BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Grand Crowne Resorts

Phone: (800) 615-6511Fax: (417) 334-0664View Additional Phone Numbers2703 Teaster Lane, Pigeon ForgeTN 37863http://www.grandcrowneresorts.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Grand Crowne Resorts is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

This business has no rating at this time.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

66 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 7 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues18
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service47
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 66

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Grand Crowne Resorts

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (66)
09/29/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Promised time of vacation is unavailable.
In June 2015 we paid $219 with the promise that if we went to a timeshare presentation, we would be able to have a 6 day, 5 night stay at certain hotels through the company. I specifically asked if we could take this time at Christmas this year and they said yes. When we went online to redeem the certificate, there is absolutely no time slot available for the Christmas. We also had to book three different slots and were not guaranteed a choice of when we actually wanted to go/could go. I am a landscaper and the only time I can go is the winter. You have to book no sooner than thirty days after one choice. Again, this is why I asked if this vacation could be used at Christmas time. We were also told this could be used in a year and a half, but on the website it says it expires in a year. When we have called the company we get an answering machine. If we leave a message no one calls us back. On the rare occasion we have talked to a person, we get hung up on or transferred and then hung up on.

Desired Settlement
We want a full refund of our $219.

Business Response
Thank you for taking the extra time to send us information on the package you purchased. We will have a credit issued back to the guest card.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Thank you for refunding the card.

08/27/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We purchased what we thought was a time share from ***** ******* that would allow us to use time share in ****** ***** with no additional cost.
sales Representative and Sales Manager. $7,000. Paid $950.00 that day Processing/Down Payment. Financed a balance of 6,539.00. Refinanced with our ****** ***** 12%. Paid $419.00 Maintenance Fee April 2013.

Contract was for 1 bedroom, every other year. Tried to schedule on April 30th, 2014. I tried to reserve a date for July, 2014 or November 2014, we were told we could not do this without an additional cost. I was told by ****** **** I needed to contact New Owner, by email. I sent email on that day and received a response back on May 8th that received my email and the executive vice president would review. I emailed and called several times after that. We feel like we have been mislead and lied to. We were told that we should purchase in ******** because then we could reserve in ****** ****** but if we went with ****** ***** we couldn't reserve in ******** They didn't understand why we would want to purchase in ****** ***** and limit our self. We kept telling them we didn't want to go to ******** they kept pressuring us and telling us this was the best way to go. We were told that we could reserve in ****** ***** at one of the other time shares that **** ***** was affiliated with. We finally agreed after they typed up an agreement that said we requested our deed be moved from **** to ****** ***** upon availability in ****** ***** at no additional charge.
We didn't receive a response from **** ***** until September 13, 2014. It was a letter from the Vice President, Owner Services, ****** *********, saying the company would like to have us attend a presentation to discuss downgrading to a smaller package. More money, I am sure....

This whole mess has put us under a lot of stress. We believe they took advantage of us as senior citizens.

***** ****** ******* has put us through a terrible ordeal. We don't want to be associated with them in anyway after the way they have lied and deceived us.

Desired Settlement
My husband has had 3 major surgeries since July, we have been under a lot of stress from the surgeries and all that ***** ****** ******* has put us through. We would like to get this horrible mess straightened out. It has been a nightmare.

We don't feel we can trust such a dishonest company. We want our money back and out of this mess.

Business Response
Companys has received owners concerns. After reviewing owners contract information, their contract can and will be deeded in **** **** once we have inventory available to move them into. With their current deed, they can still request to stay in **** ****, they currently receive 51,100 points every other year which they can make reservations to any **** **** ******* property. If they need help on how to maximize their membership and get their vacation booked the owner services team will be happy to help them. They can email for assistance. Owner purchased points with **** ****, points are points and it does not matter what is on your deed you can vacation anytime you are ready. The last information we received from owner they were indicating hardship, as we explained we empathize with them and yes they can visit one of our locations to talk about downgrade to fit their lifestyle. We will be happy to cancel their purchase with out refund. We feel their is a lot of information that is gone over and we can help the owner vacation and understand their purchase. If they have additional information for us to review to please pass along to the company.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
WOW what a bunch of twisted words. It all comes down to more money from us or something less than we purchased. We were pressured into going with Branson, we were told we would have no additional fees when we stayed in ****** ****** but if we purchased in ****** ***** we would have a fee if we decided to stay in Branson. We were made to look like fools if we didn't go with ******** We do not want to maximize our membership. We are not paying any more money. We feel we were lied to and taken advantage of because we are seniors.

We did not indicate any hardship. More lies!! Your correspondence is horrible. We have had nothing but lies from ***** ****** ******** Why would we want to visit one of our locations to talk about downgrade to fit our lifestyle when we were lead to believe we purchased what we were given a tour of. ******@gcrvacations.com was a joke, just kept saying we couldn't get anything in ****** ***** with out paying extra money.. We only want to cancel our purchase WITH REFUND...... I can't imagine vacationing at a place that has been so dishonest and full of lies. Not a vacation place for us more like a stressful place for us.

