus warranty replacement. However, at that time you preferred to have another Samsung plasma and we accommodated your wishes.

Again, *******'s makes every effort to accommodate our customers by providing knowledgeable sales associates to assist customers in making educated buying decisions and the region's best service department to stand behind the products we sell. The Protection Plus plan you purchased provided you with a new TV when your purchased TV was defective, and *******'s has fulfilled all obligations on our part concerning your purchased TV and Protection Plus plan.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I was contacted by Mr. ****** and he was authorized to sell me another TV at half the the retail price. This is not the replacement I was expecting, however I believe it is fair. He was also very knowledgeable about the new technology vs plasma and showed me several choices. I would highly recommend Pieratts and ******* ******. Thanks for taking care of this matter in such an expeditious manner.

07/13/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Truth in selling
On July 3, 2015, my wife and I went to your store to see about buying new kitchen appliances. (Range, refrigerator, microwave and dishwasher) My family and I have bought from your company many times over the past 10 years, so I thought it would be a good place to purchase again.

The sales associates showed us the appliances we were interested in buying. They said that they just arrived so they needed to get a price. When the person came back with the price it seemed fair until we started to ask more questions. On the surface it seemed good until we found out that it was last year's models. (Which the dishwasher was completely different and wasn't matching the others) That's right the "bait and switch" scam. Needless to say we left the store right away.

I am very disappointed with this because Pieratts is a family owned business and we like buying appliances and electronics there. Needless to say I will not be shopping there anymore and if anybody asks me for a reference I will simply reply that I do not want to shop there anymore.

To resolve the problem you can train all your associates to do business fairly and not to try this scam. If we ordered the appliances and they were delivered and we did not catch this switch it would have been a very ugly outcome.

The reason I am not saying the sales associates name because I feel that you should train all associates the same way. In conclusion, I will say it takes a life time to build a good reputation and just a few minutes to destroy it.

Sincerely,

****** and ***** *******

XXX-XXX-XXXX

Desired Settlement
acknowledgement and corrections of selling practices

Business Response
Thank you for filing feedback regarding your recent visit to Pieratt's. While we attempt to always leave our customers with a smile and a fantastic experience, it appears this was not the case during your recent visit. Of course, without your decision to offer feedback, we would not have known of this lapse in sales associate training and could not address the issue. For taking the extra time to offer your consideration and feedback after your recent experience, I genuinely thank you.

I can assure you Pieratt's has a zero tolerance against bait-and-switch offers. I am very surprised to hear that one of our associates intentionally offered specific models at a price, and then changed their offer to different models after quoting a price. We strive to have a team of professional, well-informed and well-trained sales associates; however it appears that an associate did not demonstrate this during your recent visit. Pieratt's does not believe in misleading our customers, and our exemplary record with both the BBB and the community at large over the past 70 years demonstrates our commitment to this philosophy.

With the information you have offered, I am unable to pinpoint some necessary details for improving our associate training against misleading the customer: namely the showroom location or the brand of the promotional kitchen package that lead to your displeasure. If you could provide me with these details, I can look further into how mistakes were made and will hold training during our next sales meeting regarding your experience; these meetings occur regularly on Wednesday mornings from 8A to 10A. I will affirm that I create and distribute to each and every associate receives a breakdown list of every advertised product with model number and price, so there is no excuse for a sales associate to misrepresent an available promotional offer.

Again, I apologize for your displeasure during your recent visit. I can assure you that this is not typical for a customer experience at Pieratt's, and only hope that you may be as gracious in the future as to offer us another opportunity when you have a need for a product we may offer.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

