BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/01/1994

Campbell's Pool & Spa, Inc.

Find a Location

Phone: (865) 584-3607Fax: (865) 584-2830View Additional Phone Numbers231 Papermill Place Way, KnoxvilleTN 37919

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/01/1994

BBB has determined that Campbell's Pool & Spa, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Campbell's Pool & Spa, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Campbell's Pool & Spa, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
11/24/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
BOUGHT A SWIMMING POOL IN MAY FROM CAMPBELLS POOL. IT WAS FINANCED. SALES LADY WAS REALLY NICE AND HELPFUL. I THINK IT WAS AROUNG 2 WEEKS BEFORE IT WAS DELIVERED AND INSTALLED BY RENO'S BOBCAT SERVICE.IT TOOK A FEW DAYS TO FILL SO AFTER IT WAS FILLED I NOTICED A WET AREA AROUND THE BOTTOM OF POOL. I ALSO WAS HAVING TO PUT MORE WATER IN ABOUT EVERY DAY. I THOUGHT AT FIRST IT WAS JUST EVAPORATING BECAUSE OF THE HEAT BUT THE GROUND WAS BEGINNING TO BE MORE SOGGY AROUND BOTTOM OF THE POOL. I CALLED CAMPBELLS, AND AFTER A FEW DAYS SOMEONE CAME AND FOUND THE LEAK. IT WAS A SEAM LEAK SO THE LINER COULD BE REPLACED, UNDER WARRENTY. THEY PATCHED THE LEAK AND IT WAS HOLDING SO IT WAS DECIDED TO WAIT UNTIL THE END OF SEASON TO REPLACE LINER. THE BOTTOM OF POOL WAS HARD TO CLEAN BECAUSE IT WAS, WHAT I WOULD CALL BUMPY. ALGEA WOULD GET IN THERE AND I COULDN'T SEEM TO GET IT BRUSHED OUT. NEXT THING I KNOW IS I HAVE MADE A HOLE IN A GAP AROUND THE EDGE OF THE POOL.(THIS IS ALMOST ON THE BOTTOM OF THE POOL FLOOR) THERE SHOULD NOT BE ANY GAPS BECAUSE THIS AREA IS SUPPOSED TO BE BUILT UP WITH SAND. SO NOW I HAVE ANOTHER HOLE, THAT SHOULD NOT HAVE EVEN HAPPENED IF THE LINER WAS GOOD QUALITY( A HOLE SHOULD NOT BE THAT EASY TO CREATE WITH A POOL BRUSH)i MANAGED TO PATCH THE HOLE MYSELF AFTER A FEW TRIES, BUT AFTER A COUPLE OF WEEKS IT WAS LEAKING AGAIN SO I CALLED TO HAVE HER GO AHEAD AND REPLACE NOW INSTEAD OF WAITING. SHE SAID SHE WOULD HAVE TO CALL THE MANUFACTURER AND SEE IF THEY HAD ONE IN STOCK. I WAS TOLD SHE WOULD CALL ME BACK. NO CALL BACK. I CALLED AGAIN. LEFT MESSAGE. AGAIN NO CALLBACK. I ENDED UP GOING TO THE STORE AND REQUESTING TO SPEAK WITH OWNER. THIS IS WHEN SHE CALLED TO FIND A REPLACEMENT. NOW I HAVE BEEN WAITING FOR WEEKS.AND IN THE MEANTIME HAVE TO KEEP ADDING WATER TO POOL. LINER CAME WITHIN A FEW DAYS. CAME AND REPLACED IT THAT SAME WEEK. HAD TO COMPLETELY REFILL POOL AGAIN. THAT TOOK 3 DAYS TO DO. THE DAY AFTER IT WAS FILLED I CAME HOME FROM WORK AND LOOKED OUT AT THE POOL AND THE WATER WAS ALMOST HALFWAY GONE. I AM NOW AT A LOSS OF WHAT TO DO. I TRY FOR ABOUT A WEEK GETTING IN THE POOL AND GO AROUND ON MY KNEES TO FIND A HOLE.ALL I FOUND WAS SAND UNDER LINER IN CERTAIN AREA THAT SHOULD NOT BE THERE. I TOLD HER THAT I HAD BEEN IN THE POOL SEVERAL TIMES TO TRY AND FIND THE LEAK BUT I WAS HAVING NO LUCK.I ALSO TOLD HER ABOUT SAND ON WALL, COULD SHE GET SOMEONE TO COME AND FIND IT. WELL HERE WE GO WITH NO CALL BACKS AGAIN, AT LEAST TWICE. I EVEN CALLED TO SPEAK WITH THE OWNER BUT I WAS GIVEN VOICE MAIL OF SOMEONE ELSE. AFTER A FEW WEEKS CALLS ME TO TELL ME SOMEONE IS GIONT TO COME AND CHECK MY POOL. THIS IS THE EXACT TEXT I GOT FROM HIM "I COME BY YOUR HOUSE AND LOOKED OVER THE POOL LEVEL AND I CANNOT FIND ANY PLACE THAT IT HAS A LEAK OR HOLE IN IT. I HAVE BEEN AROUND IT AT THAT LEVEL AND CAN'T FIND A THING. IF IT IS GOING TO THAT LEVEL TWO TIMES I'D BE EXPECTING A SEAM SEPERATE OR HOLE BUT THEY ARE NOT THAT I CAN SEE SO FAR. I HAVE ONLY GOT TO SWIM IN THAT POOL A COUPLE OF TIMES. OTHER TIMES IN IT WERE CLEANING IT....I HAVE PUT SO MUCH WATER IN THIS POOL IT HAS COST ME A SMALL FORTUNE.