We do understand our purchase, not the twisted version that ***** ****** keeps throwing at us. Maximize, (more money) downgrade (not what we purchased). only thing we want is our money back.

This whole mess has put us under a lot of stress. We believe ****** ****** ******* took advantage of us as senior citizens.

***** ****** ******* has put us through a terrible ordeal. We don't want to be associated with them in anyway after the way they have lied and deceived us. Now ****** ***** ******* is twisting things so it looks like they are concerned, it all just involves more money for treating seniors like this.

Final Business Response
owner's check was mailed out today, tracking number XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXXXXXX XX check number XXXXXX. We apologize for the time it has taken for the refund to be mailed. If anything else is needed, please let us know.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I only hope that ***** ****** ******* mails the check this time. We are very skeptical that we will receive our check. This is the second time we were told the check is in the mail. On July 6, 2015, we were told the check was in the mail. We will surely let you know if we receive our check. Know one should have to go through this.

05/13/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We purchased a time share point package with ******* ******** They also go by ****** ********* and ***** ****** ******** The total cost of the package was $8200.00 to be paid monthly with a yearly maintenance fee at or around $332.00. We were promised 12 getaway weeks that were available to us to use at our leisure, where and when we wanted to use them. We were told that they were set up in such a way that a week vacation would be $199.00 for a one bedroom condo/resort, $299.00 per week for a two bedroom condo/ resort and so on adding $100.00 per bedroom per week. We have attempted to try and use one of these get aways only to find that this isn't the case at all. These are leftovers and you have to go where they are available and when. It is not up to you to choose. This is completely different from what we were told in the very high pressure sales meeting. We were told they have a 93% availability rate. We have tried to get a resort date in ****** ***** only to be told that there is nothing available until September 2015. We also tried other areas only to be told the dates were not available. We like to vacation when WE want to, not when they tell us to! We have called all of the ******* ****** numbers we can only to be sent to voice mail or to be told that we were not told the truth. ****** ******* **** ******* and **** ******* in the ****** ***** office are the sales team that sold us the package thus lied to us about its contents. We have left numerous messages for ****** ********* who is supposed to be the Vice President of Owner Services. We have never heard back from her. We have left messages for ******** ******* no calls returned. The only person that I have talked to on the phone that told the truth was ***. Ironically he no longer works for the company. We went to a new owners workshop in ****** ****** ********* where the manager in the office, ****, was so rude. He smiled in our face and said he would get everything straight then disappeared in the back room where we heard him and another employee screaming profanities, bordering on getting into a fist fight. This is not fair that they, ******* ******** can do this to hard working people in several different states, several days and week and rob people blind. There was a salesman in the ****** ***** office who told us that we were correct: WE ARE BEING LIED TO! He was very emotional about the whole thing and what his company is doing everyday to hard working honest people. I do have his name and number if I need to use it. He is afraid of losing his job for being honest with us. We want to get out of this contract and break all ties with this phony business! We work too hard for our money to be treated this way! We would like to recoup the money that we have paid forward including the monthly installments since the original payment on December 7,2014. Any help and/or advice you can give to us will be greatly appreciated!
Sent from my ****

Desired Settlement
We would like all of the money we have paid in refunded as well as monthly installments and any maintenance fees that have been paid. We also want to be out of the contract with ******* ******** ****** ********* and ***** ****** ******* who are all one in the same.

Business Response
**** **** has reviewed owners information and we will send the proper documents to Mr. and Mrs. ******* for cancellation with refund.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
We accept the above response from ******* ******* ONLY as long as we are paid IN FULL for all monies they have previously received from us as well as ending our contract with their company. We do not want to be held responsible for the remainder of the contract to them. We want our deposit, monthly fees paid and contract ended from ******* ******** ****** ********** and ***** ****** ******** Thank you!

Final Business Response
Owner's refund check was put int he mail today - check number XXXXXX in the amount of 1,850.72. If any further information is needed please let us know.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
We did receive the check in the mail yesterday from ******* ******* . This should be the last correspondence that we have with this company. As stated in the contract that we signed we are relieved of any responsibility to them and no more fees should be removed from any of our accounts.