Please call me and I will explain...
XXX-XXX-XXXX
******

04/16/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Repair visit resulted in $119.98 charge no repair of the washer. Follow-up visit was not scheduled until 2 business days later.
Called for washer repair on 3/30/15, visit scheduled for 4/2/2015. (Frigidaire Affinity, purchased in 2012 from Pierratts.) Washer issue: Washer will run as normal until middle of wash cycle where the drum will sit for many minutes with no spin, washer then beeps, all lights flash and washer shuts off. When washer restarts, it starts from the beginning of the wash cycle and completes the cycle, but the cloths are not spun completely and cloths must be hand wrung. This happens on multiple cycles. Problem was explained in detail to technician, who did not run full cycle of washer to resolve complaint but reported it was a "balance issue". Left after less than 45 minutes, reporting issue was resolved. When a load of wash was run, problem was not resolved and now washer will not drain with clothes. Called Pierratt's to report issue (before 4:00p) was told to run "normal cycle" and call them back to report response. Called back at 4:30p to report washer "stuck" in wash mode at 29 minutes. I was told the information would be passed on to technician and was assured (by ******) that I would receive a call back tomorrow. When my wife called, she was told all service technicians were "in training" in Cincinnati on Friday and no "senior" technician was available until Monday. Was only given a 4 hour window with which service would be scheduled (between hours of 10:00a-2:00p. Spent 2 days off work to receive no resolution.

Desired Settlement
Cancellation of credit card charge of $119.98.

Business Response
After several attempts, we were able to contact Mr. *****. He informed Mr. ******* that his washer was fixed. I authorized a refund of $119.98, the desired resolution of Mr. *****.

**** *****
General Manager
Pieratt's Inc.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)


12/31/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
329 Melbourne WayLexington KY 40502-3201October 27, 2014Service ManagerPieratts 110 Mount Tabor RoadLexington KY 40517Dear Sir or Madam,Ref. Work Order XXXXXXXXUJS Customer Number: ********* Initial in-home service date ***** *** 2014We have bought many major appliances from Pieratts.My wife ******** ordered by telephone a repair by Pieratts on our Kitchen Aid Superba built-in convection oven bought from Pieratts on Jan 21, 2008. After ******** had used the oven self-cleaning mode, she found that the oven failed to operate. Finding 7000+ views of YouTube videos on that specific problem, she saw that it was caused by a known failure of part number XXXXXXX thermal fuse that can occur when following the oven manufacturers recommended self-cleaning mode at high temperature. When ******** phoned to request a service call to repair the oven, she described the known issue and asked that the repair man bring the replacement fuse with him. The Pieratts lady handing scheduling said the technician would have to first determine the cause of oven failure, and she refused to have that fuse available for that 1st service call.Why was I not given the option to pre-order that part with the understanding that if it were not needed, I would be responsible for the part cost and for the second service call? I was aware that the part cost was about $64 plus shipping.With the well-known cause for this appliances failure, I feel that no second service call should have been necessary.I hereby request a reasonable refund of part of our total payment of $244.32 already made to Pieratts on October 06, 2014. Our paid charge of $244.32 appears excessive for the service provided.If you wish to discuss this, please write or call us at (XXX) XXX-XXXX. Thank you! Sincerely, **** ** *********** Thermal Fuse sheet from Repai
Product_Or_Service: built-in convection oven repair

Desired Settlement
I want to receive a written reply satisfactory to me to my letter to Pieratts dated October 27, 2014 (above) regarding the work order specified in that letter sent by first class US mail to Pieratts. I have received no telephone or written response from Pieratts to date.

Business Response
I have reviewed Mr.******'s service order dated September 24, 2014. The charges were as follows:
1 trip charge for $79.95, labor of $91.65 and $64.18 for the part. He was not penalized for two trips. We did not add any shipping charges to his part amount. Mr. ******'s total bill was $244.32.
Although I can appreciate Mr.******'s concerns to the amount he was billed for the services we rendered, it is the correct amount based on costs of running an in-home service call in Lexington, KY.

I was unable to locate Mr. ******'s letter. I do wish to supply a reply as to how we arrive at our pricing. It has become very expensive to run in-home service calls; Manufacturers have limited their assistance to an all-time low, essentially doing nothing for the customer after 12 months. Their exists very few sources available to us establish pricing beyond our actual cost experiences. We do have a published guide that is available through the Nationwide Marketing Group.
The Major Appliance Service National Price Guide lists this repair on page 82 to be $142.70 plus parts and trip. Some appliance servicers in our buying group across the nation will use a lower trip charge to start the repair usually $50, then add parts and labor according to this book.
In Mr.******'s case, his repair would been billed at $256.88, $12.56 higher than how we calculate our charges.