Desired Settlement
I AM TO THE POINT NOW WHERE I JUST WANT THEM TO COME AND GET THEIR POOL aLL I WANTED WAS A SMALL POOL TO RELAX IN AFTER WORK. ITS ONLY ME.
IF THEY WANT TO REPLACE THE POOL WITH A BETTER THICKER LINER.

Business Response
I met with CUSTOMER SERVICE who has been talking with this customer. We asked her to fill the pool back up so that we could do a leak detection and for her to contact us once that is done. aLL the communication has been going through the installer which shouldn't be.

We are not denying that the pool is or is not leaking we just need direct communication with the homeowner.
We did notice that there were bricks and blocks in the pool. These will call punctures in the liner very quickly and this was also brought to her attention.

The first liner was replaced this fall at no charge to the customer. The warranty is only for manufacture defects. Holes in the liner is not a warranty claim. However I would be more than happy to evaluate and take care of this for the customer.

This is the first complaint that we have received from her.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I was contacted by Campbells Pool about the problems. They want me to clean leaves and debri
from pool and fill up with water so they can try to detect where the leak is. I told THEM that the weather is too cool now and i would not get in that pool to clean now. I will however do this when spring comes and the water temp is warmer. She was to talk to owner and see if this is agreeable. I am waiting to hear back from her..All i want is to have the problems fixed with the liner. They fix what installer messed up and replace liner if a seam defect. If its a hole somewhere else, i will pay to have patched....Fair?

07/17/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Have had problems since pool was installed - installed improperly, pump was not the pump we paid for we had to buy another one, paid extra for pool liner pad. Pool liner pad has made bottom of pool rough and caused all water to drain out. Pool is unusable - we've contacted Campbell - They say they have no record of previous problems, we went in and talked to them in person in past). Told us that the sales person no longer works for them. All we want Campbell to do is pull out their liner pad and put sand in the bottom of pool. We will replace liner ourselves.

Business Response
There has not been any communication from customer about service issues since the pool was installed. The installation of the pool has a 1 year warranty. We have offered to go by and give them an estimate but they are not interested unless we can fix at no charge.This is very unfortunate, the customer has never complained to me except for this complaint and did not want to hear that her pool was out of warranty.