05/08/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My wife an I purchased a 2br/2bath biannual timeshare contract #XXXXX-X) at ****** ****** ** from ***** ****** ******** We called several times to try and book a stay at various places and were always told there were no vacancies. We were invited back for an owners meeting in Dec.2012 and since we had not been able to use our ownership and I had become unemployed, we went to the meeting hoping to sell our property back to ***** ****** for a small loss. The salesperson we were paired up with was *** ******* ********* advised we would probably lose about 10% if we sold our property but he had another property that a couple had been paying on and the gentleman had passed ***** Mr. ****** advised they were selling the property for his widow and we could upgrade to her 3br/3bath property and assume her equity making our new property worth more than our investment. I advised Mr. ****** I was unemployed cutting our income to less than half and we needed to sell, not buy. He advised rather than listing me as unemployed he would leave my employment status the same as it was at our first purchase so we would be eligible for the upgrade and 3br property with the equity assumed from the previous owner we could sell for a profit rather than take a loss on the 2br property. ********* advised we would need to keep the new property for a few months before selling it because his supervisor would not let hem sell it to us if it looked like we were buying it for the purpose of making money on it. ********* also advised the 3br property came with 12 annual 1 week getaways that we could use or sell. He gave us the number for ***** ******* at TN ******** ********** and said ***** should be able to sell weeks for spring break, July 4th, etc... I called Mr. ******* and he advised for $600 he would begin advertising 6 of our getaways and send a check for each sale. I received no checks, so I called and he advised he had not sold any of our getaways. (Smells like another scam) After a few months I tried calling *********
Product_Or_Service: Timeshare Property
Account_Number: Contract #XXXXXXX

Desired Settlement
I would like our total purchase price for December 30, 2012 of $26,928.00 refunded. I do not expect a refund for the already paid titling fees, closing costs, or maintenance fees. Tour #XXXXXXX. C/R #XXXXXXX. Owner ID #XXXXXX.

Business Response
Upon reviewing owners information, ***** ****** will be happy to cancel contract XXXXXXX and refund the monies paid in. We apologize for any misunderstanding the *****'s had during their presentation.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I believe ***** ****** has made a fair and correct decision to refund our monies. I am very pleased with their decision.


P.S.

I believe the company could benefit greatly and improve their PR by training employees that answer the phones to help callers rather than try and pass them off to someone else by giving other telephone numbers that produce the same results.

If the first point of contact follows through, even if they have to find out information, or consult with someone else and get back with the caller, or even have a supervisor contact the caller, the company would see a more satisfied customer.

05/01/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Cannot get a response from customer service. Have had problems with ***** ****** ******* ******* since the beginning (8/27/2014)
We attended a presentation on 8/27/2014 and after refusing to purchase the timeshare, we were talked into the ********* ******* for $1495.00. We paid $150 down and the balance was to be paid by 10/5/2014. I sent a notice via certified mail to cancel the contract on 9/4/2015. After not receiving a response, I began corresponding with ****** ********* via email on 9/18/2014. I also tried calling their main office in ******** ** but could not get anyone to answer the phone. I left messages and no one would return my call.

I talked to **** ****** on 9/23/2014 and sent a formal request again via email. On 9/24/2014, I received an email from ***** ****** that my cancellation request had been forwarded to the Executive Vice President.

On 10/3/2014, I emailed all three ladies and asked for a response. I was told that a response would be mailed to me the following week. Since my balance of $1345 was due on the 5th and I did not want any interest charged, I made the payment over the phone. Two weeks later I received a letter stating that my cancellation had been denied. They didn't send the letter until after I had paid the balance in full.

Since I had paid, I decided to make reservations in January. I called on 1/22/2015 and was told that the dates I requested for ********** ** were not available. I called again on 1/23/2015 and left a message. ******* returned my call and told me that I could go online and make reservations. That didn't work and I began corresponding with ******* ****** via email on 1/27/2015 to get a password set up. Since I did not purchase the timeshare and only purchased the ********** ******** I cannot make reservations online. I have called the reservations number again on 1/29/2015; 2/2/2015; 2/4/2015. Each time I have left messages and have still not received a return phone call.

With the ********** ******* (150,000 points)we only have the option of 5 destinations to visit and only have 18 months in which to book vacations.

I am very tired of trying to deal with these people and would like to have my $1495.00 returned.

This is the worst company that I have ever dealt with. We have had timeshares in the past and never had the problems that we have had with ***** ****** ******* ******** I don't think that anyone tells you the truth.

Desired Settlement
I would like my $1495.00 returned since I feel that the sales people in Pigeon Forge misrepresented the facts and the entire company gives you the run around.

Business Response
******* will cancel and refund the money owner has paid on this contract. We apologize if the owner did not get to the right department to book their week. The Adventures Program is a trial membership which will allow owners to stay at any ******* location, they should have called XXX-XXX-XXXX to book their vacation. Again we apologize for any misunderstandings.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I accept the cancellation and refund for my $1495.00. I would like to mention that the telephone number that was given to us on our contract to book reservations was XXX-XXX-XXXX and it only allowed for us to stay at certain locations. How long should I wait for refund? Thank you.

Final Business Response
Company records indicate refund check was mailed 4/24/15, tracking no xxxxxx check number XXXX. If you need any further information let the company know.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I received my refund check today in the mail. Thank you *** for all of your help.