Our goal is to continue to provide service that keeps us both consumer rated #1 for service and a A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau. I have over 23 years of experience with Pieratt's and have a good understanding of the total costs of running in-home service calls. I will gladly go into any level of detail that Mr.****** desires. My direct line is XXX-XXX-XXXX.


I was disappointed our team not reply (or locate )Mr. ******'s letter-. I have requested a $25 gift card be sent to Mr. ****** that can be used towards his next service call or purchase. We hope that he will choose continue his long term relationship with us.
Please feel free to share our response with him,


Happy Holidays,
**** *****
General Manager

Page 1 of 2
02/18/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
10 year warranty on couch was misrepresented when sold to me. It covers nothing that I was told it would.
Leather couch was purchased around October 2012. I purchased a 10 year warranty because the couch was expensive and I was told it would cover any repair over the 10 years. I tried to place a service call for a repair of the couch with the warranty company Ultrashield on February 2, 2016 and was told none of the issues I am having is covered under the warranty. Additionally I was told by Ultrashield that get this issue all the time where salespersons misrepresent their product. Contacted the store only to be told NOW that the only thing covered under the warranty was the leather itself but that the peeling leather issue I am having is not covered. This warranty was gravely misrepresented and the piece of furniture I spent over $3,000 is of the poorest quality I have seen. This furniture may get used once a week at my home. It is ridiculous that something this expensive would not even hold up 4 years, especially when it only gets used approximately 12 days out of a year. ***** ***** is the sales rep that sold the couch and warranty to me. I paid for the couch via credit card.

Desired Settlement
I would ultimately love to receive a refund for this couch and they can come get it. I have had nothing but problems with this couch since it was purchased. At the very least I would like the repairs done on the couch at no cost to me.

Business Response
Pieratt's offers a 10 year fabric/leather care warranty through the Ultrashield Corporation on all upholstery we sell. The customer was issued a contract with coverage terms and limitations for her leather care warranty at the time of purchase. She was also issued a leather care and conditioning kit at a later date. The sales associate that assisted the customer in this sale is a 20 year veteran and is well-practiced in communicating the coverage of the Ultrashield leather care warranty. The associate advises his customers that the leather care warranty covers accidental damage to the seating surfaces including stains, rips, tears, and punctures. The leather care warranty does not cover against normal wear and tear, nor does it cover the internal frame and foundation or mechanical components of the upholstery products.

We regret this customer is dissatisfied with the quality of the product. However after over 3 years of use, Pieratt's will not issue a refund for the product. Pieratt's will make a concession to perform a service repair to the out-of-warranty product and waive all labor repair fees and trip fees. The customer would be responsible for parts costs. If the customer agrees to this concession, she simply needs to contact the Pieratt's service department to arrange for service at (859) 269-6500. Her account has been noted and she will not be charged for labor or trip fees.

12/09/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Faulty Service on a Washer causing water damage to 11 month old wood floors in a new home.
On Wednesday, October 14, 2015, a Pieratt's service technician returned to my residential home in Lexington to repair a broken/cracked pump on a three year old Samsung top-load washer. I was home during the entire time that the service technician worked on the washer and was nearby in the kitchen when he worked on the washer. During the end of the service call, I did not hear the service technician perform any test to ensure that the washer had been repaired.

On October 21, 2015, I used the washer for the first time. After about ten minutes, I noticed waster coming out from the laundry room and from the walls surrounding the laundry room. My wife and I immediately grabbed countless towels, a mop, and a broom and cleaned up the water that had leaked all over a significant area of the wood floors in our home. In addition, we placed two fans near the areas that had been affected by the water spill.