04/11/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
A new pool liner was installed by Campbells. It tore and pulled away. They refused to repair without an additional payment. Warranty was not honored. We signed a contract on //// with Campbells for the purchase and installation of anew vinyl pool liner. We placed an initial deposit of half of the purchase in the amount of $$$$. The installation didn't begin till 3 months later, due to problems at the factory with measurements of the liner, as we were told by the staff when we called to inquire. When the new liner was actually installed, it did not fit correctly and was very obvious. We were definitely concerned and questioned company regarding this other issues that we noticed. The bottom of the pool was also extremely "rocky". Owner meet us at our pool and told us that they had issues installing that the liner measurements were not correct and it was misaligned. But, once water was added it would stretch out and fit properly. The bottom, he also assured us would smooth out. We did issue the final payment. Once water was added, the liner never "stretched out" and the bottom remained as if gravel were underneath it. We were concerned that the rocky bottom would actually pierce the liner. After a brief time of less than a month, we winterized and covered the pool for the season. Upon uncovering the following spring, the liner was torn and had pulled away from the sides of the pool all around. The areas that we had questioned owner regarding the fit, were even worse and now it was not fitted in several more areas. We contacted Company immediately. Finally, they agreed to come to review the damage. After their inspection, we were informed that we would need to pay additional repair cost for the torn areas. Even though we had a one year warranty. At this point, we were highly concerned that the liner would never fit properly and this would be an ongoing problem and get worse, since the liner was not measured correctly. We requested to speak to the owner regarding this. The owner told us that a new liner was not going to happen, that we should consider just filing an insurance claim if we wanted a new liner installed and if we wanted any repairs that we would need to pay for them. We were also out $$$$ for a product that was useless. We have had several pool companies come to review and all have had the same opinion, the liner was never measured correctly and will never fit correctly. It needs to be completely replaced. We would like a refund of $$$$$, the entire purchase.

Business Response
The liner was measured on ///// and submitted for drawings. The manufacture made the liner per measurements and shipped. Once the liner was removed the bottom of the pool had a lot of wash out that had occurred. In our contract it is noted on the front page in bold letters that there will be an additional charge for bottom repair if needed. The home owner was quoted $$$ for repair of the wash out areas only and agreed. We patched those areas only and dropped the liner the following week. I went out to check the liner because the crew was having issues with the fit. I saw that the liner needed to be shifted because the pool is a free form and has no points to start from. I shifted the liner and instructed on filling. The liner fit fine. customer called and said water level was up. We went out and more water needed to be added. We went back out and completed the job. Final payment was received. Did not hear from customer again until spring. Customer said the liner had come out of the track in a couple of spots. Up on arrival we noticed the water level was down and the bottom of the pool was full of wrinkles. The liner had floated due to all the rain that had occurred. The liner did not fail nor did the workmanship. I contacted customer on //// to inform him of the water issue and explained that there was a water problem. I explained on what causes this and what to look for. I also explained that leaving the pool that empty can cause a liner to float with the amount of rain that we had that Spring. I advised him that this was not a warranty issue and had nothing to do with the liner or work that we performed. I recommended to him to contact his insurance company because I had seen this happen so many times and they have helped. He said he would get back with me. This is the first I have heard since that conversation. We have no record that customer contacted us. The last conversation with the customer was for him to let me know what their insurance said about the repair. We stand firm on our decision that this is not a warranty Issue. The pictures along with the site Inspection, concluded that the liner clearly floated. This has nothing to do with the liner failing or the work that Campbell's Pool & Spa did.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design, Spas & Hot Tubs - Dealers

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 03/01/1994Business started: 02/01/1994
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractors Licensing Board
500 James Robertson Parkway, #110
Nashville, TN 37243
(800) 544-7693
http://verify.tn.gov

BBB records show a license number of 50079 for this company, issued by Contractors Licensing Board. Their web address is http://verify.tn.gov. The expiration date of this license is 04/30/2017.

Type: Contractor

Business Management
Principal: Mr. Tony Campbell (Owner)
Number of Employees

5

Business Category

Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design, Spas & Hot Tubs - Dealers

Products & Services

THIS FIRM OFFERS POOLS & SPAS

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Campbell's Pool & Spa, Inc.

231 Papermill Place Way

Knoxville, TN 37919

To | From

LocationsX

3 Locations

  • 231 Papermill Place Way 

    Knoxville, TN 37919(865) 584-3607
    (865) 584-2598
    (865) 986-4416
    Fax: (865) 584-2830

  • 804 Highway 321 North 

    Lenoir City, TN 37771(865) 927-7665

  • 2602 Highway 411 South 

    Maryville, TN 37801(865) 981-7132

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Greater East Tennessee. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Campbell's Pool & Spa, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (865) 584-2598
  • (865) 986-4416
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews as of November 2012.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.