** ******

Page 1 of 5
08/28/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Business is not living up to their contract and have not built as we were told that it should all be finished in two years. Contract # XXXXXXX
Purchase 11/22/10,saleman ******. Paid $12,510 in full 1/29/11 after first check held that was mailed in 12/10.162,250 timeshare points for 2br unit at The ****** at ****** ****** *********** able to stay one week in the past 4 years and can't book this year again and points will expire as had to carry over until 2014 because of not having handicap unit.This was addresses at purchase.One time you call say have to book 1yr ahead and the next time less than 60 just excuses for not having built property. Can give you a date here and a day there but no dates together. We have been going through this for the past four years of lie and visits to the property to see they are still selling but cannot take care of the paid folks. Have corresponded to the corporate numerous with no resolution. This is the biggest scam out there. They keep saying we are asking for peak time and no matter what time we talk with these folks it is peak time. We even check for ******* exchange in May which the motel room at that time was dirt cheap because winter is their peak. We paid money in order to save money over the years for vacation and we have been to ****** ***** probably 15-20 times since we purchased and had to purchase rooms at motels. We were just told today that we could be put on a waiting list so if something came up we could get rooms. When you are working you just don't tell the boss torrorow that you will be on vacation for the next week. There are about 10 to 15 units out of the more that 200 they were building (that # has changed several times) In fact when we went by the sales office earlier in the summer they were showing us a totally different layout of the resort. No ammendities have been build. They have blamed it on the city, lack of funds, weather and anything else they think of on any given day. (They didn't mind cashing our $12,510.00 check and accepting our due which again we will get no benefit of. The best solution to this problem is by just admitting they are scamming people and give our money back.Contract #XXXXXXX Legacy N. XXXXX-X. These people should be shut down immediately before anyone else looses their money.

Desired Settlement
We are asking for a full refund of $12,510.00 but we should be asking for all the money we have spent on rooms and cabins since we purchaed. If property is not built within a two year period as we were told they should give our money back. If you contracted for a home to be built and it is not built you would be able to get your money back. We do not want to pay another maintence fee because we are loosing our points again for the second year in a row because of availabilty.

Business Response
After reviewing owners concerns, owners can email ****** ********* when they wish to book their Pigeon Forge vacation, if they indicate dates that will work for them i will handle their account. We will be glad to bank any points owners have lost from 2013, please let us know the amount they feel they lost. ***** ****** is still in the process of building in ****** ****** a new building will be ready for occupancy in October. I have sent information over to ******** ************* to see why owners are having a difficult time booking to *******, ******** will contact owner to discuss their options and how to maximize.

Consumer Response
we have sent our vacation days to Ms.********* as reqested but we have not had the response back from them so we can not say we are satisfied with their response or not. We wanted to see their response and do not want to close the case out until they tell us they can give us the vacation rental as requested for the days request or a response as to the fact that we are not able to get us the dates and will bank the points until next year so we did not know how to say yes or not to your question as to whether we accept this proposal.

01/28/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My complaint details our complete disgust with this company and our desire to have all monies refunded and our contract cancelled.
Our first contact with ***** ****** was on 10/13/13 when we accepted a 2 night/3 day stay in ****** ***** in exchange for 90 minutes of our time. The weekend began very badly when we were told that we did not have reservations at the hotel the we had confirmation from. They arranged other accommodations for us that were much less than desirable. After this disappointing night, we went on Saturday morning for our 90 minute presentation. 90 minutes turned into three hours.

We made it very clear that we did not feel comfortable purchasing at this time, but they kept coming back with a "better" offer and made continued promises and guarantees of vacationing all over the world with vacation exchanges whenever suited us. We were pressured that we had to purchase on this day and these offers would not be available at a later date. After three hours we did agree to purchase ownership in ***** ******* ****** ***** with a 1 br EOY plan with 87,200 points. We paid $1346.00 that very day towards the $10,900 price tag. They also provided us with the Interval Platinum membership that was to provide us with availability and better rates anywhere we would choose to go. They also offered us another "free" weekend stay in ****** ***** for a "new owner's workshop" and a free cruise.

We actually felt pretty excited after leaving this day and soon scheduled our return visit for the "workshop" in December 2013 which ended up costing an extra $99 booking fee.

Upon arrival on December 14th, 2013, we were discouraged to find out that this was not a workshop at all, but another long, three hour sales pitch. At this time we were told that the package we originally purchased did not contain enough points to do much with and were immediately presented with "better" investment opportunities. They used the Interval Platinum membership as a sales point again and when we told them we had that from our first purchase they checked through all of their paperwork and said we did not (I didn't have my original paperwork with me) so they again convinced us that this was such an upgrade and with the upgrade we would be able go anywhere we wanted, anytime we wanted and also would have access to getaways and short stay exchanges.

Once again, we were taken in and agreed to "upgrade" to a 2 br in ****** ****** We again paid that day in the amount of $1162.00 towards the purchase price of $17,900. We were told there would be a water park/clubhouse and other ammenities by summer of 2014. Almost two years later none of this has been built and you cannot stay in what is there because there is never availability when you want to go. We have felt completely taken advantage of and scammed into paying for something that is not at all what was presented.

We are hard-working class people who work hard for every penny and everything we have. Since 2013, we have gone on vacations, but they have not been through ***** ******* We have still had to pay for trips to where/when we wanted to go. We cannot afford to pay for something that was misrepresented in such a blatant, dishonest way.