On the same date, I notified Pieratt's of the occurrence and expressed by belief that the service technician had erred and/or had installed a faulty part in the washer. I also informed them that the water spill had likely caused damage to my wood flooring.

On October 21, 2015, I received an email from Pieratt's service manager, ***** *******, whereby he said he was sorry about what had occurred and requested a date to come and inspect the washer and the damage to the flooring.

On October 26, 2015, ***** ******* and the technician came to our home. I was not present but my wife told me what occurred. The first thing that Mr. ******* and the technician did was to take pictures of the damaged flooring. After taking the pictures, Mr. ******* and the technician examined the washer and took pictures of it.

On October 28, 2015, I received an email, stating that Pieratt's did not believe that they were at fault, but instead the brand new pump had cracked because of overloading the machine. Subsequently, I had a conversation with Mr. ******* whereby he repeated that Pieratt's was not at fault and that I should report the claim to my homeowners' insurance carrier.

Before and after my telephone call with Mr. *******, I had numerous conversations with various appliance servicers in the Lexington and Louisville, Kentucky areas. Each and every one of them stated that overloading is not the cause of a pump cracking. This is especially true if the machine was used one time. Instead, each and every servicer stated that the most likely cause was that the replacement pump was faulty, e.g., hairline crack, and this is what caused it to fail so quickly. Such a scenario also makes common sense.

I am very disappointed in Pieratt's and their failure to do the right thing and rectify their mistake. I do not believe that they knew the pump was faulty, but they are responsible for ensuring that a working pump would be installed.

Desired Settlement
I would like Pieratt's to repair my damaged floors.

Business Response
We regret that Mr. ***** is dissatisfied with his recent service repair. We pride ourselves in providing the best service in Lexington, but on occasion repairs can have unexpected issues and we will always do our best to rectify issues to the customer's satisfaction.

After receiving Mr. *****'s request for service for a leaking washer, we sent a service technician, ******* ********* to the customer's home to determine the cause of the leak. The technician determined the leak was caused by a faulty pump. After receiving authorization from the customer for estimated repair costs, a new pump was ordered and Mr. ******** returned to install the new pump. At the time of completion of this service, our technician received full payment via personal check from the customer that work was completed satisfactorily and the machine was tested for proper operation. I spoke personally with Mr. ******** (who performed this service repair), and he has assured me that the washer was tested for proper operation at the conclusion of the service call. This is standard operating procedure for all service repairs.

Since receiving Mr. *****'s complaint, which was made 7 days after the service repair, *******'s has actively been working on a resolution to his concerns. We promptly filed a notice of claim with The ********** ********* ********* - Claim #XXXXXXX - last week. Earlier today, the insurance claims associate indicated she left a message on Mr. *****'s voicemail regarding this case.

Pieratt's will take responsibility as determined and directed by the insurance company after investigation on this claim. Pieratt's continues to recommend that Mr. ***** notify his home insurance agency of this ongoing claim so the insurance agencies may work together to find resolution in this case. We hope that these actions will show that we are doing what is necessary to provide a fair resolution to Mr. *****'s service repair concerns.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
A review of Pieratt's four (4) paragraph response to my complaint reveals that its management does simply not get it. A review of Pieratt's response does not indicate how or why the pump would fail on the first use and not be their responsibility. The simple fact is that the pump was defective when it left Pieratt's and that they should take responsibility for the faulty part. I have talked with numerous service technicians who have all confirmed that the most likely and probable cause of the pump failure was that it was defective. I would not have filed a complaint if Pieratt's would have accepted responsibility. Instead, however, Pieratt's told me to contact my insurance carrier to repair the damage because they were not taking responsibility. While this may not see urgent to Pieratt's, I have new flooring that is now ruined and has to be replaced. Our own insurance carrier laughed at Pieratt's failure to accept responsibility.

Final Business Response
In the original complaint, Mr. ***** asked for the following desired resolution: "I would like Pieratt's to repair my damaged floors."