We have attempted time and time again to talk to people about our disappointment and are always directed to other numbers and nobody is ever the right person to talk to. We have left messages with no response. We are completely dissatisfied with the whole mess.

Desired Settlement
We want our contract cancelled with all monies paid out refunded to us. We want absolutely nothing to do with this company or anyone with any connection to this group of scammers.

Business Response
Thank you for taking the time to write to ***** ****** ******** We will address the concerns.

During the years, ***** ****** has been dealing with multiple permits that are needed to do construction, the laws in ****** ***** are different than ******** We are pleased to announce city approval of a revised master plan of The ****** at The ***** ***** ********* in ****** ****** *** The speed at which construction progresses, depends on the permit process with the City of ****** ****** Next, we will begin construction of our new lodge clubhouse and a resort check in center. The planned amenities include an outdoor pool, water features and other outdoor living spaces. In addition, the clubhouse will feature royal suites with panoramic views of the ***** ********** During the time ***** ****** is giving owners a free pass to visit the recplex, which will allow owners to swim, workout etc, the recplex has many other benefits owners can use.

If you are trying to book a reservation to stay in ****** ****** please email us your dates and we will check availability. If you elect to wait until The ****** at the ***** ***** ********* are more developed, you may visit any of our other locations in ******* or ****** or exchange to any of the properties offered by ******** **************

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
We absolutely do not accept this response. These are the same lies that have been told to us since our first visit in October 2013 when we were told that the water park and clubhouse would be available by summer 2014 as well as many more units built. We do not want to book a vacation. We tried to exchange to other locations and there was nothing at the coast of the ********* over the summer (started looking in the winter) so we have taken vacations the past two years which we paid for by other means. We are not interested in ****** or ******* as they are too far to drive for a family vacation.

We have also tried to use the getaways through ******** ************* and they are always very limited in location choices and available dates.

We were told we could vacation anywhere we wanted, anytime we wanted and those were just blatant lies. This company and its representatives are crooks who have no morals or concern to what they are doing to people's lives. They lie, they say whatever they need to to convince people that this is a wonderful investment which is just total bull!! They wear people down during the initial presentation which is advertised as one hour and turns into 3-4 hours. They pressure and pressure and tell more and more lies to make it sound better each time. They assure you that the purchase must be made that very day or you will never get such a great deal. ALL LIES...ALL THE TIME!!! They invite you back for an "owner's workshop" which is just another opportunity for their sales tactics and to get more of your hard earned money. The only contact they ever make with you is more sales calls offering even more spectacular vacation deals (hah..again just trying to get more $$$). They are despicable in their practices and I don't know how some of them sleep at night knowing that they are earning a living by lying and manipulating good, honest people.

We absolutely want all payments made on this contract refunded in full and our contract cancelled. We will do whatever is necessary to make this happen and will not be satisfied until we no longer have to be connected to ***** ****** and it's affiliates in any way.

Final Consumer Response
We did receive information from ***** ****** in December that we signed and mailed back to them on December 9th 2015. We have not received any paperwork back indicating that everything has been cancelled. There is also one instance of a negative report showing on our credit that needs to be removed. Once we receive final paperwork and the negativity on our credit report is removed we will be satisfied.

Final Business Response
***** ********* system indicates the contract was canceled on 1/12/2016. I have also sent information over to the accounting department to have the negative credit information taken off your credit report.

01/07/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
To Whom It May Concern
We would like to file a formal complaint against company and its representatives for fraud, misrepresentation, lies and high pressure sales tactics. We are sure you have received complaints like ours, so anything you can do to help us would be greatly appreciated.
We want a full refund of our money.

To Whom It May Concern,
On 6/14/2014 we purchased the above contract at the time we thought we made a good purchase only to find out that we were totally lied to, the program grossly misrepresented and we were committed fraud upon.
We want a full refund of our hard earned money. We are sending a copy of this letter to the *** the **** in both ********* and *********
You can contact us at: ***** ***** ******


To whom it may concern:
My husband and I are very upset with how we were lied to about our timeshare, everything that we were told by ***** on our timeshare was a lie, **** lied about the 12 getaways, we later found out it was going to use our points and money, and also lied about the 30 days, we found out later we only had 15 days to cancel. Then,**** lied about our cruise that we had, it was going to cost me more than what **** said. **** also lied about our deed, we were supposed to be deeded in ********** instead we were deeded in ******* ********* We were also told by **** that we could go anywhere on our timeshare and that it would only take points, come to find out it was going to cost us between $500.00 to $600.00 and every time we call to book a cabin in ********* they are always booked up. ***** also told us that the resort was exclusive for owners only but then we found out that it was rented to the general public. **** told us we could sell our timeshare for a profit and that we had to give them the opportunity to buy it back. That was a lie. ***** said we could not sell it to the general public, everything we were told turned out to be a lie. We also tried to sell the timeshare, we contacted ***** from timeshare. ***** sent us the paper work to fill out, and we did that, about 5 or 6 months ago, we have not heard from ***** since. ***** also gave us ******* phone number and email address. **** said we could contact her or ***** anytime, but when we call we cannot get **** or ***** to answer or reply back. I hope they don't lie to other people like ***** has us. And also we were told it would be a 90 minute presentation, it turned out to be 3 hours. We do not appreciate the way we were done by the this timeshare.

Business Response
Upon reviewing owner's information. Owners do receive 12 getaways a years as outline in owners contract. The getaways range in price depending on unit size and season. ******** do not in anyway use an owners points. By law ******* has to publish the rescission clause on the contracts in a certain font size, which we have complied with the law, the information is above your signature on your contract. When purchasing into ******* you are purchasing points, the unit number has no value to you as an owner your trading power is based on how many points you own not what is on your documents. A ******* owner does not receive a deed, as provided in your documents you have beneficiary rights, if you cannot locate any of the documents ******* will be happy to send out to your home address. ******* owners can vacation worldwide and internationally, the only way you would have to pay any money is if you needed to purchase additional which the max i believe would be 8.00 per thousand, very cheap. All resorts are exclusive to ******* owners, however owners have the option to rental their points if they are not going to use them; ******* offers this to owners as a benefit so you can earn money.

Consumer Response
We received your response on November 3rd from ******* ******** What a joke! They didn't even answer our complaints and what they did say didn't even make sense. So now you know what we are up against. We have not heard one word from this company and we sent the same complaint registered mail to Surrey and they received it on August 14th
We also just sent a registered letter to ******* ******* in ******* on October 23rd and as of November 16, 2015 no reply. We would appreciate any help you can give us to get us out of this bogus contract. We are just average hard working people and we have been scammed out of our money. They even used the bait and switch by telling us we were deeded in ********* when in fact we were deeded in ********* You can contact us by mail as we do not have a computer.


Final Business Response
******* in no way is wishing you feel like the company is a joke, a little caught off guard on what we did not address correctly. We will try again. You mention you felt lied to about the timeshare on the getaways, the acknowledgment of representation you signed indicated that the ******** range in price from 199.00 up to 999.00, the prices vary depending on unit size and time of year. Whom ever told you you had to use points please let us know who they are so it can be addressed with them. You mention cancellation, cancellation of what? If you are referring to your timeshare purchase, the cancellation law for your purchase is in big bold print right above your final signature. ******* follows the laws closely on how many days an individual has to cancel. The cruise certificates that ******* gives you for free, yes they are free and will not cost money if you go by the rules and terms, you have to cruise on the dates available and stay in the cabins listed on the certificate. We have had thousands of owners use this certificate and have never had an issue. Were you requesting other dates a bigger room to stay in? All of these items would make you have to pay additional money to use the certificate, you are paying for upgrades. Deeds do no mean anything with your ******* *********** you purchased floating time, you purchased points, you can stay at any property that ******* owns at anytime, no stipulations - maybe we need to have a fulfillment agent sit with you and walk you through the steps by step, there is a lot of information and can be overwhelming. ****** ***** is exclusive to owners, however as an owner i can make a reservation and rent it out for money, that is how the public is allowed to stay at the property. Owners do have the option to sell their timeshare, you can sell it at any price. ***** did with for 5 Star Timeshare Resale, this company was under ***** ****** ******** 5 Star is no longer in business we can recommend other companies to help sell if you need assistance. The information on the sales associates not calling you back will be addressed with upper management to determine any action. You can visit the property in ****** ***** to have them assist you with transferring your points over to Pigeon Forge, but as this membership stands it does not matter what is on your contract, points are points.