In our response to his claim, we indicated that we have taken the following action to achieve this desired resolution: "Since receiving Mr. *****'s complaint, which was made 7 days after the service repair, Pieratt's has actively been working on a fair and proper resolution to his concerns. We promptly filed a notice of claim with The Cincinnati Insurance Companies - Claim #XXXXXXX - last week. Earlier today, the insurance claims associate indicated she left a message on Mr. *****'s voicemail regarding this case." Also, in our initial response we agreed to take responsibility as determined and directed by the insurance carrier after investigation on this claim.

In our response, we did not ask Mr. ***** to "contact my insurance carrier to repair the damage because they were not taking responsibility" as he stated above. We did, however, advise Mr. ***** to notify his home owner's insurance agency of our filed claim with our insurance agency.

We have taken all necessary actions to bring about a fair and proper resolution to Mr. *****'s complaint.

In the initial complaint, Mr. ***** did not ask for an analysis of how or why a pump may crack after a single use, therefore, we did not offer this response. Since it is now requested, we can offer that from our professional observance, the cracked pump was caused from overloading of the washer which led to extreme imbalance of the outer tub. In this case, the extreme imbalance caused the wiring harness attached to the pump to be torn off and caused the pump to become cracked. If these issues had existed when our service technician left the home, the washer could not run a wash cycle and would have immediately shown an error code. The fact that the machine could run a wash cycle means that the wiring harness was properly attached and the pump was intact when our technician completed the service repair.

Despite our professional observance, we are - as stated above - actively working to offer Mr. ***** a fair and proper resolution and will follow the determination of our insurance carrier based on claim #XXXXXXX.


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Pieratt's response shows a utter lack for the workings of a washing machine. Each and every service technician who I have spoken with about this issue has stated that the pump was defective when it was installed by Pieratt's. I do not believe that Pieratt's knew that the pump was defective when it was installed. It was likely damaged in transit from the parts supplier to Pieratt's. Moreover, since I am the one that loaded the washer on its initial usage after the Pieratt's service call, I am 100% certain that the machine was not overloaded. In fact, it was not even a full load, but, instead, was slightly over a half a load composed of children's clothes, t-shirts, and under garments. The simple fact is that Pieratt's is trying to avoid paying a claim for damage that was its fault. Moreover, I have left numerous messages with Pieratt's insurance carrier who has yet to return any of my telephone calls. At the current time, my flooring is severally damaged and it seems that Pieratt's could care less.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Appliances - Major - Dealers, Electronic Equipment & Suppliers - Service & Repair, Appliances - Major - Service & Repair, Washers, Home Entertainment Product Sales & Service, Television & Radio - Dealers, Refrigerators & Freezers - Dealers, Ranges & Ovens - Dealers, Mattresses, Home Theater, Furniture - Retail, Bedding

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 03/08/2005Business started: 01/01/1948
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: June 1951, KY

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Bruce W. Pieratt (President/CEO)Customer Contact: Mr. Jeff Moser (General Manager)Mr. Michael Cox (Director, Marketing)Mr. David Cox (Vice President, Purchasing)Mr. Kenny Mills (Sales Manager)Mr. Kevin Sorrell (Service Manager)
Business Category

Appliances - Major - Dealers, Electronic Equipment & Suppliers - Service & Repair, Appliances - Major - Service & Repair, Washers, Home Entertainment Product Sales & Service, Television & Radio - Dealers, Refrigerators & Freezers - Dealers, Ranges & Ovens - Dealers, Mattresses, Home Theater, Furniture - Retail, Bedding

Products & Services

This company sells and services major appliances and home entertainment products.

Service Area

Fayette and Surrounding Counties

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Pieratt's, Inc.

110 Mount Tabor Rd

Lexington, KY 40517-4321

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 110 Mount Tabor Rd 

    Lexington, KY 40517-4321(859) 268-6000
    (800) 666-7283

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Lexington. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Pieratt's, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (859) 269-6500
  • (800) 666-7283

Additional Fax Numbers

  • (859) 268-7283
  • (859) 268-9065
  • (859) 269-4914
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Appliances - Major - Dealers

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.