12/16/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We have tried to contact this company numerous times since becoming "OWNERS", no resopnses and told they are out of business.
To whom it may concern:
My name is **** *******, my family and I travel to the ****** ***** area around 3 or more times a year. It is our favorite vacation getaway. In March of 2012 while enjoying our vacation we was stopped by a sales person, promoting their resort. Well for the first time we fell for the gimmick, we was invited to sit through a 90 minute seminar and for coming and sitting and touring there resort we received tickets to a show. Sounded great from our perspective, and saved a little money from getting the free show tickets. Well we approached The ****** at The ***** ****** ********* *** ********* **** **** ****** ****** ** XXXXX. We was greeted and the 90 minute seminar turned into 6hours, our daughter was miserable and it took a day away from our short trip. In the end we became "owners" (3/30/2012) at this time we were told there were big things coming to the area with this large resort with a water park and so on. Well it all sounded great and wonderful little did we know what we had gotten ourselves into. It is now 2015 and we have never once been able to book being "OWNER". We pay a monthly fee and pay bi yearly HOA fee's. Granted I know we got ourselves into this. Now here is the kick, a year later I was contacted and ask how we was enjoying and so forth, at this time I told them we were very unhappy that we had tried to book 3 times and was unable to do so. I did not think it was fair us being "OWNERS" that paid was unable to use something or at least book outside of their resort with their sister company. So they brought us back to ** (3/29/2013) to sit through a meeting that was only going to be an hour or so that turned in to another 6hours and we got nowhere. They told us that we needed to upgrade go with a bigger condo get one in different location and so on. Well once again we ALMOST fell for this, got all the paper work done up got into closing where my husband and I noticed that our paper work had been whiten out and Xeroxed copied and changed without our consent, at this time we were very upset and walked out. At this point I tried numerous phone calls, emails, I even wrote the president of the company ** ***** ....what did I get NO RESPONSE. I can tell u this I got that The ****** ****** ****** ) had been sold and development was stopped that the 22 condos built would be all that was build in ****** ***** and that ***** ****** was no longer in business with any of the companies we signed up with. I have a copy of my latest email sent to these people, if I could only have all the recording of the 100s of people I have spoke to that has told me that my account was swapped from one company to another, so at this point we are paying $69.21 a month and $491.00 every other year for absolutely nothing, what makes me even more upset is that no one can tell me who or where our money is going all they can say is the only was we can get out is pay our balance in full then we can walk away, or if we stop payment that it will be put on our credit. First off we are not people that don't pay our bills and defiantly don't wasn't anything on our credit showing that we did not pay a bill, but yet they can't put me in contact with someone who can answer any of my questions. Even the company that takes our money out monthly there website has been down. I have taken pictures to prove that. We recently just got home from Pigeon Forge on Sunday 11/29/15 we was there for 6days, and no we was not lodging with our resort. We decided to stop by and see if we could get answers. The lady from owners services approached us and put us in the room with all the folks they were trying to scam, I whispered and told her 3 times I didn't think she wanted to put us in this room that we were very UNHAPPY "OWNERS". I explained the above info to her, and she came out with a print out of our account which she would not let me have snatched away from me, but I took a picture with my phone. I do have this and emails.

Desired Settlement
We have tried to get out of this and contacted all of the companies numbers, finacncial institutes, i even wrote the President ** ***** a letter. We want out of this deal, we want to walk away and not pay another dime , we are willing to take a loss on the money we have paid in just to get out.

Business Response
***** ****** ******* reviewed the information from the *******'s. There is a lot of information outline in the letter of concern and we will address how we understand the information. Your contract is deeded with ***** ******* nothing has changed with the stability of ** *****, he continues to grow in a positive direction to help sell ***** ****** / ****** inventory. Your association is managed by ******* ******* this change took place about 5 year ago. ******* places manages your maintenance fees, housekeeping, grounds, and reservations for your timeshare deed at ***** ******* As for ****** ***** ******* ******* ***** manages the association. ******* is working diligently to continue with building more units in ****** ****** ******* is still working with the board on the additional lay-out for the units and the clubhouse.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
When we visited the resort in November we ask all the questions I submited in my complaint, and this is when I was told the the company we was with was no longer part of them and that no one could tell me who or where my money was going that we paid monthly. I understand that we are deeded, but when u have called over a 2 year span and never had access to use something you are paying for and no one will respond back to calls, emails, or letters, and seems to me the response that was sent to BBB is basically a forwarded response to what i have gotten. I am highly unpleased with this response,there company and there customer service, We have paid our dues and receive no resoponse just generic answers. Even the emails I have the response are very generic. I am unable to get on my account that takes our money out monthly Equiant and we have received new cards from our bank that can not be updated on there system because when u go to there site it says ******** ******** is unavaliable. This has been nothing ,but a waste of our time and money since we have invested into this. I feel that someone could have called me in upper managment with all the calls i've made, emails, and even the letter I sent to **. I feel that the reason I am not getting any response is because there is actually no one who can answer my questions with an honest truthful response. We have tried numerous times to see what options we have, but only to be told that we must pay in full to hand deed back over. The interest rate we was given is ridiculous and when we made our visit in Nov the lady explained that was because they sell to diffrenet banks and the collect 2% off of each loan when its sold. The lady had no clue about anything but continues to fall in the trap of questions we ask, with that info, that there would no longer be any construction in ****** ***** , that our comapny was no longer in business. Very unsatisfied, I guess our next appraoch will be to contact our attorney if the comapnay will not come with a better resolution to our problem or answers. Its sad no one will call u, talk to you when you visit there office where you bought into a scam, and now our card that our monthly payment comes off of we cant go on the website to update that so we arent delinquent.

Final Business Response
As ***** ****** does not have access to the financial information on payments you are making to ******** i have sent your complaint over to ******* to review an contact you. The ******* site would not have anything to do with ***** ****** but can be addressed with them. If you have financial questions for ***** ****** the office has moved to ******* and they can be reached at X-XXX-XXX-XXXX. The information about booking a vacation, this is not an issue for ***** **** as ******** ************* makes all reservations or you can contact ******* ****** and speak to your owner services department and express your concern with not being able to book.

12/14/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Not able to use my purchase for a vacation that was confirmed earlier over the phone.
In June my wife and I attended a sales presentation at ***** ****** ******** We did not feel comfortable with the pressure that we were submitted to and after declining purchase on several different occasions and then being submitted to further sales pressure we finally agreed to purchase an ************ ********* for a reduced rate. When I called to schedule a vacation for my grand children we were told that the resort was booked for the whole month of December. The person on the phone ******* offered to put us up in the ************* hotel at a reduced points rate. Because we were wanting to go during this time period we agreed. We made plans and told our grandchildren only to find out today that the reservations were not made due to the ************** not being one of their hotels. I am very disappointed and believe the contracts that they are practically forcing people to agree to are basically worthless because of the restrictions on when and where you can use them. I paid $995 for what seems to be a worthless contract. I know that I probably can't get out of the contract, but I wanted the *** to know about this business and their unethical practices so that others will not be caught in the same trap that we have been caught in. My wife and I are both retired and have a limited income and are both disgusted about the whole deal. Thanks for your time.

Desired Settlement
I would like to be refunded the $950 for the ************ ********* that we were pressured into agreeing to and then the 1st time we try to use it we were led to believe we ha reservations and then find out 3 days before that we do not have those reservations.

Business Response
******* apologizes for any mis-communication with the ******'s reservation. ******* has booked the ******'s request to ****** ****** check in 12/3/2015 for 2 night. ******* has made contact with owner and confirmed their stay.

11/23/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Received a call for an offer of a Timeshare preview for 3 days and 2 nights in a ***** at ****** ***** for $229 in May 2015.
Purchased a Timeshare preview with ***** ****** in May 2015. Upon making reservations I was told I could not book a cabin in October because there was a 3 night minimum. If I wanted a cabin I would have to pay extra. I was told that the "recently updated" All ****** ****** was available, so I agreed to stay there but expressed my disappointment with not being able to stay in a cabin as I had been told before purchasing. After looking the *** ******* ****** up on **** and other sites I found that it had not been updated, so I called ******* and told her that I would like to cancel. She stated that because my reservations were less than 14 days out I would be charged $136 by the *** ******* for a cancellation. So I went to the preview and checked into the *** ****** ******* It was very unsanitary and old nothing had been recently updated. I was not accommodated in a cabin as originally stated before purchase of package and I incurred over $400 in extra cost for sanitary accommodations. At the preview tour I was told that the call I received was from a Marketing company that was hired by ******* ******* and that I should have been put up in better accommodations; however, many of the documents I received at the Preview Center/ Tour Office had ***** ****** letter head. ******* ******* speaks as if they are not affiliated with ***** ******* but it seems that these companies are sister companies.

Desired Settlement
I would like a full refund including additional cost incurred.

Business Response
recording from the call with Ms. ****** :

"The customer finalized her reservation on 09/01/2015 . Ms. ****** wanted to stay in the cabins she was advised of the 3 night minimum for ****** ***** ****** for the dates requested. Ms. ****** declined to upgrade her package and was advised she would be placed at the *** ****** ******* Ms. ****** agreed to the Suite for the dates requested. Her confirmation email was sent on 09/08/2015 with all terms and conditions and hotel information. On 09/25/2015 her reservation was confirmed for arrival over the phone. Ms. ****** called back 10/05/2015 and said she did not like the *** ******* ****** and was advised of the cancelation policy having to be 14 days out from arrival or she would have to pay a cancelation fee. Ms. ****** declined to make any changes. The customer arrived and toured without complaint according to the notes. I show Ms. ****** stayed at the *** ******* for all dates reserved. The customer was fully gifted for her package. Due to terms and conditions accommodations are standard hotel with two beds. All promotional items are subject to change, subject to availability, and may be substituted with items of equal or greater value

Page 1 of 8

Industry Comparison| Chart

Timeshare Companies, Resorts

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 08/28/2007Business started: 05/01/1993Business started locally: 10/01/2007
Business Management
Principal: Ms. Sherry Carpenter (Director of Quality Assurance)

Sherry Carpenter is also associated with Capital Resorts Group

http://www.bbb.org/central-florida/business-reviews/vacation-timeshare/capital-resorts-group-in-clermont-fl-90205042

and Surrey Vacation Resorts:

http://www.bbb.org/southwestern-missouri/business-reviews/timeshare-companies/surrey-vacation-resorts-in-branson-mo-11357

Contact Information
Ms. Sharon Parris (Assistant)Mr. C. J. Perme (President)
Number of Employees

15

Business Category

Timeshare Companies, Resorts

Products & Services

This company offers Timeshare

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Grand Crowne Resorts

2703 Teaster Lane

Pigeon Forge, TN 37863

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 2703 Teaster Lane 

    Pigeon Forge, TN 37863(800) 615-6511
    Fax: (417) 334-0664

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Greater East Tennessee. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Grand Crowne Resorts is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (417) 332-8320
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews as of November 2012.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Timeshare Companies

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.